paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Comments on Danny Dokter's Review / Comments on Danny Dokter's Review / Comments on Danny Dokter's Review / Comments on Danny Dokter's Review / Comments on Danny Dokter's Review

Comments on Danny Dokter's Review

Jump to the Comments  |  Post a Comment  |  Dispute this Review  |  Return to the Reviews

Danny Dokter Wednesday, March 15th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
1 year
Last There: March 7th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Atomix, hells, my private field, RIP. The bunker

on a good day chaos is ok. but thats if the porta potty is clean. both workers are there. and marks Tv is broken. lol
now there are some changes! as of april 30th 2006
Directions
to the Field:
. its near charlotte. pretty easy to get there. not much curvy driving. pretty straight forward. just look for the sign.
Review: EDIT: 4-29-06
OUTPOST PAINTBALL IN LANSING BUYS OUT CHAOS!!!!! WOOT

What does this mean for you? (Read Below)


Outpost Paintball Supplies has officially announced that they have acquired Chaos Paintball Fields in Charlotte, Michigan. According to Jon MacColl, District Manager of Outpost World Wide Inc., the purchase of Chaos Paintball Fields was in his words "a natural next step for Outpost Paintball in Lansing."

No one should be more excited about the transition than the players who frequent the fields. Outpost staff has stated that they have a big agenda for the fields. "We have alot of changes in store from new staff a complete new pricing plan, design and operational changes on the fields. Our first step is cleaning and maintenance, but understand that a whole new calendar of events will soon be out along with some big changes in the woods or rec. fields. We plan on making changes happen quickly."

The specific details of the purchase were not released but we were told that discussions have been ongoing for many months, again according to MacColl " Many customers new Outpost was previously involved with the fields because of our agreements with the previous owners that allowed any customer who purchased a marker a lifetime field membership. That's where we became concerned. Feed back from customers playing at the field was not what we had hope to hear. They liked the location and fields but felt that customer service, pricing and the way operations were ran could have been much better. Items that were out of our control - until now.



What does the future hold for CHAOS:

For up to date details log onto www.chaospaintballfields.com


For the Entire Month of May, customers will enjoy:

No field fees
$1 air fills
Free Equipment Rentals
2000rnd Cases of Paint for $35
... And from then on ...

Improved and revamped outdoor fields
Professional field and facility maintenance
Certified Gun and Air Techs
Expanded Pro Shop
$3 air fills
2000rnd cases of Paint for $35.00




THIS REVIEW BELOW IS NO LONGER VALID UNTIL I VISIT THE FIELD


Dear Chaos paintball fields,

(note: i am not trying to bring down your field. i am saying 100% accurate experinces from me and other players. choose to ban me from your field but then you will loose the other 50people that i have brought to paintball through your field.)

I have been playing at your field since January of 2004. My initial response to your field was that you seemed to have a lot of nice playing area. That was my thought on your field when I first started to play paintball. Since then it has been at least a year and I have played at 3 other fields in the mid-michigan area. Each of the three fields had different aspects that made them unique. Each aspect of each field made a positive impact on my playing experince each time I played at that field. But when I play at chaos I experince the aspect of your field in a negitive way. Other people also feel this.
“Oobergooberkc” from Pbreview.com says this…

“i would only give this field a 9 because its the only 1 i have played, and to give it a 10 would be bias. Having only played one time, with a field rental gun and 400 rounds which cost me 35$ (over priced) i tend to prefer playing scenario, woodsball, and the village. the over price is why i gave it down another point, way too pricy, but i still love the field. one thing that i like about it that most ppl dont is that there were no rfs. until about half way through the day. even when the ref did come, he didnt interfere except to point out safety tips for the guns and playing, so we had alot of fun playing elimantion to the end, without a time limit. the players there are awesome also very helpful players, my thx goes out to "pump". i dont like the owner, at the counter, but no1 else seems to either, hes an overconfident guy w/ a 2000$ angel which is annoying b/c if i had a 2000$ gun i wuld be good too, but hes just not a very cool guy, something wrong w/ his attitude.......but the field is awesome, take alot of friends when u go, it tends to be sparce w/ other players but the ones that u can find are very nice and cool.”


Oobergooberkc has been playing for less than a month. This is the view that a new player views the field. The main points that I would like to make apparent is that he belives that there was little to no referee interaction during the games that he played at, and he thinks that the owner is “just not a very cool guy.” I also make this apparent because every time I pay the field fee and pay for paint I get the annoying look from Mark. I feel very un-welcomed by his looks and attitude towards my friends and I.

A more experinced player named “MIBaller27” said this…

“Basically, if you're looking for tourney style fields and you live in Lansing, go here. Otherwise, there's absolutely no reason to go to this field. I played it for a bit because it was the only place that wasn't an hour away from Lansing that had airball and hyperball. This place is ridiculously unorganized. Players are pretty much expected to get games started and rolling themselves, because the reffing crew is pretty incompetant, if existant at all. Sometimes when i used to play there, there wasnt even a working chrono.”

