paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Comments on E r y k's Review / Comments on E r y k's Review / Comments on E r y k's Review / Comments on E r y k's Review / Comments on E r y k's Review

Comments on E r y k's Review

Jump to the Comments  |  Post a Comment  |  Dispute this Review  |  Return to the Reviews

E r y k Monday, November 3rd, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
1 year423 of 460 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann M98c
Piranha 2k3 E-force
Tippmann A-5
2k2 STO Autococker
Bob Long Timmy
Angel Speed (fired at my proshop, i almost peed myself)

the lower end guns cannot be compared to higher end guns. its just like comparing apples to oranges, it cant be done.
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98c
Red Lightning PaintJob
Lapco Bigshot
Evo 2 with Y board
Toxic 2x Trigger
DOP Drop
Palmer Stabilizer
Trigger Mods/ Polished internals
Lapco SIght Rail
Lapco Nickel Plated Double Trigger Guard
20oz Anti Siphon
E-bolt coming
Recommended
Upgrades:
IMPORTANT: Before you go out and buy a billion upgrades, please play with your gun stock to see if you really need them... also dont buy all your upgrades at once, buy some, play with it for a while, and buy some more. This way, you will enjoy it alot more than just buying all the upgrades at once imo.

For this gun, all you need is:
Barrel (to make it more accurate)
Double trigger (if you like it)
Loader (if your firing too fast with double trigger)
HPA or Anti siphon co2.

Anything else is just extra and a waste of money... trust me... i wasted too much money... $600+

NOTE: this gun is not the best thing in the world, its the best thing for beginners but can be upgraded to pluto and back... there are better guns out there.
Strengths: In review body.
Weaknesses: In review body.
Review: Strengths:

Dont you just hate reviews that are crunched together? I'm going to try to make this review as easy as possible to read.

I've waited a year to review this gun so I can make sure I can get every little detail in.

Durable - Any gun can be durable if you take proper care of it. When i first got this gun, I did not know i had to oil it... I didnt oil it for 5 months and it still ran like new. This gun is good for newbies who want to play occasionally but also dont want to spend too much time cleaning their gun. But for me, this is my main gun, everything on the gun is upgraded, i am just short of an e-bolt which i should be aquiring soon.

Many owners - This is a pro and a con. Anybody can help you with this gun, many people own it therefore help should be easy to aquire if needed. There is not a problem with this gun that cant be fixed, there is always a fix for this gun... either a proper fix, or a ghetto fix.

Upgrades - Almost any paintball website will have upgrades for this gun, its is very common. Upgrades are pretty nicely priced but you can go overboard easily like me and spend $600+ which was good for me, cause i like my m98, im comfortable with it. As long as your comfortable with your gun, who cares what people say.

Co2 Acceptance - Runs great on co2, heck you can run it on constant liquid co2 if you want. The CVX valve is indestructable. Im sure most of your starters out there wont have enough money for a decent tank (68/4500 which run for $180) although you can get a cheap HPA tank for 80 bucks, but you wont get enough shots.

Design - The way the m98 opens is great, its in 2 halves, this way, you can see everything in front of you and it is accessible... it just takes some time to take it apart and put it together. I can do it no problem now, but if your new, be careful when taking apart the gun, if you need any help ask me.

-----------------------------

Weaknesses:

Stock barrel - but hey, what can you ask for, its stock... no gun comes with a good stock barrel with the exception of some high end guns (impulse etc.. even those barrels are swapped out some times)... but out of all the stock barrels, spyder, piranhas, the tippmanns is the worst. Its 8 inches, the inside looks like its been pulled out of my ass. The insides are so rough, but the barrel still works. You can either polish the barrel yourself which will take some time but make it better than the stock, or pay for a new barrel which will run anywhere from $30 - $100+.

Design - The little parts inside the gun can be a pain in the butt to take out/reassemble when you are a newbie. There are pins, little springs that can go flying. Dont worry, this isnt rocket science, dont let it scare you. You will have to take apart your gun sometime (well my friend has his gun for 2 years already, and hes still yet to take it apart for a cleaning). Trust me, you will have to start somewhere, so start now and learn. Watch for the front sight spring the most, i lost mine, but i ghettofabricated a custom sight spring so its all randy dandy now.

