paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Comments on CzarAlex's Review / Comments on CzarAlex's Review / Comments on CzarAlex's Review / Comments on CzarAlex's Review

Comments on CzarAlex's Review

Jump to the Comments  |  Post a Comment  |  Dispute this Review  |  Return to the Reviews

CzarAlex Sunday, January 11th, 2004
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion below.
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month45 of 52 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Crossfire 47/3K, various CO2 tanks.
Marker Setup: Spyder Xtra - Stock. 48/3000 Pure Energy.
Strengths: Consistency
Ease of Refilling
Cost in the long run
Weaknesses: Shots per tank
Rumours of leaks (see below)
Review: I was in the market for an HPA tank and used pbreview to do my homework. I was set on getting a crossfire because of their reviews and the fact that my home field uses them without problem. However, my friend was upgrading his system - getting a larger tank - and offered to give me his never used Pure Energy 48/3K if I split a case of paint with him next time we played. While the tank cost me $25 (remember...half case of paint) I was still nervous that it would leak based on the reviews seen around this one. Not only did the tank NOT leak, but its been sitting unused in my closet for over a week now and the gauge hasn't moved at all. So far so good.

I can get 450-500 shots out of the tank before i have to go refill though I make an effort to refill when I'm near the station. Here's where the tank saves you money: Most fields charge per ounce to fill CO2 and most fields also offer a flat rate for all day air to fill HPA tanks. For example, at my home field its $0.25 an ounce of CO2 or $5 all day air. You can see right there for the price to fill one 20oz CO2 tank, I can refill my HPA tank all day.

And its easy to fill. You can leave the bottle on and hook the station up to the nipple on the side of the tank. Nothing could be easier.

And boy did my shot consistency increase. With CO2 I was slicing balls left and right. AS SOON as I started using the HPA tank I noticed a drastic difference.
Conclusion: This tank is priced the same as the others for the most part. If you want to upgrade to HPA, this tank will do the trick. But there are a lot of rumors of them leaking a lot more than other brands. Since mine hasn't yet, I'll give it a 10.
Rating:
10 out of 10
 

Review Comments
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
Durandal Monday, March 1st, 2004 | 1:20 pm PST
You got a low amount of shots 'cause of the tank size, any tank at 47ci will give you very few shots.
   

cockerwalker05 Friday, July 16th, 2004 | 1:55 pm PST
ur only supposed to get around 450 guy, u did good for 500
   

Snowman282 Sunday, December 19th, 2004 | 3:01 pm PST
haha my field fills for free
   

sktbrdngpetey Saturday, June 25th, 2005 | 4:21 pm PST
you can get a lot of shots if you have good operating pressure. i have this tank and i can get 1000 shots at least off my cocker.
   

PBHALO Wednesday, July 6th, 2005 | 12:04 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by sktbrdngpetey
you can get a lot of shots if you have good operating pressure. i have this tank and i can get 1000 shots at least off my cocker.</quote

remember that he has an spyder xtra and that not has a reg
   

cmorris326 Thursday, September 8th, 2005 | 1:28 pm PST
I am looking to get a new air system and can't decide between the Pure Energy System and the Crossfire System. Which one would you recomend.
   

Air Canada Monday, November 28th, 2005 | 12:30 am PST
worr games, their 50ci 3000psi looks good, and sounds very reliable, since its not the carbon fiber, i think you will have less issues than what they stated in the reviews.
   

ocfighter Monday, January 2nd, 2006 | 3:10 pm PST
whats wrong with carbon fiber?
all my carbon fiber tanks work way better than any steal tank ever will...
   

PF_Nut Friday, January 20th, 2006 | 8:44 am PST
$0.25 per ounce is rip off for anyone who buys co2 fills. If your stuck in that situation go find a place that offer 50lb tanks of co2 you can rent and get your own fill station setup. You'll have air for all summer on one 50lb tank that usually cost about $30 to use. The co2 fill stations are cheap as well, can get one of them around $20. After just ten games you'll have broken even and still have enough air in that tank to run you the rest of the season. If the field is charging a dollar or two per fill then I wouldnt worry about it, but quarter an ounce is too much.
   

