paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Comments on thechodeman's Review / Comments on thechodeman's Review / Comments on thechodeman's Review / Comments on thechodeman's Review / Comments on thechodeman's Review

Comments on thechodeman's Review

Jump to the Comments  |  Post a Comment  |  Dispute this Review  |  Return to the Reviews

thechodeman Friday, November 25th, 2005
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion below.
Period of
Field Use:
Just once
Date There: November 19th, 2005
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
Pork Chop Hill, Paint-Games-Plus, Hay Swings
Review: My first visit to Baileys Battlefield was the Toy Drive event in Nov 2005.

The field is a masterpiece of woods ball fun. I'm truly impressed by the amount of work that has obviously been put into the field not to mention that required to maintain such a place. A labor of love to be sure.

Bill was a joy to meet and talk with and playing this field was a far more realistic combat experience than on most fields I've played.

As for the event however, there were serious issues that make me wonder if I'll be returning to this event or perhaps the field again.

In the briefing prior to the first game of the day, Bill admonished us all about playing fairly, keeping tempers in check, having a good time and keeping in mind that this was supposed to be fun for everyone.

It's a damn shame that a great many of those assembled failed to take his instructions to heart!

In my time playing paintball I have never witnessed the amount of outright cheating, whining, poor sportsmanship and player abuse that I saw that Saturday.

Players wiping off hits, (even direct goggle hits), continuing to play and then complaining of being overshot when they got hit a couple more times. (What did they expect?)

One guy actually assaulted another player, (by assault, I mean laid hands on in anger), ripped the hopper from that players marker and called a minor things I won't print here. All this because he thinks he was overshot. Witnesses to this incident say that he had been hit three times at a range of over 20 yards by the player he assaulted. MY GOD! if you can't take getting hit with a few paintballs without committing assault on a minor, (a criminal offense in the state of Missouri I believe), what in the he&% are you doing playing paintball in the first place? WHAT AN ASS!

Why you may ask did all this take place at such an incredibly nice field?

THERE WERE NO REFS AT ALL!!

40 some players and not a ref to be found anywhere on a 40 acre plus field.

WHAT WERE THEY THINKING!!??

To make matters worse, multiple complaints of the rampant cheating and even of the assault resulted in no action being taken at all. None, not a word.

As you would expect, tempers were getting out of hand and patients getting very short by the end of the day.

By the time we left, I was glad the day was over with.

Baileys Battlefield gets a 9+ as a woods ball field. Great layout, varied terrain, well kept and large enough for nearly any type of game, a real joy to play on.

The toy drive/charity event of NOV 19th 2005 however was a complete wreck. So bad was the taste left in my mouth by the events of the day that I was somewhat soured on the field as a whole.

I trust that this kind of behavior is not regularly tolerated at Baileys, (It certainly isn't anywhere else), and that this is not the norm for the field.

Time will tell



Last edited on Friday, November 25th, 2005 at 7:45 pm PST
 

Review Comments
bill bailey Monday, January 2nd, 2006 | 1:10 pm PST
Dispute:
what happened was that the player was overshot and he took the hopper off of the opposing teams player so he would not shoot anymore. this event was set up for a charity game and all the players knew that there would be no refs. it is his word against the others. i repremanded each player and advised him that he can not touch another player he just did not want to get shot any more. i am dissapointed at this players remarks and hope that instead of going straight to a computer and voicing concerns that he would sit back and chill out first. it is a game and players do not need to get shot up to have fun.
   

duckman1 Tuesday, January 3rd, 2006 | 1:01 pm PST
Dispute:
I would like to say that i agree with the field description and to state it is an awsome field to play on BUT the description of the incident is an absolute LIE.
i think this review was made by the "minor" dad and as he was a witness to the incident one would think he could at least have stopped at exaggerating.
I was hit in the back a counted 17 clear bruises on my back fired from five different players at a range of 30feet with only three visible breaks on my shirt. after getting hit i shouted " if you got a guy dead in the back a couple is enough". at this point the minor stepped out from behind his bunker and said " you want a few more". this is when the problem started.

As i walked toward the young man he and his dad started yelling at me not the other way around and I did not use but minor profanity at all in the exchange. there was no physical contact as in i never touched any part of the young mans person with any part of myself or my equipment. i simply walked up and stood "in his face" and remover his hopper from his marker. and told him probably not very nicely that if he wanted it back he could get it from the field owner. and walked off . PERIOD and was closely followed
i walked directly to Bailey handed him the hopper and started to explain the situation but was immediately interrupted . Bailey returned the hopper to stop there cussing tantrum. and listened to what i and the none involved witnessed had to say. And took disciplinary actions

I believe that my actions were justified in this incident and wish that players like these would allow a field to have a friendly fun game day where the refs can play and not spend the event babysitting.

Oh yeah i ref this field most games.guess he forgot to mention that in his rant
once again great field to play awsome bases hope to see everyone out there having fun .
I would also like to say that in my opinion that once an issue is settled at the field that should be the end of it. talk it out get it settled and get back on the field playing your team needs you.
Duck out
Last edited on Tuesday, January 3rd, 2006 at 1:18 pm PST
   

mighty443rd Tuesday, January 3rd, 2006 | 5:28 pm PST
I was there and never seen a group(the group that was whining all day) so challenged. I did not witness this incident but i did witness others that day. And it was funny cause the the same group im talkin about and you guys know who you are,were hangin out at the same truck. I figure that there was a little "COCKEY" Problem. You know "it is possible for a bunch of speedball pros like you guys to get shot. Ive played with a lot of speedball guys and i hang out with alot of them, and your the kind of guys that give them a bad rap..Its sorry we all cant get along,,.
MIGHTY
   

Farmer Monday, January 9th, 2006 | 8:00 pm PST
The actions of the players on the team of the shooter were totally inappropriate, they where rude and had little or no consideration for anyone else on the field not only did they over shoot people I know of them shooting a person point blank in the mask and then started running their mouths. The review that has been posted should be removed it is inappropiate as it is an personnel attack on the field and players there.
Last edited on Monday, January 9th, 2006 at 8:02 pm PST
   

Post a Comment
Please log in to your account to post a comment.

Not a member yet? Sign up now for free!

Return to the Reviews

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media