paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Comments on mike.higgins' Review / Comments on mike.higgins' Review / Comments on mike.higgins' Review / Comments on mike.higgins' Review

Comments on mike.higgins' Review

Jump to the Comments  |  Post a Comment  |  Dispute this Review  |  Return to the Reviews

mike.higgins Sunday, March 14th, 2004
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion below.
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month4 of 23 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
JT Proteus 2
Marker Setup: 2004 Vertical Autococker
Strengths: Looks good
Weaknesses: Extremely poor ventilation - lots of fog
Review: I recently purchased the Dye Invision goggle along with the Dye Dyetanium Mirror lens and the Dye 2004 turbine fan. I was purchasing this combination for myself with the intention of giving my JT Proteus 2 to my son. I have used this combination 3 times in 30-40 degree temparatures with extremely poor results (lots and lots of fog). I have since taken back my JT Proteus 2 and given the Dye gear to my son. In my opinion here are the problems with the design:

1). There is just not enough ventilation in the Dye Invision Goggle. When I compare it to my JT Proteus 2 notice that there is NO ventilation beneath the lens and there is no ventilation around the nose. When using the Dye invision I actually felt like I was hyperventilating. I couldnt breath with this mask.

2). When you add the Turbine Fan to the top of the Dye it blocks ALL of the ventilation holes which is really bad. The Turbine Fan is so loud you cant play with it. Even with the fan removed it still fogs up terribly.

If I could send this goggle and lens and fan back I would. With all three components I spent over $150...which in my opinion was a total waste.
Conclusion: Dont let the good looks of this goggle fool you. The poor ventilation will cause lots of fog resulting in lots of frustration. Buy a JT Proteus II and you will save money and be able to see what you are shooting at.
Rating:
1 out of 10
 

Review Comments
paintballfool27 Tuesday, March 23rd, 2004 | 2:16 pm PST
The only reason that you dont like the Invision is probably cause you dont clean it properly or maintain it properly, etc. This mask is really good, its from dye.
   

lobsterboy360 Wednesday, March 24th, 2004 | 12:02 pm PST
wow yopu are one cheap dad... your stuff doesn't work so you give it to your kid. wow....
   

Paintballgrrl Sunday, May 16th, 2004 | 8:34 pm PST
gotta agree with Lobsterboy. if the mask really fogs up that badly during gameplay why would you tempt the fates by giving it to your son?
   

PB4841LVR Friday, June 4th, 2004 | 9:53 am PST
The turbine fan is meant for speedball, no one cares about noise in speedball
   

BIGcocker69 Sunday, June 20th, 2004 | 10:40 pm PST
alright dude, the thermal lense protects the goggles from fogging. u probably didnt clean it correctly and rubbed off the coating. the ventilation in this mask is great. and im not sayin this to be mean, but who the heck would put a fan in a paintball mask? and i have a revolutionary idea. if the fan is such a pain, take it out! this is a review bout a mask not a fan!
   

Moose0nTheLoose Monday, July 5th, 2004 | 8:32 pm PST
What kinda father are u? wen u dont lik sumthing dont give it to ur son so he can feel the pain. keep it and give him the better one. also if u dont like the fan take it out. oh and one word CLEAN!
   

98crt Thursday, July 29th, 2004 | 5:56 pm PST
Dude got to agree, anything that doesn't go the way you want it you bash it or give to your son and then bash it. Well my invision works great yez it fogz a little but i dont give it away like its nutin so how bout going back to Jt and leave you son a kik azz mask


Invisions are the schiznit byotch
   

98crt Thursday, July 29th, 2004 | 6:02 pm PST
Dude got to agree, anything that doesn't go the way you want it you bash it or give to your son and then bash it. Well my invision works great yez it fogz a little but i dont give it away like its nutin so how bout going back to Jt and leave you son a kik azz mask


Invisions are the schiznit byotch
   

Coco Savage Tuesday, October 19th, 2004 | 7:11 am PST
Got some Dye Invision hardcore people in here. Everyone has their own specific tastes in masks. So bashing someone cause they dont like the mask is well pointless, he gave his specific reasons, and didnt just say the mask sucks. If he likes the JT he likes the JT.