PF_Nut Friday, January 20th, 2006 | 8:53 am PST
Oh and if you do get the 50 pound tank be sure to tell them what your going to do with it so they'll get you setup with a siphon tank. You can fill off a standard co2 tank but you would have to turn it upside down first which is NOT recommended at all. Very dangerous to turn em upside down cuz you might drop it, break the valve, and now you have a ballistic missile flying around in your garage! Also be sure to check on regulations for storage and such, it is a dangerous thing to use so be careful. Get instructions for filling the small co2 tanks and check all safety stuff, dont fill a tank that's out dated and needs to be hydro tested cuz they generally also need new burst discs which is very important.
   

Viper_UK Friday, February 17th, 2006 | 8:19 am PST
You say you refill your air tank when you go near the station, do you mean a Gas station and use the air compressor that you would normally use to fill your Tyre's?
   

bam wannabe Wednesday, March 22nd, 2006 | 10:57 am PST
quote:
Originally posted by Viper_UK
You say you refill your air tank when you go near the station, do you mean a Gas station and use the air compressor that you would normally use to fill your Tyre's?

he means the fill station at the field to fill up your HPA tanks
   

HobHayward Wednesday, March 22nd, 2006 | 7:12 pm PST
A tire fill doesn't get close to the pressure in HPA tanks.
   

spion009 Saturday, April 1st, 2006 | 3:17 pm PST
I can get at least 650-750 shots out of htis tank on my ion
   

burnballl Wednesday, April 5th, 2006 | 5:31 pm PST
yeah dude i got a spyder fenix with reg and mine is 68 ci and i get like 1300 shots per tank its definitely not your tank its the gun and you should invest in a reg
   

kek Tuesday, June 13th, 2006 | 7:26 am PST
@ kgbhalofreak: Apperently the 450 shots this guy gets with his setup is more than enough for him. If you can get (only) 400 shots, say so in your own review but don't go dispute good reviews just because you think his 450 shots aren't enough, he can decide on his own. Let me say you something else: if you think that you should be able to get more shots, you should be looking for:

a. a bigger tank (oh no, because you state that this one is already that big; so make up your mind. Do you want more shots or you want a smaller tank?)
b. a 4500psi/300bar system.

The last one is your only option, since you stated that this tank is already way too big. And since you think it's too heavy too, you should just buy yourself a 4500 fiber-wrapped tank.

One more thing: don't compare this system to other systems mostly two times as expensive. This system is great for beginnners.....
   

Retched139 Friday, July 7th, 2006 | 7:44 pm PST
Its a beginner tank dude, lay off its His Opinion in His Review. If you dont like it go write Your Own review, dont flame his just because you dont like the product.
   

Dan099 Saturday, July 15th, 2006 | 4:46 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by kgbhalofreak
That PSI tank is a horrible it doesn't deserve a 10 it deserves a 5. I only get 400 SHOTS with my shocker and the air flow is inconsistent. The tanks metal is the worst quality it is so heavy and big. My advice is to save your money and buy a cross fire, macdve, max-flow, scion or empire tank

Go to http://www.scubatoys.com/paintball/paintballshots.asp they have a calculator for shots per tank that includes gun efficiency. In their tests the shocker was the biggest gas hog.
   

dereckdeutz Saturday, July 29th, 2006 | 6:08 pm PST
you are such a noobie
   

Yanksck73 Monday, July 31st, 2006 | 9:21 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by kgbhalofreak
That PSI tank is a horrible it doesn't deserve a 10 it deserves a 5. I only get 400 SHOTS with my shocker and the air flow is inconsistent. The tanks metal is the worst quality it is so heavy and big. My advice is to save your money and buy a cross fire, macdve, max-flow, scion or empire tank

Dude your an idiot. A shocker is a gas hog thats why you got 400 shots out of it. And any tank the same size, output pressure and psi, no mater what brand will give you the same shots per fill. I have a PMI tank i bought used 68/4500 and it works fine.
   
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page

Post a Comment
Please log in to your account to post a comment.

Not a member yet? Sign up now for free!

Return to the Reviews

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media