paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Comments on cockercane's Review / Comments on cockercane's Review / Comments on cockercane's Review / Comments on cockercane's Review

Comments on cockercane's Review

Jump to the Comments  |  Post a Comment  |  Dispute this Review  |  Return to the Reviews

cockercane Wednesday, January 14th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
1 year43 of 48 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Shakers
12v revolution w/ x board
Egg (just tested)
Marker Setup: Angel Force 4 Fly
Cobra trigger /w magnet mod
Cobra valve
Cobra v2.0 bolt
Cobra snatch grip & breach knob
Check it Unimount

'02 WGP STO Autococker
12" DYE boomstick
WGP hinge
ANS front pneumatics kit w/ QEV's
Shocktech Bomb 3-way
ANS GX phase II reg
15* ASA
Shocktech supa fly bolt
Kapp fx beaver tail
Sys X drop & on / off

Halo-B w/ rip V board
68ci. 3000psi. Crossfire hpa.
Strengths: Quiet
Well built, solid.
Fast
Weaknesses: Jams are a pain
On / off button too low profile
Review: I've read complaints about the halo having too much torque for the ball detents, causing multiple feeds per cycle. If you have a closed bolt gun like a 'cocker, don't worry, this hopper is perfect being that the bolt is only open when you pull the trigger.
EDIT 02-Sept-04:
I bought the Force Fly Angel 4 and this Halo works beautifully with it. I do not have victory board and it keeps up with the Angel with no double feeds to speak of yet. Once I get Victory... it'll be interesting to see if the AF4 Fly gets even faster. he he he he!
EDIT 19-MAR-05:
I made a mistake by not tightening my feedneck and the HALO flew off onto pavement and the lid broke off. Being unable to replace the needed part due to backorder, I had to use a friends Evolution (egg) hopper. I was amazed at how much slower the egg was, even with brand new batteries. Walking the trigger of my Angel seemed almost futile, it seemed like I was shooting one ball every three pulls. The Egg that I used had the Y board upgrade.

On / off button is straight forward, push once to turn on then push, hold (until the light turns red) and release to turn off. The button can be hard to work with wet or slimy gloves. I overfilled the hopper during a fight once and the motor turned off. (thats what the Z-code software is all about. Keeps motor, belt and electronics from burning up if the feed mech jams up Z code also shuts down if the eye is covered in filth) In that situation rip won't help you! you have to turn the hopper off, dump out some paint and turn it back on again. That's hard to do quickly if you can't feel the button through gloves and paintballs are whizzing past yer head.

QUICK FIX IDEA!
Remove the cotton off the end of a Q-tip, roll it into a ball and place it over the button (red dot) and use electrical tape to secure it in place. That gives the button a greater profile that's easier to feel and push with gloves on. That may also help protect the plastic "film" that covers the button, just use something soft like cotton.

The halo; unlike the viewloader revolution (12v), won't allow you to shake paintballs into the feed neck if the batteries die. That's where the rip drive comes in! Its like winding a clock to keep it working so you're not dead in the water. Thats a cool feature.

The halo differs from other hoppers due to the fact that the paintballs or "ball stack" in the feed tube is constantly held under spring tension (like shells in a regular gun clip) so as soon as the breach opens another paintball is forced; by spring tension, into the breach. No chopping! Fast? That's an understatement.

You have the choice of using either one 9v battery or six AA's. One 9v battery is much lighter but it bounces around in a gigantic void big enough to fit six AA's. The Odyssey website recommends six AA batteries. Using a 9v battery would severely hamper the speed of this hopper. Fresh batteries are a must, this hopper isn't such a battery hog if you unplug the battery harness in between playing.

