paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Comments on r84x's Review / Comments on r84x's Review / Comments on r84x's Review / Comments on r84x's Review / Comments on r84x's Review

Comments on r84x's Review

Jump to the Comments  |  Post a Comment  |  Dispute this Review  |  Return to the Reviews

r84x Thursday, October 30th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month35 of 40 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Model 98 Custom with E-Bolt, electronic trigger, HPA, J&J 14" ceramic barrel, expansion chamber. That was my old/backup marker, which shot very well, and like all Tippmanns, was incredibly reliable. The rate of fire on the TES is better than the Tippy, as is the TES's eye, but I have not owned my TES long enough to compare the ruggedness and reliability of the m98.
Marker Setup: Dragun TES / J&J Edge Ceramic Barrel Kit / System X 68ci - 4500psi HPA / Empire Reloader Hopper (soon to be an egg) / backup is a tricked out ebolt m98c
Recommended
Upgrades:
While the stock barrel is better than most, I would highly recommend to anyone who wants to play seriously to get a barrel kit. I use the J&J Edge ceramic kit, and have seen great results with it. Slick as hell and accurate. Spyder-threaded, by the way.
Another recommendation is to get an agitated/forcefed hopper. I am currently using an Empire Reloader agitated hopper, and easily outshoot it. With the TES, getting above 15 balls per second is fairly easy, so I am moving to an Evlution II hopper (with a Z-Board).
HPA should be a given, if you can afford it, as it offers many advantages over CO2.
Strengths: Rate of fire, value pricing, electronic eye, many features found on higher end markers.
Weaknesses: Plastic grip and the eye, but there is a nice E-Grip upgrade coming soon.
Review: While at the 2003 World Cup in Orlando, playing for the University of Nebraska X-Ball team, I came across a display from a manufacturer I knew little about. Someone was railing on a display marker, and I was intrigued. Approaching the man behind the counter of the Dragun trailer, I asked him what he was shooting. He told me it was the Dragun TES, a new marker from Dragun. After test firing it myself and firing it faster than I thought I could, I asked about the price. I was shocked. He told me I could have one for $260, about half of what I estimated it to be. This was the World Cup, after all, where you can get great new gear for very little dough, but $260 seemed really low. After a day or two of rationalizing spending money I did not really have, I picked one up. After working out a few minor problems with the marker, I used it in 3 games of XBall. I found that I could have a very high ROF and decent accuracy, and I even impressed a couple hardcore Angel freaks on my team. After putting nearly 6,000 rounds of paint through it, I had surprisingly a surprisingly low amount of ball chopping, less than 2 dozen. That was with the eye turned OFF. I am thus far unimpressed with the eye, it works really well at 10 bps or less, but when you really start to rail on it, the eye seems to sputter. I am sure that the new grip and electronics coming out in a couple months will work a lot better, but for now the eye will suffice.
Conclusion: Overall, this is a great mid-level marker. I don't know of any other sub-$300 marker that gets 20 bps, but I 'm sure there is one out there. I would recommend buying this to anyone out there, even as an entry level marker for someone with a little more cash than I had when I got into paintball. The eye is about the only major weakness, but that can be dealt with. I would recommend that you wait for the new gripframe to come out, I looked at the prototype in Orlando and it is great. 9 out of 10, because no one is perfect.
Rating:
9 out of 10
 

Review Comments
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
daddylonglegs54 Wednesday, November 12th, 2003 | 12:36 am PST
get the egg ii or or halo b and you can use the eye perfectly. the reloader will only feed about 13 bps and the eye setup on the tes is like the impulse vision eyes, if there isnt a ball present in the chamber the gun wont fire, so the sputter the gun hs with the eye on is because you are outshooting your reloader and that problem with the eye will be solved with a faster hopper.
   

sonnemann Wednesday, November 19th, 2003 | 12:43 pm PST
and you can get a new board but all that does it let you turn off the eye
yea halo or egg is very good idea because 20 bps is angel-type speed
also, why is it that this gun is so cheap? incredible...but i suppose the only amazing technical aspect is the trigger frame speed and eye...nice...(drool)...
   

kangaroodent Sunday, November 30th, 2003 | 3:46 pm PST
What's this e-grip he's talking about?
   

sonnemann Sunday, November 30th, 2003 | 6:12 pm PST
i dunno but I don't know why anyone would want a new grip frame...you can't get much faster than 20 bps, and you can't ask for much more than that, especially out of a gun that costs you less than 300 dollars...
   

idumdumstan Tuesday, December 16th, 2003 | 3:43 pm PST
i was wondering if the "eye" can be turned off for this gun
   

sonnemann Tuesday, December 16th, 2003 | 6:08 pm PST
this review says you can turn it off, but others have said you cannot. prolly the later versions can. I dunno...
   

zycat Sunday, December 28th, 2003 | 9:59 pm PST
The eye can be turned off by holding the trigger for a few seconds. On a new board only.
   

