paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Comments on TeamA.n.S81's Review / Comments on TeamA.n.S81's Review / Comments on TeamA.n.S81's Review / Comments on TeamA.n.S81's Review / Comments on TeamA.n.S81's Review

Comments on TeamA.n.S81's Review

Jump to the Comments  |  Post a Comment  |  Dispute this Review  |  Return to the Reviews

TeamA.n.S81 Wednesday, January 4th, 2006
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion below.
Period of
Field Use:
4 years
Last There: December 18th, 2005
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
ive played at showdown paintball but they closed down for not having a archery lisences. (i dont get it either)
Review: Ive been playing paintball since i was 8 and hurricane (under the management of "general chester") was the BEST field ive ever played at. It was a mix of woods and open area and newcomers to more experienced people could have fun there. The newer people who didn't have guns could rent a tippmann 98 custom (which is probably the best starter gun and they are very sturdy) from chester for a reasonable price. chester also made his own game called "general chester". the point of it was to hit chester when he was guarded by the best people at the field. The person who hit chester got a prize. i thought that was very creative and it was fun for everyone.

now that splat is there i believe they will turn the field into a more speed-ball orientated place. they starting on January 15 will make you use there paint only which is tournament grade but it is price to some. ive also heard that you cant rent the nice tippmann and more. you have to rent the very fragile ions. i think many people aren't going to like renting ions and having to pay much more than they wanted to when they get a little dirt in them. the new prices for air is terrible. 20 dollars all day air for CO2 or compressed. chester offer 5 dollars all day for compressed and 20 cents an ounce for CO2 which is very reasonable. not everyone wants to play speed-ball. for some newer people its not fun at all and they like the idea of hiding in bushes and things. my rating for the field with chester was a 9 out of 10 but now with splat its a 3.
 

Review Comments
PaintballReview Wednesday, January 4th, 2006 | 6:37 am PST
Dispute:
Splat Action Sports is only charging $10 for admissions and $10 for all day air which is very competitive. Splat Action Sports is also only charging $3 to $4.50 for CO2 fills which is also very competitive. Ions are a great gun and are ruling the market, the fact that Splat Action Sports is offering Ions for $20 the same price the previous vendor was supplying Tippmans is a deal. Splat Action Sports is also selling Draxxus paint for $5 a bag and they have done a lot to improve the field so that the woodsball side can be better utilized. If anything they have tried to improve the park and given time I think that Splat Action Sports will do a great job.
Last edited on Wednesday, January 4th, 2006 at 6:02 pm PST
   

snipedog Wednesday, January 4th, 2006 | 7:31 am PST
quote:
Originally posted by PaintballReview
Splat Action Sports is only charging $10 for admissions and $10 for all day air which is very competitive. Splat Action Sports is also only charging $3 to $4.50 for CO2 fills which is also very competitive. Ions are a great gun and are ruling the market, the fact that Splat Action Sports is offering Ions for $20 the same price the previous vendor was supplying Tippmans is a deal. Splat Action Sports is also selling Draxxus paint for $5 a bag and they have done a lot to improve the field so that the woodsball side can be better utilized. If anything they have brought Hurricane Park up from a 3 to a 9.

   

OKJustice Wednesday, January 4th, 2006 | 10:58 am PST
Ive been playing paintball since i was 8 and hurricane (under the management of "general chester") was the BEST field ive ever played at. It was a mix of woods and open area and newcomers to more experienced people could have fun there. The newer people who didn't have guns could rent a tippmann 98 custom (which is probably the best starter gun and they are very sturdy) from chester for a reasonable price. chester also made his own game called "general chester". the point of it was to hit chester when he was guarded by the best people at the field. The person who hit chester got a prize. i thought that was very creative and it was fun for everyone.

Your point is?

now that splat is there i believe they will turn the field into a more speed-ball orientated place. they starting on January 15 will make you use there paint only which is tournament grade but it is price to some.

That is a rumor, The woodsball field will actually be expanded in the future and has allready expanded since myself, other SAS Team Members and a couple of Rogue Warriors help clear all the downed trees in the North woods.

you have to rent the very fragile ions. i think many people aren't going to like renting ions and having to pay much more than they wanted to when they get a little dirt in them

I have owned an ION since they came out last year, Never had I had any of the problems you mention. In fact I have bored my barrel into the dirt on several occations and never had a problem with dirt.

