paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Comments on comando345's Review / Comments on comando345's Review / Comments on comando345's Review / Comments on comando345's Review

Comments on comando345's Review

Jump to the Comments  |  Post a Comment  |  Dispute this Review  |  Return to the Reviews

comando345 Tuesday, March 9th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months34 of 42 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
smart parts all american(a 2 peice barrel) j&j ceramic barrel. some stock barrels.
Marker Setup: defiant(bushmaster 2000) with an apocalypse 68ci 4500psi tank. J&J edge barrel set, evolution 2 loader, and a palmer stabalizer regulator.
Recommended
Paintballs:
any will work. marbilizer is fantastic provided you have a low pressure gun, might want to consider blaze if you have a gun that chops alot. *cough* automag *cough*
Strengths: excellent manufacturing quality, bore matching, fair price
Weaknesses: none encountered yet. it does not chop.
Review: The most striking feature of this barrel set is the high quality. the fronts and backs screw together perfectly. absolutely no chops between the front and back, a constant issue with smart parts products. the anodizing is of high quality and there has been no chipping. The bore is marked on the side of the backs making for easy selection of the appropriate back. The barrel has a smooth internal surface and works as well as any other barrel in that sense.
Conclusion: this is a high quality product for a very fair price. don't buy a freak kit, sp barrels chop where they screw together. not to mention they cost about twice as much as the J&J kit for inferior quality. just my 2 cents.
Rating:
10 out of 10
 

Review Comments
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
DeltaSniper179 Saturday, April 10th, 2004 | 6:57 pm PST
well a barrel cannot chop but only break
   

comando345 Saturday, April 10th, 2004 | 7:45 pm PST
same difference, chop or break means the same thing. no point in gettin all technical on the semantics. if you know what im saying theres no point in attempting to correct me.
   

sonnemann Sunday, April 11th, 2004 | 4:18 pm PST
Automags do not chop a lot. Coomon myth, but myth just the same. Level 10, anyone?
   

comando345 Sunday, April 11th, 2004 | 7:56 pm PST
i shot a mag several times, my bro owns it and several people at my feild use them. they do chop although they work well sometimes usually they chop like crazy. the level 10 either completely solves it or makes it worse if not properly tuned.
   

sonnemann Monday, April 12th, 2004 | 12:12 pm PST
...So then properly tune it, and you'll be fine. Tom Kaye sticks his tongue in the breech and fires (without injury) to demonstrate the effectiveness of LvlX. Most every other gun, except uber-LP guns costing thousands, would cut your tongue right off.
   

comando345 Monday, April 12th, 2004 | 3:30 pm PST
look its obvious you are a mag guy, but can you honestly tell me you never have chopping issues? i know lots of mag users, at least half a dozen, most of whom have the level 10 yet still ocasionally have chop issues. dont get me wrong, the automag is a decent performer, but it works much better with a firmer shelled paint like blaze which was my original point in all of this.
   

sonnemann Monday, April 12th, 2004 | 5:19 pm PST
Alright, I agree that if you're not experienced with a Mag, you might chop every so often (but only because of short-stroking...)


; )
   

comando345 Monday, April 12th, 2004 | 9:55 pm PST
at this point i consider that a victory
   

nabraham Tuesday, April 13th, 2004 | 6:33 am PST
my mag with a level 7 bolt very rarely chops. It chops less than all of the spyders I have.
   

comando345 Tuesday, April 13th, 2004 | 10:45 am PST
where are you guys? ive never seen anybody, including players who have owned mags for years and years, and all of them have chopping issues to some extent or another. they are pretty nice guns still, all you really need to do is have a fast hopper, trained hand and really good squegie.
   

ikey Friday, July 30th, 2004 | 4:04 pm PST
first off, even if u do short stroke, the level 10 should still not chop. second off, if it is tuned properly, it CANNOT break paint. my freind has an x-mag. at first i was not impressed cause it was not tuned rite. he didnt break paint but when i put my finger in the breech it kinda hurt. now he got it tuned and theres no way it can break. when i fired the gun, the bolt felt less than somebody flicking your finger. (for those of u who have superman fingers and can flick a sinderblock across the room, image holding a pencil about 2-3 feet abouve your finger, drop the pencil, yeah it feels as light as that. now i have played with him when the level 10 became out of tune, mabe an unlubed 0-ring. i dunno. i dun play with him much. but my point its that mags with a properly tuned level 10 cannot chop under any circomstances.
   

koolcocker25 Thursday, August 12th, 2004 | 10:28 pm PST
Mags dont chop much at all. My friend had a lvlx mag and he had no chops for the 4 months he used it.
   

GT2K Thursday, December 2nd, 2004 | 9:41 pm PST
Man I thought this review was about the J&J barrel system. All guns will chop at one time or another. A Mag is no better or worse than any other comparable gun. If I had a Mag that chopped like a Ginsu I would trade it for something else.
   

korn200492 Monday, February 21st, 2005 | 4:38 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by sonnemann
...So then properly tune it, and you'll be fine. Tom Kaye sticks his tongue in the breech and fires (without injury) to demonstrate the effectiveness of LvlX. Most every other gun, except uber-LP guns costing thousands, would cut your tongue right off.

my imagine with Acs bolt wont hurt ur tounge at all.
   

DustinSobolik Monday, March 28th, 2005 | 8:46 am PST
I've had a buddy with an Automag for two years and he hasn't chopped one single ball, ever, most reliable gun he owns
Last edited on Monday, March 28th, 2005 at 8:47 am PST
   

comando345 Friday, April 1st, 2005 | 6:24 pm PST
He probably has a level 10
   

lostazncause Tuesday, June 28th, 2005 | 4:04 pm PST
wow, the acs comment was just funny. ^_^ My brother has same setup, and I am definately not sticking any part of myself in his spyder's breach.
   

BTRobertson Tuesday, November 29th, 2005 | 4:14 am PST
I have to disagree with the comment about Smart Parts barrels having a "constant problem" of chopping between the front and rear parts. That's just wrong. I have a Freak Jr. 4" rear with the .689 bore insert and a 12" All American front, and I've not chopped one single ball inside whatsoever. All of these barrels with bore inserts and/or interchangeable rears for bore sizing will chop if you pick the wrong bore rear/insert to use with specific sized paintballs - even JJ. The point is to pick the right insert or bore rear with your paintballs to minimize or eliminate the chops, but to say that Smart Parts barrel systems have constant issues with chops is inaccurate, and probably means you're using the wrong insert with whatever paintball you're using.
   

comando345 Thursday, December 1st, 2005 | 7:43 pm PST
Actually my experience was with the stock All American on an old school shocker I owned. I tried multiple brands and sizes of paint, that simply wasn't the problem. The problem was that it was improperly machined from the factory. In addition the edge has no inserts, only fronts and backs.
   

Kazukiwolf Sunday, January 22nd, 2006 | 6:47 pm PST
is the J&J edge quiet?
Last edited on Sunday, January 22nd, 2006 at 6:47 pm PST
   
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page

Post a Comment
Please log in to your account to post a comment.

Not a member yet? Sign up now for free!

Return to the Reviews

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media