paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Comments on loren_5000's Review / Comments on loren_5000's Review / Comments on loren_5000's Review / Comments on loren_5000's Review / Comments on loren_5000's Review

Comments on loren_5000's Review

Jump to the Comments  |  Post a Comment  |  Dispute this Review  |  Return to the Reviews

loren_5000 Friday, January 30th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month66 of 81 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
spyder victor-a little alike victor is better
Bress eagle blade 02- no compaison because r-6 can shoot
Marker Setup: 9 oz pure energy tank
x ray mask
core paintballs
Recommended
Upgrades:
expansion chamber, drop forward
Strengths: shoots straight, doent chop balls, pretty cheap
Weaknesses: doesnt have an expansion chamber or a drop forward
Review: This is a good gun it shoots straight, has an anti chop bolt ,it doesnt wastes gas. I shot 500 balls on a 9 once tank and i was shooting in the cold. This gun is very accurate i shot a 2 inch diameter tree from 20 feet away. this gun shoots very fast i shot it as fast as i could and didnt break any balls.this gun is also cheap i got it in a kit with the gun, x-ray mask, 9 ounce pure energy tank'200 round hopper barrel blug and squegy for 100 dollars
Conclusion: this is a good gun and i would recomend it to anyone
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, April 7th, 2004 at 7:28 pm PST
 

Review Comments
Ivar Nelson Saturday, February 28th, 2004 | 7:05 am PST
After reading the style of writing, the choice or words, and the grading of this gun in the first 3 (and only three) reviews; I think that threy were all written by the same person. Strickly my opinion, Has anyone else seen this "Piranha Pattern"?
   

mitchh Wednesday, November 17th, 2004 | 8:02 am PST
Makes sense...seeing as its the same gun...
Last edited on Wednesday, November 17th, 2004 at 8:02 am PST
   

spryderxtra32 Wednesday, January 19th, 2005 | 2:03 pm PST
is this gun better than a spyder xtra
   

TIPPMANN1490 Saturday, January 22nd, 2005 | 1:18 pm PST
can u buy a expansion chamber for these. If so where at?
   

KCtopshot Sunday, January 23rd, 2005 | 11:24 am PST
why would a gun under 100$ come stock with a drop forward? i've never used the xtra but it's probably very similar to it.... the xtra has the foregrip which is nice but this gun's good for being so cheap
   

FallenAngels14 Thursday, March 24th, 2005 | 10:23 am PST
all this info seem accurate but when i was shooting at a fast rate with this gun it did shoot well and didn't chop any ball but the ball kept on getting jammed so if u do get this gun i would recommend getting an electronic hopper.
   

di$TOrTed Thursday, June 30th, 2005 | 10:47 pm PST
spyderxtra32, I have tried this gun and it is not at all better than a Spyder Xtra. My friend has this gun and I have an Xtra and the xtra is way better. Oh, and in this review it says that this gun comes with an anti-chop bolt. That's gotta be a load of crap. I have not taken the bolt out of this gun but I seriously doubt that a $99 gun comes with an ACS bolt.
   

Robert_pb Thursday, July 7th, 2005 | 12:29 pm PST
my cousin has a r6, and this review is b.s... It has no acs bolt and you say its accurate when it comes with a 9 1/2 barrel. An autococker isnt even accurate with a 9 1/2 barrel. The reason you didnt chop a ball is because its almost impossible to shoot fast on this gun.
   

TimberGhost0417 Tuesday, September 13th, 2005 | 5:29 am PST
Hey there, I have an R6 and I had to use a spyder extra when I accidentally lost a part which pmi promptly sent a replacement. Well the thing I didn't like about the xtra was the trigger. It's light and shoots fast but because it's a pretty long pull, your fingers move more which results in your hand moving which makes the marker move so the shots are a bit more spread out.

As for the ant-chop bolt, although they claim they have an anti-chop bolt it's just a regular bolt. However, the way this marker is built you don't really get any chops if you put on an electro hopper. I use a ricochet 2k and one day it broke so I used it as a gravity hopper and I didn't get any chops either. But that's because I only shoot strings of 6-8 since I play woodsball.

Now, even though I still carry a squeegee on the field, I don't remember the last time I had to squeegee my barrel out of 7 full days of playing. Now that I think about it...I don't think I ever have. Wow...I never have used my squeegee on the field. Even when playing speedball and shooting 2000 paintballs in 3 hours of speedballing. I had an electro hopper of course, a ricochet 2k doing 12bps.



Definately prefer this to a spyder xtra.

