paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Comments on appleguy19's Review / Comments on appleguy19's Review / Comments on appleguy19's Review / Comments on appleguy19's Review / Comments on appleguy19's Review

Comments on appleguy19's Review

Jump to the Comments  |  Post a Comment  |  Dispute this Review  |  Return to the Reviews

appleguy19 Tuesday, November 29th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
Just once
Date There: November 26th, 2005
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
None is this area... But a bunch of fields in southern IL.
Review: Ok, well I heard pretty good things about the field, so I was pretty excited. Well I arrived and Me and a couple of my buddies went inside and registered. Pop's was pretty cool, and everyone was really nice. We had to watch a lame instructional video though...So then I got ready and chrono'ed no problems really except the ref checking me was like 10 years old and could barely see the LCD screen on the chrono. Then we went and played the indoor field. It seemed alright, but then we got in there, and it was incredibly tiny! It is probably about 25x50 which is was to small for an airball field IMO. Then we decided that it wasn't very fun so we were going to play on one of the outdoor fields. Well we waited for a ref, but they were all inside the indoor field staying warm (even though there weren't any players in there). So then we just jumped in a game with no ref. And we played, well it took me like 2 games to realize that these people play where gun shots don't count. That is really weird to me. But then the refs they had weren't even working. One guy just carried his gun around talking to other people and walking his trigger. Maybe it was just a bad day, but this field is horribly organized. The fields were also in terrible condition (except the indoor field), for instance on one field (the one closest to the staging area and parking lots) had netting but was not attched to the ground, so on windy days the netting is blowing all over the place and offers little or no protection. So the people there are cool, except the refs don't really do their job. Well maybe its not such a bad field, just very different than what I'm used to.
 

Review Comments
8ight Sunday, January 8th, 2006 | 9:18 am PST
you are very correct! these are all things that drive me nuts of SSS. the little kid ref is kind of an ass. i heard him cutting on some overweight kid their one day. i mean, if you're a dick then you're a dick... but if you're WORKING somewhere, don't make comments like that so everyone can hear. the refs are just awful. we never hunt down or wait for them, they're useless.

i love the idiots on the side of the fields that do nothing but dry fire their ions. i have an ion, but i don't sit there and dry fire all afternoon. their is a group of high school aged kids there that that's all they do. drives me nuts. get your ass out on the filed and play!

the nets are stupidest thing. i always have my back to the fields. i've had a couple of balls wiz by head, on of which hit the white shed on the other side of us. i can't believe someone hasn't got shot yet out there, or shot in the face... it's dangerous.

it's so hard to get a game going here. so many of the kids run around in their cliques and want no part of anyone else. my small group would try to hop in a few games and the kids would freak! we just want to ball... i don't know what they want to do. they even do it on fields where it doesn't even matter if teams are even, like the fort. weird.

i agree with you on every point here. not a bad field, just kind of weird. good post.
   

DarkEliteSniper Friday, January 13th, 2006 | 9:30 pm PST
I agree their refs are an annoyance, also I very much disagree with their rules about gun hits. They say that in a woodsball game gun shots don't count but in speedball they do. That being said everyone knows that it's a lot easier to get a hopper hit in a woodsball game then anywhere else because of the distance you are usually shooting from.
   

Dysfunctional22 Sunday, July 30th, 2006 | 4:12 pm PST
The "little kid ref" is Casey (Sean Settle's son). Even though he could barely see the LCD of the Chrono, none the less the kid knows a ton about the game, markers, etc.
   

ChaosMaster567 Sunday, September 10th, 2006 | 1:15 am PST
If you need a ref to make sure you and your friends dont cheat you shouldnt play paintball. The point of paintball is to have fun and unless your in a tourney theres no real gain of cheating. When did paintball forums become a place to rip on people. Casey is cool and knows paintball.
Last edited on Sunday, September 10th, 2006 at 1:17 am PST
   

Deception Tuesday, April 3rd, 2007 | 8:45 am PST
quote:
Originally posted by Dysfunctional22
The "little kid ref" is Casey (Sean Settle's son). Even though he could barely see the LCD of the Chrono, none the less the kid knows a ton about the game, markers, etc.

Knowing about paintball hardly excuses rudeness and poor sportsmanship, assuming that the person before was speaking the truth.

The only comment I can make, is that after playing against him in a large game with his little intimidator, I really don't see what the big deal is... :P
   

Post a Comment
Please log in to your account to post a comment.

Not a member yet? Sign up now for free!

Return to the Reviews

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media