paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Comments on TommyGunz's Review / Comments on TommyGunz's Review / Comments on TommyGunz's Review / Comments on TommyGunz's Review / Comments on TommyGunz's Review

Comments on TommyGunz's Review

Jump to the Comments  |  Post a Comment  |  Dispute this Review  |  Return to the Reviews

TommyGunz Saturday, October 23rd, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
More than 5 years
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Meramec Challenge Paintball , Xtreme, Bullgoddie
Review: Ok I have been to Bushwackers many many times! When I first used to go they had a ref who would smoke a cigar outof his mask! Ok now that s good example to set.

I went today Oct 23rd 2004. This place has only gone down hill!

Today they had a tournamaent going on.. TOURNEY!! At BUSHWACKERS!!!! lol no it's not a joke. Who the heck would want to play in sand and pee gravel?

What sucks about this is I've tried to get away from all these speedball clowns and now they are at bushwackers too.

Open play sucked, only like 10 players. The refs in the tourney did not even wear MASKS!!! They had shop goggles!!!!! can you belive that?! Its not safe!!

ok i'm not goign to go on and on about this place.. just rad the other post and you too will see ... better yet go for your self just hope you make it out alive!! don't know? ask around!


(Does this place even have paintball insurance? And how many time does a player think they are hit by a paintball and it really a bullet from the shooting range that aims the real GUNS!!!! directly towards the playing areas!!!!!!!!


BEWARE!!!
Last edited on Wednesday, February 2nd, 2005 at 4:53 pm PST
 

Review Comments
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
Ramstang Sunday, October 24th, 2004 | 9:01 am PST
Well, i have to say, that the refs DO use regular goggle systems, maybe not the mouth guard, but the lense assembly is JT. As far as the shooting range goes, its waaaay far away, and a shotgun definetly cant reach the Park. But theses are just a few positives for a negative park.
   

andrew=#1 Sunday, October 24th, 2004 | 7:28 pm PST
Im sorry to tell you buddy, i dont know what in the world you were looking at cause i know for a fact the ref's in the tourment were not wearing shop gogles cause i was one of the refs in the touremnt so maybe next time you can pay alittle more attion.
   

Quinn80 Sunday, October 24th, 2004 | 9:29 pm PST
Thanks Andrew, I was the head field ref at the tournament and I can speak for every single person in my ref crew, they were all polite and profesional and were wearing the proper and approved safety equipment (no shop goggles!). As far as getting away from the tournament players I don't really see you having much of a valid complaint because at no time were the tournament players playing with the private groups or open play, we were on a completely separate field and at no time did open play/any private group use that field. About the shotgun range remark, you are truly an idiot. I have been at that field since it opened and I can guarantee you that at no point in time has anyone EVER been injured from the skeet range, in fact you are the only person in 5 years dumb enough to even raise that issue, remember they have zoning laws for a reason. If the field wasn't in a safe place, it wouldn't be zoned for use.
   

SquidMan Monday, October 25th, 2004 | 11:40 am PST
"When I first used to go they had a ref who would smoke a cigar outof his mask! "

Yeah, Kirk was awesome, wasn't he?

*(this is Big Red by the way)*
Last edited on Monday, October 25th, 2004 at 7:55 pm PST
   

Quinn80 Monday, October 25th, 2004 | 2:57 pm PST
yea, I miss kirk, he was lots of fun, but he hasnt been able to ref in a while
   

iq100 Wednesday, October 27th, 2004 | 8:51 am PST
Gone down hill? Define "down hill." Bushwhackers has sustained nearly twenty years of growth. The day of your visit was the very day a new X-Ball field was used in a tournament--any idea how much an X-Ball field costs? They have sports TV, heating and air-conditioning, a brand new multiport air system. The shooting range you refer to is used for sport shooting: tiny buckshot with a range no more effective than that necessary for a pitcher to send a ball over to the catcher in a baseball game. Furthermore, the shot goes into the air and then rains down harmlessly because choke setting are geared for the widest pattern to get a hit easier when shooting at clay pigeons, etc, etc. Your shop goggles comment limits your credability because fact seems to mean very little in your writing. All employees at Bushwhackers use paintball goggles--everyone knows this! Get your facts in order or you will probably be given very, very little credence in future.
   

