paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Comments on going_home's Review / Comments on going_home's Review / Comments on going_home's Review / Comments on going_home's Review / Comments on going_home's Review

Comments on going_home's Review

Jump to the Comments  |  Post a Comment  |  Dispute this Review  |  Return to the Reviews

going_home Saturday, April 30th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
Just once
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Paint Ballistics, Jungle Games, Central Florida Paintbal, Orbital Paintball
Review: I have to say that the fields are low end but the refs are great, but I didnt care for the owners.
So I cannot reccomend this field.
$3.00 for a roll of paper towels ?
$10.00 field fee .
$10.00 air fee. It really cranked me that I cant use my scuba tank, air is a mandatory charge.
And then the owner had the nerve to send his wife out to tell someone to stop wasting air if they werent playing.
Excuse me ? I pay $10.00 for all day air and then you scold someone about dry firing guns ?

If you have a high end marker and you want to use quality paint, forget buying it here.
And if you want to use your own paint, you will kindly pay them $10.00 .

Central Florida Paintball in Lakeland has these same rules, but they have the top of the line airball fields to back it up.
Battlezone cant touch CFP as far as their fields.

If I lived closer to this field I suppose I would put up with their money money money stuff,
but I dont, so I wont ever go back.

I give them a 4, I would have given them a 5 (the average) but for the air scolding nonsense.
 

Review Comments
Mark Herndon Sunday, May 1st, 2005 | 6:21 pm PST
DUDE ITS PEOPLE LIKE YOU THAT CRANK ME, DID YOU NOT READ THE SIGN, NO SHOOTING IN THAT AREA, THATS WHY MY WIFE WENT OUT THERE, WE HAD AS YOU SAY" JUST (SCOLDED) THE REGULAR KIDS FOR DRY FIRING, JUST OUT SIDE THE DOOR, WE HAVE THE CHRONAGRAPH TENT FOR THAT, WE HAD TOLD THEM THEY WOULD NOT GET ANY MORE AIR IF THEY DID NOT STOP. AS FOR THE PRICES, ROLL PAPER TOWELS 3.00, YES THATS RIGHT, DON'T WANT TO BUY THEM, BRING YOUR OWN, NO BODY IS STOPPING YOU AND I'M FLATTERED TO BE COMPARED TOO C.F.P. GREAT PLACE "NO DOUBT". AS FOR THE SCUBA TANK THING I EVEN WENT OUT AND APOLOGIZED AND EXPLAINED THAT IT WAS MY INSURANCE CO.'S POLICY NOT MINE AND YOU SAID YOU UNDERSTOOD AND IT WAS NO PROBLEM, NOW IT APPARENTLY WAS A PROBLEM. CALL THEM IF YOU LIKE paintball business assoc. 864-297-9727. IM SURPRISED YOU DID NOT MENTION THE TIPP 98 WE WORKED ON FOR YOU, DID IT NOT WORK, WHY DID YOU NOT TAKE IT TO C.F.P.. WE LIKE ALL THE OTHER FIELDS NEED ALL THE BUSINESS WE CAN GET ESPECIALLY WHEN ITS HOW YOU MAKE YOUR LIVING, IT PAINS ME TO WRITE THIS BUT, (MAYBE IT IS BEST YOU DON'T COME BACK). WE TRY TO GIVE THE BEST CUSTOMER SERVICE WE CAN, 33 OUT OF 36 AINT TO SHABBY. I JUST WISH YOU WOULD GET THE FULL PICTURE BEFORE YOU START SLAMMING PEOPLE.

P.S. WE CANNOT RECOMMEND THIS CUSTOMER TO ANY FIELDS.
Last edited on Monday, May 2nd, 2005 at 2:39 am PST
   

going_home Monday, May 2nd, 2005 | 3:07 pm PST
Fair enough.
The Tipp 98 works fine.
I dont want to down people for trying to make a buck.
But I do stand by my review.
The fields ok, the price to play is way higher than I'm used to,
(paint/ air/ field fee)
and the refs are very good. Maybe you should have gotten a 5, I dunno.
The paint chopped in every gun we tried it in, with Freak sized barrels.
Angels and Timmy need better paint.
It wasnt the markers, they were firing fine with better paint.
If I did come back, I would without a doubt use my own paint.
the Inferno seems to shoot fine.
But you are the expert, not me. You probably been painting longer than me.
Your turn. (the caps lock is on the left hand side of the keyboard sir)
   

lft1964 Wednesday, May 4th, 2005 | 1:47 pm PST
i have to stick up for mark . so to going home:

i've been playing for a long time and have yet to find a friendlier field owner than mark. he is honest, personable and straight forward.

i have seen many different types of markers from the latest angels and dm's down to pump guns shoot the field paint with no problem. i would suggest you check your detents and maybe your dwell. check the eyes as well. that might be the problem. is your angle cops or an '05 w/ break beam?. cops with a halo is notorious for paint breakage. what do you feed your markers w/? eggs plain suck, revvies aren't fast enough and halos can push past weak or dirty detents and cause double feeds leading to broken paint.

the tolerances on timmies are for crap. i've seen them chew paint for no apparent reason. temperature and humidity as well as leaving your paint exposed to the sun will cause deformation and inconsitency in size from round to round.

field/rec type paint is generally thicker shelled to help prevent it from breaking in rental markers or lower end markers used by casual and recreational players. so to have it break as much as you say it did in any marker but not other markers in use by other players that day (you failed to mention if everyone was having an issue or if it was just you) leads me to believe that your gear has the issue, not the paint.

i have shot marks paint through stock barreled ions, stiffie kitted bushys, various mags and pump guns w/ no more breakage than i have gotten from other more expensive and supposedly high end paint. i have gone entire days of play with no breaks at all.