20 dollars all day air for CO2 or compressed. chester offer 5 dollars all day for compressed and 20 cents an ounce for CO2 which is very reasonable

You need to be corrected, your spouting lies. Try $10.00 all day HPA JUST LIKE CHESTER! and under Chesters rule it was a $10.00 CO2 tickets that had 10 stamps, each stamp represented a certain fill, so a 20oz fill would get 4 stamps punched leaving you 6 or 1.5 more fills. Do the Math.

I think this is the certain young lady that was at the park last weekend and asking questions and complaining about how SAS was running the park, I asked... "Well what dont you like about the park?" the reply I got was "well I dont know". Good answer!

I have actually been playing at the park for over 2 years now, unlike you I never seen you before there ever and from how you explain the park you either dont like the new operators (SAS) or you dont have a clue.


Last edited on Wednesday, January 4th, 2006 at 11:00 am PST
   

dwcurry Wednesday, January 4th, 2006 | 3:17 pm PST
The writer is not informed of what is happening at Hurricane. OKJustice comments are right on, but I would like to add that the City had a bidding process for a field operator who would have to pay a monthly fee to the City. Splat Action Sports was selected by the City. If Chester had won the bid he would also have started to require field paint only. SAS price of $40 for a 2,000 round case of brand named paint is a bargin.

As a member of the team that built the field (Rogue Warriors) I can testify that the changes that the SAS Team Members have made in the North Woods improved the play in that area.
   

PF_Ambush Wednesday, January 4th, 2006 | 4:10 pm PST
OkJustice actually i have found about 100 fields of BYOP. SO what now fool. If i ever see you at hurricane me and my team are gonna light you up so bad, that i will persdoanlly make sure i kicked off that field for at least a week
   

The Dark Lord Wednesday, January 4th, 2006 | 5:18 pm PST
I have been playing paintball for around 13 years. I had the opprotunity to play at hurricane both when the guy they call general chester was running the field and now when splat action sports is runnung it. All I can say is when I was there when Chester was in charge Chester ran out of compressed air and we were all unable to get fills to play for over 2 hours with no help or explination, Now how do you run out of compressed air I ask you? but it was still fun to play there. But I can say we had a much better time when we went recently went when Splat was there. Even though they had problems with the co2 while we were there the owner of splat came and talked to everyone and also made it right with the players using co2 offering the use of high pressure tanks and refunding money. the prices were all good as well only paid 40 dollars for a case of paint wich is better than anywhere else ive played the refs were all good and since the last time i had played there the woods were alot larger and more playable than i had remembered. It was a great place to play when Chester was there but now it's a fantastic place to play and we will be returning as often as possible well worth the hour long drive for us to get there rate this park a 9 out of ten and if all the upgrades that the splat staffwere talking about takeplace ill rate this an 11 out of ten great time and very family friendly..
   

OKJustice Wednesday, January 4th, 2006 | 6:17 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by PF_Ambush
OkJustice actually i have found about 100 fields of BYOP. SO what now fool. If i ever see you at hurricane me and my team are gonna light you up so bad, that i will persdoanlly make sure i kicked off that field for at least a week

Please take this to my teams forums found at http://www.outkasthq.com . I will be happy to talk more there.

________


Thanks DWCurry for the help at the park last week and advice about new bunkers for the Open field. We did manage to fill a couple of holes in the open field and your right, the field needs more East/West games.
   

SplatActionSpor Friday, January 6th, 2006 | 11:02 am PST
This message is in response to PF Ambush's comments. As the owner of Splat Action Sports and manager of Hurricane Paintball Park I need to be clear that we will not tolerate anyone lighting anyone up beyond what the game requires. In fact if someones post threats like this and proceeds to carry them out that player will be kicked off the fields permanently. Although we realize that everyone is entitled to there own opinion and encourage construction criticism, ifs comments like PF Ambush's that gives paintball a bad rep.
   

