paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Comments on bko999's Review / Comments on bko999's Review / Comments on bko999's Review / Comments on bko999's Review / Comments on bko999's Review

Comments on bko999's Review

Jump to the Comments  |  Post a Comment  |  Dispute this Review  |  Return to the Reviews

bko999 Thursday, February 19th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 years36 of 61 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
just about tested or played with every gun
Marker Setup: 2002 black Bushmaster BKO
Macdev 2004 Gladiator reg.
Zenitram 45 magnetic trigger frame
88 4500 Center Flag
Vapor Choas chip ---20+bps baby!
Dye sticky 3's
System x cradle
HALO B w/z code
St!ffi 14"
Shocktech04' bolt
AKALMP Tornado valve
AKALMP BKO mightey max volumizer
Dye mini gauges
Zenitram asa front block
Palmer Micro-rock lpr regulator
j&j Edge barrel kit
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel---motorized hopper, you will chop like theres no tommarrow otherwise---
bko mighty max, high flowing valve
Strengths: Amazing speed
ACCURACY
durability---great for the hardcore woodsball plyr
quietness
Weaknesses: gun needs improvent to meet high standards
Review: Well I know I am posting a review on a 2002 bko in a 2004 bko forum, but the only reason I am doing this is simply because no one will read this in the 2002 bko old forum. Besides, the 02' and 04' bko are exactly the same, except for the stock reg, board/chip, and trigger frame. The internals of both are identical and work the same. I have also used a 04' bko ne wayz....

Gun--Well out of the box it comes with a 11 inch barrel and it is kinda crappy as far as accuracy goes (but you can expect that from almost all gun manufacturers). The entire gun alone weighs 2.2 pounds, so it is feather light. The stock bolt is delrin, very important under high R.O.F., a metal one will chew up and scar ur inside of the gun. You can quick strip the bolt with the pull pin, very cool. By doing this you can actually squggie the entire gun from the barrel tip and through the back of the gun. The new board/chip on the 04' is set to 18bps so u wont need a new chip, this thing already can rip. You can either fan the trigger or walk it (either way ur gunna send strings of paint at the opponent :-D ). The 02' was slow @ 10bps; thats why I got the choas chip. The milling on all stock bkos on any model is simple, unless u get it custom orderd/milled. You use the lpr for velocity adjustments and the Hpr reg for imput pressure and also to adjust the "volume" of air used to shoot the paintball. With the tornado valve and mighty max volumizer, i get over 2,500 out of my 88 4500 with just the right lpr / hpr adjustin!!

Performance---WOW! This gun may not look like much, but it is ACCURATE. With the right paint to barrel match, and a good barrel (dye, st!ffi, j&j, some 32 degress), you will be putting paintballs right on top of one another form up to 50-55yrds, no joking. The gun setup I have from the volumizer, valve, and hpr, get me +/-1over the crono. People I play with either want me on there team, or want to out number me if i am on the opposing team (striking FEAR ;-D )... The gun is super guiet, I send paintballs whizn' over peoples heads on purpose to mess with them, and then shoot them. Its helarious to watch them get panicky when they cant tell where its comin from in woodsball. Not to mention I play with some pretty expierenced guys with 1000+$$ guns. I have had many cases where I put 10,000+balls through my gun from a heavy day of woodsball playin, and when I check my gun @ the end of the day it is still +/-1over the crono, jst the way I left it....
After I installed my chipp its clear to me that you cant use the gun to its full potential w/o an egg2 or a HALO B, so plan on envesting into it............ I prefer speed ball, hyper ball, when u run around fast in a wharehouse w/bunkers, whatever the hell u wanna call it :-). This gun seems at home here. Its funny to see people wanna hold, fire, and look at my gun when a the guy witha 1000$ autocoker is standing right next to me. With the accuracy u can muster out of this gun, you can send paint where ever u want, at a foot, through a small hole, at a hopper, (preferably someones head ;-D) wherever.

