paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Comments on cockercane's Review / Comments on cockercane's Review / Comments on cockercane's Review / Comments on cockercane's Review

Comments on cockercane's Review

Jump to the Comments  |  Post a Comment  |  Dispute this Review  |  Return to the Reviews

cockercane Wednesday, January 14th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
1 year43 of 48 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Shakers
12v revolution w/ x board
Egg (just tested)
Marker Setup: Angel Force 4 Fly
Cobra trigger /w magnet mod
Cobra valve
Cobra v2.0 bolt
Cobra snatch grip & breach knob
Check it Unimount

'02 WGP STO Autococker
12" DYE boomstick
WGP hinge
ANS front pneumatics kit w/ QEV's
Shocktech Bomb 3-way
ANS GX phase II reg
15* ASA
Shocktech supa fly bolt
Kapp fx beaver tail
Sys X drop & on / off

Halo-B w/ rip V board
68ci. 3000psi. Crossfire hpa.
Strengths: Quiet
Well built, solid.
Fast
Weaknesses: Jams are a pain
On / off button too low profile
Review: I've read complaints about the halo having too much torque for the ball detents, causing multiple feeds per cycle. If you have a closed bolt gun like a 'cocker, don't worry, this hopper is perfect being that the bolt is only open when you pull the trigger.
EDIT 02-Sept-04:
I bought the Force Fly Angel 4 and this Halo works beautifully with it. I do not have victory board and it keeps up with the Angel with no double feeds to speak of yet. Once I get Victory... it'll be interesting to see if the AF4 Fly gets even faster. he he he he!
EDIT 19-MAR-05:
I made a mistake by not tightening my feedneck and the HALO flew off onto pavement and the lid broke off. Being unable to replace the needed part due to backorder, I had to use a friends Evolution (egg) hopper. I was amazed at how much slower the egg was, even with brand new batteries. Walking the trigger of my Angel seemed almost futile, it seemed like I was shooting one ball every three pulls. The Egg that I used had the Y board upgrade.

On / off button is straight forward, push once to turn on then push, hold (until the light turns red) and release to turn off. The button can be hard to work with wet or slimy gloves. I overfilled the hopper during a fight once and the motor turned off. (thats what the Z-code software is all about. Keeps motor, belt and electronics from burning up if the feed mech jams up Z code also shuts down if the eye is covered in filth) In that situation rip won't help you! you have to turn the hopper off, dump out some paint and turn it back on again. That's hard to do quickly if you can't feel the button through gloves and paintballs are whizzing past yer head.

QUICK FIX IDEA!
Remove the cotton off the end of a Q-tip, roll it into a ball and place it over the button (red dot) and use electrical tape to secure it in place. That gives the button a greater profile that's easier to feel and push with gloves on. That may also help protect the plastic "film" that covers the button, just use something soft like cotton.

The halo; unlike the viewloader revolution (12v), won't allow you to shake paintballs into the feed neck if the batteries die. That's where the rip drive comes in! Its like winding a clock to keep it working so you're not dead in the water. Thats a cool feature.

The halo differs from other hoppers due to the fact that the paintballs or "ball stack" in the feed tube is constantly held under spring tension (like shells in a regular gun clip) so as soon as the breach opens another paintball is forced; by spring tension, into the breach. No chopping! Fast? That's an understatement.

You have the choice of using either one 9v battery or six AA's. One 9v battery is much lighter but it bounces around in a gigantic void big enough to fit six AA's. The Odyssey website recommends six AA batteries. Using a 9v battery would severely hamper the speed of this hopper. Fresh batteries are a must, this hopper isn't such a battery hog if you unplug the battery harness in between playing.

This hopper is heavy, but that's no problem being that I'm actually a cyborg.
Conclusion: The engineers who designed this hopper really used their brains and made a great functioning product. H.A.L.O. (Highly Advanced Loader Operations) really lives up to it's name.
This hopper is the perfect combo with my 'cocker, although I'll never shoot fast enough to out run it (thats a good thing). I'm pleased I spent the money to get it and I haven't had any speed chops since. It's definitely worth the extra money for this loader because it will keep up with any future marker purchases that you make. The HALO was a little excessive for my 'Cocker but it was right there to throw atop my Angel soon as I got it. This loader works great on my Angel 4 fly as well with no double feeds.
EDIT 02-Sept-04:
I did a stupid flying commando dive / roll which broke the very bottom of the shell on the feed neck. I used super glue to fix it and its held up for weeks. Although covered by warranty, I understand that it's cheaper to buy a new shell than it is to ship it back to Odyssey for repair. You must send to them for warranty repairs.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Friday, January 27th, 2006 at 8:28 am PST
 

Review Comments
                            
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
whistlebritches Saturday, January 31st, 2004 | 4:42 pm PST
On my 12v Revvy, I can shake paint into my feedneck.
   

cockercane Sunday, February 1st, 2004 | 9:33 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by whistlebritches
On my 12v Revvy, I can shake paint into my feedneck.

i KNOW
   

PB0900 Wednesday, February 11th, 2004 | 10:47 am PST
quote:
Originally posted by whistlebritches
On my 12v Revvy, I can shake paint into my feedneck.

