paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Comments on deadbox_88's Review / Comments on deadbox_88's Review / Comments on deadbox_88's Review / Comments on deadbox_88's Review / Comments on deadbox_88's Review

Comments on deadbox_88's Review

Jump to the Comments  |  Post a Comment  |  Dispute this Review  |  Return to the Reviews

deadbox_88 Saturday, October 15th, 2005
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion below.
Period of
Field Use:
Just once
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
velocity paintball park, which is way better, but only thing wrong is that the refs get lazy.
Review: camp pendleton paintball park has great fields for woodsballers. trenches, tree bunkers, plywoods, the whole 9 yards for woodsball.


PROS~~~~~
-fields look wonderfull
-autococker rentals

CONS~~~~~
-STAFF IS IMPOLITE, RUDE, MAYBE EVEN RACIST
-CLAIMS THAT RESERVATION IS REQUIRED FOR WEEKEND WALKONS, WHILE WEBSITE CLAIMS THAT PLAYING AS A WALK ON PLAYER DOES NOT REQUIRE YOU TO MAKE RESERVATIONS.


in order to back up my claims, it is important that you read the following. i wish i could rate with negative numbers some times.



the website claims that walk on players do not need to make reservations on the weekend. however, as soon as we got there, a staff member resembling the west coast choppers guy treated us with disrespect, telling us that we would have needed to reserve. the link here--->

http://www.cppaintball.com/prices.html

shows that reservations are only required for private groups.

we also called in advance, asking whether we would need to make reservations for these so called "walk on games" and were told "no".





if it were up to me, i would have the people running the place fired and have nice and experienced paintballers run the place. people paintball to have fun, not to be turned down and have to drive for another hour looking for velocity paintball park.

 

Review Comments
crosscobra Thursday, November 10th, 2005 | 8:47 pm PST
Dispute:
i play trhere every weekend sat and sunday the staff are great and have never once been rasicst or anything.... so this guy is way wrong
   

Theguynextdoor Friday, November 11th, 2005 | 6:42 pm PST
Dispute:
Ok first of they are not racist and YOU DO NOT need Reservations for walk on play and the choppers guy is not disrespectful to anyone unless people are saying sh*t about him or the park. Also ive been going there since i started paintballing and ive never needed reservations and ive come by myself and with groups up to thirty people yes 30 maybe you were an @ss and had gotten complants before you even started to play so they wanted you to leave.

MAYBE YOU SHOULD STOP PAINTBALLING BECAUSE UNLESS YOU ADMIT TO BEING A LIAR STOP PAINTBALLING FOR THE GOOD OF ALL
   

deadbox_88 Monday, November 21st, 2005 | 5:30 pm PST
uhmm. i dont hink its rerally nessescary to call me an "@$$". but im telling the truth. they may not be racist, but they did say that we needed to make a reservation on a saturday. and we just thought "what the hell?". you are right about not needing a reservation for walk on. after all, it is called "walk on". so maybe youre the @$$ for saying i was being a dick when i got there because we got out of the car, waited in line, then were told we needed a reservation after they let in about 10 walk on players. plus, why would i need to lie about this kind of situation? only a real @$$ would do that.
   

crosscobra Wednesday, November 23rd, 2005 | 5:34 pm PST
well unless ur were dumb enough to show up on a weekday ( which i could u doing) then u are just plain stupid and a newb...
   

deadbox_88 Wednesday, November 30th, 2005 | 8:33 am PST
since when is saturday a weekday? douchebag
   

crosscobra Thursday, December 1st, 2005 | 9:14 pm PST
well u must be the real dumb a$$ cause u can't even make a half desnce reiview on a pb field... just stop playing....cause u are killing the sport by giving back reviews... or just kill urself one of the two
   

woodsy 1 Thursday, January 5th, 2006 | 8:45 pm PST
All of you need to go back to school and learn how to spell. You continue to criticize each other and neither one of you dumb asses can put a simple sentence together. Maybe both of you should go back to school so you know which day it is that you visited the field and the other should learn how to write a comment that makes sense.
Peace to all and lets go have fun....
   

deadbox_88 Monday, January 16th, 2006 | 2:22 pm PST
first of all, im not a newb, and i've been playing paintball for 6 years. ive been to scvillage, mr paintball, velocity, jungle island, pirates grove[a long time ago], and a few others around socal. my bad experience at pendleton is not at all a lie. im 23, and i go to UCSD, so i consider myself a mature adult. there is no reason for me to lie about this, and i stick by my story. i swear by it in fact.

i understand that pendleton is probably your guys' homefield and all - so youre defending it, but please dont discredit my complaint, because i lived it. no exaggerations, no lies, nothing.

we were simply turned away over some bogus crap. and it was just ridiculous. i called them that same SATURDAY morning before we left, and asked if they took walk-ins, and they said yes. we got there and they were shuffling through papers asking if we turned in an online registration. and we said NO, you said on the phone it was walk-in ok for the day, but still we were turned away. luckily velocity took us, i called them after we left and they said it was bad business practice, and it was bs.. which was true. either way, we had a pretty good day of play at velocity.