BOTTOMLINE--- Get this gun, with the right upgrades, proper adjustments, and some one whoes not a retard working it, it can become awsome. I would take this gun (one thats got the proper uprades/adjustin) over an angel any day
Nice Job Indian Creek Designs

ANYone who owns a bushmaster needs to go to tantrumpaintball.com. They have replacment parts, upgrades, and a very knowledgeable staff. Need a solenoid cause' ur dumb and blew it out by using Co2? Dont call ICD, get it at tantrumpaintball!!!
Conclusion: ----GET IT----cheap @ 279 if u shop online, if u have questions/comments just post a comment
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, March 21st, 2004 at 2:49 pm PST
 

Review Comments
                            
Pages (7):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
recplayer2k1 Tuesday, February 24th, 2004 | 9:10 pm PST
hey I am kinda noob to the true electro guns. I have a jt and Ive only used spyders and that crap. but I am getting A bko in a couple weeks and was wonderin if I use HPA wich of course ur going to have to can u get stable shots from the stock reg and will it allow a wide range of velocity adjustment couse I dont wanna spend the money if I dont have too
   

maddskillzz5 Wednesday, February 25th, 2004 | 7:52 pm PST
do u no any websites i where they sell the 04 for 279?
   

bko999 Thursday, February 26th, 2004 | 1:49 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by recplayer2k1
hey I am kinda noob to the true electro guns. I have a jt and Ive only used spyders and that crap. but I am getting A bko in a couple weeks and was wonderin if I use HPA wich of course ur going to have to can u get stable shots from the stock reg and will it allow a wide range of velocity adjustment couse I dont wanna spend the money if I dont have too

Well yes it is good idea to use air instead off co2 on any gun, alough it is possible to use co2 on bkos (the company does not recomend it). As far as stable shots go with the stock reg, they will be fine but not of course on par with very high end guns. Aftermarket regulators will do the bko very good, but if u have just bought the bko and are broke w/o $$ the stock reg will do its job just fine

When u talked about the "wide range" of velocity adjustments, u can adjust the speed of the ball from barely rolling out of the barrel to way over 300fps. if u decide to buy the bko the instruction manual will help too.
Last edited on Wednesday, March 10th, 2004 at 7:26 am PST
   

freako Monday, March 8th, 2004 | 7:02 pm PST
hey i got a 04 bko last week and somehow it's choping like crazy i have eggy 2 so maybe i out shot the thing i also have the stock reg and have trouble getting the chrono right. i got dye s.s boomstick for a barrel and if it's dry man this thing owns. i hit a guy through a 2in hole in his bunker about 75 ft out.

now my question is is this thing can be fitted with pds?
or halo b is a better deal than pds?
   

intruder_89 Tuesday, March 9th, 2004 | 11:08 am PST
u didn't outshoot ur egg, pros cant outshoot them with a4's. and if for some reason u can just buy a z board for it and it will be very close to the speed of a halo b without the force feed which can be good or bad.
   

bko999 Tuesday, March 9th, 2004 | 12:53 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by freako
hey i got a 04 bko last week and somehow it's choping like crazy i have eggy 2 so maybe i out shot the thing i also have the stock reg and have trouble getting the chrono right. i got dye s.s boomstick for a barrel and if it's dry man this thing owns. i hit a guy through a 2in hole in his bunker about 75 ft out.

now my question is is this thing can be fitted with pds?
or halo b is a better deal than pds?


I would probably avoid gettin the pds installment. Although it would work great, it would cost so much money between buying the eye kit and having properly installed that you should just buy a b2k4.

As far as fixing your chopping problems goes, the problem is probably a 75% chance that you do not have the correct paint to barrel match. To check if it is correct, put a ball into the back of your barrel (do this with you barrel level), and blow it out. If it shoots out without much force, then the match is perfect. The biggest problem is having a ball too big that will be forced to conform to the inside of the barrel, resulting usually in a chop.

A halo b w / z code is a good idea. Although the egg can feed as fast, it is not a true force need loader. It does not keep constant pressure on the ball stack. If you are trying to shoot 18bps off the start, then chances are your balls will get piched in the bolt and
chop : -(
Last edited on Thursday, March 18th, 2004 at 12:31 pm PST
   

freako Wednesday, March 10th, 2004 | 4:47 pm PST
thanks alot.
actually the paint to barrel match is off the ball is way smaller than the barrel, i use draxxus blaze on a boomstick i think it comes .689 bore
   

bko999 Thursday, March 18th, 2004 | 12:47 pm PST
By the way for all of you BKO users out there that want an eye, the intsalation price is 165$ with every thing. You send your gun to ICD co., and they will do a great job. Of course a Halo B is substantially cheaper @ around 120, and there shoudn't be double feeding problems with the BKO's o-ring detent.
   

