paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Comments on E r y k's Review / Comments on E r y k's Review / Comments on E r y k's Review / Comments on E r y k's Review

Comments on E r y k's Review

Jump to the Comments  |  Post a Comment  |  Dispute this Review  |  Return to the Reviews

E r y k Monday, November 3rd, 2003
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion below.
Period of
Product Use:
3 months79 of 153 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spankin VL 200
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98c
Red Lightning PaintJob
Lapco Bigshot
Evo 2 with Y board
Toxic 2x Trigger
DOP Drop
Palmer Stabilizer
Trigger Mods/ Polished internals
Lapco SIght Rail
Lapco Nickel Plated Double Trigger Guard
20oz Anti Siphon
E-bolt coming
Strengths: In review body
Weaknesses: In review body
Review: Edit- 2/20/04- im getting alot of this in my comments... why put an egg on the m98? well heres the answer. 1) because i can. 2) if i switch to faster gun in the future. 3) the cycle rate isnt 11... it can cycle way faster than that.
NOTE: nothing was caused by user error, i took every precaution to make this loader stronger, from sanding off the nubs so the lid wont have to bend too much to open/close, removing the springs so they dont snap back and crack the lid, to glueing reinforcement washers onto the pivot points of the lid... i even decided not to sand down the feedneck cause i was afraid it was going to weaken.

NOTE 2: it is very possible i got a lemon...

I did all this before i even took it on the field just as a precaution... but guess what, it still crapped out on me

Strengths:

Packaging: This is some grade A plastic here, I think this stuff is stronger than the raceway/feedneck on the eggy itself. Awesome advertising, too bad for the ones with the Y board, it still had the same packaging as the non Y board.

Design: Props to VL for creating this uniquely shaped loader which looks like a deformed monkey testicle... but hey, its still special. Its the thought that counts. I like the idea of how the loading process works, how the raceway works and everything... only if this was perfected instead of just ripped off the drawing board and mass produced.

First Impression: After spending 70 bucks plus shipping on this badboy, it finallally arrived... I guess the first impression was great cause it was a fake first impression, this loader is rigged. (explained in the conclusions) remember kids, LOOKS CAN BE DECIEVING.

for the first couple of days, i was overjoyed because i was sitting here with a 18+ claimed bps loader in my hands. the first hour was great, putting balls in the loader, setting the switch to see how fast / slow it will load, sigh, the good ole times.

Right now you must be saying, you must be missing some strengths... trust me, im not.

Weaknesses:

Feedneck: this badboy is amazing, comes in 2 halves its not even glued together... very dissapointing... i would of thought for a whopping 70 dollars i payed for this loader, VL would at LEAST glue the feedneck together or make them stronger, i could literally bend these flimsy things out of place...

Lid: Oh boy... for anybody considering to buy the egg, please buy at least 5 spare ones, they are bound to snap. I tried reinforcing my lid by taking off the springs, glueing washers to it... etc the lid is very hard to open/close... sure its easy to open/close at home cause you actually take time to do it, but on the field, do you actually think you are going to gingerly open the lid and fill it up? i think not, its more of a flip down, pour paint, flip back up... i dont think the lid is ready for that kind of stress on the field

Battery Prongs: I wish they could be more consistent with these prongs, when new, they are rock hard, but after some use, they somehow get smaller and weaker... so then before you almost gave yourself a hernia putting the batteries in, now your worried about them falling out, at this stage, you will need to put some foam to fill in the space between the battery and the battery lid.

Battery Lid: Sigh, you might want to buy a couple of these too, they are only held in weakly and gets bent/dented around the area where it connects to the bottom of the egg. The little grooves inside are also poorly created, they wear out so fast, sooner or later, it wont even close properly without some tape. My egg battery lid wont even close without batteries.
Be gentle with this too, you dont want to snap one of these little grooves inside... but if you do, you will have to buy new ones.

Battery Spacer: Whats up with this? Did VL make measurements off a couple of millimeters so they then decided to stick in the missing millimeters with a seperate battery spacer? I wish they could of made the design like the halo where the battery goes in like a clip. No stupid spacers needed. I'm always looking for this stupid spacer.
btw, with this spacer in, the batterys are nearly impossible to take out... i had to use pliers last time.

Lid Screws: Wow, these things go into the poorly tapped sides on the egg to hold the lid in. I dont even think the holes were tapped, i think they were forced in manually with a screwdriver. (poor factory workers in china gotta hand screw in the screws)

Worst of all, these perky badboys stick into the loader... and CUT YOUR PAINTBALLS... as the loader spins, the balls are tossed around, and if they get tossed into the two spikes of hell, you will have a break in the loader which is a pain to clean.

Customer Service: They got some representative over at pbnation.com, representing VL. Mr. Greenmans a pretty nice guy, helps you out, answer questions. But when your loader is screwed, he gives you a phone number and asks you to call them. So when my eggy broke and was STILL under warrany, I gave them a call, nobody answered or the line was always busy. So i shot them an email, guess what? still no luck... so i gave up.

