paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Comments on unknownpsycho's Review / Comments on unknownpsycho's Review / Comments on unknownpsycho's Review / Comments on unknownpsycho's Review / Comments on unknownpsycho's Review

Comments on unknownpsycho's Review

Jump to the Comments  |  Post a Comment  |  Dispute this Review  |  Return to the Reviews

unknownpsycho Monday, January 12th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
NPS Icon-E- pretty similar gun, but the trigger has a stronger pull to it, and it maxes at 13 bps.
Tippmann 98 Custom- Good gun when upgraded, but it takes alot to upgrade.
Marker Setup: M3 2003 Dragun Fire LCD, Evlution II hopper, 14" CMI QB Tru-Flight barrel, 12oz CO2
Recommended
Upgrades:
HPA, Delrin bolt, e-hopper, new barrel, and new trigger.
Strengths: Very fast, great gun for what you pay for it.
Weaknesses: CO2 problems when you play in the cold.
Review: This is a great gun; even better when you upgrade it. It's pretty inexpensive and out-performs all the guns i've tried in that price range. It shoots very fast, but with CO2, the bolt doesn't blow back all the way every now and then when it's cold. The stock barrel is pretty accurate, but my stick squeegee couldn't clean out the forward part because it is a larger bore than the rear part. The stock trigger has a wobble to it, but that's because it doesn't have a spring behind it, therefore it has a much lighter pull. With a little effort (or a new adjustable trigger) you can hit the sweet spot and pour out 15+ bps on semi. The aluminum bolt isn't bad, but it seems to move slower when it's cold, so i'd recommend a delrin bolt just to avoid the occasional chops. The electronics work great, though it is a little annoying that there are no user presets- every time you turn it on, the semi is set to 15 bps and the auto is set to 10. Also the safety is a nuisance to work because you gotta hold it down for 5 seconds to turn it on, so i usually just leave my gun active, which, in combination with such a light trigger pull, has caused me to have to clean out my barrel condom several times.

I was planning on using this as an entry level gun and buying a more expensive gun when I had gained more experience, but with just a few upgrades, this marker has held its own against Mags and Cockers.
____________________________________________________________
________

I had to change my rating when I realized that this gun is not tourney legal. The rate of fire and semi/auto modes are easily accessible during gameplay (which is illegal in most tournaments) unless you do some serious modification to this gun, in which case you will no longer be able to use the safety without taking off the grip plate.
Conclusion: I'd give this gun an 8 because it's great for the money, but gets kinda cranky with CO2. If you run nitro, I don't think you'll have any problems. I took away a point because this gun is still great for recballing, but is illegal for tourneys.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, July 15th, 2004 at 9:01 pm PST
 

Review Comments
Game-on Thursday, February 19th, 2004 | 9:24 pm PST
Remove the left side grip of the gun and there should be a black clip (cap) on the upper 1/3 of the board. It is a 'jumper', remove it (it should be easy to remove with no or very little effort) and the gun is semi-auto only. Put it back in to re-enable the gun to switch modes, I have an E-rex Pro from Gameface and the clip is on my gun. The DF Lcd is identical to the E-rex and should have the black clip on the left side.
This will make the gun tourney legal IF your gun does have the clip on it.
Last edited on Thursday, February 19th, 2004 at 9:25 pm PST
   

kmorris1 Thursday, February 26th, 2004 | 4:36 pm PST
you cant hit 15 bps on semi
   

unknownpsycho Monday, March 8th, 2004 | 2:00 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by kmorris1
you cant hit 15 bps on semi
I can't? I don't understand- why would the chrono lie to me?! What did I ever do to it?
   

P-Smith Saturday, June 26th, 2004 | 9:56 pm PST
Why is this gun illegal in tournys? its semi-auto right? please fill me in on the details thanks.
   

Yo_987 Tuesday, July 6th, 2004 | 6:47 pm PST
P-smith, unknownphyscho's review attested that the gun is not tourny legal. Most tournaments do not allow Full-auto modes to be used. To play in tournaments, guns must have tourny locks so that the player cannot switch modes real fast so he can cheat by using full auto. The player would have to remove the grip, and the ref would notice him by then if he did that in a game :)

As game-on said, the gun does have a tournament lock. So this whole thing doesn't matter, the gun is legal.
   

cyprus223 Monday, July 12th, 2004 | 1:51 am PST
by the way ive hit around 20 bps with my black dragun semi auto
   

unknownpsycho Tuesday, September 7th, 2004 | 12:38 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by Yo_987
P-smith, unknownphyscho's review attested that the gun is not tourny legal. Most tournaments do not allow Full-auto modes to be used. To play in tournaments, guns must have tourny locks so that the player cannot switch modes real fast so he can cheat by using full auto. The player would have to remove the grip, and the ref would notice him by then if he did that in a game :)

As game-on said, the gun does have a tournament lock. So this whole thing doesn't matter, the gun is legal.

To switch to auto mode, you just tap a button on the back. One of my buddies DID use this marker in a tournament, and I made it legal by cutting a piece of plastic to fit over the buttons, where you had to stick an allen wrench down in the holes to hit the buttons. I've looked for the black jumper on the board to completely eliminate auto mode, but I couldn't find it.
   

AsphaltDragon Sunday, April 10th, 2005 | 6:10 pm PST
No tournament lock at all? Not good...I'm looking at one of these, over an upgrade for my Victor II, and I wanna be able to play tourneys. Actually, I plan on playing only tourneys. And winning, too. However, the winning may not go according to plan. :)
   

Psycho_warden Wednesday, May 4th, 2005 | 9:56 am PST
quote:
Originally posted by unknownpsycho

I can't? I don't understand- why would the chrono lie to me?! What did I ever do to it?


Hahaha, good one
   

Toolazy90 Wednesday, October 26th, 2005 | 4:14 pm PST
Weaknesses: CO2 problems when you play in the cold.


You will have a lot of problems in the cold or hot when you use CO2. Co2 pressure fluctuates with temperature. My friend's gun dropped from 260 fps to under 170 fps because of temperature. This is why many people get Compressed air/ Nitro tanks. Compressed air tanks keep a more solid pressure when filled, despite the temperature.
   

Post a Comment
Please log in to your account to post a comment.

Not a member yet? Sign up now for free!

Return to the Reviews

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media