paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Comments on tiber's Review / Comments on tiber's Review / Comments on tiber's Review / Comments on tiber's Review / Comments on tiber's Review

Comments on tiber's Review

Jump to the Comments  |  Post a Comment  |  Dispute this Review  |  Return to the Reviews

tiber Wednesday, August 18th, 2004
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion below.
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Alpha Paintball -- It's just up the road and the staff is excellent. I think it's on the old Global Paintball fields, who lost their lease on the land due to insurance nonpayment.
Poco Loco -- The Philadelphia standard paintball field. Excellent!
Skirmish -- Spendy, but really good fields if you can deal with the transit time.
Review: Let me begin by saying I really don't like to write a negative review on a paintball field. They are few and far between for us residents of Philadelphia and us city-folk work against the negative view of people in camo and guns in the city already. Couple that with the fact that we don't have huge backyards to play or be "outdoorsy" on and paintball becomes a tough sport to participate in if you happen to be a city resident. I moved here in late 2000 and that's what I miss most coming from a semi-rural area.

I started checking out fields locally, and the jersey ones seemed very speedball-oriented. There's nothing wrong with it, but it's a different game from woodsball and I prefer the woodsball game format. I started striking out further and further from the city and happened across Iron Triangle. It had mixed reviews here, so I decided to give it a shot. The website was amusing, but not thorough enough that I felt it gave me all the information I needed. I called, but was greeted by an answering machine. Later, Sgt Gebb would call me back and tell me we were playing and clear up questions I had. I rounded up one of my friends who was new to the sport, and we wandered down that way.

The military theme is amusing, and the pictures on the website depicted the fields fairly. What you see is pretty much what you get on the website. The courses are small and CQB oriented. The courses are fashioned to look like something, be it a bridge, or a san-pan rice-paddy. The graveyard is not playable. The fields would have been good with about 16 to 24 players. Sadly, when we went, there were eight. Those people were regulars, and knew the fields well. One particularly outstanding player was Bill, who had a pumper and was more then nice acting as a liaison between me and the owner, Gebb. Gebb is, as the website suggests, a former door gunner from Nam and a chainsmoking ass. The first time we played, the racial slurs and caustic commentary was amusing. The second time, we understood that it was this man's honest convictions. Living in Philadelphia, I've made quite a few not-white friends, and I wouldn't have been able to bring them along (or been outright embarrassed). The regulars cleaned us up. I generally score about an average of two kills per game lone-wolfing it and even with teams balanced towards us, I was lucky to get one.

There are no refs, unless someone wants to be a ref. However, the players are honest. They also do not play gun hits, which I think is a poor paintball rule to begin with. One of the problems of not having refs is that there also are no tapelines marking the beginning and ending of a field. The second time out, I managed to capture one of the forts and pin one of their players down. After eliminating this player, he charged the fort and told me I was out of bounds. Not only was this poor conduct (and put me in a "do I bonus-ball him or not?" situation), but it could have been solved by having a ref and having tapelines on the field.

The charges for things are inconsistent. Some regulars bring their own paint, some do not. There was no charge for air, but some reviews said there was. Field fees vary, some people who played there said it was $20, some said it was $40 (I was charged $40). The rental equipment is garbage and the Tippmann Carb my buddy was handed was in desperate need of even the most basic of servicings. One of the regulars was kind and lent my buddy his spare. The fill stations are there, but are not regulated fill stations and Gebb only knows how to fill CO2. The HPA fill station is a compressor hooked to a remote line, completely unregulated and vomiting engine oil into your tank. Had I not brought my own (full) HPA/N2 bottle, I probably would have left.

In summery: The field had the potential to be something. If they can ever get their act together, it's interesting and got a neat military theme. The regulars play every other weekend, so they're excellent players and Bill specifically is a nice guy. Bill shouldn't be the middle-man for Gebb, however, and have to badger Gebb to give us free passes for the next game because no-one showed the day we played. Gebb's a toolbox, and hostile to minority players. The equipment is junk. This field is not worth your time or money. The only reason it gets a two is because I have played on fields (not listed on pbreview) which were sup-air in people's backyards. It's slightly better then that, but not by much. We played it twice, and both times came away with the same negative impression.