im glad you guys like pendleton. but MY experience was just not as impressive or pleasing to me. sorry if you guys dont wanna hear it, but the truth hurts i guess. please, stop being tools, esp cobra and theguynext door. i swear by my story.
Last edited on Monday, January 16th, 2006 at 2:23 pm PST
   

ihavegermancamo Tuesday, February 14th, 2006 | 6:29 pm PST
that still doesnt explain how the staff at camp pendleton was racist towards you idiot
   

deprivedsoldier Tuesday, March 7th, 2006 | 5:36 pm PST
Deadbox 88 you're a noob. a real genuine piece of work. I go to Camp Pendleton Paintball Course every single weekend. you need to reserve a "private party" which is what you were looking for, to play with you and your family. "walk-ons" means you walk on, and play with the people that show up.. to play publically. you're an idiot for misunderstanding the situation of what Camp Pendleton had in store. It's not their fault you don't know what you're doing, or talking about. you should probably play at velocity for the rest of your life.. and let the real players play at CP, so they don't have to deal with retards like yourself.


_deprivedsoldier
   

marmot Thursday, April 6th, 2006 | 3:16 am PST
Calm down everyone, this is real simple....

CP do NOT require reservations for walk-on, period. I've been going there regularly, know the owners and their policy and have even seen teams of 10+ turn-up for walk-on and get in.

Now I'm not going to dispute that you, deadbox_88 were told that you needed reservations, only because I wasn't there. And everyone else crying "liar" ain't going to help either.

It's just that your experience doesn't match the reality that regulars, like me, know to be true. Because of that, many people seem to be understandably doubting your word: can we be sure you didn't get into some misunderstanding?

Also, your comment on racism: I've never experienced it there, but again, you have to understand that regulars know this place to cool as far as that is concerned. Again, without our knowing what was said, can we be sure there wasn't a misunderstanding?

Furthermore, that's a really serious allegation and one, if unsubstantiated, can get you on the wrong end of a law suit, so please be careful.

At a minimum, your comments seem very uncharacteristic of the field and misrepresentative of experience of a majority of people who go there (even if is true that someone told you that), so you'll have to live with the dispute. And no, I'm not so in love with this field that I'd defend it unconditionally (porta-toilets, no food, variable quality of some refs/rules enforcement, etc.)

But frankly, and with respect, your comments just don't add up. What I have seen in the past, albeit at different places, are rules "magically" changing when an owner perceives that he/she is not being respected/being treated poor/getting unwarranted complaints/whingeing or just generally having to deal with a ***** of a customer.

Sometimes it's justified, sometimes it's not, but when it happens, the time tested phrase "Management reserves the right to refuse entry to anyone..." get's wheeled out. And guess what: Management does have the right.

Are you really sure you didn't get into a heated dispute that ended in insults being traded and your being told you'd need to phone ahead again in future? Was it that you actually did expect to have your own private session without booking in advance and got justifiable disdain from them when you were persistent on the matter?

So far, that's the only theory that seems to add up here, but I'm open to others....

And everyone else: is it so difficult for us to show a little respect, if only self-respect, even in dispute? If you truly believe the comments are wrong, you only serve to dignify them when you bring yourself down to the level of cheap insults.

D.

----------------------------------
"Never argue with an idiot, because from a distance, it'll be difficult to tell you apart." (anon)
Last edited on Wednesday, April 19th, 2006 at 10:25 am PST
   

someone_03 Saturday, April 15th, 2006 | 1:25 am PST
I totally agree with Marmot, there's no need for name calling over such a trivial misunderstanding.

Deadbox_88, I also go to UCSD and to tell you the truth, not everyone there is mature. Yes, many are book-smart, but when it comes to the real world, some can be as immature as the next guy/gal.

In the case of your experience, I would say that you jumped the gun on the whole racist idea. If you did intend to private play, then naturally he was right. If not, then he probably could have turned you down due to reasons OTHER then race (behavior, space, etc.). I've been there with my cousins (asian), and my african american friend a couple times, and there was no racism at all. In fact, the staff even helped me with my marker when it was having problems, free of charge.

So, lets just all get along...at least until were on opposing teams ;-)
   

Paintballprvate Thursday, April 20th, 2006 | 3:17 pm PST
Some of what Dead box is saying is right

Some of the staff members are total jerks

And I did need a reservation but it was a private group (15 or more people who don't want to play with the people that live at this place and know where every dandilion in every field is).

"That's all I got to say about that" - Forrest Gump

   

marmot Friday, April 21st, 2006 | 6:58 am PST
quote:
Originally posted by Paintballprvate
Some of what Dead box is saying is right

Some of the staff members are total jerks


Can't comment on that, never experienced it myself....

quote:
And I did need a reservation but it was a private group (15 or more people who don't want to play with the people that live at this place and know where every dandilion in every field is).

...and your point is? That the policy that they make clear on their website is indeed enforced? And that makes deadbox_88 right how exactly?

