paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Comments on Mills-pb's Review / Comments on Mills-pb's Review / Comments on Mills-pb's Review / Comments on Mills-pb's Review / Comments on Mills-pb's Review

Comments on Mills-pb's Review

Jump to the Comments  |  Post a Comment  |  Dispute this Review  |  Return to the Reviews

Mills-pb Friday, August 6th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
Hawaii All-Star (Nimitz)
Review: This field offers 4 different types of fields - airball, lego, and two others. The fields are grass covered and pretty well maintained. Although the fields are well maintained and offers a few different types of fields, there are quite a few negative aspects. The first negative aspect that I encountered at the field was that the field is inefficiently operated. My friends and I went there and we were not informed when the games were beginning so we missed quite a few games. The second negative aspect was that the games were refereed by some kids, who seem to know little about the rules. The rules were not consistent, a guy that played du ring a game was called out by the referee but he had no paint on him. Third, the field plays favorites. My friends and I are not part of a team but we did pay the full field fee. All of the players like us (without team affiliation) were offered only the two back fields, so that the "team" players could use the air field. Lastly, the all-day air that is offered at the field for $10 are filled from scuba tanks which filled the hpa tanks to about 2800psi (not a huge problem but when compared to the 4500psi fill station at Nimitz it is a negative for sure). With the negatives outweighing the positives, my friends and I will not be playing at Kaneohe Marine Corp Base again. Others may have a different experience than we did, but we were quite disappointed. ***BE SURE TO READ THE COMMENT SECTION ATTACHED TO THIS REVIEW. IT 'S PRETTY FUNNY THAT THE INDIVIDUALS AFFILIATED WITH PAINTBALLHAWAII TAKE UNBIASED REVIEWS AND PAINTBALL IN GENERAL SO SERIOUSLY.*** REMINDER TO EVERYONE - PAINTBALL IS A GAME AND IT SHOULD BE FUN
Last edited on Thursday, August 12th, 2004 at 11:35 pm PST
 

Review Comments
whinersgohome Monday, August 9th, 2004 | 4:51 pm PST
I know this is made up because i have been going to PBH for over a year. NEVER has a team or regular player been given preferred/sole field usage. I get to play on each field at least 2x per day I go and thats EACH day they are open. Once again compared to Nimitz(aka all-star) this field is more relaxed and friendly. Try getting a paintcheck at Nimitz and see how much fun it is. Maybe my dad will fund PBH and we will have the ability to fill to 4500 too.
   

disgruntled Tuesday, August 10th, 2004 | 12:28 pm PST
I quote "Maybe my dad will fund PBH and we will have the ability to fill to 4500 too." So when he says WE will have the ability to fill to 4500 makes me think that he has vested interest in the field (either he reffs there, works at the field, etc) I like the first part about "my daddy"it just verifies that the poster is the whining kid he is. Readers should take comments by whinersgohome with a grain of salt. Also take notice that he just joined the day he made the post. Take his reviews and comments lightly.
Last edited on Tuesday, August 10th, 2004 at 12:34 pm PST
   

Fuji808 Tuesday, August 10th, 2004 | 4:07 pm PST
Mills,

Sorry to hear that your experience was such a bad one. Normally we do try to ensure that the games are called out. Generally after a group comes back in they go out again in 10 minutes, unless theres so many people that there are over 4 groups and we have to rotate groups and fields. As for the referees some of them are still learning, and we just got done releasing a bunch of em. But as with all of us we all didnt know the rules at one point and needed help in learning them. True they are referees, but refereeing is a lot different than playing as anyone who has done both can attest too. The air situation is something we are aware of but unfortunately at this time cannot do much about. Roland is working hard to get a booster and assures us (the refs) that one is coming as soon as he can work the funds, placement, etc.

The tournament teams that are sponsored by our field police themselves. they coordinate with the head ref about which field to take though. also, there is a 10 minute turn around time between games and since the teams police themselves they are allowed to use that 10 minutes between games to play on the field. because they normally (not always, but normally) take less time to get ready to play after coming in they get more games in. Many times when i was the head ref i would tell my refs to take a group out, have them call out for the group (walk-ons, intermediates, etc) and have them radio back to me that theres only 3 people ready to play.

As for the field rotation. If you were only offered the last two fields then i must apologize for that. while i was there i tried to ensure that the players got a chance to play on all the fields (was head ref until end of may). In the future if you find yourself at our field again please do not hesitant in approaching either the head ref or Roland about the field rotation or any other problem.
Last edited on Tuesday, August 10th, 2004 at 4:32 pm PST
   

Mills-pb Tuesday, August 10th, 2004 | 9:48 pm PST
whinersgohome,
I am not going to argue with you about my experience at paintballhawaii's field. I am entitled to voice my opinion and my personal experince at the field. As for your dad investing in the field, it sounds like you are a wishful child. The whole "My dad will do this" and "my dad will do that" thing and the name calling sounds like a child's argument, which I will not belittle myself and get involved with. I'm sure your Dad is your superhero but that means nothing to me.