I bring this quote to your attention because I need to point out that chaos is not the only paintball field in the mid-michigan area. There are many fields where players would rather go to. Atomix, Hell survivors, and RIP paintball are just some of the fields that are open. Chaos is close to 20 miles from the Lansing area. This makes it a supreme spot for people to go to because it is close to where many people live. Unfortunately for those people, they recive the bad impact that chaos gives them. They would rather drive the extra 40 miles to Atomix or the extra 20 to RIP or Hell Survivors. But with increasing gas prices these days the cost is to great. So the norm is to either go to chaos or not to go at all. I have the opportunity to go to each of these fields when I please regardless of gas prices. And chaos would be the last field on my list of choices. And the same goes for so many other people, just like mch2smw from Pbreview.com. He says…

“Wow, Chaos Paintball field...man, it sucks.

1. The owner Mark is egotistical. No matter what you've ever accomplished or whatever gear you have...he's done or has something better. I'm your customer, I don't want to hear about how great you are and how much I suck, I'd much prefer an "attaboy" and an occasional tip/suggestion/pointer. I don't care to frequent a field where my brand new Cocker is referred to as a piece of crap and that I shoulda bought X brand of marker instead.
2. The fields, 3 speedball, 1 village, 2??? wooded??? - Lets just say if you're looking for some non tourney style play, don't even consider Chaos. They claim to have 2 wooded fields which, as far as I've seen is nothing more than a large swampy overgrown wooded lot. No bunkers, no MAINTAINED boundry lines...pretty much a unorganized freeforall.
3. The field is run poorly at best. They have a range that may or may not have a working chronograph. There are no refs, occasionally they'll have a 12 year old put on a mask and stand mid field with an orange vest on. He doesn't do anything other than just stand there.........
4. Safety...this is my biggest beef. First, there are sign stating the FPS limits, yet, noone ever checks them. There are signs regarding barrel plugs, yet people walk around with out them all the time. And there are goggles required signs posted, yet noone enforces it.

A typical day at Chaos consists of walking in, paying the field fee, buying paint, then you're on your own. Nothing is organized...it's like you're just paying someone to let you use their property to play paintball while the owner just sits inside watching TV. Mark mentioned to me one day that Chaos will be bigger that Hell Survivors in 5 years...good luck with that, you got a lot of learning to do.

If you wanna get out for a couple of hours to run some paint through your marker and don't mind being on your own or don't mind not having anyone to play with, Chaos is fine. If you're looking for a day of intense paintball fun, don't bother...drive the 45 minutes to play at Hell Survivors where it's more organized and safer.

IF YOU'RE CONCERNED ABOUT PLAYING IN A SAFE ENVIRONMENT, CHAOS IS NOT THE FIELD FOR YOU.


Edit: Unlike some other reviewers, I don't work for nor am I affiliated with any paintball field, shop, team, or organization. I am a recreational player who enjoys a structured, SAFE playing environment that provides the greatest fun factor for my dollar.”


The first point that he makes is that the owner has his own idea that the world revolves around him and that he is better than everyone else regardless of what they own or what they do.

I can relate to this when I first went to chaos paintball. I didn’t know what was going on and I had my new marker in my hands. The first thing I get from Mark is “ what kinda piece of junk is that?” now as a new player I didn’t know how to react to such a comment so I passed the comment by and asked if I could play at this field for free. I asked this because I bought my marker from Outpost paintball supplies in Lansing and I was told that I could get into chaos for free. Mark made a weird face and chuckled at my comment and proceded to tell me to read the paper signs that listed the prices of paint and entry. After I read the signs I wanted to ask the same question again but I couldn’t because he had walked away. I couldn’t play that day. I went to outpost and they explained everything to me. The owner was not helpful at all to me and still eyed my “piece of junk” every time I came in.

The second point that mch2smw makes out is that there is a false statement that there are wooded fields.

I went out in search of these wooded fields by entering the woods through the village. There was a lot of overgrown brush and thorns ripping my pants. The “bunkers” in the woods were piles of sticks. There is no dividing line between the two “fields.”

The third point that mch2smw makes out is that the referees at chaos do not do their jobs. He says “occasionally they'll have a 12 year old put on a mask and stand mid field with an orange vest on. He doesn't do anything other than just stand there.” This rises the safety issues of paintball. Games are supposed to be run in an organized manner. A 12 year old standing on the field doing nothing doesn’t solve any problems.

