paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Comments on Rushifell's Review / Comments on Rushifell's Review / Comments on Rushifell's Review / Comments on Rushifell's Review / Comments on Rushifell's Review

Comments on Rushifell's Review

Jump to the Comments  |  Post a Comment  |  Dispute this Review  |  Return to the Reviews

Rushifell Tuesday, November 4th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month142 of 158 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
various spyders and my inferno
Marker Setup: Rodeo, Check it 15*, BL Torpedo, Empire Reloader, Maddman Rocket valve, 32* meduim main spring, 32* remote, ESP 3.0 frame, 16" Armson stealth or J&J ceramic 14" depending upon how I feel like playing that day. Operating quietly and efficiently at 300PSI
Recommended
Upgrades:
an electro hopper is a good idea.
Strengths: solid and well featured
Weaknesses: vertical adaptor does not permit easy upgrade
Review: After some more use with the gun I am still impressed, I refilled my tank and put about 500 rounds through it this morning in less than 5 minutes, no breaks/chops/otherwise broken paint. Gun preformed splendidly, I am presently using Co2 and a remote, I managed to freeze my tank up REALLY well when rapid firing (and I mean a GOOD freeze) Gun still worked until the tank started dropping in pressure due to the temp, if I was using nitro I would not have had that problem, for general semi auto use Co2 works just fine though. Reloader hopper I would definately call a worthy thing to have when using this gun, keeps em coming no matter how fast you want to work the trigger.
I tried 2 barrels with it this morning
1. Stock barrel- for a stock barrel, its pretty good. Not as accurate or as quiet as the stealth barrel, but still pretty accurate and not really that loud.
no breaks, no issues with it at all.
2. Armson stealth 16"- quiet, very accurate, looks quite good on this gun.
no breaks in my history of owning the barrel, which I have used on my inferno with great success, it works very well here too.
I upgraded my main spring to the 32* medium spring, I havent sat down and rated one spring over the other yet but it seems to be pretty close to the same performance of the stock spring, that might change if I change the valve spring but so far the stock main spring seems to work well enough.
I used the bolt at stock, eventually I will remove the venturi but the gun worked fine with it in.-venturi removed and lip sanded.
Trigger performed very well, I did need to oil it a little bit when I first got it, now its quiet and very fast, fery nice feel to the trigger.
I still love the grips.-and I WISH I could carry them over to the ESP 3.0
I would recommend carefully filing down the edges on the dovetail, just a pass or 2 with a light file, wont affect appearance of the gun but will dull the edges, which may prevent some personal injury in the future.

**The biggest problem I have with this gun** The vertical adaptor that the stock reg/xchamber hook up to is not threaded, the reg is held in by small screws and not threaded, this means that an aftermarket regulator or expansion chamber cannot be installed on the gun with its stock vertical adaptor. VERY ANNOYING. Kingman should pick a bloody standard and STICK WITH IT. To use a different one you will need to find the correct vertical adaptor that will allow you to use aftermarket regs etc, I am not sure which one it is at the moment and pbgear lists 2, one for the compact and one for the tl series, if anybody knows which one will fit this gun, please, let me know in comments.

**EDIT** the check it 15* vertical adaptor will fit this gun nicely, and it looks good too.

**11-26-03*** ESP frame, J&J ceramic (black), Bob Long Torpedo, and check it 15* not only look awesome on this gun but it performs even more effectively, its not bad to start but it only gets better. A little time working on the reg and getting the right spring ratios will bring you great things with this gun, I dont presently have a gague on he gun but as soon as I get one I will be trying to get a lower operating pressure, right now its set as low as it can be to still recock every single time and get decent FPS using the stock valve, which is my next upgrade. I am probably at about 400-450 PSI which isnt much lower than stock pressure, however the valve upgrade should allow me to drop this further. Again with no gague I really dont know.
I am also using CO2 at the moment, with this setup (the remote probably makes the biggest difference here) It runs like a top, no issues with pressure until I get an empty tank (and I mean EMPTY) And since the torpedo and remote no freeze ups on the tank even after good long bursts of rapid fire (none of which misfired)

***I have a pic posted here***
http://www.spyderea.net/forum/topic.asp?TOPIC_ID=7328

For a stock gun, its great, everything works just fine, it shoots reliably, rapidly, and accurately. Its not very difficult to maintain either, looks to me like a gun you can keep.