Fuji808,
We were at your field two Saturdays ago and our experience was exactly as I stated in my review. I am not the type of person who wants to go up to management and tell them how they should operate their business. I feel that the field should run smoothly and professionally without a patron having to remind the employees how the business should be operated. This negative experience did not only occur only on one occasion. Two Saturdays ago was the second chance we gave the Kaneohe field. I am not the type of person who makes a decision on one bad experience. I personally disregarded my first negative experience, in hopes that it would not occur for a second time. Sadly, it was the same thing - inconsistant games, bad calls, and favoritism for "team" players. I am in no means a great paintball player but I feel that all players should be given respect regardless of thier skill level. Everyone pays the same field fees, so everyone should have full access to all of the amenities of that given field. I hope everything goes well for you, but as for me, I will give my business to Allstar.
Last edited on Wednesday, August 11th, 2004 at 5:25 am PST
   

hc4810 Wednesday, August 11th, 2004 | 7:47 pm PST
Mills-pb,
I am sorry to hear of your bad experiences with the field. I go there on occasion and fortunately have not experienced what it seems you did. Good luck at Allstar and may your shots hit true and fly straight.
   

david g Thursday, August 12th, 2004 | 6:19 pm PST
I dont agree with any of you Paintball hawaii is the only field I go to And it will be the only one i go to nimitz sucks and so do the other ones. When i go there I never play on the same field twice in a row the staff at paintball hawaii is very corinated and they make sure everyone plays on every field and the staff is very helpfull and nice



David G.
   

Mills-pb Thursday, August 12th, 2004 | 10:58 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by david g
I dont agree with any of you Paintball hawaii is the only field I go to And it will be the only one i go to nimitz sucks and so do the other ones. When i go there I never play on the same field twice in a row the staff at paintball hawaii is very corinated and they make sure everyone plays on every field and the staff is very helpfull and nice
David G.


First, David G., Please learn how to write a review. You are supposed to have a period to end each statement. Another thing, its "coordinated" not "corinated." Your statement should read
"I don't agree with any of you. Paintball Hawaii is the only field I go to. It will be the only one I go to. Nimitz sucks and so do the other fields. When I go there, I (have) never played on the same field twice. The staff at Paintball Hawaii are very cordinated, they make sure everyone has a chance to play on every field. The staff is very helpful and nice.
David G.
If you are going to criticize my unbiased opinion, please do it so that everyone can understand what you are saying.
Last edited on Friday, July 8th, 2005 at 11:10 pm PST
   

disgruntled Friday, August 13th, 2004 | 4:01 am PST
David G - How do you know how the other fields are like? In your review you state that you have only played at paintballhawaii. If you are going to lie at least make it seem plausible. BTW you should use spell check. If you don't know how spell check, ask your daddy.
   

faka1wut Monday, January 3rd, 2005 | 8:06 pm PST
ummm if you guys want to get people to come to allstar i would try to be nice to them, and not try to scare them away. All of you (disgruntled and mills) seem like you have a preference to your field and that is your opinion. You shouldnt have to put down others just to make a point that your feild is better than another field. You say that you are unbiased and have NO affiliation with allstar whatsoever, but you ONLY play at allstar...cmon i play at both feilds and i dont see a difference exept that one is closer to home (kbay) and one has all of the tourneys (allstar)
   

disgruntled Wednesday, January 12th, 2005 | 2:28 pm PST
And you should edit you comments to include your brothers from paintball hawaii in regards to be nice to others. If you read my review carefully, I have PLAYED at kbay. I only wish both fields were the same then we wouldn't be here. Can you please tell me what similarities exist between the fields besides we shoot paintballs at one another?
   

auronx33 Friday, January 21st, 2005 | 11:22 pm PST
I have actually been to Paintball hawaii and I thought it was ok, but I twisted my ankle a little cause I stepped in a hole in the ground (o.o...). That sorta sucked...i liked the grass but honestly, I thought the field wasnt as coordinated as it could have been. I also didnt like the air situation, but it wasnt too big of a deal. Overall its not a bad field (love the grass) but the airball field wasnt up to par against Hawaii All-Star's airball. I like Nimitz cause its more personal, everyone is friendly (on a team or not) and Brandon accomidates to EVERYONE. Sure it's rocky but I still perfer Nimitz. PBH has potential to be good but right now it cant compete with Hawaii All Star.
   

1bigboto Tuesday, June 14th, 2005 | 8:45 pm PST
Hey guys........what is the fuss about. People have the right to express an opinion. Irregardless if they can spell or not.

Try the newest Paintball field.....XPC.
It has three airball fields that were shipped from the mainland. All three were used at HB05 and shipped here. Lots of grass.....for now, at least......friendly staff.....unless you provoke them........plenty food and beverages. Air compressor (newest model), high nets.

Located at Hawaii Raceway Park. Entry fee is $20.00 whick includes all day air.
   

duderanch345 Monday, September 26th, 2005 | 3:12 am PST
wow... these people really need to chill out, and accept how sucky this feild is. i mean playing paintball, hiding behind "Bunkers" made of, litarraly, trash(tires, port - o - potties, plastic junk, crates, rusty oil barrels, all this resting on uncut waist high grass), is proof enough to support my point. and the feilds arent the worst part, do you really think i would take the time to trash this field because of crappy fields? nope. the worst part of this place is roland and his cronies. unless you know him personally, you will not have a good time. he really caters to his friends, i mean stacking his friends, with angels, matrixes and such, against walk-ons. i played one game their where my team consisted of myself, my two friends, and six kids, all under 12, against his firends. seriously....
Last edited on Monday, September 26th, 2005 at 3:45 am PST
   

Post a Comment
Please log in to your account to post a comment.

Not a member yet? Sign up now for free!

Return to the Reviews

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media