paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Comments on autococker567's Review / Comments on autococker567's Review / Comments on autococker567's Review / Comments on autococker567's Review / Comments on autococker567's Review

Comments on autococker567's Review

Jump to the Comments  |  Post a Comment  |  Dispute this Review  |  Return to the Reviews

autococker567 Saturday, January 3rd, 2004
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion below.
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested11 of 23 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
none, this is the only pump ive tried
Marker Setup: stock everything
Recommended
Upgrades:
nothing really
Strengths: shoots fast
really accurate
light
not a gas hog
Weaknesses: its a pump
Review: The only bad thing is that its a pump.

I really liked it because it is very accurate and half of the balls it shoots I cant even see because it shoots fast.

It has a good consistence. I havent seen one ball curve.

The gun is easy to field strip which is good.

The velocity adjesting is weird. You have two different springs, a high velocity one, and a low velocity one.

Definetly not a gas hog, a 9 ounce lasts a good amount of shots.

Its a nice pump ( the nicest pump ive ever seen ). For a good pump its also cheap ( i saw it for $65.00 ).

Its still no match against semis though. Dont get it if ur planning on going against a bunch of semis (my friend found that out the hard way)

Conclusion: If you want a cheap pump then get this one (definetly).
Rating:
10 out of 10
 

Review Comments
pouncer_ Wednesday, April 7th, 2004 | 3:12 pm PST
I disagree this gun could go up against semis. its not the rate of fire that matters its the player.
   

pball_kamikaze Wednesday, July 7th, 2004 | 12:02 am PST
being a pump is most definatly not a weakness. in any case the pump action thing is ubecool, kinda like a shotgun. and i can shoot faster than a stock spyder victor with the autotrigger on the maverick.
   

Mortalis Saturday, August 14th, 2004 | 10:03 pm PST
yes, you all are right on how this gun can go up against semis, especially at a distance. Semis are like no match for this gun past 50 yards.
   

MatrixSniper Friday, October 15th, 2004 | 3:03 pm PST
I agree, it only takes one shot to take out any paintballer. Sure you can't come out of your bunker putting down 50 rounds of cover fire, but do you really need to.....noooo, its the player not the Marker.

Short cool little story here....

I was playin with my friends and we had a new guy, he was using my old TP rage (Tactical Performance, they make the Rage, the Patriot,and the Full Auto Mayhem the Rage, sells for about 7 bucks, relativly cheap gun...not too accurate), I was using my tippmann 98C> The new guys parents were so freaked out he would get hurt, that we all turned out velocity way down. The newbie and I are on opposite teams ok, I behind a big pile of gravel, he is behind a round hay bale. I think I am safe and sound, after all its just me and him left, and I am expeirenced with a Tippmann 98C, and he is a newbie with a cheap gun....So I pop up from behind the gravel letting fly round after round at him, he being new didn't know to duck behind the bale, he lets fly one shot and hits me in the mask. I never hit him.
Thats a prime example of a one shot one kill victory, even though he wasn't using a pump he still took his time, aimed capped off one round and nailed me, while I with my 98C just shot at him, after all it is kinda hard to aim when your just tryin to cover your butt while figuring out where the heck you apponent is, or might have moved to.
   

Rosa Sunday, October 31st, 2004 | 12:04 pm PST
Why would you people even listen to this guy's review?

" really liked it because it is very accurate and half of the balls it shoots I cant even see because it shoots fast. "

He obviously doesn't know what he is talking about, nothing against you bud, but you shouldn't write about things you don't know, it creates ignorance.

"disagree this gun could go up against semis. its not the rate of fire that matters its the player."