eat evil paint Friday, March 19th, 2004 | 9:50 pm PST
good review
   

freako Saturday, March 20th, 2004 | 1:29 pm PST
cool i just learned that my problem was spikes because of the trigger i adjusted it too light on the spring and will fire with a very small vibration, plus my eggy is old and getting slow (17bps) so i'm gonna get a halo b with rip drive instead of pds i think .im in canada and sending it to icd is not practical for me, sincwe double feeding is not a concern on the oring detent then halo b it is.
   

penguins_r_kewl Sunday, March 21st, 2004 | 12:17 pm PST
So you've used this product for three years when it came out like 1/4 a year ago?
Last edited on Sunday, March 21st, 2004 at 12:17 pm PST
   

bko999 Sunday, March 21st, 2004 | 12:22 pm PST
If you've read my review I specifically stated that I was posting a review for the 2002 BKO in a 2004 forum. I have used the 2002 BKO for three years which I purchased in december of 2001, and also my friend owns a 2004 BKO. I know both guns inside and out.
Last edited on Sunday, March 21st, 2004 at 12:58 pm PST
   

Paintballkiddd Sunday, March 21st, 2004 | 8:50 pm PST
hi wich is better this or the tipman a-5 response triger. Asking because they are about same price
   

bko999 Monday, March 22nd, 2004 | 7:47 am PST
Ok well I would definatly go with the BKO. I am not saying this just because I own one, but also because I have reasons why too. First off, the bko is way lighter, and has a rate of fire capable to 20bps, although the chip of 04's is limited to 18. The a5's cyclone feed system feeds up 15bps, and with the reactive trigger, that shouldnt be to hard to hit. Although this is true, using the a5 for hardcore speedball is not a good idea. Doin 15bps all day will eventually take its toll on this sear tripper gun, and something is going to give/break. Having that boxy hopper on the side isnt goin to help either, when you are in a bunker or behined a tree tryin to shoot down the opponent. My friend's cousin plays alot with us, he gets hopper hits all of the time. Also after using the a5, u'll notice its loud to. Dunno if u care about that, just my opinion ( u can change that if u toss the stock barrel). The a5 isnt a low pressure out of the gun out of the box. With the 04' BKO, it uses somthin called a solenoid to transfer air to the ram, push it foreward, and hit the valve stem making the gun fire. This means it uses electronuematics, but dont get confused, go to icdownersgroup.com > technical > In peices BKO, and there u will be able to see the inerworkings of this gun.
Both guns can be fine tuned to shoot pretty good, but the bko will have better acuracy in long range do to its lower operating pressure. By the way both guns shoot the same distance, that is, ALL guns will shoot the same distance at the same velocity, I am not talking to the 1/16 of an inch, but u get my point. I dont care wether u have a closed bolt gun or an open bolt gun, at the same vel., u will get the same dist.
Ne ways, I was also gunna say the paint jobs between the two are diff. I dunno what method the a5 uses, but the paint seems to either "melt" or just chip off. The bko is anodized, and paint will not come off unless it is grinded off. Both guns are durable, but the de-jam system for the a5 uses a pole like thing u push forward to make the cyclone system to move. I could see the potential for this thing to snap right off in a dive.
Last edited on Monday, March 22nd, 2004 at 3:39 pm PST
   

Paintballkiddd Monday, March 22nd, 2004 | 2:40 pm PST
yah thanks i didnt mean to post it twice. Also my current set up is a spyder electra, freak jr barrel bandit bolt, revoultion 2 w/x board and sweet spot trigger. Would the 04 bko be better stock or would i have to get some new parts. If yes can the revoultion handle the 04 bko or woild i need to get the evoultion.
Last edited on Monday, March 22nd, 2004 at 2:52 pm PST
   

bko999 Monday, March 22nd, 2004 | 4:17 pm PST
Well there are a couple of things to consider here. 1 deciding wether to buy the bko, and 2, comparing all three guns, your spyder setup, the a5, or the bko. I would say the setup you have right now is better than the a5 w/response trigger. If you are looking for a better performing pb gun than I think you shoud get a bko.
But first of all, there is something important you need to consider before goin out and spending several hundred bux on a new shiny bko. This gun for the tinkerer. Out of the box it will shoot good, but to get it to shoot great you will need to do some adjustments. This is were alot of people get turned off. Many higher end guns like the bko, 04 shocker, anglel4, impulses, auto mags, and guns of the like wont actually shoot "awesome" out of the box. There is usually pressures to change, and a break in time before you will begin to get good results. Markers like the spyder and tippmann are just about as good as they will get out of the box UNLESS u put on after-market parts like you have. Think about it, the only think u tinker with on the spyder is its velocity screw in the back.

