paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Comments on PaintedNoob's Review / Comments on PaintedNoob's Review / Comments on PaintedNoob's Review / Comments on PaintedNoob's Review / Comments on PaintedNoob's Review

Comments on PaintedNoob's Review

Jump to the Comments  |  Post a Comment  |  Dispute this Review  |  Return to the Reviews

PaintedNoob Saturday, June 26th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
Just once
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Other Fields
in the Area:
PB Atlanta - Expensive, but much better shape, choices, and better Refs
Paintball Command (New Orleans, LA) - Sweet Place to play.
Review: I have limited experience with Paintball - but this was my 3rd field.

My thought the whole time was "this would be a incredible place to play if they just invested some time in maintenance, cleanup, and safty".

The place is small with 3 (or 4) fields - 1 Airball, 1 Speedball, and 1 Woods.

I tend to be a woodsball player so I will keep my comments at a high level as I am too new to comment on layout of speedball, etc.

Pro's:
1. Unlike the two fields I played in previously, the people there to play were incredibly nice. Teenagers that were respectful to us newbies and enjoyed playing with us the whole day. Most fields I go to the players are snotty, rude, and elitist.

2. I enjoyed this woodsball course. It's smaller so not much time is spent searching out others. But it still has forts, coverage, bunkers, big tree's, ravines, bridges. Its not a glorified speedball course in the woods. This is a true woods course that plays fast.

3. Staff - the man behind the counter only - was extremely nice. (The kid "ref's" we saw only once in the store were jerks)

4. Bring your own paint and all day air - good price.

Con's:
1. We played for 6 hours with not one ref in sight. We would take turns setting up the games and being a ref.

2. Taking your mask off in the fields were rampant.

3. No barrel plugs in the safe area's at all. At one point I noticed I was the only one of 8 out there with a plug.

4. The day before it rained - but 24 hours later there were bunkers full of water and huge rocks in the airball and speedball fields. One of the common area's were flooded to our knees and the speedball and airball fields were 1/4 swamp. It smelled like cow pasture.

5. The woodsball has so much potential **but is extremely dangerous**. The bridge is a slippery death slide. If you are attacking from high land down to the low land - you will slip and fall, more than once. We loved playing out there, but man was it dangerous.

6. The common area's although covered (nice) are filthy and poor kept.

7. The place is an ankle sprain, busted knee, broken arm, or accidental shot in the face while in the staging area waiting to happen.

8. No traffic. The (6) players we met on a Saturday had been there all morning and we were the first new players to arrive at 2. We then played untill 5, with no one showing up. This may be because of the poor weather in the days leading up to our visit - but 8 people in one Saurday?



Comments:
Ironically, I think I will visit at least one more time. The players I met were fun to play with, I loved the layout of the woodsball field. Hopefully somone at the field will have an epiphany and envest $500.00 as well as 12 hours of maintenance into the place. If your an older player (late teems/20's) I would reccomend this place. I would definately not reccomend this for unsuperivsed kids (i.e. Soccer mom dropping of thier 13yr old for a day).








Last edited on Saturday, June 26th, 2004 at 7:36 pm PST
 

Review Comments
ryan belling Thursday, July 1st, 2004 | 6:51 pm PST
I work at Maximum Paintball and i am very sorry about your experience there. My team is the one that does all of the work there and we were at a tournament in south GA on that particular day. Also, the owner was in Alaska. I am very disappointed at the "workers" who were there. They are new at the job and obviously need to be disciplined thank you for telling us. Normally we would have provided you with refs. On a normal day, my team enforces barrel plugs and masks very strictly.
My team arrived at Maximum the next day and the field was in absolute HORRIBLE condition. So, I agree with you on that. But, I can assure you that the mess in the staging area was promptly attended to when I arrived. We are also sorry about the small amount of people there, the following day had over 30 people. We can't help the weather...
Thank you for reviewing Maximum Paintball and I hope you come again on a better day. =)
   

PaintedNoob Saturday, July 3rd, 2004 | 11:38 pm PST
I appreciate you responding, not getting defensive, and addressing issues.