Ivar Nelson Friday, January 16th, 2004 | 3:17 pm PST
Here is at least a temporary "fix" for those who don't like the looks of the clear plastic grips that come with the TES. Mask the window on the inside of the left (LCD) grip with a good masking tape and/or a cut-to-fit masking product cut the size of the inside of the window, or the slightly bigger window frame. Use an enamel paint (lacquer may damage the plastic) and paint the inside of the grips. Two thin coats are a lot better than one thick one. I used black Zynolyte Speed-E-Namel. The final result looks like black hard rubber grips, and matches the TES body color and texture! If you want to use another color, or even a multi-color fade, be my guest. Just make sure you know what you're doing. The coat you put on first (bottom) becomes the top coat when the grips are on the gun. And the paint, being on the inside of the grips doesn't get scratched much. A cheap, quick and effective cosmetic upgrade.
   

fireresq51 Saturday, January 17th, 2004 | 9:09 am PST
Here is how I found to turn the eye off. Hold the trigger down and press the A button for 3 seconds and that has turned the eye off on my TES every time. The guy at my local paintball shop figured it out and said that it works just like one of the higher end marker eyes but I can't remember which one he said
   

Snackson Saturday, January 17th, 2004 | 7:52 pm PST
So how do you get it back on????
   

fireresq51 Sunday, January 18th, 2004 | 5:18 am PST
Just turn the marker off and back on
   

gcpunkish Sunday, February 1st, 2004 | 9:47 am PST
or you can hold down the trigger for 8 seconds (before loading of course) and that will turn the eye off. turn the gun off and then back on to turn the eye on again.
   

paintballerinda Tuesday, March 16th, 2004 | 7:45 am PST
its like the matrix eye.
   

impulse_pbman Friday, April 30th, 2004 | 9:32 pm PST
This review was one of the most helpfull reviews I have ever read on pbreview.com, I PLay and work for a paintball field, and I am very impressed with this review, I have nw purchased a Dragun t.e.s for my backup gun, thanks to this review.
   

mickvick302 Monday, May 10th, 2004 | 2:34 pm PST
what is an eye?
   

impulse_pbman Monday, May 10th, 2004 | 9:41 pm PST
The "eye" system for the dragun t.e.s will only allow the gun to shoot if the paintball is fully in the chamber, this eliminates any chances of the paintball breaking. The eye is solar worked so it needs sun, and It can not sence black shelled paint. This is a gun to get, and the eye is good!
   

falcon2ko Thursday, May 27th, 2004 | 2:13 pm PST
I've looked but i cant seem to find the different firing modes(semi,burst,auto)So i was wondering what modes this gun has and how you change them?Thanks
   

Master-Duo Sunday, June 6th, 2004 | 1:26 am PST
On my '03 Marker, You hold down the trigger for 8 seconds, This'll turn off the Eye. Just turn it off and back on to get the eye back on.

From '04 and back, this marker CANNOT got "auto" or "burst" There is no burst setting, only an "auto" and "semi" On both modes you may set the bps from 4-20. If by "auto" you mean where you hold the trigger down and it rips, no, they did not do that for tournament purposes (If I'mright, auto is not allowed during tournaments). "Auto" On the TES is just saying "This mode is the rip mode, prepare to see balls fly!". Meaning that this mode will allow you to shoot faster (as long as your trigger fingers can handle it).

Good review.
Last edited on Sunday, June 6th, 2004 at 1:29 am PST
   

Prophecy000 Sunday, August 22nd, 2004 | 8:52 pm PST
I cant believe you guys are comparing this gun to a trix and even an impulse
   

pbdude519 Saturday, September 4th, 2004 | 2:15 pm PST
are the eyes breakbeam or bouncebeam?
   
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page

Post a Comment
Please log in to your account to post a comment.

Not a member yet? Sign up now for free!

Return to the Reviews

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media