But i will agree, the mask not performing to your liking cause it fogs and not vented well? Wouldnt that post a danger to your son? Thats just sorta silly. If the mask is a waste, then get rid of it...not pass it off to someone else..LOL. With all these hardcore dye mask people in here.. im sure they will buy from you in a flash!
   

master935 Thursday, October 28th, 2004 | 4:02 pm PST
its just old guys there was like a 70 y/o guy at the field i play at and his mask foged like crazy
   

dilly man 2 Friday, November 12th, 2004 | 7:40 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by paintballfool27
The only reason that you dont like the Invision is probably cause you dont clean it properly or maintain it properly, etc. This mask is really good, its from dye.

OH my it's from DYE an over prices corperation that shall burn to the ground...
i agree with mike higgs on this one and i completly disagree with the paintballfool27.
Well as we know if it's a new company and all their SHlTS expensive as hell its gota be good right? consider if brass eagle made the invision and Dye didn't ok...
would brass eagle sell it for 90 bucks?.. i highly dought it. no one would by it its too expensive!!... but then lets say DYE copies brass eagle's invision and sells it for 100$ people would buy it. WHY because Dye made it it's gota be good when it was probely made at 27$... well i hope you see my point.



WAL-MART is an evil corperation
   

flipsk8xx21 Monday, December 20th, 2004 | 12:43 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by dilly man 2


OH my it's from DYE an over prices corperation that shall burn to the ground...
i agree with mike higgs on this one and i completly disagree with the paintballfool27.
Well as we know if it's a new company and all their SHlTS expensive as hell its gota be good right? consider if brass eagle made the invision and Dye didn't ok...
would brass eagle sell it for 90 bucks?.. i highly dought it. no one would by it its too expensive!!... but then lets say DYE copies brass eagle's invision and sells it for 100$ people would buy it. WHY because Dye made it it's gota be good when it was probely made at 27$... well i hope you see my point.



WAL-MART is an evil corperation


thats true, i mean the invision is good but people think dyes the best but its not realy its good but not the best.
   

OWNAGE17 Monday, January 17th, 2005 | 3:12 pm PST
your stupid dye invision owns everything.. i have an invision for a year and a half and it works fine. dye might be expensive but you get what you pay for.. and they give you great reliable stuff.....
   

CockerFanatic Monday, January 31st, 2005 | 10:14 pm PST
I enjoyed the comment on not being able to breathe properly with the Invision. Yes I have found that it does tend to make breathing through the nose a little more difficult but if your standing about then it makes no matter. However I had always thought that when your in the thick of things one would breathe through the mouth anyway so what does it matter?
   

A.L.F.paintball Saturday, March 19th, 2005 | 9:55 pm PST
Are you retarded playing in 30 -40 degree weather will make any mask fog up! Its called condensation! that's were the vapor from your breath freezes over.
Last edited on Saturday, March 19th, 2005 at 9:57 pm PST
   

fadsjflajf Thursday, August 18th, 2005 | 7:20 pm PST
can i say something..... cold weather?
cold air usually causes shortage of breath because it is thin air.
He doesnt even know how to maintain the mask and then gives it to his son?

Also, dye- their products are made with quality.
If brass eagle made the invision then it would be a whole lot cheaper only because they dont make quality goods and is a cheaper company.

understand the range of materials made in masks by different companies.
it could me lighter/heavier, flexible, better field vision, protection, and comfort
all these factors were reviewed by dye to make a good mask. am i right?
   

The_Hawk Wednesday, January 4th, 2006 | 6:45 pm PST
Dispute:
30 or 40 degree weather will make anything fog up. Your fogging issues, as said by your review, were caused by condensation. the breath leaving your mouth/nose is very warm compared to the outside air, and the water vapor that is in it hits the lens and immediately changes into liquid water, causing the fogging of your lense. I doubt any "anti-fogging coating" or "thermal treatment" will aid in preventing condensation in temperatures of 30-40 degrees. I'm willing to bet that this is why the season ends late summer/early fall.
   

Post a Comment
Please log in to your account to post a comment.

Not a member yet? Sign up now for free!

Return to the Reviews

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media