paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Comments on CapnMorganXX's Review / Comments on CapnMorganXX's Review / Comments on CapnMorganXX's Review / Comments on CapnMorganXX's Review / Comments on CapnMorganXX's Review

Comments on CapnMorganXX's Review

Jump to the Comments  |  Post a Comment  |  Dispute this Review  |  Return to the Reviews

CapnMorganXX Saturday, July 2nd, 2005
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion below.
Period of
Field Use:
Just once
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
68 caliber, Battlezone, Mohawk, Cannon, Xtremez, fields in North Carolina, Florida, and PA. But mainly local ohio area.
Review: Extremely extremely expensive for what you get. A group of us had a horrible experience at splatterpark our first time out at the field. A lady working the cash area tried to cheat us on multiple occassions: first, attempted to cheat us out of $10 in change which we were due, and after we spoke up THREE TIMES we finally recieved the proper change. Secondly, she blatently tried to give us wrek elite paint which she had attempted to sell us, but we had bought the next grade of paint. She walked over to the wrek elite box, bagged it up, and we just barely saw what kind of paint she was giving, we called her bluff, and she INSTANTLY knew we knew what she was doing, and went to get us the correct paint that we had purchased. That was only the first of many issues of the field (and we hadnt even started actual play yet). Other issues include the COST. Way way overpriced for everything. They even check your hopper multiple times for field paint. Refs are completely useless, and only serve the purpose of screwing things up. Woods fields have very very few clear shooting lanes. Mound and speedball fields are nice, but poorly kept. I really really stress that everything is overpriced. They were very concerned about the unimportant things such as field paint only, while ignoring important safety issues such as velocity. They also do not give you the actual box with the field paint. They pile the paint on top of each other and dent the balls. The employees for the most part were very shady. One even attempted to listen in on my phone conversation as I told friends about the field. The same woman who had attempted to cheat us on both money and paint stared us down the entire time we were at our car throughout the day. I reccommend that you avoid this field like the plague. There are much better deals in the area, with much nicer and more competent staff.
 

Review Comments
inside_man13 Monday, July 4th, 2005 | 3:46 pm PST
was there anything you liked?
   

inside_man13 Monday, July 4th, 2005 | 3:51 pm PST
also how are the fields poorly keep?
   

CapnMorganXX Friday, July 8th, 2005 | 3:10 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by inside_man13
was there anything you liked?

I enjoyed the mounds fields..thats about it. The fields are poorly kept. There is a large quantity of brush in the wooded fields. Very few clear shooting lanes.
Last edited on Friday, July 8th, 2005 at 3:11 pm PST
   

mass.casualties Monday, July 25th, 2005 | 9:41 am PST
For my own curiosity do you remember the name of the fields that you feel had to much brush... I have played on all the fields, I have no affiliation with Splatter park. As for Brush... It's woodsball.

Although I guess everyone has what they like. I personally Love there woodsball fields.
   

kkm296 Sunday, January 22nd, 2006 | 4:24 pm PST
Dispute:
Some of the facts in his review are blatantly wrong. The containers that the different types of paint are kept in are not labeled. They tell them apart by the different colors. They are not in boxes because they are bought in bulk from the manufacturer. How could the lady be looking at him when the parking lot is behind the registration building? There is no way she could be looking at him in the parking lot. Please delete this bogus review. It is incredibly biased, and probably written by the owner of a competing Field.
   

CapnMorganXX Sunday, February 19th, 2006 | 1:52 pm PST
I'm not the owner of a competing field. On the weekend we were there, we parked directly between the building and speedball fields, adjacent to the snack bar area. kkm296 is affilated with the field, as I was confronted about it while shopping at splatterparks store, CO paintball. CO takes advantage of newbies who dont know the proper price rates of paintball, as does their store. The review stands as stated. Dont waste your time and money at splatterpark. Head south to cannon, or 15 min north to 68 caliber for a paintball experience that wont take advantage of your wallet.
   

kkm296 Monday, February 20th, 2006 | 4:09 pm PST
Wow. Your ignorance amazes me.
First. I'm not affiliated with Splatterpark. Don't believe me? Call Splatter park or CO paintball and ask if they employ anyone with the initials "kkm." I just happen to have lots of conversations with lots of NICE referees. Maybe you should try talking to people in a civilized manner, which I can tell you probably have trouble with.
Secondly. I have never confronted to anyone at CO paintball, let alone talk to many people besides the owner and techs.
Third. You say "I'm not the owner of a competing field." I have a very hard time believing this.
What do you have against these companies?
   

omenballerrr91 Saturday, March 18th, 2006 | 10:46 am PST
quote:
Originally posted by CapnMorganXX
Dont waste your time and money at splatterpark.