TeamA.n.S81 Friday, January 6th, 2006 | 8:50 pm PST
Well, Spat Person,
Can I make a few sugestion about your field. In the "fury zone," let the teams that are challenging eachother to make their own rules if you dont mind. and everyone ive talked to hates the name "fury zone," if you can please rename.and i think renting out tippmanns is more cost efective. a newer player doesnt need an ion. you should have people choose what they want to use. and for the hopefully renamed "fury zone," i would love to see an airball area and a wooden bunker area. Also A little bit more informative employees in the shop, thats where i got all the false information.
Last edited on Saturday, January 7th, 2006 at 1:01 pm PST
   

SpyderM1 Saturday, January 7th, 2006 | 7:44 am PST
ok im glad i went on yo this site and i found out the REAL PRICES for everything..... i have been hearing its like 25-40 admit ion and it was no longer woods ball and stuff...

i think mmost people like having the same people and they sorta know them.

soon imma go down there and check it out and play but aslong as SAS doesn't get the prices higher im fine. i did the math and ill pay about the same amount as i did before. I migth loose like 18 dollars on paint but i just got a spyder electra and i need some better paint.

i asked Chester's and they said you were going to have a few scenario games. i cant wait to see if i can go to one. I personally don't favor speed ball but i have a lot of friends who love speed ball and never go play woods. this way they can come with me and some other friends and maybe we can get them hooked on woods ball.

I think SAS should have a small advertisement of some kind and give out the REAL PRICES AND INFORMATION on every thing. i think this will stop all the rumors. I am happy as long as i got a woods ball field to go play with out having to spend a crap load of money on just one day.

me i would like to find out about co2 fills and the cards. i still have a card with 9 punches left. can i still use it? if SAS could post another review with some of my questions answered plz. I might go down tomorrow and check out the new stuff and maybe play.

looking forward to seeing the new stuff!!!
   

SplatActionSpor Saturday, January 7th, 2006 | 7:12 pm PST
Thank you for the suggestions.

Let me first respond by saying that we are calling the Speedball Park FURY PARK not Fury Zone. I have had good feedback on the name Fury Park. Fury is synonymous with passion, ferocity, rage, etc. all of which is associated with speedball and speedball players.

We have also had very positive response with the rental Ions. Today we rented 22 Ions, none of them had any problems, half of the people who rented them were relatively new players, and we even had a couple customers tell us that they hated renting the Tippmans. Other then on line, we have had nothing but positive response to the Ion rentals. Most importantly is the fact that if we rent Ions they can be used in either the scenario park or the speedball park. In fact 90% of the Ions we sell in the store are sold to new players.

If you have received any incorrect information from any of the employees in the store, keep in mind that we just took over the field a 12 days ago and some of the decisions we first made we later changed. We are trying to collect feedback from our customers and adjust accordingly.

We are currently working on updating our web site at www.SplatActionSports.com to reflect the park, it should be completed within the next week or so. We also have a park information hotline at 255-4044 and you can also go to Palm Bay City's web site to find out the prices as http://palmbayflorida.org/Departments/Parks&Rec/paintbal
l_park.htm but make sure you reset your cache refresh the page otherwise it loads the old information.

Here are our current pricing:

Admissions: $10.00 Hurricane Park $10.00 Fury Park
$15.00 Hurricane & Fury Park

Air: $10.00 All day HPA
$ 3.00 9oz – 12oz CO2 fill
$ 4.50 16oz – 20oz CO2 fill

Marker Rental: $20.00 Ion, Tank, Hopper, Mask
Pod Belt: $5.00 Pod Belt with 2 Pods

Protective Gear: $5.00 Chest & Neck

Field Paint: $40.00 Rec-Sport
Case 2000 $45.00 Midnight
+ tax $50.00 Blaze
$55.00 Inferno
$60.00 Hellfire

Bag 500 $10.00 Rec-Sport
+ tax $11.25 Midnight
$12.50 Blaze
$13.75 Inferno
$15.00 Hellfire

Hours of Operation: Saturday and Sunday 9:30am till 4:30pm

Park Information Hotline 321.255.4044
Park Phone Number 321.720.7348
Splat Action Sports 321.255.1114
Internet Address SplatActionSports.com

Food & Drinks: $1.00 Soda or Water
$1.00 Slice of Pizza
$10.00 Large Pizza

Address: 770 Hurricane Street, Palm Bay, Florida 32908

   

goldeagle Sunday, January 22nd, 2006 | 5:22 pm PST
SAS, I love what you've done with the field. I just have one question: how much does and all-day 20oz. CO2 fill cost? BTW I went to your field today, and I love it! Just one suggestion: split up the Rogue Warriors and make the teams fair. Out of the 5 games we played today, our team lost all 5. Paint was spitting everywhere...maybe a "Low End Marker Only" day? Just thought I'd give you my 2 cents. :)
   

Post a Comment
Please log in to your account to post a comment.

Not a member yet? Sign up now for free!

Return to the Reviews

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media