paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Comments on GIZMO8Z's Review / Comments on GIZMO8Z's Review / Comments on GIZMO8Z's Review / Comments on GIZMO8Z's Review

Comments on GIZMO8Z's Review

Jump to the Comments  |  Post a Comment  |  Dispute this Review  |  Return to the Reviews

GIZMO8Z Saturday, November 1st, 2003
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion below.
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested2 of 20 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Pretty much any barrel on the market. You name it, I've shot it.
Marker Setup: Custom Built, Dust Blue WGP Orr-accle Bodied 'Cocker W/ Chrome E-Blade, Chrome WGP Black Magic Reg, Chrome Grip Feed Neck, Red Shocktech Pneumatics/ KAPP Cosmetics, Chrome Shocktech Beavertail, Shocktech and AKA internals, 14" DYE boomstick, EGGY 2 & 45/45 Nitro Duck Tuff Skin HPA Tank.
Recommended
Paintballs:
Anything that matches the bore size.
Strengths: ACCURACY
QUIET
LIGHT
DISTANCE/ACCURACY
Weaknesses: Price
Cleaning
Review: PROS:
ACCURACY/ACCURACY. Oh my God, this thing rivals even the best barrel in distance and accuracy ... as long as you use the right size paint. (Watch out DYE.)
QUIET. If you wanted to be a "sniper" or youlike using stealth, this is the barrel for you.
LIGHT. This thing is like a feather. It's much lighter than any other barrel I've ever shot.

CONS:
PRICE. Some people may complain about this barrel's price ... my proshop got one for free to test, so no complaints here!
Weight. Because this barrel is so light, it can make your marker back heavy.
Cleaning. You need to clean this barrel just right or else it'll give you problems.
Durability. Because this barrel is so light, it feels really fragile to me.
Conclusion: Overall, this barrel has what it takes to be at the top of the market. If they can find some way to fix the problems, this barrel will be the best of the best.
Rating:
7 out of 10
 

Review Comments
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
AyanamiRei Monday, December 1st, 2003 | 3:53 pm PST
well done! got the specific pros and cons
   

RazorMonkey Friday, January 2nd, 2004 | 10:13 am PST
carbon fiber is so freaking strong and so freaking light... don't worry about the weight... carbon fiber is stronger than steel...
   

MustBrew2Liv Wednesday, January 21st, 2004 | 5:29 am PST
I just broke the tip off of my Stiffi, this past weekend. It was during Tourney Team practice. I guess it happened while I was diving and sliding into bunkers. By the end of the day we noticed a crack at the end where the fluting, or large ports are. I imagine it won't be covered by warranty. I'll just cut the end off with a high speed cutting disc I guess.
Last edited on Wednesday, January 21st, 2004 at 5:36 am PST
   

BDX Wednesday, January 21st, 2004 | 11:32 am PST
This review is rather perplexing. I'll try to point out the contradictions respectfully.

High marks are given the barrel in the Pro section for lightness, accuracy and quietness. Yet in the cons the lightness is dinged. Folks generally are trying hard to make their markers as light as possible so when a product comes out that does that in a big way its rather odd to have that counted against it (The Egg II Hopper is probably the biggest culprit in making a marker back heavy ). It then does seem rather absurd that a fix, as suggested, would be to make the barrel heavier to make it "the best barrel".

I'm also surprised at the dink for having to "clean it" just right or you'll have problems. Site makes no bones about the fact that they want you to use a rubber squeegee. This is to avoid having fibers from a cloth or fleece swab catch and create splinters on the ports. These splinters can break balls. If you bought a Masseratti and they said said "Dont use 87 octane gas or you'll spank the carbs" would you go ahead and use it? A condition of using one of the Stiffis is a rubber squeegee, I've put like 8 cases of paint through mine and even though I'll shortstroke a ball now and then resulting in a chop, the barrel cleans itself pretty well. Using a rubber squeegee, as required by the manufacturer is no big deal IMO.