Let me enlighten you my friends. Pump guns are no match for a semi-automatic. It is just common sense. ANd let me tell you pump-guns are not more accurate than semis, its the same. Accuracy is mostly about the player, and paintbarrel match, gun, velocity etc. So we have two guns, same acuracy, except one shoot 1 bps, and the other 11. If an experienced pump gun team went against and experienced semi team, The semi team would probably win my friends. This is because the semi guys can keep the pump guys pinned, shoot them way more easily when they are runnign from bunker to bunker (bps, say a guy is running from your right to left, doing a 10 foot sprint, with a pump you get one shoot, with a semi you get 11 shots. Just think if you shoot 10 shots going 300fps, theres 30 feet between each shot, a semi will definitely win.) And the semi team can actually provide superior cover fire for their team mates. My friends, you need to under stand that semis are another class. Pump guns are fun, and it is a great experience to play an all pump game (some say funner.) YEs the player does make the gun, its funny how the tippmann factory team rates the 23rd best tourney team. (Although they have uncapped E-grips and E-bolts, and theres more rumors about their crazily customized tippies.) Personally I shoot an angel 05 speed. If I went one on one with a pump guy I would annihalate him. Do you know how I got so good at snap shooting and accuracy, before I took my speed out of its box I picked up a pump gun for a month and practiced snap shooting and making my shots count. And now, I can make my shots count, and have the extra bps. Yes alot of pump players are better than semi players and are more accurate. But then theres semi players that know how to use a semi and can make their shots count. These are the guys in the proffesional tourneys, When put with the skilled player a semi will be superior, and it is out of pure ignorance to think so.

PS: Matrix Sniper, there is no such thing as a sniper in paintball, since paintball guns are accurate like muskets, lol.
   

Rosa Sunday, October 31st, 2004 | 12:06 pm PST
Why would you people even listen to this guy's review?

" really liked it because it is very accurate and half of the balls it shoots I cant even see because it shoots fast. "

He obviously doesn't know what he is talking about, nothing against you bud, but you shouldn't write about things you don't know, it creates ignorance.

"disagree this gun could go up against semis. its not the rate of fire that matters its the player."

Let me enlighten you my friends. Pump guns are no match for a semi-automatic. It is just common sense. ANd let me tell you pump-guns are not more accurate than semis, its the same. Accuracy is mostly about the player, and paintbarrel match, gun, velocity etc. So we have two guns, same acuracy, except one shoot 1 bps, and the other 11. If an experienced pump gun team went against and experienced semi team, The semi team would probably win my friends. This is because the semi guys can keep the pump guys pinned, shoot them way more easily when they are runnign from bunker to bunker (bps, say a guy is running from your right to left, doing a 10 foot sprint, with a pump you get one shoot, with a semi you get 11 shots. Just think if you shoot 10 shots going 300fps, theres 30 feet between each shot, a semi will definitely win.) And the semi team can actually provide superior cover fire for their team mates. My friends, you need to under stand that semis are another class. Pump guns are fun, and it is a great experience to play an all pump game (some say funner.) YEs the player does make the gun, its funny how the tippmann factory team rates the 23rd best tourney team. (Although they have uncapped E-grips and E-bolts, and theres more rumors about their crazily customized tippies.) Personally I shoot an angel 05 speed. If I went one on one with a pump guy I would annihalate him. Do you know how I got so good at snap shooting and accuracy, before I took my speed out of its box I picked up a pump gun for a month and practiced snap shooting and making my shots count. And now, I can make my shots count, and have the extra bps. Yes alot of pump players are better than semi players and are more accurate. But then theres semi players that know how to use a semi and can make their shots count. These are the guys in the proffesional tourneys, When put with the skilled player a semi will be superior, and it is out of pure ignorance to think so.

PS: Matrix Sniper, there is no such thing as a sniper in paintball, since paintball guns are accurate like muskets, lol.
   

