paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Comments on Howlin' Mad's Review / Comments on Howlin' Mad's Review / Comments on Howlin' Mad's Review / Comments on Howlin' Mad's Review / Comments on Howlin' Mad's Review

Comments on Howlin' Mad's Review

Jump to the Comments  |  Post a Comment  |  Dispute this Review  |  Return to the Reviews

Howlin' Mad Thursday, June 2nd, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
Just once
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
Sherwood Forest- Exponentially Better
Review: Basically dont go here. You cant play here without dropping a 100$. Their rule about having to purchase field paint is bad considering the cheapest paint to buy is those Fire Foxes. Those are worse than Wild Streaks. Out of 2000 we broke 25. I know how you can turn in unused paint and get a "Paint Pass" but after a day youll never want to play here again. The staff are rude for one. The "Pro Shop" is a joke. Its just some cheap stuff on some hooks. Ref's do NOTHING the whole game. Even then they take like a half-hour between games to do...... something. I have no idea what they do in that time. NOBODY chrono's. I mean NOBODY. The refs tell you to go after the saftey briefing but NOBODY does. The fields arent bad its just that assulting the forts is pointless because they are so strong. The Zulu field is bad because one bunker controls the whole field. The Hornets just come in to random games their not even part of like in the case of our private game. They just walked into our PRIVATE game like they own the place. All-in-all its an expensive, unprofessional, downright dangerous field. Trust me GO TO SHERWOOD FOREST.
 

Review Comments
freetheflow Thursday, June 2nd, 2005 | 9:26 pm PST
wow just wow. everyone chronos and i mean everyone. bases are hard to deffend. bases are useless no one over goes in one and if you do you get destroyed
   

coyote Friday, June 3rd, 2005 | 7:24 pm PST
Funny ...

Sherwoods prices are higher on paint and exactly the same for everything else.

Everyone chronos. Games are held up so that everyone is chronoed and safe. the chronos by the shack are for player to dial their guns in. there are chronos at both teams starting points , and everyone has to use them.

if your private group was using field rentals they didn't have to chrono because the guns were already dialed in.

Don't insult everyones intelligence, it is transparent.

   

PB_Time Monday, June 6th, 2005 | 9:04 am PST
Isn't it ironic to hear comments like this...

Okay Howling Mad. Paintball is not cheap. If you have never done it before, and have no equipment, you need to rent everything. Well...that can add up on the pocket book. For example:

Entry =$20
Gun Rental (not the lowest price gun) = $30
Case of Fox (Paint) = $54

So I have substantiated your point. So let's go to another park. Please tell me what the costs are to play there with the same requirements? I am really interested to hear how it is much cheaper. You still need paint, so add that in where ever you get it.

In your analysis, please include the pricing and location of your paint purchase. Include online, at store ...if online, include the cost of shipping and risk of being wet/broken.

30 minutes between games. Lets do the math: You say 30 minutes between games. Games are 30 minutes long - max. First game is about 9:30am, 45 minutes for lunch and they end at 4pm, or a total of 5.5-6 hours of playable time. With your math, they only play 5-6 games. That is interesting as they get about 5-6 games before lunch, and there is another 3+ hours of play after lunch.

Now, if you are shot early in the game, you may have 30 minutes to wait before the next game. Please help me understand what you mean. I could be wrong.

You say you had a private game. Was this all day? If you had a private game, you would not be subject to the general play of all walk-on's and can play at your own pace. You pay an extra fee for a private group, did you pay this? Did your private group wait 30 minutes between games? Hmmmm... Again help me out.

Do not discuss safety at the park unless you can substantiate it a little better. Though some players "may" slip through the chrono, ALL players must go through a line to the chrono prior to entering the base/fort in which everyone must start from within. Rentals do not need to chrono. The staff, Hornets and other customer/players extend themselves as responsible people and tell players to plug their guns, goggle rule, etc.

Enough from me. I am very interested to get your feedback.
   

freetheflow Monday, June 13th, 2005 | 7:21 pm PST
owned
   

heff213 Saturday, July 2nd, 2005 | 10:05 pm PST
Dude, you're trippin. Only rental guns don't have to chrono. Face it, paint is expensive no matter where you go, cheap paint doesn't perform at all. Safety?! Dude I've ben playing there for eight years now, the worst I have seen is a sprained ankle. Dude you are so trippin'!
   

cheese707 Thursday, July 7th, 2005 | 12:12 pm PST
Next time if you have any problems report them to myself, or any of the staff at the shack. You only went once so maybe you had a bad experience, but at least in mine, that sort of thing rarely ever happens, and if it does, we correct it as soon as it is reported. So give us another chance before you go giving bad reviews based on the one time you played there. And on top of that, Sherwood is a garbage field.
   

prfctwave Monday, July 11th, 2005 | 10:31 pm PST
NIce call cheese. I happen to have played with carpet quite a few times, and this guy is probably the most honorable sportsmen i have had the pleasure of playing with. And that means alot, cosidering iv'e been playing with another one of the old Iron Men for about a year now. Goes to show you, the kid plays the field once, with a total of 6 months experience, and all of a sudden he is reffing for NPPL! HaH!
   

straightshootin Friday, July 22nd, 2005 | 12:21 pm PST
The only thing i have to say on this matter is that the hornets do SUCK!! They all cheat and they make the game no fun to everyone who plays by the rules, I guess no body explained to the hornets that when a ball hits you, that doesn't mean to start shooting back, it means your out and that you need to leave the game. Other than that, the cost of the field is average and everyone else besides the hornets are cool.
   

PB_Time Saturday, July 23rd, 2005 | 9:22 pm PST
StraightShootin -

You did a better review here, except you again made absolutes. "They all cheat". Ahhh...I guess you must be right because you said so.

Do any of the walk-ons cheat, or are they perfect?

I was not there, but you may have an issue with a bad Hornet or two. I know I have issues with a couple Hornets...but not all. Most are not only fair, but very helpful to everyone.
   

Post a Comment
Please log in to your account to post a comment.

Not a member yet? Sign up now for free!

Return to the Reviews

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media