paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Comments on cveale's Review / Comments on cveale's Review / Comments on cveale's Review / Comments on cveale's Review / Comments on cveale's Review

Comments on cveale's Review

Jump to the Comments  |  Post a Comment  |  Dispute this Review  |  Return to the Reviews

cveale Monday, November 3rd, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month21 of 24 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Model 98 - Hey, it was my first gun.
Modded Autococker - Nice gun, but still no comparison to the A4.
Marker Setup: A4 with Max-Flow running 300 psi into the mini-reg.
190 Psi into the gun
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrels -- 1 piece would be better for efficiency due to the markers low pressure.
Strengths: Speed, Speed, Speed. Efficiency. Accuracy. Reliability.
Weaknesses: Bounces easily with the shortest trigger pull set.
Review: Let me start by saying that the fire rate on this thing is sick. It's capable of firing faster than you can pull the trigger, so those of you that think you have fast trigger fingers need to try this baby. I was firing right next to guys using Timmys and Matrixes and I could keep sustained rates of fire as fast as they could, but I would have bursts occasionally that were so close together that is sounded like a hum.

My old gun was an autococker, so I know about accuracy. People, you need to start believing what people are saying about accuracy not being dependent on the gun. They are right. I have seen tweaked out Piranah shoot as accurately as a Matrix. Autocockers that could't hit the broad side of a barn, and also some that could fire paint through a keyhole. I have been goggled by an Angel in a single fire snap shot from 40 yards. Accuracy is air consistency, barrel match, and lack of kick, and to some degree the bolt. With that said. The A4 was amazingly accurate out of the box. The balls never seemed to come down. I was hitting hoppers with only an inch of them exposed at 50 yards.

I have been getting about 1800+ shots with my 68cu 4500psi Max-Flo. I haven't tweaked it much, but I have heard of people getting over 2000 shots by just adjusting the gun pressures.

I experienced very little kick and the people I was playing with commented on how quiet the gun was which is pretty amazing considering that the autococker that I used before sounded like a breath when it fired.

The SENSI (paint sensor) worked perfectly. I have yet to chop ANY paint after 4 cases through it. Not a single ball. Plus, I personally feel this system is better than the eyes because it will continue to still work if a brittle ball does break and gets paint in the breech. An eye will be "blind".

What more can I say.. 12 fire modes, easily adjustable trigger,faster hammer than the Speed, very low pressure, game timer, IR communication with other Angels, EXTREMELY light, great grip. Basically, the perfect gun.
Conclusion: Baddest kid on the block. I would put this up against any gun out there today, and already have.

This gun just feels expensive. It doesn't look like a toy (*cough* Timmy *cough*) and performs like a dream. You are not just shooting balls with this thing. You are hosing people down with paint.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, November 3rd, 2003 at 6:03 pm PST
 

Review Comments
ItsJustMe Monday, November 3rd, 2003 | 6:37 pm PST
Fantastic review!

Well thought out, detailed.

Thank you so much for taking the time to provide such an awesome review!
   

pbotter Thursday, November 13th, 2003 | 7:08 am PST
why are you badmouthing timmy's? They are great beginner guns. Its not as good as angels, but at least it wont break if you get a grain of sand in theinternals.
   

cveale Thursday, November 13th, 2003 | 8:07 pm PST
Hey, the Timmy is not just a great beginner's gun. It's a great pro gun. I just was voicing my personal taste in that I thought it looked more like a toy than a real expensive gun. This is just my opinion and I was taking a cheap jab at the Timmy, but still it doesn't detract from the fact that the Timmy is also a great gun. I ALMOST bought one.
   

Mr Woggles Sunday, January 4th, 2004 | 3:45 pm PST
I like pie and paintball guns
   

motoracer1253 Sunday, January 11th, 2004 | 12:45 am PST
all paintball guns look like guns for the future or toys and i think pbotter is a newb and thinks that a timmy is a tippman because there is no intimidator out there that a begginer should have, but great review
   

AlmightyRuler84 Sunday, February 8th, 2004 | 9:02 pm PST
Paint to barrel match is only one factor in accuracy. Gun design is a MAJOR factor! Some guns just aren't as accurate as others. Just accept it.
   