The gun is also pretty long, compared to my friends guns, my gun is a speedball rifle, but i like how it feels, so thats all it matters.

I also wish the body was not cast moulded, the metal is very rough and looks bad... only if tippmann made the m98 more percise. The barrel threads are moulded (sometimes can eat your barrel, it ate the anno off my bigshot)

Another plus would be exchangeable bodies, but nobody makes them, a custom body for the 98 would be so awesome. Since nobody makes aftermarket bodies, i resorted to mill it myself.

Many owners - as i said above, this can be both a pro and a con. A lot of fields use this as their rental guns and many newbies have this gun. It kinda sucks walking onto a field and seeing 908458972341 people with the same gun as you... it really does. Its hard to be unique without dumping alot of dough.

Tippmanns Customer Service - yea, they were top notch a while back. Now, they just plain S U C K... their service blows now, i have completely lost faith in them. My marker was still in warranty, my powertube cracked, and i emailed them for a replacement, i stated that my gun was still in warranty but they still made me pay for a new valve. This pissed me off alot... I rate their service a 2 out of 5. They get a 2 because they actually reply and ask for your money.

Tippmanns weird thinking - The m98 has been out for what? 4-5 years now? Just this month, tippmann out of the blue decides to change the barrel threads for this gun. So new owners will not be able to use old barrels, but old owners could use the new barrels... how stupid is this? Wouldn't this idea change be a little late?

Quote from Tippmann:

quote:
------------------------------------------------------------
--------------------
We changed the ID and OD of the receiver and the barrel threads of 98 Customs about two weeks ago. All guns with serial numbers above 495,501 will not accept the old style barrels. All barrels being made now, have the new style thread. However, all new barrels will also fit older guns regardless of serial number.
If you have an aftermarket barrel with the older style threads, it will not fit the new receiver. We suggest that you contact your supplier for a new style barrel that will fit. All barrel manufacturers were notified of the change long before we ever made any changes.
------------------------------------------------------------
--------------------
Conclusion: I hope this review has helped anybody decide to buy or not buy this gun.
I hope my choice of waiting 1 year before writing this will benefit others.

I would recommend this gun to any beginner who wants something to play with but also wants a gun they can upgrade

I will add more to this review as neseccary

Good Luck

Eryk
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Monday, November 3rd, 2003 at 7:12 pm PST
 

Review Comments
Previous Page
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
p8ntballrebel89 Tuesday, August 24th, 2004 | 3:25 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by NY31Blackburn
Which of the following would u guyz suggest- an imagine '04, or a 98c? Only those two guns-nothing else, ok everybody!
hmm, both good guns but i personally would choose the imagine because it has different firing modes and even when on semi-auto you can shoot faster than the 98. if anything, i would get it just because everyone else has the 98 custom.
Last edited on Tuesday, August 24th, 2004 at 3:26 pm PST
   

FriarTuck Sunday, August 29th, 2004 | 7:58 pm PST
What's up everybody. I recently came to own a 98 custom and I love it. Had a few problems, but after tweaking it a little, everything came out allright.
My specialty in paintballing is modifying guns and tweaking them. I have recently discovered a way to make the 98 custom fully automatic while still keeping it mechanical. The problem is it vibrates the paintballs out of the feed neck because it fires too fast. Does anyone know a possible way to fix this? (maybe a different hopper?)
   

tippmanfreak Tuesday, August 31st, 2004 | 6:25 pm PST
ok your wrong about stock barrels the pro/carbine has A GREAT STOCK BARREL ok. just wanted to say that
   

eatmypaint90 Saturday, September 18th, 2004 | 6:58 am PST
im a spyder owner and like most i have always said tippmans suck :-). But your review really helped me see why my friends like custom 98s. I still say this gun aint for me because its slow but thanks for helping me understand.
   