Mortalis Friday, November 19th, 2004 | 5:54 pm PST
LOL you gotta be kidding are you like a speed baller?!?! I am the sniper of a my paintball team with this gun (with a scope and JJC barrell 14") and yes does out match a semi. People with semis usually dont take time to aim, they just fire, but with a pump u have to make every shot count. Believe me, unless u play speed ball, rate of fire does not matter is all acuracy. And out of a tippmann flatline and amorteck my guns the most accurate. Plus, if you can master stealth, you won't need a fast gun.
   

plaztik Saturday, January 1st, 2005 | 7:52 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by Mortalis
LOL you gotta be kidding are you like a speed baller?!?! I am the sniper of a my paintball team with this gun (with a scope and JJC barrell 14") and yes does out match a semi. People with semis usually dont take time to aim, they just fire, but with a pump u have to make every shot count. Believe me, unless u play speed ball, rate of fire does not matter is all acuracy. And out of a tippmann flatline and amorteck my guns the most accurate. Plus, if you can master stealth, you won't need a fast gun.

L
O
L
   

Wiperz-R-dumb Monday, January 17th, 2005 | 7:35 am PST
wow, like every one else says, it only takes one shot to take out the sweetest spot-shooter. Ive taken out people that have DM4s and Outkasts with my trusty ol talon!
   

Sparky_500 Wednesday, July 27th, 2005 | 8:32 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by Rosa
Why would you people even listen to this guy's review?

" really liked it because it is very accurate and half of the balls it shoots I cant even see because it shoots fast. "

He obviously doesn't know what he is talking about, nothing against you bud, but you shouldn't write about things you don't know, it creates ignorance.

"disagree this gun could go up against semis. its not the rate of fire that matters its the player."

Let me enlighten you my friends. Pump guns are no match for a semi-automatic. It is just common sense. ANd let me tell you pump-guns are not more accurate than semis, its the same. Accuracy is mostly about the player, and paintbarrel match, gun, velocity etc. So we have two guns, same acuracy, except one shoot 1 bps, and the other 11. If an experienced pump gun team went against and experienced semi team, The semi team would probably win my friends. This is because the semi guys can keep the pump guys pinned, shoot them way more easily when they are runnign from bunker to bunker (bps, say a guy is running from your right to left, doing a 10 foot sprint, with a pump you get one shoot, with a semi you get 11 shots. Just think if you shoot 10 shots going 300fps, theres 30 feet between each shot, a semi will definitely win.) And the semi team can actually provide superior cover fire for their team mates. My friends, you need to under stand that semis are another class. Pump guns are fun, and it is a great experience to play an all pump game (some say funner.) YEs the player does make the gun, its funny how the tippmann factory team rates the 23rd best tourney team. (Although they have uncapped E-grips and E-bolts, and theres more rumors about their crazily customized tippies.) Personally I shoot an angel 05 speed. If I went one on one with a pump guy I would annihalate him. Do you know how I got so good at snap shooting and accuracy, before I took my speed out of its box I picked up a pump gun for a month and practiced snap shooting and making my shots count. And now, I can make my shots count, and have the extra bps. Yes alot of pump players are better than semi players and are more accurate. But then theres semi players that know how to use a semi and can make their shots count. These are the guys in the proffesional tourneys, When put with the skilled player a semi will be superior, and it is out of pure ignorance to think so.

PS: Matrix Sniper, there is no such thing as a sniper in paintball, since paintball guns are accurate like muskets, lol.


Ok so, if you take aim at a guy with a pump and shoot, you hit him once, take aim with a 30bps gun, you light the guy up and thats no fun (unless you a sinical @$$ hole) and how did you calculate the distance between each shot?
   

bluabyss12 Tuesday, January 31st, 2006 | 9:15 pm PST
Ya, it does only take one shot to get someone. The only thng i dont get, is what is the point of having an electric trigger on a pump gun? It defets the whole PUMP purpose, you might as well get a semi auto gun, then get an electrice upgrade. Unless you just like the feel of the gun, or you like how accurate the stock barrel is, its pointless to get an electro upgrade for it.

