paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Comments on Menohl's Review / Comments on Menohl's Review / Comments on Menohl's Review / Comments on Menohl's Review

Comments on Menohl's Review

Jump to the Comments  |  Post a Comment  |  Dispute this Review  |  Return to the Reviews

Menohl Monday, November 24th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month142 of 148 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98 Custom Stock Barrell
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 Custom
GTA Inline Expansion Chamber
GTA Double Trigger
32* Star Fire Bolt
J&J 14" Ceramic Barrel
Viewloader 12V Revolution w/ X-Board
Brass Eagle Red Dot Sight
32* Coiled Remote
Thunder Pig In-Line CO2 Gauge
PMI 20oz. CO2 Tank
Recommended
Paintballs:
I use Blue Streak Paintballs and they worked just fine, but i did shoot some other brands throught it as well such as Worr and Marbilizer and they worked just as good.
Strengths: Auto Cleaning
Increased Accuracy
Very Quiet
Weaknesses: None
Review: When i bought my Tippmann 98 one of the first things that became apparent to me was that i was going to need a good upgrade in the barrell department.

I did a little research and as much as i wanted to go with the Flatline Barrell i just wasn't ready to sink that kind of money into a barrell yet.

I found my 14" Ceramic on ebay, and got the barrell with shipping for $28.50.

I recieved it on a Thursday and had it out in the field the following Saturday.

Now the first thing i had to get used to was the accuracy of the shots, i was quite blown away at how accurate the barrell was and how consistant my shots were staying. This thing was a god sent!!!

Breakages... Well i had 2-3 balls break on me throught the day, and i must say that the Teflon coating worked like a champ, i just fired another round, and the problem went away. Just to satisfy my curiousity, i ran a squeegee and a swab through it at the end of the day, and much to my suprise there was little to no residue on it at all.

Noise... This thing is MUCH quieter than my stock barrell. I found that many times when i was in an ambush and i fired, my targets could not figure out where i was for awhile, this barrell is much quieter than the stock barrell, and that makes a big difference in how fast you get spotted when you are sniping.

Fit to gun... My barrell did come with an O-Ring, and it fits my Marker like a glove. it is snug, and it does not move once screwed in.

Durability... I know that a bunch of people have said that this barrell chips real easy, well all i have to say is that it IS A CERAMIC BARRELL if you smack it against rocks and tree's and such, eventually you will chip or break it. I used mine all day in spool fields in woods fields and i never had a problem with the barrell chipping.

If you chip or break this barrell it can only be because you are throwing your gun around like an ape and in that case you deserve to break it because you don't know how to care for your equipment.
Conclusion: This barrell is a must have for Tippmann 98 Custom Owners!!! Even if you are thinking seriously about the flatline barrell, go get this one first, you might find that you no longer want to get the flatline! 10 out of 10
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, February 4th, 2004 at 6:47 am PST
 

Review Comments
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
Hessien Wednesday, April 28th, 2004 | 9:30 am PST
lol, I dont have a ceramic anymore (a great barrel) but i must confess to having hit my barrel on a tree like an ape! I was jumping for cover, when I took a hit in the lense, causeing me not to see a tree right in front of me. I hit full force with the tip of my barrel. It bruised my lung and i thought I may have to see a doctor, but a couple of hours later, I was fine. I had given my barrel up for scrap but when I went back to get it It was fine!! barely a scratch.
   

Menohl Saturday, May 1st, 2004 | 6:41 am PST
quote:
Originally posted by Hessien
lol, I dont have a ceramic anymore (a great barrel) but i must confess to having hit my barrel on a tree like an ape! I was jumping for cover, when I took a hit in the lense, causeing me not to see a tree right in front of me. I hit full force with the tip of my barrel. It bruised my lung and i thought I may have to see a doctor, but a couple of hours later, I was fine. I had given my barrel up for scrap but when I went back to get it It was fine!! barely a scratch.

You are forvigen my child.
   

S77bubba Thursday, June 10th, 2004 | 7:47 pm PST
Which barrel for the 98 custom do you recommend in the under $90 range?
   

Menohl Thursday, June 10th, 2004 | 10:42 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by S77bubba
Which barrel for the 98 custom do you recommend in the under $90 range?
Umm... the J&J 14" Ceramic Barrel...

