paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Comments on CO-Baller's Review / Comments on CO-Baller's Review / Comments on CO-Baller's Review / Comments on CO-Baller's Review / Comments on CO-Baller's Review

Comments on CO-Baller's Review

Jump to the Comments  |  Post a Comment  |  Dispute this Review  |  Return to the Reviews

CO-Baller Sunday, November 16th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month72 of 83 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Several other Spyders, Tippmann and Piranha
Marker Setup: + Tippmann 98 Custom (J&J Ceramic 14", Lapco Direct Feed, Ricochet AK, Pro Team Hyperstar bolt, collapisble butt stock, Tasco Red Dot sight, NW raised sight rail)
+ Spyder Fenix (Ricochet AK)
Recommended
Upgrades:
electric loader (Ricochet or Revy)
Strengths: design
anodized finish
CAMD display
accurate
bearing detent
regulator
weight / balance
top-cocking bolt
Weaknesses: flimsy grip covers
no charging indicators
can't set max ROF in Semi mode
Review: I used with this for the first time yesterday. I was initially impressed with the paint finish, design and overall feel of the gun. I didn't chop any balls, but everyone was breaking balls yesterday due to the colder temps. With its speed and accuracy I was dominating every game and the Fenix never let me down. With the regulator, I was pleased with its consistancy on the chrono and during intense gun fights. Before I played I adjusted the trigger for a nice short pull...sure glad that option was there! The burst and auto modes were fun to mess around with, but illegal in our games. I wish I could set the max ROF in Semi mode. The CAMD is easy to operate and easy to read. Needless to say, after we were done gaming I was a VERY happy Fenix owner!

The weaknesses I listed do not effect performance, so I still give the Fenix a 10!
Conclusion: I am very happy with this marker and highly recommend it.....I feel I got a GREAT marker for $240. Compared to other Spyders, this too is a well performing gun with nice new features from Kingman. I love this gun and when I'm in the mood for some f ast-n-fun games I'll put down the the Tippmann and pull out the Fenix.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, November 16th, 2003 at 1:31 pm PST
 

Review Comments
Te_Aito Monday, November 24th, 2003 | 11:38 am PST
To adjust the ROF in Semi mode, PULL THE TRIGGER FASTER!!
   

Paintballshurt Sunday, December 7th, 2003 | 11:17 am PST
quote:
Originally posted by Te_Aito
To adjust the ROF in Semi mode, PULL THE TRIGGER FASTER!!

yeah y would that guy think u should be able to change the rof in semi? its preset at 14bps so thats how fast u can get it to go
   

CO-Baller Sunday, December 14th, 2003 | 6:20 am PST
Pull the trigger faster??? LMAO! That was funny! What I was referring to with the ROF adjustment was similar to the Black Dragun LCD triggers.....you can set max ROF in SEMI mode so you're assured that you never out-shoot your hopper. This was a NICE feature and I thought it would be nice to have on the Sypder trigger too. No Biggy!! I'll just have to be more cautious not to get carried away on the trigger!!! :) ....that or buy a Halo!! ;)
   

icerunner45 Wednesday, December 31st, 2003 | 12:35 pm PST
There is a charging indicator isn't there? I got one for Christmas and I thought I read something in the manual about a battery lighting up when it needs to be charged.
   

Longhorn450 Monday, January 5th, 2004 | 4:28 pm PST
You should have paid $20 more and gotten a Bushmaster.
   

wreckmachine326 Monday, February 16th, 2004 | 9:58 pm PST
can someone please tell me why the guns chop if the hopper doesnt keep up. i dont understand it. please tell me i would really apreciate it
THANKS...
   

bko999 Sunday, March 14th, 2004 | 12:04 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by wreckmachine326
can someone please tell me why the guns chop if the hopper doesnt keep up. i dont understand it. please tell me i would really apreciate it
THANKS...