Don't bother with lunch, it will kill you.
 

Review Comments
sgtgebb215 Friday, November 18th, 2005 | 9:08 am PST
Dispute:
The Iron Triangle was the second (2nd) field to open in Eastern PA after a long fight with the local zoning board. Since 1987, for the last eighteen (18) years, I have come across every type of player there is. We play stand-up ball. The world is watching. We do not tolerate wipers or cheaters. The bad write-up resulted from a lawyer who tried to join our elite "Swamp Fox Team." All of his money, endless new guns that he purchased weekly, his boring stories that we were forced to listen to, his BMW and finally, his boxes of pretty colored barrels to match his outfits didn't impress us.

We caught him a number of times lying about being hit. He stated we have no referees. Then why was he always trying to put the make on both my women referees? When I finally sat down and told him that no man is IMMORTAL on my field, he didn't appreciate our conversation. I simply said: "When you're hit, admit it. Put your barrel plug in and leave the battle area!"

The following things are true about my field:

(1) We usually have two (2) referees, and myself.
(2) We let you use your own paint on the first (1st) and third (3rd) Sunday of each month.
(3) We charge $3 for small CO2 refills, and $6 for 20 oz. refills. The $7 fee is an out-and-out lie! Please note our $2,700 constant air machine is broken.
(4) Our porta-potty is cleaned every two (2) weeks. The Blessed Virgin Mary could use it and be happy.
(5) I have been under doctor's orders since 1996 and am not allowed to drink alcohol. It is a complete lie that I looked drunk and had no motor skills. (This is the language of a disgruntled attorney who we caught wiping paint, once too often.)
(6) We do not have kids drinking malt liquor. They usually are drinking gator aid or coca cola.
(7) We provide a free lunch at 1:00 p.m. We let the players cook their own hamburgers and hot dogs. Although Chef Paul is no longer able to come up and cook, his delicious barbequed chicken was usually eaten first.
(8) We have no Crono - another lie. When you pay your twenty dollars ($20) entrance fee, each player is given a numbered tag. You can't get into the playing field without showing the tag and being cronoed with my referee wearing his or her goggles. By the way Mr. Wiper Lawyer, the Crono is that big red machine to your left that always rang when you cronoed your extensive collection of various paintball guns.
(9) Racial slurs never came from my mouth but we were forced to listen to your endless charade about your law practice.
(10) Don't call me Gebb. My name is Sgt. Gebb. I earned it the hard way with four (4) years in the United States Marine Corps.
(11) If my place is a huge junk-yard, why did you keep coming back week after week, after week, after week trying to impress us?
(12) I am a toolbox and hostile to minorities. This statement takes the cake! Sometimes Paul and I thought we were toolboxes. Do you have any electrical tape? Can I bum an O ring? I need a ruptured disc. I need to cut my spring. Forty percent (40%) of my business comes from Hispanic players in Reading and Allentown, and Afro Americans in Philadelphia.
(13) Our rental equipment is junk. We just spent a small fortune in buying all the almost new equipment from a local ski resort that went out of the paintball business. Please tell the truth? Isn't that what lawyers are suppossed to do?
(14) A beat-up plywood sign. I guess you missed the four (4) other large red signs and the fifteen (15) different National Flags on the highway, not to mention my camoflauged Jeep.
(15) Do cars get stuck in the parking lot? Yes, because the players move the no-parking red cones not to park there. We have recently dropped gravel in this area to correct this problem.
(16) We have a superb home team that I trained myself! Their name is the "Swamp Foxes." Their motto is Swift, Silent, Deadly. If you are a lousy player carrying a machine gun paintball gun and talking to your buddy, you'll get hit very quickly.
(17) We are located in a wet land area. There is a lot of mud in certain places. When you are in war, it's always muddy, too hot or too cold. It is never a perfect day.
(18) My graveyard, complete with bamboo, is the closest field that I could construct to a similar graveyard in Chu Lai, Vietnam where I got pinned down by two (2) VC Snipers. I made it extremely muddy, swampy and tough. If you can win the double flag station game there, you're a very good player. If you want to go home clean, try another field where you can run around on cut grass and hide behind large balloons in your multi-colored pajama outfit.
(19) We are a junkyard. Some of my friends are contractors and drop off plywood and other building materials which we stack near the entrance of my field. This is always a temporary situation. We sort it out and keep the good stuff and burn the bad. It is not junk!
(20) Did I match seventeen (17) home team players one day to thirty-five (35) other players? The answer is yes. Did they die like flies? The answer is yes. Why? Because even with their super $1,500 machine guns, they couldn't work as a team. Their fire power was useless. Our motto is one (1) shot, one (1) kill. They never learn how to use hand singles. They bunched up. They could not work together as a unit and thus, they died.
(21) We still call paintball markers guns. When you're hit, you're dead! Screw political correctness. If you are fortunate enough to get four (4) kills in one (1) battle, I'll award you with a German Eagle Sniper Patch. You are better than the rest and deserve to be awarded a very hard-to-earn patch.
(22) Boundaries. If you had listened to our games rules at each playing field, you would have known the boundaries. We don't put up a lot of yellow tape because my dog and the local deers get caught-up in it.