O ya, Sparky, THERE IS SUCH THING AS A SNIPER. The accuracy of the gun doesnt depend on if your a sniper or not, its how you play. One or two shot kill without being seen is a sniper; or just shooting from the backfield is a sniper. It ALL depends on if you like sniping from backfield, or being very stealthy and taking them out before they see you. To prove my point I AM ONE OF THOSE WHO SNEAKS TO THE BACKFIELD ELIMINATING ANYONE IN MY WAY using NO MORE THAN 3 SHOTS(which is normally only 1 person who sees me befor i get to the other side of the field unless they have a lot of back players), and then take 'em out from behind. THAT IS A SNIPER, SPARKY.
Last edited on Tuesday, January 31st, 2006 at 9:23 pm PST
   

bluabyss12 Tuesday, January 31st, 2006 | 9:31 pm PST
O ya, plus with an electric gun, you normally only actulay hit people around 10% of the time, so if you shoot 20balls at someone (most good electric guns shoot around 20bps) then only about 2 of them will hit you. I know this because some dude tryed to unload on me (and he wasted 100 out of about 105 of his shots because i was runing and about to bunker some other dude). So if you think about it, electros arent very good if you are low on money, because they are expensive, and you waste a ton of paintballs. If you have a ton of extra money, go ahead and waste your 4000-paintballs-a-day, and buy more whenever you play next, but you are wasting about $30 out of the $45 you pay for a case of cheap paintballs. The only time you will be good with an electro is never, because the gun is doin all the work for you to keep the other players heads down so you can bunker them, which you will have to reaload one or two times before you get to bunker them because you waste so much paint.
   

RealPB Thursday, August 10th, 2006 | 10:58 pm PST
- Snipers don't exist. Snipers are shooters from a concealed position. Don't we all do that? Aren't we all "snipers" then? Don't we all shoot from a concealed position (bunker)? The term Sniper is mostly just a selling point used by some companies because everyone wants to be Rambo. They don't exist. Stop saying they do.

- Distance is all the same. Think, if gun A shoots at 290, and gun B shoots at 290, in the same environment, they'd fly the same, even if one was a semi and one was a pump. Wind, paint to bore match, gun shoot-down (seldom a problem with today's tech) do change the scenarios, but hypothetically, they all shoot the same.

- Pump vs. Semi has no definite outcome. A good player with a pump will be better than a poor player with a semi. A great player with a semi > a good player with a pump. An outstanding player with a pump > a great player with a semi... It goes on and on. What you play good with is what you'll be good with. End of story.

Finally,
- Yeah, it only takes one shot to eliminate a player, but that's not the only reason to shoot. Shoot to intimidate. Shoot to keep an opponent's head down to so a team mate can flank them. Shoot cover your own movement. I hate to say this, but really only those lacking in teamwork, skill, and TRUE marker ability will use "it only takes one to take one out" as an alibi. Shooting is not always just to make an elimination, but it is always meant to assist in one.

P.S.
- I have been playing for nine years.
- I own a Shocker SFT and play on a tourney team called Two Inches of Freedom.
- I own an Automag because it is a great all around rec. semi, and I enjoy the easier pace of it.
-And, I own a Brute (Traccer clone) and play with it often, speed, woods, you name it, and I never feel at a disadvantage, I just have to modify how I play. (I can convert it to stock in about 25 seconds. Take that into consideration too.)
- And lastly, I know what I'm talking about.
   

Ace-o-Spades Sunday, January 28th, 2007 | 4:21 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by Rosa
Why would you people even listen to this guy's review?

" really liked it because it is very accurate and half of the balls it shoots I cant even see because it shoots fast. "

He obviously doesn't know what he is talking about, nothing against you bud, but you shouldn't write about things you don't know, it creates ignorance.

"disagree this gun could go up against semis. its not the rate of fire that matters its the player."

