paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Comments on notakook's Review / Comments on notakook's Review / Comments on notakook's Review / Comments on notakook's Review / Comments on notakook's Review

Comments on notakook's Review

Jump to the Comments  |  Post a Comment  |  Dispute this Review  |  Return to the Reviews

notakook Wednesday, October 22nd, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 37 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
spyders (They work, kick this things ass)
tippmans (Tanks, but don't beleive the hype)
JT excellerators (Great craftamnship, Needs mods though)
Marker Setup: JT Excellerator 5.0
12v revy
14 in J&J ceramic barrel
Benchmark on/off offset drop forward
New bolt design
Recommended
Upgrades:
Who knows. I can't get the damn thing to work!
Strengths: ??? Um the stock barrel seems pretty accurate.
1 year warranty
Weaknesses: Just feels like junk and looks like junk up close.
Review: I pulled this thing out of the box, got it set-up and.....Nothing! Took it apart oiled it up...Nothing. Finally figure out that everything is working just the bolt isn't falling when the Coil set strikes the sear. I finally firgure out that the sear is impossibly hard to move. Or the solenoid that strikes it isn't strong enough. I di ck around with the spring and finally get the thing to fire about every other trigger pull but its still not correct. I e-mail a tech about the problem and the writes back " did you hook it up to an air source and cock the bolt?" thats it. I waited a day for that response. Read the e-mail you idiot! Another e-mail " I want to bring this marker to you. Is that possible. I'm not far" response " yes sure send it too......." AHHHH......Again read the d@mn e-mail!!!!! Oh wait it gets better. So I finally call them up. " Hi I just took an Icon-E out of the box and its broken. Can I bring it by?" "um you can just send it!" " i'm not far I'd like to get this resolved right away if I can" "well you can drop it off"" can I wait while its fixed" " No its not fair to the other people who have guns that need to be fixed and already have them here" "What? Thats the best you can do for me? I'm gonna drive it over there!" " Sorry but you'll have wait" "Can i just get a new one? " "No but we'll fix it no problem" " Ya know what....Thats fine but I'll never buy another 32 degress procuct again! Good bye" Click!! So here I am. Brand new Icon-e thats useless on the field.
Conclusion: Honestly if the thing worked I could give a damn about the shoddy construction but it doesn't. My friends Spyder Imagine looks so similiar but ya know what. IT WORKS!! Right out of the box. Go with an Imagine, rebel, mongoos or JT if your in this price range. After seeing this gun I'm now blown away with the construction on my JT (it ain't perfect but it works) to break it down:
1: Cheap construction
2:Crap electronics
3:Worst costomer service ever!

I hate to do this but i've given the manufacturer every opportunity to at the very least address me and my problem! I hate seeing horribly negative reviews but this gun is just garbage and once you got it your stuck with it. The only reason I'm giving this a 2 instead of a 1 is the warranty and the fact that others are reporting that at worst the gun gets replaced or refunded.
Rating:
2 out of 10
 

Review Comments
Geico not Gecko Saturday, November 1st, 2003 | 7:07 pm PST
Sometimes guns dont work, it doesnt mean that the actuall gun is bad it means that you happend be unlucky
   

worldtraveler Sunday, November 2nd, 2003 | 5:19 am PST
No, I agree, these things are garbage. I've owned just about every gun out there, and 32* stuff is ALWAYS garbage.
   

notakook Tuesday, November 4th, 2003 | 6:56 am PST
To Geico....I know that sometimes you end up with the one bad gun out of the batch but I'm the most upset about the customer service and the way this co. handles there business. Had they been a little bit more attentive I'd have held off on my review till I actually got to use the gun. Turns out the problem was merely the battery! You HAVE to use a rechargable battery! Doesn't state this anywhere in the manual, no tech ever mentioned it, it CAME with a regular battery in the box. Just stupid frustrating stuff thats just lazyness on 32*s part.
   

Jmac1117 Thursday, November 6th, 2003 | 11:24 pm PST
My Icon e had the same problem - I guess it had a bad board. I just emailed NPS and they told me to ship it to them for a free repair. Shipped it out and had it back in a week and a half. In time for my game. No problems since then and this gun F%#$n rocks. I've held down eblades & timmy's and they just gave me my props. Don't know why you are having the problem with NPS - maybe call them back with a better attitude? I also own a JT (3.5) and I stand by it - it rocks and your right better construction to me. But the ROF just isn't high enough. With the JT I can play 1 on 1 or with the Icon E I can play 3 on 1 you figure it out. The manual I have does say to use a rechargable but I just use the regular 9v and it does go through 9v's a lot.
   

tippA-5 Sunday, December 21st, 2003 | 3:29 pm PST
you say that you would never again buy a 32* gun but then reccomend a rebel whats up with that?
   

tigerpaws27 Thursday, January 22nd, 2004 | 8:00 am PST
Umm.... yeah there customer service isn't the greatest I agree, but to say not to buy all 32* stuff, i don't know if you all know this, but 32* is made by kingman, who is owned by national paintball (who is buying everything!!!). 32* isn't like it's own little company, it is just another factory owned by kingman that puts its name on the product. My bro has an icon and it does great.
Last edited on Sunday, January 25th, 2004 at 7:22 pm PST
   