TXtippmann Saturday, September 18th, 2004 | 12:55 pm PST
I'ts nice to see someone come to terms with their 98 hatred. I can understand the gun not fitting your style of play, but to run it down even though it's good at what it does is unacceptable. If only all Spyder owners were as insightful as you.
   

eatmypaint90 Tuesday, September 28th, 2004 | 2:13 pm PST
I dont know if thats good or not the insightful thing, but i need to know where to get extra screws for the 98c cuz my friend lost his.



plz email me at Seanboy90@yahoo.com

your dedicated spyder guy
Sean =-)

   

pbwildman Sunday, October 3rd, 2004 | 12:51 pm PST
Yo great review thx!!
   

NoS -{_____| Friday, October 15th, 2004 | 12:52 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by TXtippmann
I'ts nice to see someone come to terms with their 98 hatred. I can understand the gun not fitting your style of play, but to run it down even though it's good at what it does is unacceptable. If only all Spyder owners were as insightful as you.

lol, sure their is always more tippmann and spyder lovers!As of right now i have a spyder xtra and i love this little thing,but i had the chance to shoot a tippmann last week.
I think the tippman and xtra are about the same (little differences) but are better suited for different types of people.I fell in love with the tippmann because of the accuarcy, durablity and of course, the iron(plastic) sights!Yet its a little too long for me without a remote.

As of tomorrow i will have enough money for my tippmann!

Spyder+Tippman= great guns

The spyder is better suited for speedball,and the tippman is better for woodsball.
Yet they are so versitile they can do both (just not as well)

-Nos-

   

TXtippmann Friday, October 15th, 2004 | 5:37 pm PST
There you go.
   

eatmypaint90 Saturday, October 30th, 2004 | 5:50 am PST
I no longer have use my spyder for a primary I use a WGP vertical autococker.
   

jokesquad Sunday, November 7th, 2004 | 2:39 pm PST
Wow what a great review Best review i've seen on this site yet
   

Mars47 Sunday, November 21st, 2004 | 4:07 pm PST
Yes, Great review!

I'll admidt I used to dream of getting a Spyder e-99...but those days are over, I used my friends Tippmann with Flatline and I loved it so much I got my own minus the Flatline.

I love the idea of Ghettofabrication. I bought my 98c for $75 from my friend who upgraded to an A5. There were 3 parts missing, the front sight spring, the velocity screw, and one of the CO2 adapter screws... well I went in my basement and found a screw for the Adapter, and made a new spring out of a paper clip (corny but true) and I'll visit the hardware store sometime soon for a screw for the Velocity.

If it weren't for you, I'd have to call Tippmanns Crappy service line (so I've heard) and order the parts I need out of the tippmann MSRP catalog the parts would've totaled about $4.50 but shipping would probably have been like $5.

Thanks Eryk for the art of Ghettofabrication!
   

monkey-poo Saturday, December 18th, 2004 | 1:22 pm PST
^^^
why would you buy a gun that's missing parts.
   

Eklipse42 Wednesday, December 29th, 2004 | 7:13 pm PST
Sweet review, man. I've got a few things to say.

First, the 'Ghettofabrication' thing is awesome... I was laughing about it the entire day after I read the review, however it is very useful... lol.

Next, I want to ask you about the Anti Siphon thing. I've been using liquid CO2 for a long time, all the while being to cheap to go out and spend some money on a compressed air or nitro tank. I've been looking for a cheap 'alternative' for CO2, and if a knowledgable person like yourself uses it, I thought I should find out about it. I looked it up, but I still don't really know what it is. Plz help me.

Next, about the missing screw thing, go to your local paintball shop and ask the guy. I lost a few screws for my Spyders, and he had them there.

Next, about the Imagine or 98c thing, I don't think anyone can tell you if we don't know what you plan on playing as. I would go with a 98c for woodsballing, and an Imagine for speedballing. Also, I would go with the Imagine for front/ center - front (stock that is), and a 98c for center - back/ back (again stock). I know because I have a 98c, though it is far from stock, and I have used my friends Imagine a bit, though it is stock. I have a Spyder, though, that I would say can vouch for an Imagine, the main one being a rather tricked Victor II. The Imagine is basically the electric equivalent of the Victor II.