In closing, my father taught me to ride hard, shoot straight and tell the truth. There are many good fields in PA. I suggest that you try them all until you find one (1) that you like. At my field, I expect each player to play stand-up ball and admit when they are hit. I also expect any player that has a problem, to come over and talk to me - man to man - and I'll try to correct the situation. I made Sgt. E-5 in two (2) years in the Marine Corps because I can listen as well as I can command. We look forward to good, honest players visiting our field and having a great day of paintball. We wouldn't have been in business for eighteen (18) years if the above review was true.

Sempri Fi,
Sgt. Gebb


P.S.: You used seven (7) paragraphs to make my field look bad. Only a lawyer would waste that amount of time on a review but then again, I forgot you're the star reporter for a certain paintball magazine.
   

tiber Saturday, November 19th, 2005 | 7:10 am PST
Actually, I'm not The Lawyer, but you did patter on about him when I played like some type of schoolgirl. "Oh, he's such a bad person! Lets not talk about him!" Five minutes later, "So there was this lawyer at our field..." I couldn't decide if you were making the stories up for our amusement or had a crush on him.

I was planning on bringing along people who were minorities, I am glad they couldn't make it. Like you said in your point number 21, "Screw political correctness." You accomplished that in "spades".

We only came up there twice.

As far as drinking is concerned, I never said there were any minors consuming alcohol. Unless there's a minor consuming alcohol, I don't see why you brought that up.

As a field owner, you're obligated to mark the field edges or you have no grounds to call out-of-bounds. You did not walk anyone around the field, you simply gave vague descriptions of the edges. If the deer and dogs keep getting tangled up, then make sure the deer and dogs arn't on the field. They shouldn't be anyway, I wouldn't want to accidentally hurt your dog. Consider it part of responsible field ownership. What's to say it's not the neighbors kid wandering onto the field attracted by the noise next time? Your 'Elite Swamp Foxes' continued to fire on me without saying I was out of bounds until I actually took one out. Only then did he decide I was out of bounds.

Your rental equipment is junk. The ski resort sold it to you because it was beyind the point of refurbishment. As it says in my profile, I'm an engineer, not a lawyer, I can tell when something is broken. The chrono, for instance, is broken, because it's filled with water.

Thank you for your military service, but you really need to leave the war out there. They're 'Vietnamese', not 'gooks', 'slopes', 'slants', or 'chinks'. The essence of battle is being able to respect your opponents and treat them humanely. Using words like that does not impress me or earn my respect.