Well to start off it is indeed true that when your hopper doesnt keep up with your gun you will start to chop. What happens in this situation is the gun is preparing to chamber a ball to fire when you pull the trigger (this is with open bolt guns). If the ball is not chambered, it means that the pb is not fully seated in the breech. And if the ball is not fully seated, then is half way in the breech and halfway in the feed neck still. So when the bolt goes forward, it hits the pb and slices (chops) it instead of pushing in forward and firing it. Agitated hoppers are designed to feed the pbs faster so that they get chambered faster, this way they wont get pinched by the bolt.
(chambered faster = less chops).
Last edited on Sunday, March 14th, 2004 at 12:06 pm PST
   

wreckmachine326 Wednesday, March 17th, 2004 | 6:31 pm PST
THANK YOU VERY MUCH I REALLY APRECIATE IT
   

qcposey Wednesday, March 31st, 2004 | 6:25 pm PST
im relatively new to paintball so what is a bearing detent
   

Mr.Matrix Monday, April 5th, 2004 | 10:09 am PST
quote:
Originally posted by qcposey
im relatively new to paintball so what is a bearing detent


it keeps the pballs from rolling out of the barrel
   

sniper_gnome Tuesday, April 13th, 2004 | 1:54 pm PST
hey man, i've been looking for a collapisble butt stock for my fenix, but i cant find them any where, could you help me out and tell me where you got it? how much? and how you attached it to the back of the marker?
Thanks
   

Sprtony Thursday, April 22nd, 2004 | 3:25 pm PST
Whats goin on peeps. I bought a Fenix a while ago and have since then just bought an ak e-loader, and is standard with a co2 air system. i will definitely get the dye grips but what kind of barrel and air system would be best for it. im trying to research this well before i buy anything else. help out. thanks.
   

kdf338 Sunday, April 25th, 2004 | 12:21 pm PST
I just bought a fenix but i havn't got it yet. I have heard that the new line of spyders
(electra,fenix,pilot) are new and improved from what spyder usually has to offer, is this true? I am wondering because a few of my friends have e-99 and all they have is problems with them.
   

crazypunk2F Monday, May 31st, 2004 | 11:12 am PST
soo dudes should i get a fenix??????
   

kyle impulse#1 Saturday, August 7th, 2004 | 1:04 am PST
dude, save up for a better gun dude. dude. i would save up for something better. but if ur in a pickle with fenix vs. tippmans.... always go with the fenix. i didnt find the fenix to be all that great. i would say thats its about the same as a spyder imagine select. the spyder imagine select is a tickle bit cheaper.
   

Dm4 22448248 Friday, September 17th, 2004 | 9:54 pm PST
does a blade magnetic trigger work on the fenix
   

tippmannstealth Monday, November 8th, 2004 | 1:20 pm PST
im getting a fenix sometime soon what are some does it really leak alot or are those ppl just f---ed up. if it does leak what can I do to fix it
   

spencerTLXblu Sunday, December 12th, 2004 | 9:49 am PST
for one i would like to say that fenixes arent just spyder imagine selects...they have a much better display, an inline regulator, a clamping feed neck, and a better barrel...second is yes they do leak...but all guns can leak...i have had one leak on mine and that was an easy fix...the leaks usually happen where the hose goes into the regulator or bottomline ASA...and those all you have to do is get a wrench and tighten up the nuts...also there is a chance that the guage on the regulator will leak...but thats easy to fix to...on mine i am using a co2, vieloader eVLution 2 hopper with z board, new designz low rise clamping feed neck, dye sticky 3 grips, shocktech superfly fenix bolt, shocktech blade trigger, smart parts stainless steak freak back, silver freak front (total length of 14 inches) and the complete stainless steak boremaster kit...the barrel has EXTREMELY good accuracy and i would reccomend it to anyone that has enough money...if not just get a 12-14 inch smart parts teardrop barrel...i had one of those on my old gun which was a spyder TLX (hence the name)...that barrel is awsome for the price...you can get those off actionvillage.com for about 35...the complete freak kit (the 3 things) cost me $222 total (including tax and shipping) and on action village every order over $100 gets free ground shipping....HOPE THIS HELPS!
   

speedpb12 Saturday, April 30th, 2005 | 9:07 am PST
wha would be a good air system for these?
   

paintballer279 Monday, August 22nd, 2005 | 10:33 am PST
hey stupid newb just pull the trigger faster in semi.....what a newb
   

Post a Comment
Please log in to your account to post a comment.

Not a member yet? Sign up now for free!

Return to the Reviews

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media