I am rating this gun based on performance and looks, and I am changing my score by
-1 because of that damn vertical adaptor.
Conclusion: so far, outstanding overall, definately a good starter gun at stock, worth looking into at a minimum, plenty of upgrades available as it is a spyder and can accept spyder upgrades. Grips are very comfortable, trigger frame is aluminum but has the look of brushed steel. Very fast trigger, great semi, one of kingmans best overall.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, May 26th, 2004 at 3:23 pm PST
 

Review Comments
                            
Pages (6):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
sonnemann Tuesday, November 4th, 2003 | 5:22 pm PST
(finally)
   

habu953 Sunday, November 9th, 2003 | 6:45 am PST
Great review.... seems pretty unbiased, Thanx
Been thinking about buying a Rodeo think I just may.
   

Rushifell Monday, November 17th, 2003 | 3:07 pm PST
Please post your own reviews as well when you get your guns, this is a very nice gun and a lot pf people are wary of trying it because of its newness, the more reviews the better, gives a more accurate look at a gun from multiple points of view and multiple individual experiences with the gun and it will help people make a better informed decision. Especially after those gun bashers came into this review section just to reduce the rating of this gun, post honestly but bashing isnt necessary.
I have the gun and I am still interested in reading reviews on it to see how consistently results similar to mine are achieved.
   

sonnemann Tuesday, December 2nd, 2003 | 2:09 pm PST
whoa man i checked out the pics and whew thats one of the nicer spyders ive seen... it's like mine except 3 years more up to date (sniffle...)
anyway what kind of grip frame adaptor is that? I've been looking for one that isn't chrome because chrome bugs the crap out of me. I'm assuming it's Lapco, but maybe not.
again, nice gun.
   

Rushifell Tuesday, December 2nd, 2003 | 2:59 pm PST
its a 32*
and it does not come with mounting screws, which is a pain in the butt, because the stock screws dont fit. I am probably going to drill the block out a bit to allow stock screws to work, it fits on there nicely except for that. I have a lapco on the way from g3 that ill probably use instead, i have another gun to use that part on, if i knew what size/thread the stock screws were it would be easier to get it to fit. i am using 6-32x1" screws with a single washer and it fits but it comes loose, the screws are a tiny bit too small. (narrow)
   

sonnemann Tuesday, December 2nd, 2003 | 3:55 pm PST
Yeah I noticed the same thing on the crappy NW paintball one I bought- the threads are too tight. Btw, DO NOT BUY THE NW PAINTBALL SPYDER ADAPTER! The offset holes are threaded, but the inline ones are not. This is a stupid design, and it only works with a drop forward in various odd configurations (mine will go as so: threaded grip adapter into grip, df into adapter, screws holding NONTHREADED NW adapter into df, and offset-hole ASA screwed into the NW adapter.) As you can probably guess, I have endured much frustration regarding all this crap and I would like to make a formal plea to Kingman. Sure, it's cool to be different, but Kingman doesn't even make the adapters, so they donít make any money off of having offset holes! (Unless Kingman has some sort of evil corporate agreement with the makers of drop forwards and ASAs that are spyder-specific, which doesn't make good business sense at all.) So please, Kingman, for the love of God, stop with the offset screws! I looked at an e99 and noticed that the asa screws into the df are inline, but are sideways...come on, guys, STOP YOuR CRAPPA! So annoying...arrghhhhghgh...
(gets up from the computer, and retreats slowly into a dark corner, where proceeds to sob uncontrollably and thrash about wildly, eventually injuring self quite severely)
(cough)
   

Rushifell Tuesday, December 2nd, 2003 | 4:12 pm PST
indeed.
the 32* is not threaded, its just too thick for the screws to reach the nuts in the frame, drilloing it deeper would fix or longer screws. the 1" screws with a small washer are perfect length, but i have the wrong thread and screw width, ill dig out my caliper and figure out what it is later on.

