paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Comments on Menohl's Review / Comments on Menohl's Review / Comments on Menohl's Review / Comments on Menohl's Review / Comments on Menohl's Review

Comments on Menohl's Review

Jump to the Comments  |  Post a Comment  |  Dispute this Review  |  Return to the Reviews

Menohl Wednesday, January 21st, 2004
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion below.
Period of
Product Use:
6 months36 of 43 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 68 Special
Tippmann SL-68 II Pump
Tippmann Pro Carbine
Tippmann A-5
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 Custom
GTA Inline Expansion Chamber
GTA Double Trigger
32* Star Fire Bolt
Madmann Spring Kit
J&J 14" Ceramic Barrel
Viewloader 12V Revolution w/ X-Board
JCS 6" Offset 3/8" Dovetail Sight Rail
Magnacraft 3-9X30 Illuminated Scope
Thunder Pig In-Line CO2 Gauge
JCS Combat Folding Stock w/RVA
32* Coiled Remote
PMI 20oz. CO2 Tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel (more than anything else)
Expansion Chamber
The rest is personal preferance
Strengths: Extremely Durable
Extremely Reliable
Easy to use
Easy to clean
Weaknesses: Nothing i'd call a weakness
Review: Well, there isn't a whole lot that i can write about this marker that hasn't been written already, so i'll just tell you why i prefer this marker.

Durability - You can kick this marker, drop it in the dirt, drop it in the water (as long as your paintballs stay dry) and really put it throught hell, and it will still work just like the day it came out of the box. This thing is the AK-47 of Paintball Guns!!!

Reliable - This kinda falls in with durability. At the field i play at they only rent 98 Customs (you'll find that most paintball fields do, there's a reason for that), and i've seen many a person showing up with Spyders, and other assorted markers and they have had problems of all sorts, and they always end up having to rent a marker. Due to that fact, and the fact that after i rented one for myself one time, i knew this was the marker for me.

Feedneck - This is one of the few markers on the marker that the feedneck had a nut and bolt so when you attach your hopper you can actually tighten it down and ensure that its never going to fall out!!!

Easy to use - You will be hard pressed to jack up one of these markers... You really have to be trying to make this gun jack up before it actually might.

Easy to clean - The first time i field stripped the marker i was a little nervous, but now i can do it with my eye's closed. Just follow the part breakdown in the manual and you can't go wrong, althought i do not recommend field stripping this gun at a paintball field, unless you have a good flat surface with a big towel or sheet underneath it so you don't drop or lose any of the smaller parts.

Upgrades - This marker has more upgrades for it than any other marker on the market. You can do just about anything and everything to this gun. I have several friends that have 98C's and we have all upgraded them to our own personal preferences, and when we get together not a single one of them looks alike.

Recommended Upgrades - The only 2 that I recommend ASAP upon purchasing your marker are a new Barrel and the Expansion Chamber.

The stock barrel is OK, but its very noisy and it does not have a vast range on it. If you play woodsball like me, you are going to want a barrel that has slightly more range to it, and if your also a sniper like me, then you want a barrell that is really quite, Barrels that i have seen that work really well are: J&J 14" Ceramic, 32* 14" Whisper, Custom Products 14" Classic One Piece. The flatline barrel has a longer range, but its noisy as hell, so i don't recommend it for sniping, unless you want to be heard a mile away.

Expansion Chamber - I recommend this because i live in Nebraska, and during the fall/winter the temp gets really low around here, and if you are using CO2 that means that you are going to be shooting vast amounts of liquid CO2 unless you get the expansion chamber. Also i've found that getting the expansion chamber increases your accuracy on a shot to shot ratio


Conclusion: Get this marker, when you buy it go play with it a few times stock and get a feel for how you play with it, then base your upgrades on how you play.

10 out of 10 there's just no comparing any other marker to one that can be customized in so many ways that is this reliable and durable
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, July 14th, 2004 at 7:33 am PST
 

Review Comments
weeji Wednesday, January 21st, 2004 | 3:22 pm PST
"This marker has more upgrades for it than any other marker on the market."

That would be the Autococker...
   

Menohl Thursday, January 22nd, 2004 | 4:14 am PST
quote:
Originally posted by weeji
"This marker has more upgrades for it than any other marker on the market."

That would be the Autococker...


OK, i'm going to assume that you are basing that fact because if you click on marker specific accessories for autococker, you get 5 pages of items, but if you click on the model 98 you only get 2.

Since you shoot a Spyder you may not be aware but the Model 98 Custom is a specific marker made by Tippmann. Autocockers, are a category of markers that there are dozens of different one's made by many different companies!!!