Tiber
   

sgtgebb215 Monday, November 21st, 2005 | 10:48 am PST
Hello Tiber. Once again, you reared your ugly head after your two (2) year absence - something like a serial killer that takes a few years off! I'm man enough to use my real name - Why can't you? I looked in my collegiate dictionary and the closest it came to Tiber was Tibetan Terrier, a breed of small dogs from Tibet. That name suits you well!

Once again, let me reiterate my answers:
(1) Our guns are not junk, but barely used equipment purchased by a ski resort two (2) years ago, that thought they would become rich in a matter of weeks, thanks to the super salesman from NJ that we all know too well.
(2) We never mentioned the wiper lawyer to anyone, ever. We didn't have to because everyone that shot at him knew his story quite well.
(3) Our Red Crono has never been left out in the rain, for the rain would ruin it. It has always worked and we have numerous back-up cronos if the batteries go bad.
(4) Two (2) trips to my field and you know everything about all of us, as I said before, you came to play week after week after week. Forget the crap about your minority friends. They are your clients from your law practice. YOU DON'T HAVE ANY FRIENDS and never came up to our field with another person. You tried to impress us with your wealth and when that failed, you moved on to another Paintball Field to wipe paint there. The only friends you have are "Hertz Rent A Friend"!
(5) Now, for the last time, we don't use boundary tape. You have to pay attention to our vague boundary descriptions that our non-existent referees explained to you in minute detail for five (5) minutes before each game. Are you suffering from ADD?

People like you that live in $500,000 cardboard boxes in tickey-tack developments, built by undocumented illegal aliens, do not fight wars! Only the middle-class and lower-class high school drop-outs, row-house, drug-using, inter-city people fight wars. This is straight out of a current history book being used in our local high schools.

It really pisses you off to meet men and women at my field that believe in DUTY, HONOR, COUNTY, when all you believe in is $$$! I have no idea where you got all of these VC derogatory terms, probably reading another Viet Nam War book. The essence of battle is to respect your enemy - maybe in King Arthur's Court, but not in Nam. The main mission of an 0331 Helicopter Machine Gunner is to kill as many enemies as you can, protect the ground troops at all costs, and evacute the wounded as quickly as humanly possible without getting yourself killed in the process.

I bet not one (1) person in your entire family ever fought in a war or, for that matter, were ever in the service. Rich people always get out of miliary service. This is a fact of life that every warrior knows!

In closing, GROW UP, get a life, stop weaving a slanderous web of deceitful lies on your super cyberspace highway of misinformation.

SEMPRI FI, DO OR DIE!
SGT. GEBB

P.S.: TRY TO BE SOMETHING YOU'RE NOT, A REAL MAN. USE YOUR OWN NAME. DON'T HIDE BEHIND A VEIL WITH A SMALL DOG'S NAME IN CYBERSPACE.
   

tiber Tuesday, November 22nd, 2005 | 4:04 pm PST
Originally posted by sgtgebb215
Hello Tiber. Once again, you reared your ugly head after your two (2) year absence - something like a serial killer that takes a few years off! I'm man enough to use my real name - Why can't you? I looked in my collegiate dictionary and the closest it came to Tiber was Tibetan Terrier, a breed of small dogs from Tibet. That name suits you well!

As opposed to G.E.B.B., the German company that manages their sewer system? I'm hardly obligated to identify myself on the internet much in the same way I wouldn't display ID to just anyone in real life.

Once again, let me reiterate my answers:
(1) Our guns are not junk, but barely used equipment purchased by a ski resort two (2) years ago, that thought they would become rich in a matter of weeks, thanks to the super salesman from NJ that we all know too well.


OK, then you got ripped off. One man's garbage is another man's gold, I suppose. The fields certainly reflect this.

(2) We never mentioned the wiper lawyer to anyone, ever. We didn't have to because everyone that shot at him knew his story quite well.

Which is why you mentioned him on the internet? For everyone to see?

(3) Our Red Crono has never been left out in the rain, for the rain would ruin it. It has always worked and we have numerous back-up cronos if the batteries go bad.

It was bad both times I went there, and I was told it was because it was left out in the rain by Bill.