You can get an expansion chamber for this but you need an adaptor. I read that expansion chambers have no real use since most people purchase an expansion chamber looking for FPS consistency. While the expansion chamber lets the co2 expand, a regulator actually regulates the pressure going into the marker per shot so that's what you want, a regulator. After reading many reviews, looking at the bob long torpedo, ANS generation 2, another ergo something,, the pmi regulator, and also the custom products regulator, I settled on a PALMERS STABILIZER which is said to be the best for co2. I get +5/-5 on my marker MAX not average, and I just barely broken the regulator in with about 3000 shots through it. +5/-5 with CO2 is awesome.
Last edited on Tuesday, September 13th, 2005 at 5:35 am PST
   

lifeballer Saturday, January 21st, 2006 | 11:30 am PST
could i put the eforce trigger on my icon bl???
   

Buttercup Wednesday, June 14th, 2006 | 6:34 am PST
quote:
Originally posted by Robert_pb
my cousin has a r6, and this review is b.s... It has no acs bolt and you say its accurate when it comes with a 9 1/2 barrel. An autococker isnt even accurate with a 9 1/2 barrel. The reason you didnt chop a ball is because its almost impossible to shoot fast on this gun.


This is a nooblet myth. Barrel length has no effect on accuracy whatsoever. The only reason for a barrel longer than 12 inches is to push further into a bunker. At 16 inches or more, you may actually be hurting efficiency. I have a short freak on my cocker and she's just as accurate as my phantom. The ONLY thing you need to worry about for accuracy is paint/bore match and paint quality.
   

AsRealAsItGets Wednesday, June 21st, 2006 | 1:46 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by Buttercup


This is a nooblet myth. Barrel length has no effect on accuracy whatsoever. The only reason for a barrel longer than 12 inches is to push further into a bunker. At 16 inches or more, you may actually be hurting efficiency. I have a short freak on my cocker and she's just as accurate as my phantom. The ONLY thing you need to worry about for accuracy is paint/bore match and paint quality.


Ive heard the same thing, and it is very true
   

PBguru4sho Friday, September 1st, 2006 | 7:06 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by spryderxtra32
is this gun better than a spyder xtra

Dude the xtra rapes the r-6!!! I have been playng pb a long time and i still belive the xtra is the best mech spyder on the market. Not that Im a spyder lover, but i'd go spyder any day over pie-ranna. (Oh and by the dark g7 fly rapes all)
   

Emorrison84 Sunday, September 17th, 2006 | 12:54 pm PST
alright guys...since you can't agree on what gun is better...listen to this...
I have a green R6 with foregrip(came on the gun), a SP 20 in tactical barrel, pure energy 48/3000, and an and a Revy.... this gun can outshoot a spyder any day...and is far more accurate than a spyder too...my gun can shoot much farther than any spyder also...My point is that if upgraded...this can be a very effective gun...so if you have any questions please reply to this....oh ya that whole thing about barrel accuarcy, if you get a good barrel like a SP tactical, you will have far better accuarcy than a stock barrel
-Emorrison84
Last edited on Sunday, June 3rd, 2007 at 7:04 pm PST
   

IllogicP8nt Sunday, January 14th, 2007 | 10:57 am PST
quote:
Originally posted by PBguru4sho


Dude the xtra rapes the r-6!!! I have been playng pb a long time and i still belive the xtra is the best mech spyder on the market. Not that Im a spyder lover, but i'd go spyder any day over pie-ranna. (Oh and by the dark g7 fly rapes all)


dude, you just went from talking about spyders and piranhas to saying an angel is the best gun.. that should be pretty obvious.. an angel is 100 times better and 100 times more expensive.. it's a high end gun and piranha and spyders.. aren't
   

KloWN 16" Thursday, February 8th, 2007 | 10:34 am PST
I have played with this gun on manny occasions and is a VERY basic gun. you pay for what you get and it isnt much. rather put in a bit extra cash and get a cheap decent marker. It chops and jams alot. Throw the stock barrel as far as you can or melt it down and throw it at your buddies :>)
   

behram92 Sunday, March 9th, 2008 | 1:11 pm PST
I am looking to eneter paintball (yes im a newb) and want to buy either a pirana r6 or a tippy 98c...........which is better plz help
Last edited on Sunday, March 9th, 2008 at 1:12 pm PST
   

im am piranha Saturday, October 18th, 2008 | 2:29 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by behram92
I am looking to eneter paintball (yes im a newb) and want to buy either a pirana r6 or a tippy 98c...........which is better plz help
really, it depends on what your going to play. a 98 would be good if youre going to be doing mostly woodsball. the piranha is more of a speedball gun. You can play speedball with a tippman but that would just be stupid
   

Post a Comment
Please log in to your account to post a comment.

Not a member yet? Sign up now for free!

Return to the Reviews

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media