paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Comments on Blazed's Review / Comments on Blazed's Review / Comments on Blazed's Review / Comments on Blazed's Review

Comments on Blazed's Review

Jump to the Comments  |  Post a Comment  |  Dispute this Review  |  Return to the Reviews

Blazed Sunday, December 21st, 2003
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion below.
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month26 of 41 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
X-Ray, Invision, Morph
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5, 14" Dye Ultralite, Flatline barrel, E-Trigger, Pro Blade drop forward, vertical adapter, RVA, X-Core, Adco E-Dot
Strengths: Small facial profile, fog free, comfortable, good protection, looks great!
Weaknesses: Harder lens change, hard lower face, venting, cost
Review: I picked up the mask a week ago and must say that the thing works great when I took it out this weekend! It has all the pluses that my Morph did but doesn't have the excess nose protection sticking out the front. Not that was much of a problem with the Morph but I know of a few people that found that more of an annoyance because of the added frontal and profile areas the Morph had. The low profile of the Profiler enables tight and close-up play and perfect for snap shooting.

It comes with the standard rubber visor but also comes equipped with a very cool looking VFlector, which is basically a soft rubber forehead panel so as to lessen the risk of getting a splat right above your brow. The soft rubber face is cool too but that is one of the weaknesses that I found with this mask. Comparing it to my Morph, the Morph's entire face was made of soft rubber helping a great deal with facial bounce. The Profiler is soft in the center but around the rims, it's way harder, as not to promote any bounce at all.

The lens changing seems to be a tad easier on the Morph, as well, because you don't have to worry about losing the clips that hold the lens in place and they seem a tad hard to pull off. The clips come right off the Profiler so don't lose them. The lens is the same ones they use on the Morph and Shield so I can still keep the same fog-free opticals from my previous mask. Thank goodness for the thermo-curing VForce puts on the lenses cuz the venting isn't as great on the Profiler with less air flow around the mouth area.
Conclusion: This is one of the better masks out there, in my opinion. Not really a must get at this point in time, especially with the price being what it is right now. But it's comfort, protection, and looks are what set it apart from the other masks out there. And believe me, you'll get A LOT of looks other players, as well. But, if you are a truly die-hard player, check it out!
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, December 23rd, 2003 at 11:50 am PST
 

Review Comments
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
Phathed Friday, February 25th, 2005 | 10:24 am PST
Yeah does anyone have a soulution on how to change the lens!
because its not a"Quick change lens" its hard.
   

BKO-9407 Tuesday, April 5th, 2005 | 4:50 pm PST
Its not hard to change the lens at all for me, just dont follow the directions it gives you, put down a towel, set the mask on its side on the towel, and then wiht both hands pop the tab up... the profiler is better than that though blazed, its definately on the top 5 list of best masks.
   

pientka90 Thursday, May 26th, 2005 | 7:57 pm PST
the lens is easy to get off, but really hard to get back in.
   

Phathed Friday, May 27th, 2005 | 5:28 am PST
I think it's the other way around.
   

dyn_hack Wednesday, July 13th, 2005 | 5:20 pm PST
i think its easy both ways and you guys just suck at it.
   

Phathed Thursday, July 14th, 2005 | 8:46 am PST
wow you can take it out AND put it back in? wow amazing.
   

Narleydawg22 Sunday, September 11th, 2005 | 6:40 pm PST
how is this lens hard to change? it so easy, like 20 seconds or less, this guy has no idea, i guess hes never tried to change an Invision , those take 4ever to change.
   

mutanpete66 Sunday, September 11th, 2005 | 7:03 pm PST
yea inviions u need a freeking screw driver to pull apart the rim that holds the lense
   

BaZerK Monday, May 8th, 2006 | 1:14 pm PST
once you get it down the lense is easy t put on and take off and if your having venting problems it's not the mask it's YOU, YOU need to learn how to breath properly when wearing your mask cuz if you dont no mask will help with that and i guess your talking about the plastic frame of the mask being hard... idk
   

drummerguy791 Tuesday, August 29th, 2006 | 10:33 pm PST
ive had trouble w/ the lens change but i got it, u pop the tabs up and then slide the whole lense clip to the bak of the mask, in n out in like 3 sec.
Last edited on Tuesday, August 29th, 2006 at 10:40 pm PST
   

tippo Wednesday, October 11th, 2006 | 7:36 pm PST
Dispute:
hey dude, what about the fact that it has the fastest lens changing system out their?
   

Destroyer 105 Saturday, October 28th, 2006 | 5:11 am PST
yeah have you seen the vents or proto axis i think there alot quicker
   

Pballfreak725 Sunday, October 29th, 2006 | 9:05 am PST
lens changing doesnt make the mask good. what makes the mask good is how good it fits u and how much it protects ur face and ears. the lens changing time is irrelevant. just go home after a day of play and take a few minutes OR maybe an hour depending on the mask to clean the lens and pop them in and out.
   

dirtyA-5_77 Saturday, November 11th, 2006 | 9:08 am PST
In my opinion, Proto masks have the fastest changing lenses I've ever used or seen.
   

mjr_paranoid Saturday, March 24th, 2007 | 5:48 am PST
quote:
Originally posted by tippo
hey dude, what about the fact that it has the fastest lens changing system out their?

You and all the other idiots posting ito this flame fest need to learn ho to read.

He never said it was slow or hard. He said compared to his Morph, he likes the morph better.

WHY

because the tabs come off and can get lost.
Thats it, end of story.
   

pballermanly Thursday, March 29th, 2007 | 1:56 am PST
quote:
Originally posted by pientka90
the lens is easy to get off, but really hard to get back in.
are you kidding me! getting i back in is twice as easy as geting it out. and getting it out is super easy
   

privatepile187 Wednesday, July 18th, 2007 | 10:37 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by Phathed
Yeah does anyone have a soulution on how to change the lens!
because its not a"Quick change lens" its hard.


I find it easier to remove the headstrap clips first before you take out the retention clips and then the lense
   

weekendwarriors Monday, July 23rd, 2007 | 12:34 pm PST
Im not here to bash anyone, im just saying that the profiler is very nice, and if you know how its very easy to get the goggles in and out. ive never had a morph but compared to all of my other masks the profiler is the simplest mask to take care of.
   

tmass_1 Saturday, July 28th, 2007 | 12:04 pm PST
Dispute:
it says that the lenses are hard to change, but one main feature is easy lens changing.
   

TGIFriday Tuesday, April 1st, 2008 | 10:33 am PST
I dont understand the people who say its hard to change the lens, I can get the lens out clean and back in in like 2 minutes easy. You can pull the ear protection section down so the tab holding the lens pops out easy, then you just pop the other side and the lens come out. Its just as easy putting them back in.
   
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page

Post a Comment
Please log in to your account to post a comment.

Not a member yet? Sign up now for free!

Return to the Reviews

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media