So your statement makes no sense because you are comparing one specific marker to an entire category of markers. For your statement to make sense you should have said, Autocockers have more upgrades than Blow Backs... (which is also not true but at least you are comparing a category to a category)

So if you would like to try to attempt to make your point again, pick one specific Autococker that you think has more upgrade options than an Custom 98 and then i'll listen.
Last edited on Thursday, January 22nd, 2004 at 4:17 pm PST
   

Hazard Man Friday, January 30th, 2004 | 6:57 pm PST
exactly, which is impossible to do
   

pimpdragon75 Saturday, January 31st, 2004 | 9:31 am PST
quote:
Originally posted by Hazard Man
exactly, which is impossible to do


Worr games cockers have more upgrades than tippmanns
   

Hazard Man Tuesday, February 3rd, 2004 | 12:13 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by pimpdragon75


Worr games cockers have more upgrades than tippmanns



Nope, not by the same company
   

pimpdragon75 Saturday, February 7th, 2004 | 10:08 am PST
quote:
Originally posted by Hazard Man



Nope, not by the same company


Worr games is a company and tippmann is a compnay, theres more upgrades for worr games cockers then there are for tippmanns
   

Hazard Man Friday, April 16th, 2004 | 8:14 am PST
you have no concept, oh well, u fail to see the point I make, oh well I dont care, my tippy is my back up gun, I now own a []D [] []V[] []D shocker 2k3 w/vision and vert.max flo.
   

Menohl Friday, April 16th, 2004 | 10:33 am PST
quote:
Originally posted by Hazard Man
you have no concept, oh well, u fail to see the point I make, oh well I dont care, my tippy is my back up gun, I now own a []D [] []V[] []D shocker 2k3 w/vision and vert.max flo.

Don't worry about it Hazard, PimpDragon got himself banned from the website for his crusading against tippmans
   

GX34life Tuesday, June 15th, 2004 | 12:05 am PST
Shoot cockers, and yes cockers do have more upgrades then tippmans, but they dont need em unlike the tippmans
   

pbfanatic36 Tuesday, June 15th, 2004 | 1:28 pm PST
it dont matter what upgrades u have on a gun. i could be playin with just a reg 98 c all stock and face a guy with a 98 c flatline w/ response and sstuff and still woop his butt. it just depends on how good u r NOT HOW MANY UPGRADES U HAVE ON TEH GUN GOD DANG IT
   

bradkoll09 Wednesday, June 23rd, 2004 | 1:33 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by pbfanatic36
it dont matter what upgrades u have on a gun. i could be playin with just a reg 98 c all stock and face a guy with a 98 c flatline w/ response and sstuff and still woop his butt. it just depends on how good u r NOT HOW MANY UPGRADES U HAVE ON TEH GUN GOD DANG IT
i agree with u even though some upgrades might be needed
Last edited on Wednesday, June 23rd, 2004 at 1:34 pm PST
   

TXtippmann Wednesday, September 1st, 2004 | 5:53 am PST
quote:
Originally posted by GX34life
Shoot cockers, and yes cockers do have more upgrades then tippmans, but they dont need em unlike the tippmans
If they don't need them, why are they out there? By the way, autocockers are a category while the 98 is a specific marker. I would hope they have more upgrades.
   

pbfanatic36 Friday, September 3rd, 2004 | 3:54 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by bradkoll09

i agree with u even though some upgrades might be needed


yes yes yes well wat i meant is that u do need a good barrel (kit or single) and a fast hopper (not gravity feed!!) and maybe some other essential needs like new bolt or like WAS board for impys and stuff like that. a new regulator and LPR and just some stuff like that but ups dont make the player good. it makes the gun good. not the player
   

painter99 Tuesday, January 11th, 2005 | 5:46 pm PST
What paint ball wood u use???????????
   

Phathed Monday, March 14th, 2005 | 6:52 pm PST
Anyway........nice review, I really liked it.
   

cradle_of_filth Monday, November 28th, 2005 | 4:09 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by GX34life
Shoot cockers, and yes cockers do have more upgrades then tippmans, but they dont need em unlike the tippmans

hes right in a way because cockers have more PERFORMANCE upgrades than tippmanns do.a lot of tippmann upgrades are cheasy cosmetic upgrades.the reason cockers dont need upgrades is because theyre high-end.theyre built to compete in tourneys and just be bad @ss guns.you can upgrade tippmanns to be in the same performance range as cockers which all cocker users will disagree with but its true.my tippmann is way better than my friends system x cocker by a longshot but system x isnt as good as wgp or ans but my gun is equal to a mechanical ans or wgp cocker in accuracy.range has to do with velocity so im not saying anything about range.unless i put my flatline on.ive shot out cockers and cockers have shot me out its mainly a matter of player skill (unless i have my flatline on then they never get close enough to shoot me :D . well anyways cockers are sweet and so are tippmanns.thats my opinion
   

pbman21 Wednesday, April 2nd, 2008 | 9:39 am PST
Dispute:
This gun is not field strippable. Due to many parts and it even says on tippmanns website that you should not field strip this gun under any circumstances.
   

SpecOps51 Friday, June 20th, 2008 | 7:31 pm PST
pbman21 is quite correct. Easy to Clean??? Field Strippable??? May god have mercy on your soul if you ever have to try to field strip this gun.
   

Post a Comment
Please log in to your account to post a comment.

Not a member yet? Sign up now for free!

Return to the Reviews

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media