This hopper is heavy, but that's no problem being that I'm actually a cyborg.
Conclusion: The engineers who designed this hopper really used their brains and made a great functioning product. H.A.L.O. (Highly Advanced Loader Operations) really lives up to it's name.
This hopper is the perfect combo with my 'cocker, although I'll never shoot fast enough to out run it (thats a good thing). I'm pleased I spent the money to get it and I haven't had any speed chops since. It's definitely worth the extra money for this loader because it will keep up with any future marker purchases that you make. The HALO was a little excessive for my 'Cocker but it was right there to throw atop my Angel soon as I got it. This loader works great on my Angel 4 fly as well with no double feeds.
EDIT 02-Sept-04:
I did a stupid flying commando dive / roll which broke the very bottom of the shell on the feed neck. I used super glue to fix it and its held up for weeks. Although covered by warranty, I understand that it's cheaper to buy a new shell than it is to ship it back to Odyssey for repair. You must send to them for warranty repairs.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Friday, January 27th, 2006 at 8:28 am PST
 

Review Comments
Previous Page
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
sktbrdngpetey Wednesday, November 16th, 2005 | 2:51 pm PST
im not gonna bash you. i actually have two mech cockers. but a qev will not make a mech cocker cycle faster. it only helps increase an e-cockers cycling speed. because on an e cocker with the qev(s) it makes it so the air doesnt have to go back through the selonoid. but since it doesnt have a noid on a mech cocker it doesnt make it faster. Thats what everyone on warpig says. including davea and hes a cocker god
Last edited on Wednesday, November 16th, 2005 at 2:52 pm PST
   

cockercane Friday, November 18th, 2005 | 9:16 am PST
quote:
Originally posted by sktbrdngpetey
im not gonna bash you. i actually have two mech cockers. but a qev will not make a mech cocker cycle faster. it only helps increase an e-cockers cycling speed. because on an e cocker with the qev(s) it makes it so the air doesnt have to go back through the selonoid. but since it doesnt have a noid on a mech cocker it doesnt make it faster. Thats what everyone on warpig says. including davea and hes a cocker god
A solenoid and a 3-way have the same exact function, both need to vent the used gas from the ram in the same manner. The QEV's are a slave to the ram, so you will see the same difference in ram opperation between the E-cocker and mechanical.

The 3-way can greatly benifit from the QEV's as well to make mechanical 'Cocker faster (and I do mean FASTER). Being that the QEV's vent the ram directly rather than routing the used gas back out the 3-way, the (3-way) shuttle needs to only move half as far as it used to. This is hard to explain... The shuttle O-rings no longer need to clear the hole to vent the ram. As soon as the trigger is pulled or released and the shuttle moves to the coersponding hole to pressurize the ram in the according direction, the response is immediate because the ram has been already vented by the QEV.

Heres the cool part...
Depending on you pneumatic setup (you can see mine in my review), since your 3-way shuttle only has to move half as far... your trigger only needs to move half as far. If upgraded and timed properly, you can cut your trigger pull length in HALF!!! That alone will increase your cycling speed greatly, thus making a fast hopper necessary.

Being that this is how my 'Cocker was set up (i've since sold it) I know without ANY DOUBT WHATSOVER that QEV's doubled the speed of my mech 'Cocker.

Sounds like Davea needs to be demoted to 'Cocker Jesus ; )
   

sktbrdngpetey Friday, November 18th, 2005 | 3:39 pm PST
i get what your sayin. i actually misunderstood him. he said just puttin it on wont change anything. so that was my bad. cause i even had a qev, just one unfortunaltly on my cocker and i didnt change anything with the 3 way shaft and it wasnt any faster. so my bad
Last edited on Friday, November 18th, 2005 at 3:40 pm PST
   

cockercane Friday, November 18th, 2005 | 9:32 pm PST
Alright, Davea can be promoted to 'Cocker god again.
   

Tbone0423 Friday, January 6th, 2006 | 5:24 am PST
ok so back tot he loader, would u refcomend the empire b or the halo b (not to start a war or anything)? I know its like COKE and PEPSI but where does one surpass the other?
   

cockercane Saturday, January 7th, 2006 | 8:15 am PST
Many are extremely patial to the Empire, but I would recommend the HALO B. Difference being that Empire B is sound activated whereas the HALO B uses reflective eyes to detect the paint. The eyes will react to the movement of the paint to maintain the ball stack much more effectively than a sound activated board...