Warranty: 90 whole whoppin days... i dont think thats enough, they should at least be like odyssey and offer lifetime warranties.

now before you hit the reply button and flame me to hell

Heres how my egg 2 w/ Y board died.

It was a sunny day, when i went to the field, i was very excited... I got my tank filled, filled up the hopper with my evils, and screwed in the co2 tank. I set my gun down on the grass, and ran back into the store to grab my other stuff.

when i came out, i picked up my gun, and amazingly, the Egg just sorta fell off. Pretty damn pathetic if you ask me. I didnt even play a game with it, it never got shot or anything. It snapped off right at the neck and hit the cement floor with a hard thump. (im surprised the shell didnt crack, it just got scratched) when i grabbed it to turn it back on, it sorta smelt like a bbq going on in my hopper... but it went away.

sure, maybe the evil hopper gnomes came to kill my hopper when i ran back into the proshop for 2 seconds... i think not.

I have no explaination for this, but i have formulated a theory.

VL has put a self destruct timer on it, and it decides to blow itself up whenever it feels like it. I have yet to find out where this self destruct mechanism is.

After trying to contact their tech support with no avail, i decided to make my own raceway with fiberglass... i made it all by myself :) So i am happy now, my loader works with my custom raceway made of fiberglass, this isnt going to break anytime soon.

I am trying to aquire somebody who is willing to create a metal body for my egg 2, if you know anybody please LMK.
Conclusion: I give this product an 8 so i dont get flamed to hell because of my experiences

I give this product an 8 also because it has made me a skilled fiberglass moulder

I hope this review has helped anybody here...

Good luck to anybody who purchases this loader.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Friday, February 20th, 2004 at 8:03 pm PST
 

Review Comments
                            
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
Illidan Sunday, November 9th, 2003 | 7:45 pm PST
Dont give it an 8 because of fear of getting flamed, Ive had bad expirence with these d@mn things also, Ive gone through 2 lids, both of which times of tried to email BE, both times I got no response. And now somehow, the board has been damaged, I have no idea how :(. The only reason i dont write a review giving this a 3 is because I have 2 friends who got the exact same hopper, and theres are working great :(, d@mn unlucky me.
Last edited on Sunday, November 9th, 2003 at 7:45 pm PST
   

chibissj Wednesday, November 19th, 2003 | 11:57 am PST
yeh u probably got a lemon, i've had my eggy ii forever, nothing has ever happened thats bad. I love mine I ono maybe u could a used one tha'ts been proven to work? heh i Ono.
   

xm65 Monday, December 8th, 2003 | 5:58 pm PST
I sufferd the same loss as you my brother.... mine actuallly did work fine for months though... then the first lid broke... then another, and then another!!! On sunny day... the loader went nutts and would not work properly... so out came the duck tape... and it worked fine again. Guess the sunlight was messing with it. One day... the loader would not work. It would light up... but nothing else.. I finaly lost it... and just dropped kicked. The only true loss I felt was for the Duracell battiers... those were new and I know those worked!!!! I am sure someone has found thatclear Eggo II full of busted pink paint out at Jungle.... Never again..... It really soes seem that they make these products so that you will have to replace and rebiuld the thing over and over again...
   

E r y k Monday, December 8th, 2003 | 6:02 pm PST
yep... sigh...

their customer service REALLY sucks... ive been trying to get thru them this whole time to get a replacement...

but everytime on the phone, i get put on hold for 15 mins and then hang up.

my warranty is over, so i dunno what to do... i will go halob next time.
   

xm65 Monday, December 8th, 2003 | 6:23 pm PST
well, if you bought it with a credit card... call your credit card company!!!! They usually offer extended warrenties... they may help....

   

Big J Thursday, December 18th, 2003 | 3:16 pm PST
Thanks for posting this review, I found it very helpful. I'm working on getting a new gun, it's a semi, but it's fast. So I'm looking into the fun world of Electronic hoppers, I was thinking about getting one of these Evo 2's.........forget that, I've read too many reviews about the dang thing breaking. I like to take chances all the time out on the field, I don't need my hopper to bust and paint go everywhere just as I need it to work it's hardest.

Again, thanks for the informative review E r y k, it only confirmed my fear upon seeing the weak looking feed neck, along with other weak areas.
Last edited on Thursday, December 18th, 2003 at 3:17 pm PST
   

E r y k Thursday, December 18th, 2003 | 3:20 pm PST
no problem... glad i could help.

dont just take all the info from my review and base your desicions on it, i could of recieved a lemon loader...

along with 2019390123 other ppl :P
   

frontman2k Monday, December 29th, 2003 | 8:10 am PST
mine works great.... sigh now im wondering when it will break.....
   

paintballerxp Tuesday, December 30th, 2003 | 8:42 am PST
viewloader sucks i hate them they screw up with the new style 12v revvis the old eggs the quantum and everything else i thought they actually got around to making a quality product but after reading this review i guess not i dont think VL will ever learn how to make decent feed neck or decent hopper lids
   

endisforever12 Thursday, February 12th, 2004 | 2:35 pm PST
The feed enks are not flimsy. You sanded yours down to much. The battery spacer is there because not all 9 vlts are the same size. Read the manuals that come with it.
   