In some respects the durability comment is valid but only in a limited way; the first generation ports created a weakness in the muzzle area. When SIte discovered this they immediately redesigned the porting and sent new 2nd generation barrels to anyone with a cracked muzzle. A few idiots actually deliberately broke their barrels in a vise, the vise jaw marks were showing when the barrel was received by the factory, just to get a 2nd gen barrel with the new Stiffi jewell. Lmao! (Site rejected their claims as they should have).

I note one commenter here has a busted barrel call Site and send your old one to them. They'll take care of you. Other than this porting issue, which really had more to do with a design flaw not a material flaw there is no reason to believe that the lightness of the barrel means it fragile.

I agree on price I think ts a bit steep which is why i didnt give it a perfect score.

All in all I see a review here where the barrel is highly praised for everything a barrel should be praised for, but then knocked for some of the same things. There is more good than not and I think it deserves better than the "Average" 7 barrel as indicated here.

Respectfully
BDX


Last edited on Wednesday, January 21st, 2004 at 12:08 pm PST
   

Champion13453 Thursday, February 5th, 2004 | 8:36 pm PST
What were you doing that you broke a carbon fiber barrel. I don't think that the ground is going to do that to your barrel. These barrels can take a beating. I have hit mine with a hammer multipul times without a dent. You must be an idiot. Light but strong my friend.
   

steeve Friday, February 6th, 2004 | 8:55 am PST
Your con for fragility in the stiffi barrel is incorrect. This barrel is supposed to be the strongest one out there. Action Pursuit Paintball in Greeley CO put many tests in this barrel, including running it down with a truck, andthey put it in a vice and tried to bend it. Don't let the light weight fool you.

Respectfully. Steeve
   

vettewon Saturday, February 28th, 2004 | 8:54 pm PST
I don't have anything to add due to the fact that the rest of these comments point out all the contradictions in your post.
   

iEl-Ricx! Wednesday, March 3rd, 2004 | 10:18 pm PST
the tip of my frends stiffi just broke outta the blue. he took one shot and a chunk of the tip just flew off. i think it might have been the first batch of barrels. but he said that they replaced it for him and he just had to pay shipping.
   

underated Friday, March 26th, 2004 | 6:53 pm PST
.......god, just because it is light, does not mean that it is going to break. Don't be an idiot and say "Oh, its pretty light, i think that it will break or something...." Iorn is heavier than steel, but steel is stonger. This is simply the next generation.
You suck at life
   

cyber_boy14 Saturday, May 8th, 2004 | 12:41 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by Champion13453
What were you doing that you broke a carbon fiber barrel. I don't think that the ground is going to do that to your barrel. These barrels can take a beating. I have hit mine with a hammer multipul times without a dent. You must be an idiot. Light but strong my friend.
You must be an idiot to hit it with a hammer.
   

phantompower Sunday, September 12th, 2004 | 4:27 am PST
I concur ;-)
   

stubby08 Thursday, April 21st, 2005 | 4:57 pm PST
Accutually they can break my friend had his stiffi on a dragun tes and was using co2 and the stiffi kinda froze over and was fine then the next day it cracked at the top but he had it sanded down and its just as good its a 12inch now not a 14inch
   

el venezolano Tuesday, December 20th, 2005 | 4:34 pm PST
K let's just finish all this dumb air flying round the Stiffi

It's stronger than steel even being light. So let's not say that they are fragile k?
If you run a barrel into anything hard and dense then of course its gonna chip. That's a given and it (like the cleaning prob) is avoidable

The cleaning issue is kinda like the fat people sueing Mc.Donalds.
-If you know that cleaning it with a fuzzy squeegee degrades the integrity of the barrel...then don't do it. dee dee deee

Do not give ANY product a lower rating because of the price. Otherwise high-ends such as DM's or Angel's will be 2's. get my drift?

