paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Comments on mradventure888's Review / Comments on mradventure888's Review / Comments on mradventure888's Review / Comments on mradventure888's Review

Comments on mradventure888's Review

Jump to the Comments  |  Post a Comment  |  Dispute this Review  |  Return to the Reviews

mradventure888 Saturday, January 3rd, 2004
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion below.
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested85 of 140 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
everything
Marker Setup: old school autococker, prolite (with a taso SS barrel that i used to make one shot kills at over 300 feet), spyder, mag, and a tigershark (i can't get rid of because it was my first marker)
Recommended
Paintballs:
allstars (because of the small size they tend to break less)
Strengths: nice job on the porting.
nice craftmanship.
good milling.
tack driver at under 15 feet.
Weaknesses: throws paint "off" target at long range.
doesn't clean well.
Review: OK, would the owners of the company and those sponsored by Hammerhead please stop writing reviews on this product. This website is supposed to be for players by players. Thank you.
------------------------------------

Since 1986 I have seen every kind of paintball barrel come and go; brass, nickle, aluminum, steel, rifled, ported, spiral ported, different internal diameters, slotted, etc... And I can tell you guys with all sincerity that internal rifling doesn't work for the following reasons.
1) You can't rifle a round paintball and expect it to go straight, when spin is induced on a paintball it spins unpredictably. Thats why curve balls in baseball work so well. A bullet is different, that is a cylindrical object that stabilizes in flight.
2) How are you suppose to shoot thru a break if paint is trapped within the groves of a internally rifled barrel. Remember ARMSON, they tried something like that in the mid 90's and when you broke a ball (which was every other time because of the stress imposed on the shell as the rifling DUG into it) you "had" to squeegee it.
3) Paintball's are not perfectly round and have fluid in them. How can a uneven water balloon fly straight if it is spinning?
4) There is a "Video Clip" circulating on the Internet that shows the hammerhead being shoot right after a break. Well you will notice that the next 10 or so balls are ALL over the place then "mysteriously" the barrel fades into a different part of the screen and the trees are blowing harder and the barrel shoots good again. The reason for this is they squeegeed the barrel and then did a little video fade work to make you think that it was shot clean?!?!

NOW lets get down to business----->
A friend of mine got this barrel because he heard all the hype on it (despite my objections). I told him to get a powerlyte but he didn't listen. Oh well, such is life....
We tried it out last Sunday, and needless to say it didn't flip my skirt.
First off don't even think of using brittle paint like diablo or maxim 2's (suck) they will break always! To much friction.
Second, the ball's have to be seamless or have a very smooth seam. Otherwise they will wander at about 40 feet.
Third, I actually noticed a decrease in accuracy at long range when compared to my friends boomstick.
Forth, don't EVEN think you can shoot the hammerhead clean, after a half of a hopper we still noticed a slight paint residue between the groves causing the paint to zip around below 30 feet!!!!!!
Fifth, we tried allstar, bigball, borrowed some diablo, worr-paint, premium, and slam. All had the same results: Sucky....
-------------------------------

And now a few words from Tom Kaye creator of the automag (taken from Airgun Designs Web page, in the tech section)

It was asked in another post what effect do riffled barrels have on spinning a paintball, not drilled holes, actual rifling like in real guns. This is a good question and one that was explored by our research team.

In theory spinning a projectile on the axis of flight adds gyroscopic stability as well as averages out any imperfections in the surface air flow. Paintballs leave a bad turbulence wake behind them that "walks around" the back of the ball as it flies through the air. This is the main cause of a paintballs inaccuracy as the turbulence tail drags the ball around sideways in flight. Spinning the ball should create a tornado like vortex in the back of the ball thereby evening out all the turbulence so the ball is not pulled any particular way.

So great you say lets do it and get more accuracy!! Well if it was possible it would already have been done. The problem is the liquid fill, when you rotate the shell, the liquid tends to stay where it is. The best example of this is a glass of water with ice floating in it, when you rotate the glass the ice stays in the same place (you have all seen it). So if you can grab the ball hard enough to go from 0 to about 10,000 RPM's in 5 thousands of a second (remember TechTip #1?) Yes the shell is spinning but the fill is not. When the ball leaves the barrel the viscosity of the fill slows the shell down but the fill's rotation is speeding up from the shell too, so you get an almost instant reduction of the RPM's out of the barrel. The balls rotation does not come to a complete stop because the shell does impart some spin to the fill. In order to test this properly we actually developed a gun that spun the barrel, with the ball in it, up to 30,000 RPM's and then shot the ball out.