Im with him^ splatterpark is a waste of $$$$
   

fireguy830 Monday, April 3rd, 2006 | 6:22 pm PST
I've been reading a lot of reviews for Ohio paintball fields here on pbreview. I've seen this idiot making posts like this on a few of them. CapnMorgan needs to get a life. I've played splatter park and had none of the problems this moron is talking about.
   

DeathbyION Friday, April 7th, 2006 | 1:26 pm PST
What I can say about these comments is that they are way off.
capnmorgans issues one at a time

1) expensive- 50 bucks for 2000 balls, 2 air fills, lunch )2hot dogs(, and the field fee. Hop on the phone and start calling the other places listed on PBR. I have called more than 20 fields )I travel and camp( nearly all fields require field paint only and the ones that don't usually charge you a fee for carry on paint. Very few parks offer any form of package deal splatter park does though

2) the lady behind the counter. unfortunately my friend and I have had some trouble with pricing from her last year but not anyone else. The trouble we where having is that he is a season member and I just pay as I go... usually I buy the package for 50 bucks and he gets a case of balls. What we do is he always pays with his Discover card to get the stupid Discover points and I pay him back cash. What happen, she tried to charge me the field fee $17 + tax bucks and then 2 cases of paint a the normal price of $45 + tax the total was around $115. It should have been 50 + tax for me and 40 + tax for my friend for a total of $96 bucks. (She didn't seem to understand this) It took a bit of explaining but we got it straighten out. I haven't seen her at the front counter the last several times I have been out. Only at the Concession stand. which does face the speedball field and main parking area. Last year she was in the concession stand most of the time. I have nothing bad to say about her. this is only my opinion... I think she is part of the family that lives in the house and owns the land and only comes down when they need help. She may or may not like the whole thing and just do it to help out. LIKE FAMILY is supposed to do!. Only my opinion no facts in that last piece.
3) paint - The only time I saw the normal paint boxes was the big game and the paint is very easily defined. Wrek elite is a dull red and yellow shell, PMI Premium is the shiny red and yellow shell, and Blaze is the dull darker red and yellow shell. (there are other types there but those are the only ones I have bought and shot. I have gotten there early before and watched them take the paint out of the boxes and put it on easier to carry bag. I asked why they don't leave it in the boxes and they said because when they did they would end up with empty boxes all over the staging area at the end of the day. If you ask they will give you a plastic tub to protect your balls.

4) the refs - for the most part the refs are easy going. the big problems with this refs is that they don't like to leave people behind so you end up waiting for people sometimes. sometimes they just leave people but not often enough. in the 8 or 9 times i have played here I have only seen one ref step on his soap box and try to play god. the worst part is sometimes they make up stupid games but hey everyone has bad ideas you just got to tell them you don't like the games. enough people do that and they will get the hint. Mask safety has never been a problem. last year velocity was but they started putting chronos in the field and checking the whole group randomly. I have seen them check a 1 guy they thought was shooting hot and he was.

my experience at splatter park has been good and after calling around the price is easily competitive and in most cases less than I would pay somewhere else.
   

CapnMorganXX Saturday, April 22nd, 2006 | 2:03 pm PST
I'm sorry that you all are so ignorant that you don't know what a good field is. I play for the Ohio State University tournament paintball team, and have been to many fields around the country, most recently, xdrenaline zone in Dallas Texas, I have seen what a quality paintball facility is. If you so enjoy Splatterpark, continue playing there, but keep in mind that they make their money from newbie rec players, not seasoned tournament players. Hence the reason Splatterpark does not set up their Sup-Air Field on a regular basis. Players of even the slightest bit of talent that aren't into the whole woodsball thing, again, avoid Splatterpark, due to the aforementioned reasons
   

PF_Nut Wednesday, April 26th, 2006 | 8:09 am PST
I think the prices are ok if you get the membership which is 125 bucks, not bad I dont think for a season. I've spent twice that for a pair of good baseball tickets and that's just one game to sit and watch! With the membership you no longer pay out the 17 bucks a pop and the paint prices are less, 40 for wrek, 50 for premium if you want to shoot an entire case every weekend that is. Since flying to Dallas every weekend isnt an option we'll play where we can and do the best to our ability with it. Splatterpark isnt that bad, I had a bad day out on their fall big game but I feel it was mostly just me, nothing the staff did wrong. Although communication was a bit bad since half the time I didnt know where the action was till I walked out there. THat's just the big game days though, and there's only two per year. I'll probably be going back to play there more often this summer, 68 caliber field is ok but I've been there three times so far this spring and the only time there were more than 5 people there was when I brought my friends. Besides my group there wasnt ANYONE else until after 1pm when 4 guys walked on and played just one game with us. I'd rather pay a little more with field paint only to have some people to play against than run around with 2 people on each team all day.
   

Post a Comment
Please log in to your account to post a comment.

Not a member yet? Sign up now for free!

Return to the Reviews

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media