Finally, I don't hate Tippmann, just because I am mainly a Spyder user. I own both a Tippman 98c and a Spyder Victor II and a Spyder Xtra (though it isn't really an Xtra; it looks like a TL-X, but it says 'Xtra' on the handle; I looked up the TL-X and it doesn't say 'Xtra on it), the Victor II and Tippmann being far from stock, and the Xtra having but a new barrel. I wish that I could wake up tomorrow and hear Spyder people and Tippmann people coming to terms as the people have who have read this review. They are not equal, because they both have their place on the field, but, like eatmypaint90 did, accept that they are both very respectable companies.

Anyways, just my input.... good luck to all of you.

Peace.
Last edited on Wednesday, December 29th, 2004 at 7:16 pm PST
   

E r y k Thursday, December 30th, 2004 | 8:47 am PST
hey Eklipse42,

glad you liked the review... since then, i have moved onto HPA, but i will try to clarify some things for you about anti siphon.

anti-siphon is a little copper tube that goes into your tank. when your tank is fully screwed in, the tube (which wil be bent), will be pointing up. since the liquid will be on the bottom of the tank, the tube will be only exposed to the gaseous co2 therefore only suck in gaseous co2 and no liquid co2. it will cut down on sudden velocity spikes over the chrono, and make your gun slightly more efficient.

although it seems like quite a simple, you should get an certified airsmith to install it for you... incorrect installation may lead to personal injury or injury to those around you.

lastly, anti siphon should only run you around $10-$15 dollars, maybe even cheaper.

   

osoksniper Friday, January 14th, 2005 | 10:20 am PST
i was a spyder lover once and i hated tippmanns because everyone had one, then i realized throwing paint all over the place was tacky and useless. so i looked at a 98 c because i heard it was a great woodsball gun, which is primarily wat i play. i love my 98 c and would never go back to spyder.
   

Dr. Robert Sunday, January 30th, 2005 | 5:22 pm PST
Thanks for writing the nice long review. I was going to buy a piranha but your review changed my mind. I now have a Tippman 98c and I love it.
   

Xcissor Wednesday, February 2nd, 2005 | 1:48 pm PST
Yeah, cast molded is the best for anyone in the woods. Speedballers don't know how bad it sucks for someone to tell you that they only saw the sunlight glimmering off your gun. Tippman's rugged design and durability makes it the perfect gun for the woods.
   

tippmann4life98 Sunday, February 6th, 2005 | 8:43 pm PST
i tip my hat to this review. well done indeed.
   

p8ntballrebel89 Monday, March 7th, 2005 | 3:23 pm PST
about this whole "good for woodsball gun". yeah, that is one thing that I have never got. Why do people say all the time that certain guns aren't good for woodsball? Besides the colors, I don't see how certain guns are bad for woodsball.You can pretty much get every gun in black. Wouldn't an angel be awesome for the woods? Yea, that's what I call suppressive fire. And yes, I know that's not every ones tactic in the woods. Seems to me like having a full auto non typical woods gun would be really good for fireing and maneuvering. Apparently the US military thinks that having fast firing weapons is a good idea. Any full auto or really fast gun (Angel, Bob Longs, Shocker, or basically anything full auto or as fast as it) would be compared to the BAR (Browning Automatic Rifle) of World War 2, or the modern m60 and m249. They lay down a sustained fast amount of fire to keep the enemy down. I don't know about any of you all, but if I am in the woods and I stumble upon some dude shooting full auto 13+ balls a second on me then I am definitely going to be down way faster and longer than with just some guy with a basic semi-auto. Not to mention more freaked out. I have just always heard about certain guns being bad for woods and am just wondering why. There really isn't much of a reason.
Last edited on Thursday, May 26th, 2005 at 1:32 pm PST
   
Previous Page
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page

Post a Comment
Please log in to your account to post a comment.

Not a member yet? Sign up now for free!

Return to the Reviews

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media