In this way we knew the ball and the fill were completely up to speed when it left the barrel. We had visions of a spinning barrel paintgun that would make that high speed turbo wine! Unfortunately this didn't improve the accuracy because the ball is still too light.

As a final test we developed a barrel that had three razor edged knife blades running down the length of the bore. Using our plastic paintballs they wedged in the blades perfectly and we spun up the barrel and fired more test rounds. Because the knives would cut the ball we could examine them after the fact to see if they were rotating in the barrel etc. Again unfortunately we saw no improvement in accuracy and gave up.

Based on this data we believe round paintballs are too light and have lousy aerodynamics to expect any more accuracy than what we are currently getting. When the military came to us and wanted a more accurate non lethal system we made a bullet shaped, spin stabilized paintball that far outperformed any equal weight round projectile. Accuracy by volume has been, and will remain, the best way to score eliminations.



Conclusion: This barrel is just like the Armson of 1990, it sucks. The only difference is that it has nicer porting, maybe in another 13 years we will see a better internally rifled barrel that will make a slight improvement in accuracy over the last one. haha. But still not up to the good old straight porting with no step that I have grown to love.

Do not buy this barrel, if you don't take my 16+ years of experience, go ahead and throw down $125.99 ;-) My friend said he might sell his on ebay, so keep your eyes open.
Rating:
1 out of 10
 

Review Comments
                            
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
COCKER_JUNKIE Saturday, January 3rd, 2004 | 9:31 am PST
I know of this video that you speak of as being fake and it isnt its actually shooting clean in 3 shots. he posted an unedited version on pbn ahwhile back because of people who were skeptical and shut them up.
   

mradventure888 Saturday, January 3rd, 2004 | 7:23 pm PST
Response:
If we are looking at the same video with the green trees blowing slightly in the background and paint flying over a fence, you will notice that after a ball is intentionally broken in the barrel and then shot five or six times in the video, the picture "fades" into a new clip. It is at this time that the wind is blowing the trees in the background "a lot" harder like a huge gust of wind came up and the barrel fades into a new part of the clip with a slight stutter in the sound. Check out the "fade job" a little closer.
When I get hold of a digital camcorder me and my friends will film what happens to his hammerhead after a ball break and post it on the internet. That's if i stop spending all my money on paintball. :-)

Thanks for the response.
Mradventure
Last edited on Saturday, January 3rd, 2004 at 7:23 pm PST
   

Silentshot Thursday, April 1st, 2004 | 1:27 am PST
Good review man, I totally agree. Everyone got pissed at 3A for giving their gear "10"s, what about the countless other company reps doing it?
   

mradventure888 Monday, April 5th, 2004 | 5:58 pm PST
Thank you, Silentshot. All i try to do is post reviews by the PLAYERS for the PLAYERS.
   

BlueTurboEGG Tuesday, May 11th, 2004 | 1:25 pm PST
I have already attempted this with my HH barrel.

It does NOT shoot clean in 3 shots.

I had to manage about 7 to 10 shots before the paintballs would go somewhat closer to my targets.

It would seem that that particular piece of info would seem to be nonesense about shoothing clean in 3 shots.
   

rifleboy_07 Tuesday, June 15th, 2004 | 12:50 pm PST
i am not sponsered by hammerhead, but i love it just the same. and it's not a waste of my 125.
   

Count Crimson Sunday, July 11th, 2004 | 3:17 pm PST
It is interesting that either people absolutely rave about this barrel as being the most accurate thing in all of paintball or they just seem to rag on it because of it's rifling and horrible problems related to its rifling. On an interesting note most of the people who are skeptics DONT EVEN OWN A HAMMERHEAD barrel, LOL!

Don't get me wrong i'm kind of skeptical but I did shoot a HH once about a year ago on an inflatable coarse, the barrel seemed extremely accurate but then again it was on an intimadator!

I have been told by the owners of 2 different paintball stores that they own this barrel and get more distance and accuracy out of it than any other barrel, you ask am I sold on it yet, the answer is NO!

To me it seems that this barrel either will work better than any other barrel ever on your gun or it'll just chop paint and corkscrew balls, My hypothesis is that some guns like electro pneumatics can shoot Hammerheads excellently and guns that use much more force in pushing the ball out of the barrel will not shoot HHs as well.

With all of that out of the way I'll be purchasing a Hammerhead tomorrow with a money back guarantee, I will post my review as objective as possible after shooting about 4,000 rounds of paint through it to break it in.