During one of my visits to Chaos where I actually experinced a referee was not such a good visit. The referee was about 13 and had moved our gear onto the ground from where it was before. He knew one of the players and was talking to him when we arrived. Angrily we picked up our stuff and asked him if we could put our stuff back onto the spool where it was resting earlier. He replied “ hey, I was here first. Just leave your crap on the ground.” During the game he had a whistle which he blew to start the game. He was still sitting in the same spot behind the nets and not on the field. He sat there the entire game telling his friend where everyone was. I remember shooting his friend in the mask and the referee just sat there and watched him wipe it off. In disgust I walked off the field towards the referee as I was bieng shot by the his friend countless times. I asked the referee why he let him wipe and shoot me a lot even when I was out. His reply was “ you didn’t shoot him you noob, he shot you out because you suck!” Game after game he just sat there and helped out his friend. watch out for the yellow extreme rage mask boy.

The fourth point that mch2smw makes is that there is no safety enforced.

When I check my marker speed I can almost make out the 285 fps limit that is written on the chrono. With no one to inforce the speed people do not even bother to check their gun speed. This arises safety issues that mch2smw is afraid of as am I. What would happen to your field if someone went blind because they were shot in the face by a gun going over 285 fps? Would you change your field so that the referees actually check your gun speed? Unlike your field, Atomix paintball has a referee check everyone before they go in to play a game each time. At Hell Survivors they mark your gun with a sticker to show that your at the correct gun speed. But at chaos there is no enforcement or regulations but a 285 fps limit written on the 1 chrono box.

Lastly mch2smw comments on how the owner makes bogous statements about how the field will be bigger than Hell survivors in 5 years. He also comments that mark sits in the “proshop” and watches tv. The owner of Atomix paintball actually walks around and watches games that goes on and helps ref games. He talks to other players with a kind attitude. And when he is not out on the field he is in the proshop working on the marketing and sales to customers and with the buisness instead of watching tv.

There are some main things that Chaos can make improvements on inorder to become a better field.
The first thing is for the owner to stop bieng proud and to start bieng more helpful.
Secondly, get more experinced referees. Take the people that are on the Chaos teams and ask them to work as referees for a couple days. This would improve the playing experince greatly by having experince players who know how to fix things and help other players have a good time.
Lastly, clean up the place. I see cars with the windows busted out and paintballs all over the ground every time I pull up. The “proshop” is just a grarage with trash by the walls, a dog behind the counter, a scary owner sitting in it, a couple of over priced products, and a fill station. Cleaning up the “proshop” and the field would give a much more positive impact on people. This would make more people come and increase buisness. Rake up the paintballs, paint the trashcans, fix the holes in the netting, live up to what you are planning to upgrade ( like the netted deadboxes), get rid of the cars and unused piles of field materials, and possibly get a paved road.
If chaos ever does do the things that I suggested and actually start building the things that are supposed to come soon then Chaos will be my field of choice. But for now, until I see changes and signs of a real paintball field I am starting a boycott on Chaos and will stop at nothing until no one goes to your field.

FYI. do not, i repeat, do not play on the indoor field unless you are in love with getting sand in your gun, pants, mouth , gloves, socks, shoes, and everywhere else. i recently visited the indoor. the same thing happened. mark came and sat there, the worker filled tanks and sat behind the counter, and we had to ref our own games. Terrible.

Thank you for your time
– A concerned Player

( all quotes from pbreview.com are exactly what that player has said. I have not changed their words in any way)
Last edited on Saturday, April 29th, 2006 at 7:21 pm PST
 

Review Comments
sep Thursday, April 20th, 2006 | 6:42 pm PST
During one of my visits to Chaos where I actually experinced a referee was not such a good visit. The referee was about 13 and had moved our gear onto the ground from where it was before. He knew one of the players and was talking to him when we arrived. Angrily we picked up our stuff and asked him if we could put our stuff back onto the spool where it was resting earlier. He replied “ hey, I was here first. Just leave your crap on the ground.” During the game he had a whistle which he blew to start the game. He was still sitting in the same spot behind the nets and not on the field. He sat there the entire game telling his friend where everyone was. I remember shooting his friend in the mask and the referee just sat there and watched him wipe it off. In disgust I walked off the field towards the referee as I was bieng shot by the his friend countless times. I asked the referee why he let him wipe and shoot me a lot even when I was out. His reply was “ you didn’t shoot him you noob, he shot you out because you suck!” Game after game he just sat there and helped out his friend. watch out for the yellow extreme rage mask boy.

If you can tell me what he looks like he will be fired.
   

Danny Dokter Saturday, April 29th, 2006 | 7:17 pm PST
No need.
Outpost paintball in Lansing has bought out the field and will be changing everything. one of the things that they should change is the refs. besides ive seen all of your reviews promoting chaos. there will be no need anymore as with Chaos in the hands of outpost, no one will be complaining.

3 bucks to fill air after may 2000 rds for $35. winner winner winner!.
   

Post a Comment
Please log in to your account to post a comment.

Not a member yet? Sign up now for free!

Return to the Reviews

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media