paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Comments on Guarding21's Review / Comments on Guarding21's Review / Comments on Guarding21's Review / Comments on Guarding21's Review / Comments on Guarding21's Review

Comments on Guarding21's Review

Jump to the Comments  |  Post a Comment  |  Dispute this Review  |  Return to the Reviews

Guarding21 Monday, January 16th, 2006
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion below.
Period of
Field Use:
2 years
Last There: January 15th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Review: I started playing here shortly after it opened. I would even go in early to help set up the airball field because, the first few times I went it was horrible. The refs before were all young and seemed pretty new to the sport. This last time I went they were older refs but still inexperienced. They do not get into the game they are more like spectators, and quite unfair. Will call you out for rub instead a shot simply because there are not enough of them and they stand so far away. and even heard refs telling players to bonus ball another player. Very unprofessional staff. The owner is nice but recently raised prices. $30.00 entry 25 if you buy their paint. That is ridiculous, and everyone I spoke to agreed. The hyperball field is made for kids or people under 5 feet. Not enough bunkers for more than playing a 7 man game on the hyperball field. They do grill some food which is pretty good but 100 for a can of pepsi is a little high. The comp. is pretty good, but have to be careful because they seem to like to make lopsided teams. Also never kow whether you are playing X-ball rules or allowing bunkering or anything, things change during the game you are playing. Not very organized, I may go back to laugh, but I will take the money I save on entry and go to a better field like hypersports.
 

Review Comments
barbwire014 Sunday, January 22nd, 2006 | 2:55 pm PST
Dispute:
ok, first off, I was refing the day all this suppoedly happened. I called this kid out for what he seemed to think was rub (I was standing 10 ft. from him and watched a ball break on his barrel). The rules do change from game to game, but that keeps things interesting. No ref has ever told anyone to bonus ball someone, at least not when I've been there. This kid simply got owned by someone and wasn't man enough to admit it. I hope he comes back., maybe I'll get a chance to play him. It'll just give me someone else to laugh at when he walks to the dead box shaking his head.
   

cazper85 Sunday, January 22nd, 2006 | 11:25 pm PST
Dispute:
Im really not gonna waste my time arguing with this guy about his opinion regarding the field and his complete misunderstanding of what happened there last weekend, but the only thing i have to tell you guys is that he’s right on one thing, they field raised the entrance fee to $25 and $30 BYOP, but they also lowered prices of paint to $35 dollars a case which is cheaper than most of the fields around the area. And yeah we have a large Hyperball field which indeed is mostly used by young kids and woodballers. Regarding the ref situation… well you guys read what barbwired said, plus I was reffing the entire day. So next time you criticize something try to be objective and just stop being cocky… keep ballin’ guys…. have FUN…
Last edited on Monday, January 23rd, 2006 at 4:03 pm PST
   

ryan64 Sunday, February 19th, 2006 | 6:44 am PST
i think this review is good because it tells the truth. one weekend i was there and a kid pretended he was out, and walked up the field and said take the hit to everyone on my team. i didnt know he was still playing and he walked up to me and shot me. then we told the ref and he didnt care.
   

cazper85 Monday, February 20th, 2006 | 8:05 am PST
I remember that day, that kid that you are talking about, did the Dead's Man Walk, and this is common on tournament play. The DMW is when the player pretends to be out but he never calls out or raises his hand etc. with the objective to shoot at the remaining opponents. However I don't allow this on the field because I consider it cheating. That day right after the ref told me what he did I went talk to the kid and gave him a talk so he wouldn't do it again.

So please next time something like this happen, or you have a concern let me know I'mm always there, I'm the head ref and my name is Cesar. I'm always welcome to any opinions and/or suggestions and I really would like to have some feedback from all of you guys so i can work on the stuff you all think we need to work on. Thanks.
Keep ballin' guys
   

Guarding21 Monday, February 27th, 2006 | 10:54 am PST
Dispute:
Ok Bar first I was not the "kid" called for the rub watch yourself before you start talking smack. And a barrel hit is far from being owned. As far as the prices going up 10 dollars for entry and dropping 5 in paint price does not equal out with my math, perhaps yours is diff. The refs were not close to the playes unless the players were on the sides no refs were found in the middle of the field and you know it. More than just myself heard the bonus ball reference you were not that ref so no worries. I am sure you do laugh when you play their, the place is full of horrible players. And lastly as far as the rules changing that does keep it interesting, the problem is when the refs do not say what the rules are, whether x-ball bunkering or whatever. I am not cocky at all I think paintball is fun, I know there are plenty of people alot better than me at it, I only play here and there. Just like things to be fair and professional when I do play. Cesar I think you were selling paint and taking money not reffing on the day I was there. So I have no idea how you ref.
   

cazper85 Tuesday, February 28th, 2006 | 11:30 am PST
Well like I said before, I really respected you opinion and I will take it the best I can so I can work on our mistakes and make of our field a better and safer one. Going back to what the prices are, well the owner raised the entrance price $10 and lowered the paint prices $10, some people like it, some people don’t, but I’m trying to get some feedback and come up with something or a price that everyone is happy with. In the other hand I been working on the ref situation. Now I have older refs than what I used to, and the younger ones are really getting way more involved in the game, trust me way better than what it used to be. In another front, you are right most of the time we get average player or new kids, but lately we been getting really good players as well and its good because we get some competition going. Also, that one day I was reffing, but earlier when you got to the field, I was selling paint and talking money thats what I do, that’s my job, you know help out in what ever I can. Well I just have to invite you to come down one of these days and maybe we can share some ideas and stuff. And if you know people that are good at it, take then down there because I need people to scrimage my team. Ok dude ttyl and you know how it is… Keep ballin
   

Sickn3ss Sunday, March 5th, 2006 | 11:18 am PST
Cazper85: About the prices, I thought it was outrageous to raise the entry fee by $10. The $20 was a very solid price to get in and most people didn't mind it. I know they lowered the paint prices but most people like BYOP.

Now to get back on the entry fee, I know the field offers some nice stuff but no where in the range for a $30 fee. I've talked to some other people around here and they all agree with me that $30 is way too high for the quality of the field. Don't get me wrong the field and all is very nice compared to some other fields I've been to in the past.

I'm not aiming this as a attack on you or anything but just a notice.
Last edited on Sunday, March 5th, 2006 at 11:19 am PST
   

cazper85 Tuesday, March 7th, 2006 | 7:52 pm PST
Well after a talk to the owners, they have decided to change the prices, so we are looking to satisfy all of you guys, the new prices will be posted on the website soon and they will be effective this upcoming weekend Saturday march 11th.
   

Sickn3ss Wednesday, March 8th, 2006 | 10:32 am PST
Thanks, thats really nice to know. Now if I can get out there I can actually play now.
   

ryan64 Tuesday, June 6th, 2006 | 5:49 pm PST
just so u know cesar this is ryan k. and that comment i made was taken care of just like u said so sorry for that. good job of gettin him kicked out. lol. keep up the good work.
Last edited on Thursday, June 29th, 2006 at 7:50 pm PST
   

Biffpaego Thursday, June 22nd, 2006 | 4:39 pm PST
The prices are not outrageous its 15 buy there paint 20 BYOP...Cesar has done a very good job on keeping the refing situation in good shape...i think the refs are very nice i played the june 3d scenario..there was a new ref that was very polite ide never seen him befor. he was staying with robert.anywho i think the post was really off
   

Post a Comment
Please log in to your account to post a comment.

Not a member yet? Sign up now for free!

Return to the Reviews

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media