This barrel is obviously an enthusiast barrel that should only be used by people not afraid to tweak their dwell and other settings! Also most people that are serious about shooting a Hammerhead buy the kit that was $279 until a month ago when the 3 fin or 3 barrel bore sizer kit dropped to a cool $200.

Well be on the look out for the end all discussion on whether or not internal rifling works!
   

unknownmosquito Wednesday, July 28th, 2004 | 7:58 am PST
OK,
I have owned a Hammerhead for most of my paintball experience, and it consistently groups paintballs like nothing I have ever seen
I outshoots the Freaks my friends have
And it will clean after three or four shots
That said, you cannot expect any barrel to shoot absolutley straight as an arrow with something as inconsistent as a paintball-- however this barrel gives consistency. I always know that my second paintball will follow the first
Also, my gun is a simple Tippmann 98 Custom-- not an electro-pneumatic. And it has a response-- the only downside is sometimes a ball will chop-- but thats not the barrel's fault. I paid 145 for the one-piece barrel. My conclusion is this- send back your Hammerhead and ask for a replacement. I think that if the barrel is bent ever-so-slightly in shipping it will show the behavior of yours. And buy one before getting so critical.
And I'm not ashamed that I spent more on my Hammerhead than on my Tippmann.
   

zeroeswing Wednesday, November 10th, 2004 | 8:37 am PST
Well, thats just weird. My HH works perfectly. Cleans in four shots and is consistent in accuracy. I haven't notice it throwing the ball off target at long ranges, maybe cause I don't shoot far enough.

I like it mostly cause the ball never bounces, only breaks, on target. Of course, I've never shot a dude in a ghillie suit, so that doesn't help. I think the people that hate HHs got defects. The first one I ordered was too short and after three months I called and told them. They sent me a new one no problem.

Also if I get five or more breaks, I have to squeegie it like mad, otherwise gunk fills the grooves and it'll almost be like there's no barrel.
   

BigMan666 Saturday, November 13th, 2004 | 10:28 am PST
This barrel was developed for the mititary for less than leathal rounds, the barrel isn't designed to try and rifle the ball, it rifles the air moving the ball... The military recieved 1450 barrels along with markers from Tippmans to custom Air Rifles that could shoot a brick. The HammerHead was chosen halfway through the testing and incorparted into half the less than lethal marker being produced or shipped out. I was also a sceptic of rifled barrels, I thought they were totaly bull after reading several articles and such. Then I saw this barrel, my old man got one for his RT (ULE) and it was so accuarte and never broke that I tried to put it on my Cocker, but the front block doesn't fit the barrel... Oh and one other thing, your right a paintball is not perfectly nor is it when its shot, however it changes shape when it goes from 0gs to 14gs in less than 1 second... Its doesn't travel through the barrel as a ball, it does not take the shape of the grooves the air however does...
Last edited on Saturday, November 13th, 2004 at 10:55 am PST
   

mradventure888 Tuesday, November 23rd, 2004 | 8:58 pm PST
Well folks a little update......
I tried my friends hammerhead again (yes he still hasn't sold it, the dork, i think he want's to but he knows i will harass him for the rest of his life), in fact i played half of the day with it. That is to say i played the first half of the day with it, because i got so sick of it i gave it back to him. And YES i tried different paint, i even got it nice and shinny in the back of my truck with a squeegee. And Yes it still can't shoot straight after 30 feet, just like an armson from the 90's.
To those of you that work for Hamerhead and keep babbling on about how the military bought 1450 barrels, i have this to say: The military buys from the cheapest contract.
Last edited on Tuesday, November 23rd, 2004 at 9:04 pm PST
   

Tom37 Friday, January 7th, 2005 | 5:47 am PST
ok to the comment made by mr adventure... What?!?!?! I herd that the government made a contract with hammerhead to manufacture thew barrel, befoe they had seen it. If you have a problem with that, take it up with APG.
Second, how do you know how much it cost the government to buy the barrel???
Third, GET YOUR OWN BARREL BEFORE YOU WRITE A REVIEW! or at least get your friend to write one.
   