(4) Two (2) trips to my field and you know everything about all of us, as I said before, you came to play week after week after week. Forget the crap about your minority friends. They are your clients from your law practice. YOU DON'T HAVE ANY FRIENDS and never came up to our field with another person. You tried to impress us with your wealth and when that failed, you moved on to another Paintball Field to wipe paint there. The only friends you have are "Hertz Rent A Friend"!

Still got the wrong guy. Two trips was all that was required to figure out that nothing would change. You had two opportunities to straighten out, even after Bill apologized and gave us a free pass. We showed up a third time also but didn't play as no-one was at the field.

(5) Now, for the last time, we don't use boundary tape. You have to pay attention to our vague boundary descriptions that our non-existent referees explained to you in minute detail for five (5) minutes before each game. Are you suffering from ADD?

Nope, I've been spoiled by other paintball fields which are properly run. It's wholly a safety issue. If you choose to ignore it, that's fine, but aside of safety this also goes to show everyone reading this thread that there arn't enough people coming to the field to run more then one game at once. The games would get tangled up in the abscence of tape lines.

People like you that live in $500,000 cardboard boxes in tickey-tack developments, built by undocumented illegal aliens, do not fight wars! Only the middle-class and lower-class high school drop-outs, row-house, drug-using, inter-city people fight wars. This is straight out of a current history book being used in our local high schools.

This is a fine example of the same type of attitude you manifest at the field. This is why we arn't coming back. This is pretty much the same thing you said about the lawyer too, the blacks, the koreans, the vietnamese...

It really pisses you off to meet men and women at my field that believe in DUTY, HONOR, COUNTY, when all you believe in is $$$! I have no idea where you got all of these VC derogatory terms, probably reading another Viet Nam War book. The essence of battle is to respect your enemy - maybe in King Arthur's Court, but not in Nam. The main mission of an 0331 Helicopter Machine Gunner is to kill as many enemies as you can, protect the ground troops at all costs, and evacute the wounded as quickly as humanly possible without getting yourself killed in the process.

Right, so basically, combined with the attitude you showed us above in the last paragraph, not only do you not see minorities as people, but you also have a disdain for anyone not in the service. All I'm getting out of that last paragraph is "I didn't see people under the crosshairs as people". This is what caused My Lai problem. There are people in a war who are legitimate targets, just as there are people in real life who you should show disdain for. The line is crossed when you stop seeing those people as people and start judging them in large batches of possibly incorrect associations.

I bet not one (1) person in your entire family ever fought in a war or, for that matter, were ever in the service. Rich people always get out of miliary service. This is a fact of life that every warrior knows!

That's not even part of the discussion. But, since you're all about generalizations and researching people, please look up Patrick Tillman.

In closing, GROW UP, get a life, stop weaving a slanderous web of deceitful lies on your super cyberspace highway of misinformation.

P.S.: TRY TO BE SOMETHING YOU'RE NOT, A REAL MAN. USE YOUR OWN NAME. DON'T HIDE BEHIND A VEIL WITH A SMALL DOG'S NAME IN CYBERSPACE.


OH NOS, SOMEONE IS MAKING TEH FDUN OF ME ON TEH SUPARINTARWEBS
Last edited on Tuesday, November 22nd, 2005 at 4:06 pm PST
   

sgtgebb215 Wednesday, November 23rd, 2005 | 11:54 am PST
TIBER:

Since you refuse to state your God-given name and since, as a field owner,
I have so many obligations, I wish to inform you that I have re-named my
speedball field "Tiber's Trash Pit!" It's JUNK YARD BALL at its finest moment.
The new game at The Iron Triangle is that each player gets ten (10) balls and ten
(10) minutes to kill each other in a totally run-down, muddy, junk-strewn authentic junk yard. Thank you for all of your encouraging words. I may even break down and buy a roll of yellow boundary tape so that no non-existent neighborhood children wander
into "Tiber's Trash Pit!"

Happy Thanksgiving and, as we say in the Marine Corps: "Every day is a holiday
and every meal is a feast!"