Let me enlighten you my friends. Pump guns are no match for a semi-automatic. It is just common sense. ANd let me tell you pump-guns are not more accurate than semis, its the same. Accuracy is mostly about the player, and paintbarrel match, gun, velocity etc. So we have two guns, same acuracy, except one shoot 1 bps, and the other 11. If an experienced pump gun team went against and experienced semi team, The semi team would probably win my friends. This is because the semi guys can keep the pump guys pinned, shoot them way more easily when they are runnign from bunker to bunker (bps, say a guy is running from your right to left, doing a 10 foot sprint, with a pump you get one shoot, with a semi you get 11 shots. Just think if you shoot 10 shots going 300fps, theres 30 feet between each shot, a semi will definitely win.) And the semi team can actually provide superior cover fire for their team mates. My friends, you need to under stand that semis are another class. Pump guns are fun, and it is a great experience to play an all pump game (some say funner.) YEs the player does make the gun, its funny how the tippmann factory team rates the 23rd best tourney team. (Although they have uncapped E-grips and E-bolts, and theres more rumors about their crazily customized tippies.) Personally I shoot an angel 05 speed. If I went one on one with a pump guy I would annihalate him. Do you know how I got so good at snap shooting and accuracy, before I took my speed out of its box I picked up a pump gun for a month and practiced snap shooting and making my shots count. And now, I can make my shots count, and have the extra bps. Yes alot of pump players are better than semi players and are more accurate. But then theres semi players that know how to use a semi and can make their shots count. These are the guys in the proffesional tourneys, When put with the skilled player a semi will be superior, and it is out of pure ignorance to think so.

PS: Matrix Sniper, there is no such thing as a sniper in paintball, since paintball guns are accurate like muskets, lol.


Idk about you guys, but i can't get 11bps out of my Tippmann 98C. I bet just about anyone can get more than 1 bps on a pump, probably even 3 or 4. And the problem is with Rosa's argument about how if he went up against a pump player with his angel, and angel isn't necessarily a semi. Also, pumps and semis may be just as accurate, but the shooter will determine that because one has to use both hands on a pump at all times to shoot, while with a semi only one is needed. I don't know anyone that can shoot very accurately one-handed while running.
On a different note, the term "sniper" is very relative. (This goes to both Rosa and RealPB). RealPB, you do have a very solid point about the term sniper being used as a sales catch. However, being a "sniper" is not really running around in a ghillie suit, hiding in a bush with all the crazy tactical attachments one can find and lighting up anyone who comes by. That is NOT what a sniper is, yet that's what a lot of people think it is. The term "sniper" should be considered a mental discipline, almost like a Japanese samurai. Those guys were some of the most disciplined guys around, ever (a good example is that if they were disgraced in battle, they had to do a suicidal ritual, which includes stabbing one's self in the abdomen and waiting till one bleeds out. Very painful). In today's life, the US government won't hand out snipers to anyone who can hide well or can shoot really straight. They look for people who have an extremely strong mental discipline because when they are hiding from the enemy and the enemy is looking them straight in the eyes without noticing them, the sniper HAS to stay calm. Because if he loses his cool and starts shooting everying around him, he's dead. This should be applied to paintball as well. Here's a little story that really ties in with this:
My friends and I were playing paintball at my friend's very densely wooded property, 2 vs 2. My friend and I hid while the other two tried to find us. Having just read about how military snipers have to have nerves of steel, and knowing that I've always dreamed of being one, I tried my best at being one. Being a newbie at the sport of paintball, I hid in a place of little cover about 30 feet away from a path (I didn't even hide in the little cover southern Ohioans have in the winter, so basically behind a 4" wide tree is where I was hiding). After hiding for about a half an hour with no action what-so-ever, my (then) 13-year-old mind began to wander aimlessly about (which is rule #1 on my sniper list, always keep concentrated). Just then, my friend (let's just call him Bob) on the other team walks right in front of me, on the path, without seeing me (I don't know why, as I had no camo on and no cover either). Remembering that sometimes one has to give up a kill to reach the ultimate goal, I let him pass unharmed and unaware of my presence. About 10 seconds later, the other kid (let's call him Fred) on his team walks by, and not realizing that Bob is on his team, begins firing at him. Bob turns around and starts firing back. Seeing my chance on a silver platter, I shoot at Fred without being heard, as Fred was concentrating on shooting Bob (and vise-versa), and I get Fred out. Bob walks back after they both realize they were on the same team and they check for any hits. Being lousy shots, neither of them hit each other, except for a pink paint splatter on Fred's shoulder. Bob sees it and realizing that he doesn't have pink paint fill, gets very nervous and shoots wildly around. I fire a few shots at Bob, getting him out. Looking back, if I had shot Bob when he first came, Fred would've seen it and I probably would've gotten out. However, I kept my cool, and ultimately won the game for my team.
That is what I think of being a prime example of what the term "sniper" should mean: mental descipline with strong-as-steel nerves.
   