Punisher88bt Tuesday, January 11th, 2005 | 9:14 am PST
Frankly I think that the guy posting this likes to type a bunch of crap to lead away from the fact that he doesn't own one and has only shot it once. I own and love this barrel. I also find it absolutely hilarious that this guy has so much "experience" yet is shooting guns that should have been thrown in the trash in 1995! Get with the times and don't post unless you have actually tested a product. And by the way, I call B.S. on your taso ss that you made killshots at over 300 feet. You would be lucky to hit someone at 3 feet with that old piece.
Last edited on Tuesday, January 11th, 2005 at 9:18 am PST
   

mradventure888 Wednesday, January 19th, 2005 | 9:24 pm PST
HAHAHA,,,... I am sorry if i am cutting into your barrel sales Punisher88bt (probably the guy who owns the company?!?!), but i speak the truth.
1st.--i did make 300 foot kills, if you don't believe me go to grand forks, ND. and play at the local field, last time i heard i am a 6' 5" giant, shooting only the finest equipment, hand rolling the balls for roundness on imported silk, and I only get hit when i want to. Or at least that's what they say.

2nd-- I will never shoot anything that isn't mechanical. As a matter of principle. Because speed ball aka: "inflatable lego land" was invented by soccer moms and paint manufactures to make the sport look more "peaceful" and sell more product. Also it should be noted that all players dread my automag and autococker after a few games, because i gain their respect the good old fashion way i earn it.

3rd--Iam sorry your ex-girlfriend left you because you take the sport too seriously, it happens to the best of us! xxxooo
Last edited on Wednesday, January 19th, 2005 at 10:47 pm PST
   

ITO TTSOM Wednesday, January 26th, 2005 | 2:44 pm PST
Your review kept me from buying a Hammerhead for about 3 months. However after coming across a really good deal I have owned one for the past month. I can now see that these reviews should be read with a grain of salt and that anyone writing a review about a product they don’t actually own should not be given near the credibility of someone that does own one.

After shooting 2 cases of paint I had ZERO breaks and have not experienced one of the bad things you said would happen; apparently the physics, and “expert opinion” you quoted don’t apply to my barrel. This is the finest barrel I own and I only wish I had bought one sooner.

Review to follow.
Last edited on Wednesday, January 26th, 2005 at 2:45 pm PST
   

Bpie03 Friday, January 28th, 2005 | 5:57 pm PST
WOW thanks i'm going to consider what you said and not buy this barrel your review was very helpful to me and I decided not to get this and got another barrel
Thanks
-matt
   

Silentshot Sunday, January 30th, 2005 | 1:52 am PST
quote:
Originally posted by mradventure888
speed ball aka: "inflatable lego land" was invented by soccer moms and paint manufactures to make the sport look more "peaceful" and sell more product.

A-M-E-N
It should also be noted that soccer moms are in favor of speedball because it = someone else watching their brats.
   

Xhero Friday, February 18th, 2005 | 10:33 pm PST
Excellent review. Please check out my review of the Hammerhead Battlestikxx. This barrel is not worth the money spent on it, and I wish I would have saved myself the $270 for the full kit off of Hammerhead's website to find this out. These barrels are the same internally, the only difference is the outside milling and finish. As far as Punisher88tb is concerned, I still own with my Piranha Long Barrel I started the sport out with in 1989. I'd rather play speedball with it than be caught on the field with a Hammerhead. I've tested this product with 3 different guns (A-5, AGD Tac-One, WGP Karnivor) and over half a dozen different brands of paintballs on CO2 and HPA and the result is the same each time. STAY AWAY FROM THE HAMMERHEAD!
   

lostazncause Sunday, February 27th, 2005 | 12:03 am PST
funny thing, took a trip to my local indoor today (the proving grounds in santa clarita), and the pro team there, exodus, used all hammerheads. I talked to most the players individually, they all seemed to like the barrels and didnt report any breaks at all. they seemed to be using really nice equipment tho, all vforce profilers, intimidators, the works. Now why would a team with that kind of money go for something like hammerheads (that OBVIOUSLY dont work) instead of freak kits??? maybe because the barrel ISNT a piece of crap. i havent tried it yet so i cant say its godly or even does what it says it does, but i dont think its the crap you make it out to be. just my two cents.
Last edited on Sunday, February 27th, 2005 at 10:19 am PST
   

Tom37 Monday, February 28th, 2005 | 10:12 am PST
quote:
Originally posted by Bpie03
WOW thanks i'm going to consider what you said and not buy this barrel your review was very helpful to me and I decided not to get this and got another barrel
Thanks
-matt

you'll regret listening to a review like this, by a guy WHO DOESNT EVEN OWN THE BARREL, when you get goggled by another player using a hamerhead from the other corner of the field.
   
                            
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page

Post a Comment
Please log in to your account to post a comment.

Not a member yet? Sign up now for free!

Return to the Reviews

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media