The bko has two regulators, a hpr (high pressure reg.) and an lpr (low pressure reg).
Okay, here comes the fun part....... The hpr is a regular reg (i hope u know what one is)that can be bought just about ne were, and there is one stock on the bko. It controls the imput pressure, which is fed into the gun and then to the main valve (not to be confused w/solenoid, it IS a DIFF valve). The lpr is used to regulate the solenoid valve. +/- the lpr pressure will determine how hard the ram hits the valve stem (the harder the ram pushes the valve stem forward, the more air will be released behined the ball). The lpr pressure will + or - the velocity, since in controls air release behinde the pb. The imput pressure I told u about before IS THE AIR that is released when the ram hits the valve stem. If you have a high imput pressure, more air with a higher psi will be released behined the ball, and vice versa. See?, now we have an idea about how the bko works ^_^. Since both the hpr and the lpr will have diff. affects on the bko's velocity, u can see that u can use diff combinations of adjustment to get diff velocities. HOWEVER, the bko is set to the correct velocity out of the box so there is no need to get worried about all of this. Adjusting these components is for after u have played several games with the gun and want to make changes. If u seriously jack up ur gun and its shoots two feet, DONT WORRY!, the manual that comes with the gun will tell how to fix this.

Now you can see what i am talking about, the bko is not for the retard. Finally the question, is the stock bko better than your setup. Well yes it will be in every catagoery ACCEPT in consisteny. The hpr reg that comes with this gun sucks, all of my friends including myself have tossed the stock reg in the first 2 months of owning one. The main prob. is FSDO (first shot drop off). This can befixed with an aftermarket one.

Other than that, this is basically all you need to know right now. If you get a bko, i can help u out if u need it. About the hopper thing u talked about, a revy will not be good enough. the bko does 18bps, i would get a halo b w/z code. there 105 @ topgeek.com
U can use a egg2 with this gun but dont plan do be fanning the trigger. the gun doesnt have an eye and u will chop. when i got the halo b this prob was fixed.
   

Paintballkiddd Monday, March 22nd, 2004 | 4:49 pm PST
Thank you alot. I have one last question. Their is one problem i am 12 and i cant afford to get the halo and the regulator right after i get the gun. which won would you recommend to get first.
Thanks
   

bko999 Tuesday, March 23rd, 2004 | 1:41 pm PST
In that case, I would get the regulator first. Not only will it cost about half as much as the halo, but it will be more important too. Your revy wont be able to keep up under high ROF, BUT, if u take if easy around 12 to 14 bps, you should be in great shape.

One of the kids I play with owns a shocker, wich as well can do prbly 20bps. He uses a revy sometimes, and usually doesnt chop. He does four shot bursts instead of 10 shot strings. By the way, it would be better to be doing 12 bps and shootin' arrows with a new reg instead of 18 bps with a halo and having them be unaccurate / drop short wouldnt it?

One more thing, check out tantrumpaintball to see what regs they have. If you are getting the 04' bko (which u should), it will accept ANY reg. Pre 04's only accepted very skiny hpr's because the LPR was very close to the asa threads for the hpr, there was binding issuses.
Last edited on Wednesday, March 24th, 2004 at 5:57 am PST
   

Matt OD Monday, March 29th, 2004 | 12:12 pm PST
I probably sound like an idiot but what do you need to run this gun? for example:bottom line.
   

bko999 Monday, March 29th, 2004 | 2:57 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by Matt OD
I probably sound like an idiot but what do you need to run this gun? for example:bottom line.

The bko's dont come out of the box with an asa adapter for a tank. So basically you will want a drop/cradle based on your likings. Other than that, the reg. already comes with a macroline fiting, so all you need besides the drop/cradle is some maroline and another fitting to connect to the asa adapter.
   
                            
Pages (7):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page

Post a Comment
Please log in to your account to post a comment.

Not a member yet? Sign up now for free!

Return to the Reviews

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media