   

gameshoes Tuesday, January 17th, 2006 | 4:56 pm PST
This doesn't deserve a 7/10 for it's pricing and how light it is
It's only expensive because it's made out of carbon fiber, and you can't make that at home
   

Wazzy Sunday, February 5th, 2006 | 5:03 pm PST
Dispute:
you made several errors for the "cons"
1. you said " Because this barrel is so light, it feels really fragile to me. " feels does not equal IS, so not a con
2. you complained about price. look at the price, and then compare how good this barrel is to more expensive barrels, like the dye boomstick. you=wrong
3. you complained about cleaning. this barrel can shoot it'self clean in less than 5 shots, so the time it would have taken to swab it if you could use the swab without damage would actually take longer.

you should of given it a 10, not a 7, since the only important cons are false.
   

Rishardo17 Friday, July 21st, 2006 | 11:37 am PST
quote:
Originally posted by stubby08
Accutually they can break my friend had his stiffi on a dragun tes and was using co2 and the stiffi kinda froze over and was fine then the next day it cracked at the top but he had it sanded down and its just as good its a 12inch now not a 14inch


This barrel has zero thermal expansion so it probably wouldnt crack due to freezing over.
   

akdew2 Sunday, September 3rd, 2006 | 10:27 am PST
quote:
Originally posted by MustBrew2Liv
I just broke the tip off of my Stiffi, this past weekend. It was during Tourney Team practice. I guess it happened while I was diving and sliding into bunkers. By the end of the day we noticed a crack at the end where the fluting, or large ports are. I imagine it won't be covered by warranty. I'll just cut the end off with a high speed cutting disc I guess.
isn't the tip of the stiffi made of aluminum?
   

akdew2 Sunday, September 3rd, 2006 | 10:31 am PST
quote:
Originally posted by vettewon
I don't have anything to add due to the fact that the rest of these comments point out all the contradictions in your post.
then why are you saying anything?
   

akdew2 Sunday, September 3rd, 2006 | 10:32 am PST
quote:
Originally posted by cyber_boy14

You must be an idiot to hit it with a hammer.

totally dude
   

akdew2 Sunday, September 3rd, 2006 | 10:33 am PST
quote:
Originally posted by BDX
This review is rather perplexing. I'll try to point out the contradictions respectfully.

High marks are given the barrel in the Pro section for lightness, accuracy and quietness. Yet in the cons the lightness is dinged. Folks generally are trying hard to make their markers as light as possible so when a product comes out that does that in a big way its rather odd to have that counted against it (The Egg II Hopper is probably the biggest culprit in making a marker back heavy ). It then does seem rather absurd that a fix, as suggested, would be to make the barrel heavier to make it "the best barrel".

I'm also surprised at the dink for having to "clean it" just right or you'll have problems. Site makes no bones about the fact that they want you to use a rubber squeegee. This is to avoid having fibers from a cloth or fleece swab catch and create splinters on the ports. These splinters can break balls. If you bought a Masseratti and they said said "Dont use 87 octane gas or you'll spank the carbs" would you go ahead and use it? A condition of using one of the Stiffis is a rubber squeegee, I've put like 8 cases of paint through mine and even though I'll shortstroke a ball now and then resulting in a chop, the barrel cleans itself pretty well. Using a rubber squeegee, as required by the manufacturer is no big deal IMO.

In some respects the durability comment is valid but only in a limited way; the first generation ports created a weakness in the muzzle area. When SIte discovered this they immediately redesigned the porting and sent new 2nd generation barrels to anyone with a cracked muzzle. A few idiots actually deliberately broke their barrels in a vise, the vise jaw marks were showing when the barrel was received by the factory, just to get a 2nd gen barrel with the new Stiffi jewell. Lmao! (Site rejected their claims as they should have).

I note one commenter here has a busted barrel call Site and send your old one to them. They'll take care of you. Other than this porting issue, which really had more to do with a design flaw not a material flaw there is no reason to believe that the lightness of the barrel means it fragile.

I agree on price I think ts a bit steep which is why i didnt give it a perfect score.

All in all I see a review here where the barrel is highly praised for everything a barrel should be praised for, but then knocked for some of the same things. There is more good than not and I think it deserves better than the "Average" 7 barrel as indicated here.

Respectfully
BDX



thank you sherlock
   
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page

Post a Comment
Please log in to your account to post a comment.

Not a member yet? Sign up now for free!

Return to the Reviews

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media