I'm sorry, but I don't see your point sir/madam. CPP's policy on this is very clear and anybody who turns up at any field without asking ahead about policy is taking a risk. It's rather like saying you turned up to Angel Stadium for a sold-out game and were turned away because you hadn't bought a ticket in advance. Did I miss something?

Some of what he says is right? I make it one point, possibly, so far.

I'm not trying to rag on you personally, but the whole point of these comments is to allow a balanced view, if someone submits unfair reviews or comments. I fail to see how db88 is substantially, or even partially right, and frankly that's not fair to the field or to readers wanting to understand what this field is like.

   

Paintballprvate Friday, April 21st, 2006 | 12:19 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by marmot


Can't comment on that, never experienced it myself....



...and your point is? That the policy that they make clear on their website is indeed enforced? And that makes deadbox_88 right how exactly?

I'm sorry, but I don't see your point sir/madam. CPP's policy on this is very clear and anybody who turns up at any field without asking ahead about policy is taking a risk. It's rather like saying you turned up to Angel Stadium for a sold-out game and were turned away because you hadn't bought a ticket in advance. Did I miss something?

Some of what he says is right? I make it one point, possibly, so far.

I'm not trying to rag on you personally, but the whole point of these comments is to allow a balanced view, if someone submits unfair reviews or comments. I fail to see how db88 is substantially, or even partially right, and frankly that's not fair to the field or to readers wanting to understand what this field is like.



The Part where Dead box said they were RACIST is not really true, just that they make fun of you, especially if there is something odd wrong with your gun, then they start ragging on you about things like "how the hell did you do this" stupid stuff like that.

The point I am making is that Deadbox is right about the fact that you need a reservation in order to play with a private group. He was right about that you do need one. Everyone was yelling at Deadbox when he said you needed at reservation. I was just saying that I needed a reservation

My point, Marmot, is that many of the statements that Deadbox made were correct. They were fact. That's all i was trying to say. I didn't mean to confuse you I was just trying to back up Deadbox's comments.
Last edited on Friday, April 21st, 2006 at 12:20 pm PST
   

marmot Friday, April 21st, 2006 | 1:00 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by Paintballprvate

The point I am making is that Deadbox is right about the fact that you need a reservation in order to play with a private group. He was right about that you do need one. Everyone was yelling at Deadbox when he said you needed at reservation. I was just saying that I needed a reservation.


First of all, I respect your opinion and courteous manner sir.

Maybe one of us misunderstood, but DB88's original point was that he needed a reservation to play walk-on which is definitely not true. Specifically he said:

'the website claims that walk on players do not need to make reservations on the weekend. however, as soon as we got there, a staff member resembling the west coast choppers guy treated us with disrespect, telling us that we would have needed to reserve.'

He said he was trying to do walk-on with a group of players and was refused. That has never happened and does not make sense. I think most of the commentators suspect him of not telling the whole truth (i.e., that he did expect a private party without a reservation).

I would also like to understand what are 'many' statements that you believe to be true. I understand you don't like the staff behind the counter, and I respect your observation even though I've never witnessed it myself in numerous visits, but what else? Racism? Expecting large walk-on groups to reserve ahead of time (clearly not true).

Again, we need to be fair to other readers (who might be otherwise misinformed by this post) as well as the field.

By the way, if you want to read my review of this field, you'll see I'm not an unconditional fan of this field, but let's at least try to be fair.
   

Paintballprvate Friday, April 21st, 2006 | 2:05 pm PST
Ok,

You are correct, I did miss the part about walk-on reservation and that is my mistake.

But the staff is still very rude, they dropped at least 10 F-bombs in the 30 seconds that I was at the fill station. Just because someone made a mistake in reservation or something like that does not give them the right to just be plain mean.

The fact that the staff is rude is not an opinion. I have read almost every review on this field and I must say that the majority of the reviews stated that the staff is rude.
   

marmot Saturday, April 22nd, 2006 | 7:12 am PST
quote:
Originally posted by Paintballprvate
The fact that the staff is rude is not an opinion. I have read almost every review on this field and I must say that the majority of the reviews stated that the staff is rude.

As I said, I respect your observation, even though I have not experienced it myself. But I fully agree that no-one deserves that sort of behavior and I especially wouldn't appreciate it. I will make a point of reporting this to management if I do hear it.

It is ironic that you and others have observed this, given that the 'safety briefing' almost always stresses a 'no cursing' policy.
   

Paintballprvate Saturday, April 22nd, 2006 | 11:37 am PST
quote:
Originally posted by marmot


As I said, I respect your observation, even though I have not experienced it myself. But I fully agree that no-one deserves that sort of behavior and I especially wouldn't appreciate it. I will make a point of reporting this to management if I do hear it.

It is ironic that you and others have observed this, given that the 'safety briefing' almost always stresses a 'no cursing' policy.


Right the staff stresses no cursing for the PLAYERS not the staff.

_Paintballprvate
   

Post a Comment
Please log in to your account to post a comment.

Not a member yet? Sign up now for free!

Return to the Reviews

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media