And your point is.....?
   

intruder_89 Wednesday, April 21st, 2004 | 2:22 pm PST
u do realize that a halo on a mech cocker is completely unnessary and a waste of money.
   

cockercane Wednesday, April 21st, 2004 | 3:37 pm PST
intruder 89 is wrong. To save a little money I could have gone w/ the egg for enough speed (as opposed to the 12v revvie) but the force feed on the halo ads a whole new world of reliability to a closed bolt. There's no way on earth that a 12v revvie could have kept up to my (sorry to break your bubble intruder) MECHANICAL autococker. Even an egg would have more feed gaps than halo. I didn't mind paying a little more for the performance I get (not to mention the great company behind it). Now I'm set up if I go electro.
Last edited on Wednesday, April 21st, 2004 at 3:42 pm PST
   

wgp04cocker Saturday, May 15th, 2004 | 9:00 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by intruder_89
u do realize that a halo on a mech cocker is completely unnessary and a waste of money.

EVER THINK THAT HE MIGHT HAVE AN E-BLADE, WORR BLADE, OR ANS RACE FRAME!!! THINK...
   

KnUcKiNpHuTs Sunday, September 5th, 2004 | 11:14 am PST
couple things,
1. no, your never going to outrun an Evo on a mech cocker, youd be doing very well t outrun a revvy.
2. im kind of confused about your review, it sounded like you really liked the product, you gave nothing but good remarks, but yet you only gave it an 8???
   

cockercane Sunday, September 5th, 2004 | 3:11 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by KnUcKiNpHuTs
1. no, your never going to outrun an Evo on a mech cocker, youd be doing very well t outrun a revvy.
This review is not about the evo. As for the revvie, it became a constant chopping problem after I installed the QEV's and reduced the trigger pull. That was why I needed to invest in a faster hopper. Bottom line.... the revvie coulden't cut it anymore. You are bashing a mechanical Autococker just to create the impression that you know something.
quote:
2. im kind of confused about your review, it sounded like you really liked the product, you gave nothing but good remarks, but yet you only gave it an 8???
"1" is a bad score, "8" is a good score "10" is a perfect score.
Do I think it's perfect.? No.
Do I think it's good? Yes.
Any questions?
Last edited on Sunday, September 5th, 2004 at 3:13 pm PST
   

pullethmyfinger Tuesday, October 5th, 2004 | 4:48 pm PST
i wish i was a cyborg
   

cockercane Wednesday, October 6th, 2004 | 8:38 am PST
quote:
Originally posted by pullethmyfinger
i wish i was a cyborg
I hope you are able to be one soon! Have fun.
Last edited on Saturday, October 16th, 2004 at 9:41 am PST
   

Phathed Saturday, February 19th, 2005 | 2:43 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by whistlebritches
On my 12v Revvy, I can shake paint into my feedneck.


Good job awww arent u so cute, we should get him a trophy or somthing.........
   

rdneck3430 Monday, March 21st, 2005 | 4:35 pm PST
Hey man with that victory board in you angel your halo will still keep up.
But if i was you i wouldve paid $20 more for an empire reloader b
   

McChickenNugget Friday, March 25th, 2005 | 5:19 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by cockercane
intruder 89 is wrong. To save a little money I could have gone w/ the egg for enough speed (as opposed to the 12v revvie) but the force feed on the halo ads a whole new world of reliability to a closed bolt. There's no way on earth that a 12v revvie could have kept up to my (sorry to break your bubble intruder) MECHANICAL autococker. Even an egg would have more feed gaps than halo. I didn't mind paying a little more for the performance I get (not to mention the great company behind it). Now I'm set up if I go electro.

Cockercane, I have noticed by reading your past reviews and comments you like to show someone up with what they say about your reviews. So just to point this out revvy is spelled R E V V Y not revvie cyborg boy.
   

cockercane Saturday, March 26th, 2005 | 3:16 am PST
Thank you for your help nugget boy ; )
   

McChickenNugget Saturday, March 26th, 2005 | 4:20 pm PST
no prob
   

spshocker Tuesday, April 19th, 2005 | 1:57 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by rdneck3430
Hey man with that victory board in you angel your halo will still keep up.
But if i was you i wouldve paid $20 more for an empire reloader b

I think that the victory board is for the halo B not the Angel 4.
   

TJK12345 Sunday, August 21st, 2005 | 4:41 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by intruder_89
u do realize that a halo on a mech cocker is completely unnessary and a waste of money.

Despite the fact that I have a mech cocker I completely agree. Even an eggy is too much, but whatever. If he wants to waste his money on something thats unnecesarry fine.
   

cockercane Monday, August 22nd, 2005 | 8:21 am PST
quote:
Originally posted by TJK12345
Despite the fact that I have a mech cocker I completely agree

Dude, tell us how fast you can shoot with your Trilogy...
Last edited on Monday, August 22nd, 2005 at 8:23 am PST
   

bepaintinu Thursday, August 25th, 2005 | 7:11 pm PST
should i get this or the halo b with out rip for my spyder piolet?
   

iplaypaintbal77 Friday, September 2nd, 2005 | 4:29 pm PST
no, unless your getting a new gun in the near future

and save the extra 10$ and get it with rip
Last edited on Friday, September 2nd, 2005 at 4:33 pm PST
   
                            
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page

Post a Comment
Please log in to your account to post a comment.

Not a member yet? Sign up now for free!

Return to the Reviews

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media