graham802 Sunday, September 30th, 2007 | 10:26 am PST
quote:
Originally posted by Mortalis
LOL you gotta be kidding are you like a speed baller?!?! I am the sniper of a my paintball team with this gun (with a scope and JJC barrell 14") and yes does out match a semi. People with semis usually dont take time to aim, they just fire, but with a pump u have to make every shot count. Believe me, unless u play speed ball, rate of fire does not matter is all acuracy. And out of a tippmann flatline and amorteck my guns the most accurate. Plus, if you can master stealth, you won't need a fast gun.
You are the sniper?? how old are u nine. Grow some bawls man
   

Alpha525 Monday, December 31st, 2007 | 1:40 am PST
wow Rosa, I agree with you that there is no paintball "sniper" and that all paintball guns are just as accurate as all the others as long as you have a good paint to barrel match. But when it comes to Pump<Semi Its all about the player. I play pump (phantom) and I can take out any player with a semi. They also get me out a lot too but its all about the player not the marker. Even in speed ball its about playing your bunker correctly and just playing smart not "fast". You need to go up against a good pump player and you'll see that pumps are just as much a threat on the field as any semi you'll see. Learn to play all the angles of paintball before you start to judge dumb ass.
Last edited on Monday, December 31st, 2007 at 1:44 am PST
   

kingcheese Friday, July 25th, 2008 | 5:43 pm PST
Dispute:
a gun that shoots a ball fast isn't a thing that should make you like it,
remeber a safe speed is a good speed
   

kingcheese Friday, May 8th, 2009 | 5:10 pm PST
while some of you self proclimed paintball experts say that all paintballguns shoot the same as far as distance, for the most part you are right, that being said, there are guns that are truely more accurate

lets say your budy has a 98, with stock barrel, and you have a good trusty pump gun, with a 12-14inch barrel, your gonna own him every time if you have any skill

paintball snipers do exsist, but they DO NOT take long shots, long balling is for the inacurate flatelines, snipeing is for the sneak ones that get up close, pop a shoot into you, then leave without being noticed
   

DChen Wednesday, May 26th, 2010 | 8:21 am PST
@paintballer 135.
Dispute. most masks/goggles available to the rec player are only rated to 300FPS ballistic properties. meaning within 10 feet if a "Paintball" is traveling at 300FPS, there is a chance that it will crack the outer goggle lens. Plus, at around 300FPS, the balls now can break skin at that range and the shrapnel from the paintball become collateral.

Going over 300FPS is asking to put the other player is danger of losing an eye through "proper equipment" because face it, the people who cant pay over $80 for a high end double paned mask with "higher than industry standard ANSI rating" will suffer the risk of having goggle peices lodged into his or her face.
Last edited on Wednesday, May 26th, 2010 at 8:21 am PST
   

Post a Comment
Please log in to your account to post a comment.

Not a member yet? Sign up now for free!

Return to the Reviews

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media