paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Comments on Crawler's Review / Comments on Crawler's Review / Comments on Crawler's Review / Comments on Crawler's Review / Comments on Crawler's Review

Comments on Crawler's Review

Jump to the Comments  |  Post a Comment  |  Dispute this Review  |  Return to the Reviews

Crawler Monday, January 10th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
Just once
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
Nitro - Good field
Review: I am new to the awesome sport of paintball, so some of you long time players probably don't value my opinion or have a tainted attitude due to your vast experience. I recently played at Arkenstone and had an overall great experience. First, the staging is very nice and is located between all the fields. The refs do a good job on safety instruction and made everyone aware of the rules. My only complaint about the staging is no water, Nitro has free water jugs for players in between games.

I have played both speed ball and woods games and I tend to lean towards the woods, although speedball is great. Some of the other reviews state that Arkenstone is all woods, I agree that most of the area is set up for woods but they also have a speed ball field. When you break paintball down, aren't you bunkering behind something and shooting at the other team?

The Dodge City set-up is the best in Georgia and the castle (Fort) offers a great game with the tunnel and three doors to charge; a well planned attack could win the castle. They have a total of fourteen fields with P.O.W. being my favorite. This field is located in a ravine with a creek separating the two sides. Great bunkers for the team protecting the P.O.W. and the long field offers good battles for a team that flanks the opposition. The Ridge is another awesome field challenging the players to fight up hill from both sides, and mounds is a great field with all natural coverage giving the game a speedball feel.

As far as the prices go, it was $10 all-day field pass and $17.50/500 for the regular paint, 22.50/500 premium. Air is $4 per 20 oz or $10 all-day. I spent about $35 dollar for the day. The reviews that complain that the prices are too high, I don't understand why you are complaining. If you bring your own paint you have to pay for it somewhere. so maybe you save $2.50/500 or maybe you save $15.00/case. The facility has expenses like insurance, employees (refs), inventory, upkeep on grounds and bunkers, oh, and they sometimes like to make a profit for their efforts. I haven't seen any non-for-profit paintball fields. If you know of any please let me know. If you think paintball is expensive try skydiving, or golf. Paintball is your hobby, hobbies cost money to enjoy, if they didn't everyone would do it. Overall the money you spend should be worth it;
Work hard, Play harder!

Overall, great facility offering everything a "newbie" or an "old school" would want in a day of friendship, competition, exercise and shooting your fellow man.

Crawler






 

Review Comments
3.2.1,10SECONDS Monday, January 10th, 2005 | 7:03 pm PST
you want a field that is non profit try knights crossing free lunch no field fee paint is dang near at cost
   

apunkjunkie Thursday, January 13th, 2005 | 9:40 am PST
Well if Arkenstone was non-profit then they wouldn't have been around for over 10 years.
   

Crawler Monday, January 17th, 2005 | 9:54 am PST
3.2.1..10seconds,
Thanks for the response, although my question about non-profit was really being sarcastic. The point is you have levels of luxury in everything in life. First class airline seats cost more, but you get free drinks and a bigger chair. Hotel rooms cost more for the luxury suite, but the beds are nicer and they let you wear a plush robe. Pro sports tickets cost more the closer you want to be to the action. Golf courses, the better keep course or private course cost more than the city course, they are keep nicer for the golfer who wants to play on a better course.

Point is, you get what you pay for.

Knights crossing is a nice field but their castle and other strutures do not compare to Arkenstone.

Nitro is a great field with nice bunkers and cowboy town and the castle is great, but you have to admit, Arkenstone has the most fields, best dodge city, castle and overall bunker layout. Again, you get what you pay for. Arkenstone is a PREMIUM field so they charge a little more to enjoy the luxury.

Hope to see you their sometime, would love to shoot you....
   

3.2.1,10SECONDS Sunday, January 30th, 2005 | 7:43 pm PST
ha ha ha i'm afraid that wouldn't happen brother you couldn't shoot me and you won't catch me there because it is a good 90% woods field and woods just isn't my game (it's too boring) sorry to disapoint. But hey if woods is your game and you don't mind spending a small fortune than by all means your right arkenstone is the place to go. so have fun
   

acoyote Wednesday, February 2nd, 2005 | 8:09 am PST
Crawler, you made very good points. Thats one of the most "review" like post i have seen. Come back and see us
   

Post a Comment
Please log in to your account to post a comment.

Not a member yet? Sign up now for free!

Return to the Reviews

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media