Like I said before, I will return because I saw so much potential and was hoping the lack of players was because of the foul weather and that the fields/staging area would be addressed.

I hope to see your field improve as this field could easily become the field I play over PB Atlanta because of the players I met and the woodsball.

Please concentrate on making the woodsball field safer! That was such a shame.

Thanks again, and I hope to see you there.
   

PaintedNoob Sunday, July 4th, 2004 | 12:38 pm PST
Just to follow up - went out again today 7/4 to do a possible pick up game by myself. I was excited after reading last response by field employee.

Went 1.5-2 hours after the field opened and no one was there.
Asked to have tank filled anyway as I was thinking about practicing at home later that day. Guy behind counter was unintersted, and slow to respond to my request.

Asked to go out and look at field (based off what the field employee responded too earlier in week in comments section) - It was worse.

Netting around speedball area had started to fall down and was probably unusable.
Main staging area was flooded again if not worse, overall still in bad shape.
Airball field (which I don't even like) was in horrible shape - 1/2 the obsticles were falling over or deflated. Field was flooded.
There 1.5 - 2 hours after opening and short of a guy getting his gun worked on in the store - there was no one out there to play with.
Didn't get to look at woodsball field as it was too flooded and dangerous to get there.

I'll go again out fo convienence for a friend that lives up there, but if I have a choice I will go somewhere else.
   

PaintedNoob Sunday, July 4th, 2004 | 12:39 pm PST
Just to follow up - went out again today 7/4 to do a possible pick up game by myself. I was excited after reading last response by field employee.

Went 1.5-2 hours after the field opened and no one was there.
Asked to have tank filled anyway as I was thinking about practicing at home later that day. Guy behind counter was unintersted, and slow to respond to my request.

Asked to go out and look at field (based off what the field employee responded too earlier in week in comments section) - It was worse.

Netting around speedball area had started to fall down and was probably unusable.
Main staging area was flooded again if not worse, overall still in bad shape.
Airball field (which I don't even like) was in horrible shape - 1/2 the obsticles were falling over or deflated. Field was flooded.
There 1.5 - 2 hours after opening and short of a guy getting his gun worked on in the store - there was no one out there to play with.
Didn't get to look at woodsball field as it was too flooded and dangerous to get there.

I'll go again out fo convienence for a friend that lives up there, but if I have a choice I will go somewhere else.
   

Tactical Taco Monday, July 5th, 2004 | 7:23 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by ryan belling
I work at Maximum Paintball and i am very sorry about your experience there. My team is the one that does all of the work there and we were at a tournament in south GA on that particular day. Also, the owner was in Alaska. I am very disappointed at the "workers" who were there. They are new at the job and obviously need to be disciplined thank you for telling us. Normally we would have provided you with refs. On a normal day, my team enforces barrel plugs and masks very strictly.
My team arrived at Maximum the next day and the field was in absolute HORRIBLE condition. So, I agree with you on that. But, I can assure you that the mess in the staging area was promptly attended to when I arrived. We are also sorry about the small amount of people there, the following day had over 30 people. We can't help the weather...
Thank you for reviewing Maximum Paintball and I hope you come again on a better day. =)


Well lets just make sure it never happens again, EVER, OR BAD THINGS WILL HAPPEN!!!!!1!1!!111!!1!!!!!!!111!!!!!
   

ryan belling Friday, July 9th, 2004 | 5:47 pm PST
Ok, so you went up on the 4th of July, of course there was no one there. We advertised that we were closed on the 4th, but then some one was able to get up there and we opened. There were 23 people here today, and it is only a friday. But i am sorry about the flooding conditions, we can't help rain but we started to put out mulch today to help. The reason the mud was there cuz a couple weeks ago the storm tore up all the previous mulch. Also, ironically, since the store was supposed to be closed that day, my whole team(maximum's workforce) was out partying for the 4th.

I hope you return on a day with better conditions.
   

Post a Comment
Please log in to your account to post a comment.

Not a member yet? Sign up now for free!

Return to the Reviews

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media