paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Comments on fishballer06's Review / Comments on fishballer06's Review / Comments on fishballer06's Review / Comments on fishballer06's Review / Comments on fishballer06's Review

Comments on fishballer06's Review

Jump to the Comments  |  Post a Comment  |  Dispute this Review  |  Return to the Reviews

fishballer06 Wednesday, July 13th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
Just once
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Hot Shots............................a terrible indoor field
68 Caliber Open plays......a nice cheap field with all the locals, anti kman lol
Stonemak............................the worlds best indoor field, play here if anywhere in PA
Review: Skirmish was terrible, i've playing a quite a few tourneys in my time so far, skirmish was absoluly terrible, my team showed up for the 5 man young gunz tourney on june 18th, there were 29 teams in 3 divisions, entry was $100 per team, not bad, paint, was $99 a case plus tax, 5 or more cases was $85 plus tax, 12 or more cases was $72 plus tax ($77), the whole tax part was very stupid IMO, because our sponsers gave us money for $72 a case which is what they told us the flat rate of what paint would be, so we needed an extra $60 of our own

they advertised that there would be airball and hyperpipe, we show up and there is only hyperpipe, second of all, the field was only mowed out in the open parts, all the grass within 5 feet of the bunkers was about foot high weeds, second of all, the field was about 100 yards from the staging area, it wasn't the best field setup either in that there was no key bunkers that you needed to take

second of all, the referees were bad too, they missed calls, the one game one of my teamates got shot in the grill, went the deadbox, they pulled his armband, then didn't count him as eliminated on the score sheet, they did this again later in the tourney when we had 2 players eliminated, the one game we watched they yelled out when it was down to 1 on 1, watch that guy that moved up to the 50, when the other player had no idea where he was at, they also weren't right on you when you got hit and but they did respond well to paintchecks, they gave almost no time at the beginning of games to let you turn on your markers and hoppers, they did enforce safety well to players outside the field asking and occasionly yelling to put masks on or get behind the netting, i did not like how refs would turn away from the game and yell at spectators to get behind the netting/put masks on, which lead sometimes to missing eliminations and things, they also did a good job of staying out of the shooting lanes, they didn't stress the speed limits that much and didn't check for bouncing/ramping, which i felt needs to be checked in this day and age

third of all, the prizes were terrible, for what paint costs were and entry fee and the amount of teams they were terrible, i've been to smaller cheaper tourneys they gave out much nicer prizes, first place was 5 pmi 72/30 hpa tanks aluminum (something no one wants) and 5 plaques, second place was 5 pairs of dye atc cleats in size 5-8 (sizes that no one wears) and 5 plaques, third place was 5 jerseys, (this is what my team got) the jerseys were 2001 jt premier jerseys, all in XXL size, these are very ugly jerseys and oversized for anyone under 250 lbs and we also got 5 plaques (who seriously wants that?), fourth place was 5 off brand 4+1 packs (which is something anyone who gets 4th of 29 already has way better of) and 5 plaques, what made this even worse was, when we were in line to get our prizes they told the second place team they could trade their cleats in at the pro shop (which was 10 miles away) for there own sizes, and they told us the same about our jerseys, we got to the shop and they said they would no exchange

another rip off was, most of the people working there did not know anything about paintball, they were just people off the streets hired to work there who didn't know what they were doing

skirmish ripped everyone off at this tournament by giving away items that no ones wants to or can have, or team spent and couple hundred dollars to drive 350 miles round trip and to stay overnight and we got something we will never wear, and so did many other teams

don't go to skirmish if you plan to do any tourney playing, maybe if you want to plays some woods or scenario but thats it, skirmish is SOOO overated in my mind now, i've heard/read/seen so much of skirmsih and i'm very disappointed, please, don't support skirmish, go to stonemak or the new all american park, skirmish is not the place to be
Last edited on Wednesday, July 13th, 2005 at 10:33 pm PST
 

Review Comments
eric mac Thursday, July 14th, 2005 | 11:10 am PST
wow sum1 agrees with me taht skirmish is too expensive and sucks
   

predator23 Monday, July 18th, 2005 | 12:40 pm PST
This team was a bunch of babies. They cried about how the refs blew their player's position during their last game, but they didn't want to talk about how their supporters and teammates were yelling from behind the mesh, which in real tournament play is at least a 2 man pull.