Allaballa062584 Saturday, January 24th, 2004 | 8:04 pm PST
Ok, the 32* Icon isnt a bad gun. Im sick of people who happen to be the unlucky little guy who gets the sh!tty gun reporting that the whole company that makes the gun to be a crap load. Im sorry, but this gun DOES have 1 more major feature that the E-99 duznt, 6 shot burst! People are Duma$$es who says the E-99 is better, they are made by the same company and like i said b4, the Icon has 6 shot burst, the E-99 duznt.
   

paintballpat Tuesday, March 9th, 2004 | 1:31 pm PST
Would anyone recomend this for tournement play? E-mail please
   

Seven Tuesday, April 20th, 2004 | 10:19 pm PST
I agree with his rating on the Icon. When I first started I didn't know better with markers and with the amount to spend I got the Icon. It is such a piece of junk I wouldn't even want to touch it or play with it. I only have it now for a spare (which never been used) or when a buddy goes out with him and he doesen't have a marker. My Icon makes a loud clang when it fires and everyone on the field knows were I am at and people off of the field can hear me as well. That and the gun fires really hard. Take this guys advice and stay away from this marker.
   

Lone_Guard Saturday, June 26th, 2004 | 5:08 pm PST
The Only reason your gun doesent work is most likely your using a 9V you need a rechargeable 9.6V
   

Lone_Guard Saturday, June 26th, 2004 | 8:30 pm PST
The Only reason your gun doesent work is most likely your using a 9V you need a rechargeable 9.6V
   

Murderdoll92 Tuesday, February 8th, 2005 | 7:28 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by Allaballa062584
Ok, the 32* Icon isnt a bad gun. Im sick of people who happen to be the unlucky little guy who gets the sh!tty gun reporting that the whole company that makes the gun to be a crap load. Im sorry, but this gun DOES have 1 more major feature that the E-99 duznt, 6 shot burst! People are Duma$$es who says the E-99 is better, they are made by the same company and like i said b4, the Icon has 6 shot burst, the E-99 duznt.
Yes the Icon E may have 6 shot burst, but the E-99 can be used with an ACS (Anti Chop System) bolt, unlike the Icon E. Also I forgot to mention, the Icon E is a cheaply made paintball blender, and whoever thinks that it is an even remotely decent marker are either one or all of the following...
1. Poor (this is closest thing to a great electro marker such as a Raven Primal, that they can afford.)
2. Are new to paintball and know nothing about good, quality paintball markers.
or 3. Just plain stupid.
Last edited on Tuesday, February 8th, 2005 at 7:37 pm PST
   

tigerpaws27 Friday, March 11th, 2005 | 3:29 pm PST
dude they use the exact same parts, internals, even the body is made exactly the same. the only difference between this and a spyder is the name. if ur gonna bash one atleast be smart enough to know they are the same gun. by the way, the E-99 is only like 20 more bucks than an icon E. So you make 20 more dollars a month, BIG GUY!!!
Obviously this isn't an angel, DUH!
   

Spyder_Avant Friday, April 22nd, 2005 | 9:13 am PST
quote:
Originally posted by Allaballa062584
Ok, the 32* Icon isnt a bad gun. Im sick of people who happen to be the unlucky little guy who gets the sh!tty gun reporting that the whole company that makes the gun to be a crap load. Im sorry, but this gun DOES have 1 more major feature that the E-99 duznt, 6 shot burst! People are Duma$$es who says the E-99 is better, they are made by the same company and like i said b4, the Icon has 6 shot burst, the E-99 duznt.

The regular e-99 DOES have 6-round burst. They removed that feature from the avant because there's no reason why you would ever need to use it. Just press 3-round twice or hold full auto it makes more sense anyway. I have never used an Icon, but they are spyder clones and I would rather use one of the originals than a cheap rip-off. Even so I would take this gun over a Brass Eagle any day.
   

extremeragepbx Sunday, February 5th, 2006 | 4:25 pm PST
oh come on this gun suks !! I would only have this gun if someone gave it to me for free ! ive tries this gun once and it suks ! the trigger is Soo bad if ur buying a gun get a good one not krap like this !
   

Rand al'Thor Monday, June 26th, 2006 | 10:31 am PST
I disagree with anyone saying that this gun sucks
it rocks, I am just adding a Freak Jr. to make it better.
It hardly chops and it has a good ROF( the trigger works, just adjust it to fit tighter)
people who think this gun sucks must be:
1. blind
2. nerds that have no lives other than paintball ( Pro's are different, they get paid)
3. unskilled because they need an expensive gun to make themselves better,

I am not poor, stupid or new to paintball....and I am not saying that this gun is the best ( it rocks, but it doesn't rock out loud) there are better guns, but it doesn't suck
   

Post a Comment
Please log in to your account to post a comment.

Not a member yet? Sign up now for free!

Return to the Reviews

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media