paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Comments on Speed Of Pain's Review / Comments on Speed Of Pain's Review / Comments on Speed Of Pain's Review / Comments on Speed Of Pain's Review / Comments on Speed Of Pain's Review

Comments on Speed Of Pain's Review

Jump to the Comments  |  Post a Comment  |  Dispute this Review  |  Return to the Reviews

Speed Of Pain Monday, February 9th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Marker Setup: Spyder TL with "the one kit" installed. 14" j&j performance pro 1 barrel. Evolution II hopper, 12 oz co2 tank.
Strengths: extremly fast rate of fire. Looks great and performs well.
Weaknesses: Dragun fails to give you a decent installation guide, no operation guide.
Review: I first started looking at "the one kit" to upgrade my rate of fire so that I could compete with the electronic markers. It would cost a lot more to buy the parts separately (expansion chamber, regulator, drop foward, and electronic trigger frame). Some other trigger frames have the 3-6 shot burst and full auto which this trigger frame doesn't have. But after realizing that I can shoot 13bps easily with this frame on semi, there really isn't any advantage over a full auto frame. Also you can't use full auto at most paintball fields anyway. Also this converts your spyder into a fully pnumatic gun. which means there is no moving parts in the trigger frame itself except for the trigger button and a valve that lets air to the rear of your gun when you fire to push the bolt foward. The default spyder has a spring that does this. Whats the point of making it pnumatic, well you can get crazy cycle speeds. The angel and intimadator guns use this cocking system. When I first installed the kit the front screw leaked a bit, which was easily fixed with some teflon tape. It took me awhile to get my gun to fire because the kit didnt come with operation instructions. So I pretty much had to mess around with all of the adjustments on the regulator - expansion chamber to get the right air flow to all of the parts. after figuring out that the allen bold on the end of the regulator determined how much air flowed to the valve that the trigger actuates I was in business. Also the allen bolt on the expansion chamber determines how much air enters the gun. One thing I didnt like about the kit was that the trigger frame is plastic, It looks metal in the pictures. Installing the kit was kind of a hastle. Im not sure about other spyders but I had to file off some of the aluminum right above where the regulator goes in the gun. the regulator was to tall and was hitting part of the gun making it unable to go into the hole. I took a rasp and filed off just a hair. Was an easy fix, I just thought it was strange considering the gun that "the one kit" is from is a spyder copy.
Conclusion: Nice system. Turns your spyder into a threat against those high dollar guns. If you have a spyder and are looking to upgrade to a electronic gun put one of these on it.
Rating:
9 out of 10
 

Review Comments
Batman572 Monday, February 16th, 2004 | 5:28 pm PST
um ya i was wonderin if the ones trigger does 30bps on full auto?
   

cockershtrx Monday, February 23rd, 2004 | 5:35 pm PST
from what i've heard even if you put "the one" kit on a dragun, or any spyder clone you will have to do a little filing. you think that dragun would fix this because you even have to do it to there guns
   

Ivar Nelson Tuesday, February 24th, 2004 | 8:56 am PST
"from what i've heard even if you put "the one" kit on a dragun, or any spyder clone you will have to do a little filing. you think that dragun would fix this because you even have to do it to there (sic) guns"
After you do it feel free to report your experience. This is not supposed to be a "rumor mill", it is meant to be a real review forum!. The only filing I know of is putting away the instruction book in a file cabinet. They do need a new manual writer..........
Last edited on Tuesday, February 24th, 2004 at 8:57 am PST
   

wakejumper731 Thursday, March 4th, 2004 | 9:22 am PST
you don't need to do filing on draguns, i put one on my TES, and no it does not do full auto.
Last edited on Thursday, March 4th, 2004 at 9:23 am PST
   

ngroat7007 Thursday, April 15th, 2004 | 7:58 pm PST
it can do full auto if you take off the lcd screen and attach a wire to a couple of pins under it i believe 1 and 3 they are set up like
1 2 3 4 5 6
789 10 11 12
just connect those two and you take off the tournament lock and you have everything you will need
   

wakejumper731 Sunday, April 18th, 2004 | 11:31 am PST
how do u take off the tourney lock?
   

ngroat7007 Monday, April 19th, 2004 | 6:35 pm PST
to take off the lcd screen there shoul b three screws take them out then crefull pull up on the lcd screen it may take some force but nothing will happen unless you pull it to the side once its off you will notice 2 rows of 5 pins(not 6 as i said above i just looked at it) and spots where the pins go in take a piece of wire and connect pins 1 and three on the top row with a single piece of wire. Once you have done this put your screen back on and you can cycle through the settings

connect
I-----I
1 2 3 4 5
1`2`3`4`5` oh and make sure you take the battery out you could get a nice shock
you will also have to put the excess wire along the top sie of the pins or when you put the screen back on the screen just wont be able to fit, pinch the wire or toutch other pins and mess the modes up as long as ou have the wire in

****do not break off pins****
   

wakejumper731 Tuesday, April 20th, 2004 | 4:46 pm PST
ok thanks alot man i appriciate it
   

ngroat7007 Tuesday, April 20th, 2004 | 6:12 pm PST
oh no problem let me know how it goes 4 u
   

wakejumper731 Thursday, April 22nd, 2004 | 6:22 pm PST
worked out great thanks agian
   

ngroat7007 Friday, April 23rd, 2004 | 6:51 pm PST
nice no problem
   

Tayla Thursday, June 10th, 2004 | 11:44 am PST
i am so lost...
   

spokane Monday, August 2nd, 2004 | 9:59 pm PST
hey i am thinking about getting this but i want to know if it comes in semi stock. i dont want fullauto. or if it does full auto does it have a tourny lock to tack it off. i hate full auto.
   

ngroat7007 Friday, August 6th, 2004 | 2:59 pm PST
yes it comes in simi aout only unless you take off the tournament lock its one of the best things you can buy go for it
   

spokane Friday, August 6th, 2004 | 3:12 pm PST
hey i was also wondering if it came with eyes
   

ngroat7007 Tuesday, August 17th, 2004 | 7:14 pm PST
nope dosent but you can get them for it no need tho realy if you havew a halo or just set it to how fast your loader can feed
   

pbdude519 Saturday, September 4th, 2004 | 5:10 pm PST
if you get eyes what kind do you use breakbeam or bouncebeam
   

nayrLS6 Monday, March 14th, 2005 | 5:30 pm PST
def. breakbbeam. I would suggest buying a T1 T-board for it at scenariodreams.com. Really nice board and it comes with some great breakbeams. U just gotta get someone who knows how to install them cuz u gotta drill the reciever but woth it in the end.
   

Post a Comment
Please log in to your account to post a comment.

Not a member yet? Sign up now for free!

Return to the Reviews

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media