SEMPRI FI


SGT. GEBB

   

tiber Wednesday, November 23rd, 2005 | 1:49 pm PST
W0000!

TEH WIN~!
   

Xaerak Tuesday, January 10th, 2006 | 5:07 pm PST
Actually, I have to say: "Sgt. Gebb" that the way in which you presented yourself was extremeley ignorant and when you referred to the minority's being his clients I found that really offensive.

I doubt you are an actual Sargeant, and I doubt you actually know what "Honor" means. I was just looking through fields here, and If I ever come to PA, I will not play here.

Thanks
-Nick
   

killer chiuahua Monday, January 23rd, 2006 | 11:00 am PST
Hey Tiber,
Stop being such a limp wristed cry baby! Nobody cares. Iron triangle may not be as flashy as some of the more speedball oriented fields, but its not meant to be. And how many other places give you as much food as you want for nothing? The last time I was there I paid twenty bucks and I ate three burgers and a chicken leg. The chrono worked fine, I had no trouble finding the boundry lines because even if you haven't been told where they are any moron could see were one field ends and another begins. The field is old and everything is muddy, that's why we call it woodsball. You are supposed to get dirty.
   

davidj1030 Thursday, May 4th, 2006 | 6:05 pm PST
yea, tiber just ignore the field if u dont like it and dont go. just cuz u dont like it doesnt mean no one else does.
   

Dilbones Wednesday, June 14th, 2006 | 12:07 am PST
sgt tubbs er watever is pretty retarded, hes like, "we dont see people in nam as people, theyre just inanimate objects that walk, talk, eat, and poop." Last time I checked, thats a sign of being an organism, an organism that walks on two legs, has eyes, ears, a mouth and a brain (which sgt tubbs is lacking). So basically my point is is that Id rather be playing at a place where the dogs and deers dont run into my line of fire cause Im not hunting, and speedball definitely isnt a prissy sport, you try dodging that many paintballs in one game. Youll have a lot of fun. I bet its just like vietnam, oh wait, ITS PAINTBALL!!!!! stupid...your fat! Oh and to the guy who appareantly judges fields by there food, one time I ate a pie of pizza, that makes my porch (the place of designated eating) a shrine to the italian goodness known as pizza, I went to triage and drank a gatorade for free, that makes them god. I watched you eat 18 cheeseburgers and 9 chicken legs with a bucket full of milkshake and I fell in love with you and built a shrine to you, can I play paintball on you....YOU LOVABLE WARMONGER, GIVE ME A HUG!
Last edited on Wednesday, June 14th, 2006 at 12:11 am PST
   

brian dyas Sunday, June 28th, 2009 | 4:18 am PST
some of the people who have posted here do not get what iron triangle is all about. this is the "players' field" of eastern pa. I too, am a combat vet, and believe me, this is about as real as you will get in PA! Ever wonder what it means when some guys mention "sniper paranoia?" come here, you will find out! Is that leaf rustling in the wind an enemy bearing down on you? Is that noise running water,or enemy communications?Your wits, as well as your gun, will be tested.If you do not like it, there are other fields, go there. Gebb's I.T. is a hardcore field, not for the faint-of-heart. I've survived 122 combat/black ops missions, but there have been times where I.T. has caused me to almost soil my pants!!Gebb acts as a soldier should.the regulars will test your wits. the field itself is your enemy.Then...there are the landmines.....................if you're not up to it, that's ok.as i said before there are other fields for you. but if you want a challenge, and want to be tested,or if you wonder what it could have been like for you in the military, or simply want to relive the glory days,come down to Sgt. Gebb's iron triangle.I will be waiting...somewhere
Last edited on Saturday, August 8th, 2009 at 6:48 pm PST
   

Barnaby713 Friday, March 5th, 2010 | 7:40 am PST
TIBER IS A TOOL
Iron triangle is the best field I've ever played on Sgt. Gebb has created a masterpiece field and people like tiber who dont like it can piss off and stop complaining
   

Post a Comment
Please log in to your account to post a comment.

Not a member yet? Sign up now for free!

Return to the Reviews

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media