BabyGotBackman Tuesday, February 17th, 2004 | 7:22 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by pbotter
why are you badmouthing timmy's? They are great beginner guns. Its not as good as angels, but at least it wont break if you get a grain of sand in theinternals.

No "beginner gun" has a four figure price tag. Perhaps you were confused with "Tippys", or Tippmanns.
   

Jag-Panzer Wednesday, February 18th, 2004 | 5:37 pm PST
oic i thought it was a joke, still though its partially true, i mean cmon Timmy = Spyder
even says it in the manual
   

BabyGotBackman Thursday, February 19th, 2004 | 3:32 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by Jag-Panzer
oic i thought it was a joke, still though its partially true, i mean cmon Timmy = Spyder
even says it in the manual


i somewhat aggree with you, ill never, ever buy an Intimidator. Ive seen them shoot, they are indeed fast, but for that money i woundt go intimidator. I really think that it is all just hype, as a result of the fancy milling, the ironmen arent even a nbr one team
   

cveale Monday, April 26th, 2004 | 7:57 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by AlmightyRuler84
Paint to barrel match is only one factor in accuracy. Gun design is a MAJOR factor! Some guns just aren't as accurate as others. Just accept it.

Bah!!

I have seen a Piranah hit as tight of an area as my cocker does. All he put on his marker was a Palmer reg and a boomstick. I have been playing paintball since '96 and have learned that paint / barrel is more important than the gun. The proof is on my side, not yours. Several reports have been done proving this. Stop fighting facts.
   

AlmightyRuler84 Saturday, May 8th, 2004 | 9:23 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by cveale

Bah!!
I have seen a Piranah hit as tight of an area as my cocker does. All he put on his marker was a Palmer reg and a boomstick. I have been playing paintball since '96 and have learned that paint / barrel is more important than the gun. The proof is on my side, not yours. Several reports have been done proving this. Stop fighting facts.


Correction: the proof is on MY side. Not yours. & I am actually fighting FOR the REAL facts. Apparently those are the ones you're fighting against.
Gimme some proof or stop wasting our time with this b.s.!
Last edited on Monday, May 24th, 2004 at 11:25 am PST
   

AngelIR4user Thursday, June 24th, 2004 | 9:40 pm PST
that's pretty funny the day after i post sumthin on this review automattically he knows and is all over me....by the way can u give me the website where it actually proves thhat gun design is a major factor in accuracy? It may be a major factor in accuracy AND speed becuz with a balanced platform and a LP marker beause this results in less kick from the marker and more sustained accurate strings of paint from the marker...how ever it does not have anything to do with single shot accuracy... give me the website that has results and data to back up your comment and i will admit that you are rite.
   

eggoncocker Sunday, July 17th, 2005 | 6:43 pm PST
dose anyone know if you can put a hp tank on a angel LCD 2001
   

AlmightyRuler84 Sunday, December 4th, 2005 | 6:29 am PST
All Angels before the first Speed were high pressure. So running it with a high pressure tank would be required.
   

AlmightyRuler84 Sunday, July 22nd, 2007 | 11:31 pm PST
I know this has been a long time now (I don't come here often), but I would like to apologise to cveale & AngelIR4user for the comments I have made here.

I would also like to admit that I was still inexperienced in many areas of paintball. Particularly in certain technical aspects. I have come a long way in these past few years in overall knowledge & experience.

This probably doesn't make much of a difference, but I have become a proud Angel fan. I currently own a G7 Fly & it's insane.

So again, I apologise.
   

Post a Comment
Please log in to your account to post a comment.

Not a member yet? Sign up now for free!

Return to the Reviews

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media