**8-32x1" screw work perfectly, perfect fit.
Last edited on Wednesday, December 3rd, 2003 at 1:46 pm PST
   

PvSkaterKing Monday, December 29th, 2003 | 11:33 am PST
On my rodeo it looks like the bolt is scratched and i was just wonderin if it has happened on any other rodeo.

Also does anyone know where i can buy paintballs in bulk from a site.
   

Rushifell Monday, December 29th, 2003 | 5:11 pm PST
scratches ont the front of the bolt are normal in any spyder, only way to reduce them is to polish the bolt nicely and carefully. it will not affect the operation of the gun and it is normal, so dont need to worry.

pballs u take a risk getting them online, if 1 is broken in the bag when u get it it can trash the entire bag or a good portion of it, best to get from a local field if possible, here the field sells blaze for $48/cs.
   

Silent-Version Thursday, January 1st, 2004 | 10:20 am PST
HOolllly cow thats a good review. I'm waiting for my rodeo to get here, i got it off of ebay. I'll be sure to post a review, even though i have absolutly no paintball experience what-so-ever.
   

RDG Saturday, January 3rd, 2004 | 12:40 pm PST
That's a nice gun, but I just have one question: why did you buy the Rodeo if you were going to upgrade it so much so quickly?
   

White Lightning Sunday, February 1st, 2004 | 10:54 am PST
nice pics this gun looks sweet when i buy it next week i'll reveiw it
   

Rushifell Tuesday, February 10th, 2004 | 8:51 pm PST
I didnt make it a 9.7 so why complaining in my post?
   

simon1992 Friday, February 13th, 2004 | 11:17 am PST
i bought a rodeo a few months ago and i love it. no problems with gun at all. only problem i have been running into is finding different brands of paint that match the stock barrel. most of the paint i see just falls straight throught the barrel. can anyone recommend a paint that fits snuggly inthe barrel yet can still be blown out? any help would be great
   

Rushifell Friday, February 13th, 2004 | 6:30 pm PST
midnight, competitive edge, blaze.
   

PvSkaterKing Saturday, February 14th, 2004 | 11:24 pm PST
Well I have finally decided to upgrade my rodeo but I ran into a problem with the bolt, does anyone have any suggestions?

If ur just playin with your friends get I&I house paint it works.(If there isnt an I&I near u there is other house paint that works fine) I use housepaint when playin with my friends cuz it is cheaper($30.00-2,000)
Last edited on Saturday, February 14th, 2004 at 11:24 pm PST
   

Rushifell Tuesday, February 17th, 2004 | 12:42 am PST
spudnukl or modified stock are i would immediately recommend unless u want to spend on a lightning.
   

Squirrelrocket Thursday, February 19th, 2004 | 6:20 pm PST
Hey man great review. Your rodeo is sweet. I just ordered mine and cant wait to get it. Just one question. Does it have like a reactive trigger response?
   

Rushifell Thursday, February 19th, 2004 | 7:41 pm PST
the stock Rodeo is a mechanical semi automatic, so at stock when you get it it wont.
a listed feature of the Kingman trigger frame is reactive response trigger, so in that aspect yes, but that is referring to the fact that it uses a switch instead of some mechanical means, so essentially.. any electro frame has reactive response trigger.
If you are are asking about reactive trigger (pull trigger shoot release trigger shoot) then no, but I tweaked my trigger pull to be so light that i can fire just as fast as auto in semi mode no problem at all.
That gun can rip off shots like no other on our field (excepting the A5 that ocassionally shows up with an e-frame and 20bps, i am, however, more accurate than he is and significantly more gas efficient, quieter as well.)
   

Jonny Bravo Sunday, February 22nd, 2004 | 9:03 pm PST
The stock VA is still horrible ;). Added a CIP 15* and Palmer's Stab to mine. With those, the Spudnukl bolt, 32* magnaport and polished striker I'm running at 300psi @ 288-293 on CO2.

<edit> forgot to mention the 32* spring kit.</edit>
Last edited on Sunday, February 22nd, 2004 at 9:03 pm PST
   
                            
Pages (6):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page

Post a Comment
Please log in to your account to post a comment.

Not a member yet? Sign up now for free!

Return to the Reviews

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media