paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Comments on Dragon88's Review / Comments on Dragon88's Review / Comments on Dragon88's Review / Comments on Dragon88's Review / Comments on Dragon88's Review

Comments on Dragon88's Review

Jump to the Comments  |  Post a Comment  |  Dispute this Review  |  Return to the Reviews

Dragon88 Friday, February 4th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
At least one. Will try it some day soon.
Review: PBC has a good setup.

Tables with covers are all around the fields, there are places for people to watch and sit on the air ball field.

They have indoor toilets male and female (heated for winter).

They have some snacks available, and drink machines (higher prices though).

There fields are nice 3 woods fields, 1 air ball field, 2 pipe fields, 1 dirt mound field, 1 x-ball field, and 1 team practice field.

All day compressed air for $10.00 not bad, rental fee of $10.00 (or $20 for A-5) is okay.

NOW THE BAD:

There paintball prices are crazy at the field ($75 or $85) and even in the store it isn't too good ($65-75) for one case (2000rds).
Other stores sell it for $45-55 a case same paint (without there logo on it though).

Air refills for CO2 players are also high, with NO all day air offered for CO2 users.

Safety needs to be a little more stressed there.
No one manning the Chrono station (not where I could see anyway).

People remove barrel bags as soon as they step onto a field, and start to fire freely at bunkers the ground what ever before the game even starts (at least everyone has to have there mask on to step through the nets to the fields).

People walk around outside the fields dry firing every where and playing with there markers like there toys.

I personally watched two or three people adjusting there velocity on the field while the game was in play (after chrono).

We have watched many walk up to the chrono shot a ball, "beeeeeepppp" 310+fps and simply put the bag on the barrel and walk out to join our games????

What the heck is that?

At least the Ref's (some) carry pocket Chrono's and use them some time.

I know I was shot a few times with guns that had to be on the upper end of 350+ fps settings.

Then the attitudes of some kids, and the cheating, is a pain in the butt sometime.

There no blind firing rule is only enforced about 30% of the time. On a break (start of game) half the people are running one way and firing another (not where there looking).
Some never stick anything out from the bunker except the gun and fire wildly at the field.

I have been shot in the back (by friendly fire) at least once every time I went to the field.

I still enjoy there field even with the lack or rule enforcement.

But there prices are still way to high for this area and economy. Lower the prices guys...

This past Feb. 5th they had a promotion going. Cheaper paint, $50/ case, $5 field fee, $5/ all day HPA, $2 CO2 refills. I think there was close to a 100 people there at noon (& most of the day). There where many games going at once. Great day and with the right prices they had 2 times there normal business (more then two days worth).

Last edited on Wednesday, February 9th, 2005 at 10:43 am PST
 

Review Comments
elfwoo2 Monday, February 14th, 2005 | 3:03 pm PST
"There paintball prices are crazy at the field ($75 or $85) and even in the store it isn't too good ($65-75) for one case (2000rds).
Other stores sell it for $45-55 a case same paint (without there logo on it though)."

for the #6 feild in the country, i think you can pay 15 more for paint. and if you buy a season pass paint is $15 off and free feild fee.


"People remove barrel bags as soon as they step onto a field, and start to fire freely at bunkers the ground what ever before the game even starts (at least everyone has to have there mask on to step through the nets to the fields)."

would you like them be shooting at you? if the mask is on, youre safe. no one is stupid enough to shoot someone before the game starts.

"We have watched many walk up to the chrono shot a ball, "beeeeeepppp" 310+fps and simply put the bag on the barrel and walk out to join our games???? "

10 fps wont kill you, and most of the time they do turn it down, there are always 1 or 2 stupid people out there who think its funny. and they arent your games because youve only been there once.

"I know I was shot a few times with guns that had to be on the upper end of 350+ fps settings. "

no you werent youre just trying to bash pbc.

"I have been shot in the back (by friendly fire) at least once every time I went to the field."

ive been there every weekend for 2 years ... ive seen it happen once and its the noob who is scared of everything, jsut explain to him with out being mean about it how you have to look where you shoot so you dont eliminate your own team.

"I still enjoy there field even with the lack or rule enforcement. "

oh yay! sarcasm!

"But there prices are still way to high for this area and economy. Lower the prices guys..."

there prices are extremely competitive. go to some other feild and i can garentee its not as nice as this feild. go to SC village, PEVs or badlands, paint is upwards of $100 a case.





   

elfwoo2 Monday, February 14th, 2005 | 3:08 pm PST
AND-

i was at the counter all day, and no one asked me anything about co2 frequent fillers.

also, the park wouldnt have the nice setup and area without the money it makes from selling things.

and if you think you were shot by someone shooting 350, you should have let a ref know, and they could have helped you out.

if something you see happens, that you know isnt right, let someone know.
   

sepballernc Thursday, March 3rd, 2005 | 2:03 pm PST
Now be real PBC has a nice field but being the 6th best in the US give me a break
   

elfwoo2 Saturday, March 5th, 2005 | 4:51 pm PST
It's not something someone just made up.
   

sepballernc Friday, March 11th, 2005 | 7:47 am PST
its something that was written with out any obivous facts. Really don't take my word for it look on the web at fields in the US and they are not even in the top 20. I would put them in the top 6 in the carolinas
   

Dragon88 Friday, April 15th, 2005 | 11:47 am PST
elfwoo2

Your comment about
" I was at the counter all day, and no one asked me anything about co2 frequent fillers."

Tells me you can't read the rules of the forum. If you work there you’re not supposed to be on this forum. This is for players not staff of PBC (not even part time kids).

And also as for some of your other comments.
When I was shot I asked a ref for chrono check... And wow... what do you know the kids gun was at 318fps for 4 straight shots.

I've been to PBC about 10 times, since this post each time it has gotten better, the rules are more enforced, and people are starting to be safer.

Yes I like the field, I've gotten used to people dry firing all over the place and last Sunday they started to chrono every gun almost every game.
I watched 2-6 people per game leave the field for shooting over 285fps. This wouldn't happen if someone was at the chrono and people where made to chrono.

Also I set my gun to 260-279 below the limit of 285 just to make sure I don't hurt some little kid or first timer.

Remember PBREVIEW is for players not staff....
Last edited on Friday, April 15th, 2005 at 11:49 am PST
   

elfwoo2 Saturday, April 16th, 2005 | 3:03 pm PST
well, true.

but when i posted that comment i was no longer PBC staff.
   

Post a Comment
Please log in to your account to post a comment.

Not a member yet? Sign up now for free!

Return to the Reviews

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media