paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Comments on Yo_987's Review / Comments on Yo_987's Review / Comments on Yo_987's Review / Comments on Yo_987's Review / Comments on Yo_987's Review

Comments on Yo_987's Review

Jump to the Comments  |  Post a Comment  |  Dispute this Review  |  Return to the Reviews

Yo_987 Thursday, December 25th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
1 year58 of 67 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stingray 2: Junk
Avenger: Nothing Close
Tippmann: Same
2K Cocker: Better, more expensive tho
Marker Setup: 2K Cocker w/12v revy, kaner barrel, and 9oz tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
new barrel, but stock isn't bad
Strengths: Accurate with bore match, cool, awesome value, light trigger pull.
Weaknesses: trigger is cheaply made, low ROF, wrong bore match and your sunk.
Review: Strenghs:
A very good all around marker. Pretty cool, but the best part is its awesome value.
The quick disconnect is a big help: only has like 5 parts to take out to clean it up and it takes what like 10 secs.

It is VERY accurate with the right paint-barrel bore match. I cannot even begin to tell you how accurate it is when you get the bore sizes right. I used to regularly take people out over 150 feet away in 2 shots or less by just angling the gun up.

Weaknesses:

The trigger feels so cheap. that's i think what the other reviewers are defining as "slop" Not a big deal, just a little bit of that cheap feel.
sight rail scratches very easily for some reason.
Worst of all, if you put paint in it that isn't the right bore size, you can't hit a thing.
Conclusion: This gun is hard to rate because of the paint-barrel match issue. Its all or nothing in that regard, either you get a good bore size and it shoots almost perfectly or you don't and it sucks. So it hinders your ability to go to some tournaments and such that require the use of their paint (which prolly isn't the right bore size) unless you have a barrel kit that has inserts and stuff.
It is a very good gun, the BEST gun i have EVER seen for $80. As everyone has mentioned, it looks exactly like the E-99, because it basically is. So you're getting a mechanical version of the E-99 for $80: Awesome deal.
I'd recommend it to anyone looking to get into the sport and some intermediates that want a medium-performance marker.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, November 28th, 2004 at 6:33 am PST
 

Review Comments
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
aj backman Saturday, November 27th, 2004 | 7:09 pm PST
this gun is junk. you think that you can compete with my 04 impulse vision or 04 angel speed I would school youre crappy icon z
   

Yo_987 Sunday, November 28th, 2004 | 6:13 am PST
Notice when i made that review: When i had used it for a month.
Back in my noobish days, i did think it was the best because i had owned a couple of people who had timmys and cockers. Of course it isn't the best, and i just edited the review.
But it can compete with the best, believe it or not.
Last edited on Sunday, November 28th, 2004 at 6:36 am PST
   

Blue Boy 1991 Monday, December 20th, 2004 | 2:24 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by aj backman
this gun is junk. you think that you can compete with my 04 impulse vision or 04 angel speed I would school youre crappy icon z
before you get hot headed check the price on your 04 impulse or your angel speed compared to the icon-z.Ever wonder why it's cheaper.
   

Pureliquid911 Monday, February 7th, 2005 | 6:16 pm PST
OOOOOOOOOOOOO Someone was told. Anyways yo *yo 987* what was your BPS with this gun.
   

Yo_987 Tuesday, February 8th, 2005 | 6:02 am PST
I already said in the review it was low. Like 3-4 to be honest. This was my first gun and my first review so gimme a break. i have had an autococker and now have a timmy.
I realize the things i said about the gun being really good compared to others was stupid and so edited it a while back so it would be up to date. But i still say it is the best gun out there from $80-150 and i recommend it.
   

SneakySir Sunday, February 13th, 2005 | 3:32 pm PST
i bought this gun and it said that it had a whole bunch of firing modes. how do you change from one mode to another?
   

Yo_987 Monday, February 14th, 2005 | 4:47 am PST
The Icon Z cannot have different firing modes. It is mechanical.
The Icon E does have firing modes. I don't know if you have the Z or E. If the grip frame is hollow, it is the Z. If it has a lot of electronics in it, it is an E. On the E, the only way to change firing modes is through the dip switches: tiny switches you can flip between games to change from full auto, 3, 6, 9 shot bursts. (i think there's a 9?) And reactive. Check the manual to find out which dip switch combonations change the firing modes. Or download the manual online. it should be at 32ice.com
   

Trigger Happy62 Thursday, February 17th, 2005 | 12:49 pm PST
hey Yo 987, what kind of paint size would you recommend for this gun so you can be really accurate?
   

Yo_987 Sunday, February 20th, 2005 | 1:22 pm PST
Any size will work. Just make sure its matched with your paint.
As long as its matched with your paint, it will be very accurate.
Check out these charts to get a match:
http://www.ottersccustoms.com/barrelc.html
http://www.ottersccustoms.com/paintc.html
   

drchocolate176 Tuesday, May 31st, 2005 | 8:26 pm PST
wow....3-4 BPS? It's 13, buttafingers.
   

drchocolate176 Tuesday, May 31st, 2005 | 8:28 pm PST
wow....3-4 BPS? It's 13, buttafingers.
   

Yo_987 Wednesday, June 1st, 2005 | 6:25 am PST
Uhh...... No. I'd like to see anyone rip on an Icon Z at 13 bps. Thats technically as fast as the gun CAN shoot, provided there is a machine that can pull the trigger that fast. You must have been thinking about the wrong gun. This is a mech. I don't think any mech can shoot 13, definately not the Z.
   

slaminator3323 Monday, June 6th, 2005 | 6:17 pm PST
ive been able to shoot at like 7 bps
   

paint007 Sunday, June 12th, 2005 | 4:48 pm PST
This gun looks exactly like the Spyder E-99
   

Yo_987 Sunday, June 19th, 2005 | 3:52 pm PST
That's because it is.
32 degrees and Kingman are both owned by NPS, so 32 degrees is copying all of Kingman's designs and making them for cheaper prices. That's why the whole Icon series (the Icon LED, E, Z, and X) looks like their kingman counterparts. Personally, i'd go for one of the icon's because they're 20-40% cheaper and have identical performance to the kingman's.
   

ogrerocks Monday, June 20th, 2005 | 1:22 pm PST
What barrel works best with this gun? I'd like a recomendation on a 16" if possible. Thanks.
   

New217 Tuesday, June 21st, 2005 | 10:27 am PST
the trigger is not bad only the grip is, also the barrle on mine has no bore problems and hasnt poped one ball even the crappy ones!
Last edited on Tuesday, June 21st, 2005 at 10:30 am PST
   

New217 Sunday, June 26th, 2005 | 8:51 am PST
quote:
Originally posted by slaminator3323
ive been able to shoot at like 7 bps
2 it can shoot like 10 bps
   

desertscreamer Wednesday, July 13th, 2005 | 1:58 pm PST
so "yo" what bore siza do you think the stock barrel is as of small medium or large ?
   

smartguy41 Friday, August 5th, 2005 | 11:16 pm PST
I use a Freak Barrel on mine. It's good because you can change out the insert to match the bore size. You can also get different fronts for different lengths. If you play front I would go with a 12 inch. Back 14 or 16 inch. But a Freak Kit is my barrel reccomendation.
   
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page

Post a Comment
Please log in to your account to post a comment.

Not a member yet? Sign up now for free!

Return to the Reviews

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media