Which is the barrel this review is of...
   

bradkoll09 Monday, July 26th, 2004 | 6:03 pm PST
Hey Menohl, the place where I buy my paintball stuff doesn't have this in the 14in. Should I buy the 12in or buy the 14in for a spyder and get a barrel adapter.
   

Menohl Monday, July 26th, 2004 | 7:59 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by bradkoll09
Hey Menohl, the place where I buy my paintball stuff doesn't have this in the 14in. Should I buy the 12in or buy the 14in for a spyder and get a barrel adapter.

To be honest you more than likely won't notice much of a difference beteween the 12 and the 14. I do prefer the 14 over the 12 myself, but that's personal preferance.

I got my 14" for $25 i'd like to know what your source is offering, PM me and we'll talk
   

Keden Tuesday, August 31st, 2004 | 6:45 pm PST
Menohl i'm a little short on cash and would like this barrel. Any ideas on how to raise money?!
   

TXtippmann Friday, September 10th, 2004 | 7:45 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by Keden
Menohl i'm a little short on cash and would like this barrel. Any ideas on how to raise money?!
I have heard of some people getting jobs to fund their paintball expenses. It may be a long shot for you, but you never know.
   

Empyre Sunday, October 31st, 2004 | 6:04 pm PST
hey bradkoll, try a different place to buy paintball stuff, on the web you could get it (14") for $30
   

Delerium? Wednesday, December 8th, 2004 | 4:58 pm PST
Okay, I don't know if any of you know, but what does this work like on a Victor II or Xtra? Also, what's up with ceramic?? Does this affect the durability at all?? Does it affect the effectiveness of the gun at all?? It's an odd concept, but I do understand that it's not completely ceramic... the durability of this barrel is the deciding factor with my buying it, so somebody PLZ help!
   

Delerium? Wednesday, December 8th, 2004 | 5:01 pm PST
Okay, I don't know if any of you know, but what does this work like on a Victor II or Xtra? Also, what's up with ceramic?? Does this affect the durability at all?? Does it affect the effectiveness of the gun at all?? It's an odd concept, but I do understand that it's not completely ceramic... the durability of this barrel is the deciding factor with my buying it, so somebody PLZ help!
   

plaztik Tuesday, December 21st, 2004 | 5:56 am PST
It's durable.

Barrels aren't going to work differently on different guns. It is the same barrel on all of them...
   

Delerium? Wednesday, December 22nd, 2004 | 2:11 pm PST
Okay... thanks, I don't really know much about them, cuz this is gonna be my first aftermarket barrel.
   

veedoubleugee Wednesday, January 26th, 2005 | 11:21 pm PST
Originally posted by Menohl
Durability... I know that a bunch of people have said that this barrell chips real easy, well all i have to say is that it IS A CERAMIC BARRELL if you smack it against rocks and tree's and such, eventually you will chip or break it. I used mine all day in spool fields in woods fields and i never had a problem with the barrell chipping.

the barrel is not ceramic its aluminum. instead of being annoed it has a ceramic coating that is inpregnated into the pores of the aluminum. this makes the internal bore very smooth. the barrel will chip or scratch like any other aluminum barrel no matter how expensive..
   

mr.spidy Thursday, May 19th, 2005 | 2:50 pm PST
i just got to say this barrel must really rock because you say you shot blue streaks out of it and they were pretty accurate, well i have never heard of or seen any gun or barrel that can shoot blue streaks anything close to accurate.
   

trumbullspaint Saturday, June 4th, 2005 | 11:51 am PST
Heyy i need a barrel upgrade for my icon will this barrel fit on it let me kno soon cuz i got the money
   

Menohl Sunday, June 5th, 2005 | 1:29 pm PST
go to J&Js website and find out.
   

tippman98user Tuesday, June 21st, 2005 | 7:52 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by Keden
Menohl i'm a little short on cash and would like this barrel. Any ideas on how to raise money?!



yeah............work
   

Shinnanagans Tuesday, June 28th, 2005 | 6:09 pm PST
I am getting a 12" I will post a review when I get it.
   

Afromatic Wednesday, July 13th, 2005 | 5:31 pm PST
thanks for the review man, I'm going to get one to upgrade my 10" custom products
   
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page

Post a Comment
Please log in to your account to post a comment.

Not a member yet? Sign up now for free!

Return to the Reviews

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media