PBBALLER573 Wednesday, October 27th, 2004 | 10:44 pm PST
Ok I'm not taken any sides or nuttin, but they kinda had a point. I was with some friends at the tourney and the ref did not have on a mask.

http://tinypic.com/enb7s

http://tinypic.com/enbba

http://tinypic.com/enbc2

In the pics you can see the ref w/o a full mask on.. either way its not safe to ref a tourney w/o a full mask on.

other than this i like bushwacker, thats just my 2 cents
   

Ramstang Wednesday, October 27th, 2004 | 11:00 pm PST
Those are Jt lenses just without the ear and mouth guard...ouch....but the pic looks like quinn
   

PBBALLER573 Thursday, October 28th, 2004 | 8:56 am PST
It don't matter what kind of lenses it is unsafe is unsafe, i dont want the poor guy to be like checkin someone and be like yelling the player netural and POP take one at 300 with his mouth wide open and smack the back of his throat... that would freakin hurt like a SOB!

Anywhys, everone should lead an example.. and new players might not understand when they see a ref do it they might be like oh ok I can do that too.. then one gets hurt and that make the sport look bad. but if the ref had on proper equipment... ya know?
   

tbv Thursday, October 28th, 2004 | 10:41 am PST
dude this field is just dangrous they let kids go on the field well over 300 fps it is just a matter of time before someone gets hurt. (too bad for paintball)
   

Quinn80 Thursday, October 28th, 2004 | 1:15 pm PST
well one of those pics probably is of me, I dunno, I cant get the link to work. As far as the mask issue, I cant speak for everyone but thats just a bad habit of mine, probably should wear a mask, but I have just reffed like that for so long, like I said , a bad habit. As far as the field being unsafe, bushwhackers has been in business for close to 17 years (in paintball thats a very long time) and I know for a fact that they have a very good track record about injuries. I have never seen any ref let a kid go out onto the field with a velocity above 300 in my 10 some odd years there and at the old park. And if you think bushwhackers has a bad record, go check out fearless some time.
   

Quinn80 Thursday, October 28th, 2004 | 1:17 pm PST
I got a chance to look at the pic and yeah, those are of me, a couple of very BAD pictures of me at that...but damn that was a long day
   

PBBALLER573 Thursday, October 28th, 2004 | 7:19 pm PST
Ok cool, now I know who your are.. Now I can say this:


YOUR STUPID!!!!!!!!!!!!
   

Ramstang Friday, October 29th, 2004 | 12:14 am PST
Now, Pballer is right, he the ref could lead a better example, and the Refs probably will after reading these posts. Quinn is right, in all the times ive played there, the refs didnt allow 300+ velocities, not even Kirk. You could Chrono every game, but with the amount of open players this field sees, then you might play 3 games in a 5 hour day. No field chronos every game for open players, there has to be a trust point somewhere.
   

Quinn80 Friday, October 29th, 2004 | 8:18 am PST
ok, and I am stpuid because I dont wear a full mask?
   

Quinn80 Friday, October 29th, 2004 | 8:22 am PST
I cant really speak for open play because I havent refed it in ages and I dont really deal with it enough to know if people are being chronoed or not. But James is a good ref and I do have faith that he wouldnt allow anything dangerous to go on. When I ref private groups (which is also pretty rare now adays) they get chronoed in and i will check them periodically through their session.
   

Quinn80 Friday, October 29th, 2004 | 8:23 am PST
sorry about the misspellings forgot to do spell check :)
   

SquidMan Friday, October 29th, 2004 | 9:22 am PST
I don't let anything dangerous go on, unless you deserve it :)
Last edited on Friday, October 29th, 2004 at 9:22 am PST
   

iq100 Sunday, October 31st, 2004 | 8:03 am PST
Let's set the record correctly. Going back nearly a decade the Open Play refs were (from the earliest to the present): Dan G., Brent, Rob, The Eureka Gang, Big West McKee, Crazy Kirk, Chris Blaylock, Crazy Kirk again, Fred, Big Red. Of course this pattern was occasionally broken but the above guys had in some cases years at the job. They had tons of experience. None, not one, ever purposely endangered anyone, nor were any of them ever guilty of apathy (a chronic problem at many parks). Those of you who express so much concern for the safety of others through lying about BushWhackers should find a new hobby. Your opinions are based on blind hatred for a park that is among the safest in the area. Stop trying so hard to down this place. The apologists on this site have knowledge of every aspect of the place, some have a memory of BushWhackers extending back over a decade--over a decade. When they hear this "unsafe" nonsense, they know it is pure hatred and lies. Nothing else. A large percentage of these refs have been adults--few parks around can claim anything like that so take a trip to your favorite park next weekend and look around: you're in the middle of nowhere, the nearest toilet is at the farmers house down the street, no telephone, no office, no signs of civilization at all--must be great!
Last edited on Sunday, October 31st, 2004 at 8:08 am PST
   

Quinn80 Sunday, October 31st, 2004 | 2:22 pm PST
I remember all of those people except brent, who was he?
   
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page

Post a Comment
Please log in to your account to post a comment.

Not a member yet? Sign up now for free!

Return to the Reviews

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media