The argument against the concept of HALO's reflective eyes is that purple and black shelled paint cannot be detected by the eyes thus confusing the board into thinking that the loader is jammed.... so it will shut down. Black and purple shell paint is easy to avoid.
Last edited on Saturday, January 7th, 2006 at 8:19 am PST
   

fata_00 Thursday, February 16th, 2006 | 1:53 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by McChickenNugget


Cockercane, I have noticed by reading your past reviews and comments you like to show someone up with what they say about your reviews. So just to point this out revvy
is spelled R E V V Y not revvie cyborg boy.


Wow..sounds like someones desperate for bashing. Like caner said, its about the HALO B not the Revvy, Revvy is dead. Good review by the way.
   

drewb53 Monday, March 13th, 2006 | 2:37 pm PST
I am thinking about getting this for my spyder electra w/ the rocking trigger, is this a good idea or not?
   

cockercane Tuesday, March 14th, 2006 | 6:56 am PST
It may be a little excessive for a spyder, but it will be well worth the money. You will see far fewer chops and the HALO will be therre when you get a higher end marker.
   

jack_empire Saturday, May 6th, 2006 | 6:20 pm PST
ok my halo is to fast for my spyder...how do i change the speed?
   

cockercane Sunday, May 7th, 2006 | 12:39 am PST
I'd begin by inspecting / replacing your detents.

Why do you believe it's too fast?
   

toxic avenger Friday, May 19th, 2006 | 2:52 pm PST
earlier this review said something about the egg being too slow I guess that must've been with a y board cause my rl timmy can't out shoot my evo 2. I have both a halo b with rip and an evo2 with zed board and they both keep up with my timmy. Furthermore I think the evo is way better for a mid range (mid speed) marker cause the speed is easily adjustable and it won't double feed through your detents. Also I find I can reload faster with the evo and usually I don't spill any balls cause of the wider opening. The only thing about the evos that bites (other than the battery housing) is the wheels are flimsy and get jammed but I have never had a ball break inside my hopper probably just cause the wheel is to flimsy to blend paint. It's kind of a bend don't break trade off so as is the case with so many things it comes down to preference. Every hopper has it's pros and cons.
   

jack_empire Monday, May 22nd, 2006 | 5:48 pm PST
it feeds to much paint into my feedneck then it will chop alot
   

jack_empire Monday, May 22nd, 2006 | 5:49 pm PST
does anyone know how to change the speed???
   

cockercane Tuesday, May 23rd, 2006 | 12:58 am PST
Whatever you do DON'T READ MY REVIEW!!!!!
   

jack_empire Friday, May 26th, 2006 | 5:38 pm PST
SOMEONE TELL ME HOW TO CHANGE THE SPEED.......please :'(
   

cockercane Saturday, May 27th, 2006 | 8:49 am PST
BUY A VICTORY BOARD THAT WILL ALLOW YOU TO CHANGE THE SPEED!!!!

Gah, dont you know how google or forums work?

Anyway, how is it possible to feed too many balls into your fedneck? Sounds to me like it's double feeding. In which case, like I told you earlier, check your detents and make sure its not worn out.
   

jack_empire Monday, June 5th, 2006 | 2:16 pm PST
dont need to go crazy there but ok
   

CookieMonster69 Thursday, June 8th, 2006 | 5:00 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by pullethmyfinger
i wish i was a cyborg
1.wat is a cyborg?
2.should i get the halo b w/rip or the empire?
3.wich one will keep up wit my spyder electra?
   

stupid noob Friday, June 23rd, 2006 | 3:28 pm PST
wat is a 12v rev vy and how is it diferent than ahalo???
   
Previous Page
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page

Post a Comment
Please log in to your account to post a comment.

Not a member yet? Sign up now for free!

Return to the Reviews

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media