10$ for air may be more than other fields, but the fills are consitently good here and the low price of paint and great customer service more than compensates for an extra 5$ imho. i get 4500 fills in various sized tanks nearly everytime i fill up and have never been told my air would be limited for any reason and have never heard mark tell anyone that. i think his explanation is reasonable .
i also own a scuba but don't bring it to fields since all all day air gives much more consitent fills. you'd need a casdcade of scubas to get that result and you'd never get a 4500 fill off of one because 4500 psi scubas are not availabe to the general public if they even exist. the highest is 3300 psi iirc. basically, i'd much rather pay 10$ for great fills than lug around a scuba that gives lower and lower fills everytime you use it.
do you really expect a scuba to run an angel and a timmie all day? thats just not going to happen if you throw a decent amount of paint at 35-60 psi behind each ball shot.

i've also learned over the years that blaming paint is the thing to do all the way from the newest rec baller to the most seasoned tourney veteran. i think you have a case of operator error going on with your markers my friend.

i do agree that 3$ for paper towels is high, i didn't realize they were that much. but, i bring a couple old towels and just wash them with the rest of my gear. if your counting your pennies to that extent, try that. thier better than paper towels anyway. also, it's marks shop. he can charge anything he wants. you have no obligation to buy it. also being better prepared for a day of play pays good dividends in the long and short run.

you think tourney players don't break much paint? think again. i've been on the field with some serious dudes and have seen pro teched markers litterally drip.

so, get educated, get some experience, quit believeing the hype and just play. don't hack on one of the few good people in this game. he DOES NOT deserve it.
Last edited on Wednesday, May 4th, 2005 at 1:49 pm PST
   

Mark Herndon Wednesday, May 4th, 2005 | 6:12 pm PST
Who ever you are, thanks lft1964.

Look I found the cap lock!!
THANKS (GOING HOME)
   

SoulFire Friday, May 6th, 2005 | 9:21 am PST
Well said Lee ^^^
   

Hardtime Thursday, May 12th, 2005 | 10:11 am PST
I totally agree with the positives and "lft1964" said it right I bring my own towel(s) and paper towels as well as tools. Mark just has them for those that don't think ahead as that is not his primary business and he probably has to go to a regular store to buy them and resale them. I tell you what, if I every see you please run down to whatever store you want and bring me some paper towels at the store cost (forget the gas, personal time as that will be considered a donation).

I have never had any problems with Mark or any of his staff and as a matter of fact they are very helpful. I have seen many a person at the chrono area use up more than a bottle or 2 of air trying to figure out what is wrong with their marker and have never ever seen anyone talked to about the air usuage. As a matter of fact the staff or regulars always check to see if they can help and Mark has always been on hand to quickly help people. I have even heard people scolding themselves or being scolded by their friends saying "Why didn't I have him fix it in the first place" after Mark fixed their marker.

I have not been playing too long as longevity goes but I have played quite a bit and I am a very fast learner. I have been to several other fields in the area including all of the ones you have mentioned and NONE of them are as friendly and helpfull as Mark and his crew. As far as the prices his are better or at least on par with the area. He has to make a living and his priority is saftey and that everyone enjoys themselves.

As far as the paint you might want to look at your marker or do some reading online (or wherever) and actually figure out what is your real problem. (Maybe the Mirror :-).

Quite honestly you must of always had problems with reading signs and staying with any guidelines as most fields have them.

The Scuba thing only makes sense if you look at the safety side of it. I do not know if you have ever seen what happens when a pressurized air tank blows by someone who knew or claimed to know what he was doing. I have and the person that it happened to had been welding for over 25 years (how long have you been around) as an occupation and he is no longer with the living and it was even found to be not of his fault.

I have always been a person that does not mind driving and saying what is on my mind. I have been to CFP out on the curve of North Highway 98 in Lakeland Florida and if I lived closer to CFP I would still drive to Battlezone just for the pleasure of being treated as person and not a number. Then you mention the all around facilities and prices it is a no brainer BattleZone wins hands down.
Last edited on Thursday, May 12th, 2005 at 10:54 am PST
   

cockerboy1 Friday, September 23rd, 2005 | 7:15 pm PST
I love battle zone. They have good feilds and very nice employees.What im trying to say is GOING HOME kiss my ass
   

bakerskater124 Wednesday, February 1st, 2006 | 7:20 pm PST
i haven't played here b4 but i plan on it soon. sounds like a good place.
   

Post a Comment
Please log in to your account to post a comment.

Not a member yet? Sign up now for free!

Return to the Reviews

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media