paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Comments on shnitzel's Review / Comments on shnitzel's Review / Comments on shnitzel's Review / Comments on shnitzel's Review / Comments on shnitzel's Review

Comments on shnitzel's Review

Jump to the Comments  |  Post a Comment  |  Dispute this Review  |  Return to the Reviews

shnitzel Monday, October 27th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month16 of 21 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
BE Marauder - doesn't even compare.
Spyder Victor - louder, inconsistant velocity.
Marker Setup: Stock Rodeo
Recommended
Upgrades:
New barrel (if you want, doesn't really need one, stock barrell is great)
Strengths: complete LP system. Quiet. Stock barrel accurate.
Weaknesses: A little heavy.
Review: I am thoroughly impressed with this marker. You don't even need to upgrade it, although you could get a new barrel if you really wanted to... It's quiet, sleek looking, accurate, and relatively inexpensive. The marker itself feels solid, although i suppose it could be a little lighter... especially if you were a smaller player, or had weak tooth-pick arms. If you can lift a can of soup to the counter, then you should be able to handle this thing.
Conclusion: I would strongly recommend this marker to anyone looking for their second gun; definitely worth the money. Im giving it a ten.
Rating:
10 out of 10
 

Review Comments
deth2thepreps Wednesday, May 26th, 2004 | 10:00 pm PST
Ok, I would have written a review my self, but I already wrote one when I first bought the gun. Ok I've owned it for less than 3 months and have played with it it three times. The gun sucks. When I first got it, I gassed it up and shot at a target. It worked great, but on my third shot i broke a ball in the barrel. Just a fluke right? Wrong. The first time I played with it, it chopped no less than 8 balls. Other than that it worked alright, but the hopper is RIGHT INFRONT OF THE SIGHT so it makes it hard to aim. The second time i used it, the gun didnt chop too much paint only 3 or so, but its got incredibly dirty, so when I got home I took it apart to clean. I followed the directions and managed to put it back together, with difficulty though. The next time I gassed it, it was leaking out the handle. I had to take it to the shop and have it repaired. Less than a week later I played with it, and half way through a game, it stops cocking. I had filled my 20 oz tank the same day, so I knew I wasn't out of air, unless the gun was leaking. So i had to recock it by hand everyshot. I'm going to take it into the shop and see if they'll buy it from me, because this gun is terrible. Do not buy it if u like to play paintball. It looks fancy but thats about it. This gun sucks/
   

Ballistic Jello Saturday, July 31st, 2004 | 8:51 am PST
First of all, why did you post this ugly comment on his review? I would imagine you can edit your reviews, as several people have

Probably 95% of paintball markers made today have a vert feed (the hopper right in front of the "sight"), and about 10% have a beavertail, which is a sight mount, not a sight, unlike the 98 which is about the only gun I can think of that has factory installed sights. Most spyders continue to have a beavertail on a vertical feed marker, even though it is completely useless. This is definitely not the gun's fault, as it's not designed to have a sight mounted. If it was, it would have a side mounted sight rail (available on a mag, maybe, I don't remember), or a left or right powerfeed.

Thirdly, if before you took it apart there were no leaks and there when you put it back together, that's operator error. Your Fault. "I had to take it to the shop and get it repaired" This is NOT a gun problem, it's your mechanical ineptitude.

No, you weren't out of air if you were using a 20 oz C02 tank. I can guarantee that.

Also, you stated in your review that, um, you can "crank the velocity up to 1000," um, "psi," and we'll "see why it's a great gun for a beginner or intermediate player."

And, according to Otter's spyder troubleshooting chart, it sounds like you didn't get full C02 fills, you're actually outstripping your gravity hopper, or your velocity was cranked up, if you were chopping balls.

At least you took the time to write a good review before, as opposed to ruining his good review now.
Last edited on Saturday, July 31st, 2004 at 8:56 am PST
   

el_c Wednesday, August 11th, 2004 | 12:41 pm PST
NEWB! It chops because of poor ball to barrel bore matching. And you cant even aim you newb if you use the sight rail on other guns. GOD.
   

TXtippmann Saturday, August 28th, 2004 | 3:01 pm PST
Ballistic Jello, a beavertail is not a sight mount either. That would make very little sense when there is a hopper in your way. I doubt Spyder engineers are that stupid. The beavertail is there to keep the bolt from hitting things like your mask when it comes back.
   

Blue Boy 1991 Friday, December 24th, 2004 | 5:17 pm PST
oh yeah
   

RodeoShooter Sunday, November 27th, 2005 | 3:33 pm PST
deth 2 the preps either you screwed your gun up or your just dumb because i've had my rodeo for 3 years completely stock and i have never chopped a ball even with wally world (wal mart) paint
   

RodeoShooter Sunday, November 27th, 2005 | 3:35 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by deth2thepreps
Ok, I would have written a review my self, but I already wrote one when I first bought the gun. Ok I've owned it for less than 3 months and have played with it it three times. The gun sucks. When I first got it, I gassed it up and shot at a target. It worked great, but on my third shot i broke a ball in the barrel. Just a fluke right? Wrong. The first time I played with it, it chopped no less than 8 balls. Other than that it worked alright, but the hopper is RIGHT INFRONT OF THE SIGHT so it makes it hard to aim. The second time i used it, the gun didnt chop too much paint only 3 or so, but its got incredibly dirty, so when I got home I took it apart to clean. I followed the directions and managed to put it back together, with difficulty though. The next time I gassed it, it was leaking out the handle. I had to take it to the shop and have it repaired. Less than a week later I played with it, and half way through a game, it stops cocking. I had filled my 20 oz tank the same day, so I knew I wasn't out of air, unless the gun was leaking. So i had to recock it by hand everyshot. I'm going to take it into the shop and see if they'll buy it from me, because this gun is terrible. Do not buy it if u like to play paintball. It looks fancy but thats about it. This gun sucks/

this comment "sucks"
   

evil4321 Tuesday, May 16th, 2006 | 2:18 pm PST
the stock barrel aint as good as u make it sound
   

Post a Comment
Please log in to your account to post a comment.

Not a member yet? Sign up now for free!

Return to the Reviews

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media