paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Comments on thePest's Review / Comments on thePest's Review / Comments on thePest's Review / Comments on thePest's Review

Comments on thePest's Review

Jump to the Comments  |  Post a Comment  |  Dispute this Review  |  Return to the Reviews

thePest Monday, January 19th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
1 year30 of 34 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Any other hopper on the market minus the Q loader
Marker Setup: Dye Ultralight & IS Boomstick
Halo B & Evolution with Z Board
CP clone reg, PBC fron lpr reg
Free Flow Bolt Kit (and Lethal Mods)
CCM No-rise
Max Flow 72 cu tank
Strengths: Fast, Light, Good with batteries
Weaknesses: Not as sturdy as Halo
Review: Ok, my brother(ceo of our growing paintball company), and I(technical advisor), have tested 4 hoppers no less than 2 hours ago and have fully marked their speed. We tested the HALO B, the EVO 2 with y Board, the EVO with z Board, and the 12 Volt REVY with x board and vortex impellers. These were unbiased tests that were meant only to show how fast each loader could load 130 paintballs (roughly one tube of paint).
Trial 1 Trial 2 Trial 3 Total Average
EVO 2 (Y Board) 8.28sec 7.78sec 7.66sec 7.91sec
EVO 2 (Z Board) 7.23sec 7.16sec 7.48sec 7.29sec
HALO B 7.67sec 7.54sec 6.66sec 7.29sec
REVO (12v, w/ x) 12.34sec ------- ------- -------

Keep in my that this test show only how fast these hoppers can load 130 balls. We were quite pleased with the Y board. It loaded a little slower than the HALO B. Not that much slower, but the HALO was still faster. Y Board is still a good hopper though loading at 16.6-16.8 balls per second.
Conclusion: The EVO 2 with Y board is a good hopper, although a little slower than others, it is still fast enough to deliver high rates of fire.
Rating:
9 out of 10
 

Review Comments
Ivar Nelson Wednesday, January 28th, 2004 | 9:55 am PST
I appreciate the test facts that back up the rating. Good job on the review!
   

AngelSpeedPa Monday, April 12th, 2004 | 9:08 am PST
Nice of someone to actually post some results of the halo vs the two eggs, thanx so much.
   

supersam08 Sunday, September 19th, 2004 | 3:33 pm PST
I have heard from several people but never really heard first hand of anyone trying it, NE ways, i hear that if you cut off every other paddle on the fan thingy that it feeds faster. have you heard the same thing, or would you be willing to try it yourself?
   

monkeyman247 Monday, September 20th, 2004 | 11:32 pm PST
What was the full method of testing, i.e unless you where using a marker that was firing faster than 16bps or whatever the lowest feedrate out of the lot of them was . then the speed the hoppers are emptying depend entirly upon the speed of the marker because the hoppers can keep up.

and if you used a marker that is cycling faster than the hoppers then its going to chop etc which will slow the feedrate down and the test wont be very accurate if an marker with an EYE is used as it will effectivly skip cycles when a ball isnt present

The only way i can see that you could possible test the hoppers properly is to try and match the hopper speed with the marker speed which would require quite a bit of paint. and from what you have written you would have had to have used a good deal of paint to be able to make any conclusions about each hoppers performance.

then again i might be completley wrong . but to me the results look flawed.

Now if you did that sort of testing with barrels i would be very impressed
   

bluespider Monday, October 18th, 2004 | 3:33 pm PST
Hey monkeyman247, One way that you could test the load speed is to just fill the hoppers up and turn them on without attaching them to a gun. Just let them fall into a bucket or on the ground. This would indicate the absolute maximum rate of feed without any influence from the gun.
   

Empyre Saturday, October 30th, 2004 | 7:38 pm PST
Monkeyman247, I'll make this short cuz I dont want to totally flame you, you can run a hopper without a marker. That is what he did and he didn't have to say it becuase when you test a hopper it is implied that you did it w/o a marker
   

Dylanj Tuesday, December 7th, 2004 | 4:53 pm PST
blue spider if he did this then he results wouldnt mean anything. For example the qloader can unload 100 balls in less then 1.5 seconds this does not mean its feed rate is 75 balls a second. The fastest the qloader can feed on an actual gun is about 33 bps.
   

x baller 8888 Saturday, April 23rd, 2005 | 8:03 pm PST
Very helpful.... good review, you changed my outlook on Halo's lol
   

pmiordie77 Wednesday, June 22nd, 2005 | 11:56 am PST
can u adjust the ball rate if so how low?
   

A2L Friday, September 23rd, 2005 | 10:35 am PST
Running it w/o a marker is flawed as well though. I think warpig had an article and test results for the egg doing that same thing... while it ran w/o a marker it achieved it's 17-19 bps but when attached to a marker it could only achieve a mere 15bps. If anything I agree with monkeyman was saying, seems like that would be one of the most accurate ways to test it
   

alexdyer92 Saturday, December 9th, 2006 | 8:00 pm PST
you seem to know your share in paintball so please let me ask you, which would be a better hopper for an autococker superstock? An evolution y board or a halo frontman? Please answer back!!!!!
   

giltyfrontman Monday, April 23rd, 2007 | 12:40 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by alexdyer92
you seem to know your share in paintball so please let me ask you, which would be a better hopper for an autococker superstock? An evolution y board or a halo frontman? Please answer back!!!!!

It would be a pretty good hopper for the super stock because it feeds 19bps (read in APG magazine)

by the way I am a front man too (as you can tell by the name) and I am thinking of getting thins hopper for myself
Last edited on Monday, April 23rd, 2007 at 12:42 pm PST
   

Post a Comment
Please log in to your account to post a comment.

Not a member yet? Sign up now for free!

Return to the Reviews

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media