Here's the thing. This team was the biggest whiners ALL DAY. They cried about this or that pretty much every game. They were the guys who cried all during the game "check him check him check him, I got him I got him I got him" Blah blah blah. No other teams really had problems on our field, but these guys. Nothing was good enough, no call was made quick enough. They're just the guys who aren't satisfied with anything, even when they cheat to try to win.

Paint checks? During a tourney? You show me one NPPL or GPL tourney where the refs have to respond to paint checks? You've got teams who yell "I got him check him check him check him" every second of a 10 minute game, how can you listen to paint checks? Be realistic you simpleton.

Speed checks? We checked 2 guys each game from each team and sometimes checked guys during the game if we thought they were hot. We deducted PLENTY of points for hot guns.

There is some merit to this post. There was an airball field advertised, and the prizes were cheesy, but the entire post comes from the most immature team in the tournament. The kids playing with rental guns had more sense than these guys.

They cried and cried about how the ref marked their players position in the last game, but their guys were yelling from behind the mesh to players on the field, which is blatant cheating and is just a sorry immature cheap thing to do.

   

marauder862 Monday, July 18th, 2005 | 5:13 pm PST
uh bud i think you have the wrong team we wernt the team complaining abotu the 50 call wasnt our team how were we immature when we said good game to every team even the ones we lost to

EDIT: i like the plaques better than other tourneys they usually give you 1 trophy but they gave us 5 plaques for every one
Last edited on Monday, July 18th, 2005 at 5:18 pm PST
   

predator23 Tuesday, July 19th, 2005 | 5:31 am PST
quote:
Originally posted by marauder862
uh bud i think you have the wrong team we wernt the team complaining abotu the 50 call wasnt our team how were we immature when we said good game to every team even the ones we lost to

EDIT: i like the plaques better than other tourneys they usually give you 1 trophy but they gave us 5 plaques for every one


For one thing saying "good game" doesn't make you mature. But if you weren't that team of babies I apologize. Those cheaters deserve no mercy. Also, on the play you're talking about, the ref didn't give away the guy's position because the other player KNEW he was there already and had him dead to rights.

Secondly, you could have asked before the tourney what the prizes were and then you wouldn't be whining about their quality.

Thirdly anybody or any team which criticizes refs for enforcing safety above all else are just idiots. Safety first, everything else second.
   

marauder862 Tuesday, July 19th, 2005 | 8:49 pm PST
i dotn have any problems wiht the prizes i liek my jersey i just wanted the 3rd place
   

pez9512 Wednesday, July 20th, 2005 | 11:30 am PST
Hey, Predator, I think you and I finally agree on something! The person who made that post just souns like a whinny little jerk. He's complaining that Skirmish charges tax! If he has a problem with tax, then he shound complain to his State Rep or the Governor, not Skirmish. But I can't say much more beyond that, I don't attend tourneys. For me, paintball is for fun, not money.
   

marauder862 Thursday, July 21st, 2005 | 7:39 am PST
not many places charge take (skirm was the first places ive ever seen charge tax) its not like they need more money there practicly getting 60 bucks off a case in profit
   

pez9512 Wednesday, July 27th, 2005 | 11:18 am PST
OK, Marauder, you need to know how things work. Skirmish doesn't charge tax, the state of Pennsylvania charges tax... its the law! You seem to think that the tax is collected by Skirmish as a source of income. Its not! The tax money is collected by Skirmish and then turned over to the IRS every April 15. They have to. Skirmish has no choice in this matter. Again, if you don't like the tax laws, then might I suggest contacting your state Rep.
   

fishballer06 Sunday, February 12th, 2006 | 10:02 am PST
quote:
Originally posted by predator23


Secondly, you could have asked before the tourney what the prizes were and then you wouldn't be whining about their quality.


we contacted skirmish 3 times asking about prizes and we were told that we would find out the day of the tourney

i understand that PA charges tax but i have played a couple other different fields before and none of them charged tax, it was just like straight up $50 or whatever
   

Post a Comment
Please log in to your account to post a comment.

Not a member yet? Sign up now for free!

Return to the Reviews

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media