E r y k Thursday, February 12th, 2004 | 2:51 pm PST
sure they arent... fyi, i didnt dare touch sandpaper on it so i didnt even sand it... i was afraid of it breaking the day I got it.

at least make a better battery cover... not some plastic thing that is labeled

"BATTERY SPACER
do not discard"

man, i didnt even list everything that has flaws, i could go on ages.

i just want to get info across to people who are potential buyers... i also stated that "it is very possible i got a lemon... "
   

AlmightyRuler84 Saturday, February 14th, 2004 | 9:05 pm PST
Why use an Evo 2 with Y board on a Tippmann 98? I know it's speed is adjustable, but they can't shoot anywhere near 19 bps. Anyway, your Evo 2 must've been defective kid. I haven't had any problems with mine.
   

E r y k Saturday, February 14th, 2004 | 9:06 pm PST
why? because i can... why does it matter to you? sure it cant shoot 19, but it can do 13+ with the ebolt so i think im pretty well off...

plz, dont call me kid.
   

miotch Friday, February 20th, 2004 | 4:51 pm PST
http://www.tippmann.com/markers/98c.asp

there it says the maximum cycle rate of the marker is 11bps.. (just FYI)
cycle rate = the maximum times per second the bolt can clear, let a ball load, close, and discharge.. No matter if a finger, machine or solenoid is pulling the trigger.

Very informative post none the less. I wish that most other posts were so detailed and complete.

Good luck with your loader problems

   

E r y k Saturday, February 21st, 2004 | 1:02 pm PST
air jet... good luck.
   

Firestorm7 Sunday, February 22nd, 2004 | 8:12 pm PST
Must have got a lemon, dude - mine's worked great for the 6 months i've had it, not one problem...not even the feed neck...
   

ace6160 Friday, March 12th, 2004 | 10:25 am PST
quote:
Originally posted by miotch
http://www.tippmann.com/markers/98c.asp

there it says the maximum cycle rate of the marker is 11bps.. (just FYI)
cycle rate = the maximum times per second the bolt can clear, let a ball load, close, and discharge.. No matter if a finger, machine or solenoid is pulling the trigger.

Very informative post none the less. I wish that most other posts were so detailed and complete.

Good luck with your loader problems



He said that he is getting the e-bolt. That turns a tippy into a timmy.
   

PaintballThug Monday, March 29th, 2004 | 9:12 am PST
This review has got to be the funniest thing i hev ever read, and i love it!

This review has brightened my day!

One day i hope i can write a review as sarcastic and humerous an this one!

But yah, im a paintball ref and i play paintball all the time, I've had my egg for about 8 months and it hasn'e broke yet BUT i hate the mother..... It makes my E-Orracle sound cheap and makes it feel cheap too. The shells are low quality and they suck, and they make your whole gun feel like poo. I liked playing with a 6 dollar hopper better than my egg - Or even manually feeding every ball through the neck with no hopper.

Although i did take my hopper apart one day to clean it because of a ball getting stuck and chopped under the lid when i slid it back. What a bad dezign! Anyways , none the less, i had to clean it BIG MISTAKE! You cant get the springs back under the hopper lid. so now my hoper has a no spring lid which sucks.

Id be happy if i could get 20 bux for my hopper to help pay for a new decent loader like a halo b. Its a shame some kid will be getting totally ipped off when i sell it to him.. oh well i have no heart for a VL product anywaysToo bad im in trouble for running into an asian gang members car, and have a HUGE visa bill to pay, and if im unlucky i'll get raped analy by Mastercard's 20% interest for not paying it off, OR Have my thumbs and toes broken by an asian mafia! OR EVEN WORSE Ill Get the best of both worlds, SWEETASS! And have no money to upgrade.

Bottom line, dont buy an egg, they go rotten as soon as you buy it.
Last edited on Monday, March 29th, 2004 at 9:13 am PST
   

buckie Monday, May 10th, 2004 | 6:20 pm PST
Hey man I have an eggie and i have had no problems with it at all the batterie bars were good and stiff (but not giving yourself a hernia stiff) the top hasnt broken even though ive slid into cars with it. the only problem ive had is that the neck was to large to go into the neck on my gun but a few grinding bits and a dremel later it fits and no signs of cracking or break anywhere on the hopper. Maybe all the guys that speak bad about the eggie just dont know what they are doing.
   

<Sch> Raven Wednesday, July 14th, 2004 | 2:33 pm PST
You know you can avoid breaking hoppers if you just act like me (I did this to my HALO A aswell) I made a metal body (Aluminum) for it and nothing breaks. If you drop it on Cement, it dents then you punch out the dent with a small hammer.just keep the Y board well away from the body... but if you brave place the end of the board against the metal shell and you'll find out some SHOCKING news :P

If yuo can't do that then you should stick with a HALO B... Anyone know where I could find a new HALO A on the net (wanna get a B-day gift for me best mate)?
   
                            
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page

Post a Comment
Please log in to your account to post a comment.

Not a member yet? Sign up now for free!

Return to the Reviews

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media