paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Comments on seekandestroy89's Review / Comments on seekandestroy89's Review / Comments on seekandestroy89's Review / Comments on seekandestroy89's Review / Comments on seekandestroy89's Review

Comments on seekandestroy89's Review

Jump to the Comments  |  Post a Comment  |  Dispute this Review  |  Return to the Reviews

seekandestroy89 Monday, January 17th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
4 years
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Powerplay-Better prices. Better everything. Read Review for details.
Review: This was my first field to go to. I was introduced to paintball at this field. I used to think it was the greatest. I have had many memories associated at this field.

Fields- They aren't very well kept. There are weeds over 10 feet tall on the first field in some places and that just isn't my style. They have two very large fields but they would be best to be used as scenario. If you are looking for speedball...do not go here. They have one speedball course and it is horrible. The bunkers are huge. They provide way too much cover compared to an average speedball course. They do have an airball field.. I'd say it's good for 1 vs. 1. There are only about three bunkers on each side.

Gun tech- This place knows their guns. If you have a Spyder and it needs to be fixed. I'd suggest coming here. They airsmith there is certified by Angel. Meaning, he went to England and took classes.

Trust me. Go to Powerplay. They too have a large field for church groups of b-day parties but they also have two speedball courses and are building more.
 

Review Comments
flatlinning Tuesday, February 1st, 2005 | 4:19 pm PST
Please do go to www.gurupaintball.com to honestly see who is telling the truth here, do check the prices and see who has the better ones. Yes there are weeds 10 ft. tall on Fields that are meant to play on in camo. You cant play in camo at power play there are no fields for it. The speedball field @ guru is regulation Sup Air 5 man, there are much more than 3 bunkers on each side. Go to power play if you like playing on small fields. You can put the entire power play facility on field 1 @ guru paintball park, they have 38 acres. I figure you are one of the people that has been removed from guru for disciplinary reasons. To get an honest answer from this forum you are going to have to find out for yourself.
Last edited on Tuesday, February 1st, 2005 at 4:21 pm PST
   

CBass Tuesday, February 22nd, 2005 | 8:39 am PST
I havent been back to the Waco fields in some time so i cant be sure what the fields are like anymore. However some of the fields are meant to have tall weeds for the cover reason. They do have a 5 man airball field, they just dont always put it up unless people wana play it.

Pricing wise i still think they are cheaper but again i havent been there in a year so no clue. If you go off of what people post as your sole reason for not checking out this field then your shorting yourself. Little Wacp History for you .. almost every person who works at powerplay got their start at Guru, and unless things have changed no one else is a Angel Tech down in Waco, or has more Gun Tech knowledge than the Guru.
   

seekandestroy89 Wednesday, March 16th, 2005 | 4:06 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by flatlinning
Please do go to www.gurupaintball.com to honestly see who is telling the truth here, do check the prices and see who has the better ones. Yes there are weeds 10 ft. tall on Fields that are meant to play on in camo. You cant play in camo at power play there are no fields for it. The speedball field @ guru is regulation Sup Air 5 man, there are much more than 3 bunkers on each side. Go to power play if you like playing on small fields. You can put the entire power play facility on field 1 @ guru paintball park, they have 38 acres. I figure you are one of the people that has been removed from guru for disciplinary reasons. To get an honest answer from this forum you are going to have to find out for yourself.

No, I was not removed from Guru for disciplinary reasons, I simply stopped going because of the poor quality compared to Powerplay. As I said in my post I used to love this place, until I compared it to Powerplay. As for prices, Gizmo has PMI Premium paintballs for $65. If you look at this http://www.powerplaypaintball.com/fieldprices.html you will see that they have tournament grade paintballs for $52. Also, Powerplay is much more friendly to the newer players in the sport. I go up there every weekend, I work one day(reffing and help keeping fields in good condition) and play the next. You can work for store credit at Powerplay. I'm not sure if you can do this at Gizmo but the last time I asked to ref, I received a No. I hope this changes your view on which field is truly better, I'm sure I could have gone much more in depth.
Last edited on Wednesday, March 16th, 2005 at 4:07 pm PST
   

seekandestroy89 Thursday, March 17th, 2005 | 1:24 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by flatlinning
Please do go to www.gurupaintball.com to honestly see who is telling the truth here, do check the prices and see who has the better ones. Yes there are weeds 10 ft. tall on Fields that are meant to play on in camo. You cant play in camo at power play there are no fields for it. The speedball field @ guru is regulation Sup Air 5 man, there are much more than 3 bunkers on each side. Go to power play if you like playing on small fields. You can put the entire power play facility on field 1 @ guru paintball park, they have 38 acres. I figure you are one of the people that has been removed from guru for disciplinary reasons. To get an honest answer from this forum you are going to have to find out for yourself.

Also, look at all the tournaments on TV nowadays, there aren't any stupid scenario games. The game is changing and the Gizmo Guru is staying the same. Speedball is more mainstream and that's how it's going to be. The fields are "small" because that is how they were made to be. I made the switch, I suggest everyone else do the same.
Last edited on Thursday, March 17th, 2005 at 1:25 pm PST
   

CBass Monday, May 30th, 2005 | 8:00 am PST
If you would read the rules you as an employee are not allowed to post a review on this field. In doing so your not giving a true reading of the field since you work for PowerPlay it would make sense to knock the Guru down to better your fields business.

As for the speedball being more mainstream. Maybe but scenario games arent dead, we all know about D Day 4K plus players and thats just one event there are many held all over the US so scenario games arent dead.

Please in the future dont post trash to better your field it only shows people that Power Play is willing to have their employees trash another field in order to boost their customer numbers. I know the guys from Power Play and i dont think they would want that at all, if in fact they do then it just shows how sad things have become in the paintball scene in texas.
   

ThaSaint87 Tuesday, February 27th, 2007 | 1:46 pm PST
Well im not an employee to either of these fields.... have played at both... I started at gizmo and was having fun... although the refs were childish and staff very unhelpful i still had a lot of fun... then I made the switch to power play which has better fields staff gear accessories etc. The staff at guru always seemed to be a little rude and unhelpful. There are no fields at guru that are meant to suppoirt camo on someone.... and most of powerplay is speedball or a huge rec ball course.... but they do have 1 woodsball course which has actual trees in it unlike any of gurus.... all in all powerplay is better
   

flatlinning Monday, June 4th, 2007 | 12:19 pm PST
Sounds like you only played on field 1 & 2 only. Field 8 at Guru is 10 acres of thick trees (woods) Woodland camo works great! Looks like this is a bias site. I suggest people check it out for themselves. Since you cant trust anyone here! PS You cant cuss out an under age referee and make racial comments without being retaliated against!
   

Post a Comment
Please log in to your account to post a comment.

Not a member yet? Sign up now for free!

Return to the Reviews

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media