paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Comments on mrubino723's Review / Comments on mrubino723's Review / Comments on mrubino723's Review / Comments on mrubino723's Review / Comments on mrubino723's Review

Comments on mrubino723's Review

Jump to the Comments  |  Post a Comment  |  Dispute this Review  |  Return to the Reviews

mrubino723 Sunday, April 2nd, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month
Last There: April 10th, 2004
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Top Gun Paintball in NJ- I think it is better than Skirmish overall.
Cousins paintball in LI- on par with Skirmish.
Review: Well, i have been to Skirmish twice. After the first time there i didnt really have a good time. I figured i would give it another shot and see if it was just me or if it was the place itself. Well, i had the same experience the second time that i did the first time.

PROS:
1) skirmish has some of the best fields, well put together.
2) the refs we had were very nice and worked with our group so that we had the best time possible.
3) the equipment shop has everything you will need to play paintball that day.
4) the free air setup is good.

CONS:
1) ***this is huge in my mind***- both times i went there we arrived before 8am and after we checked in and got all of the equipment bought and set up they made us sit on picnic benches until 11am!!! what the hell is that about??? both times, not just once. i didnt drive for 2 hours to sit around for another 3 before we even shoot a paintball. every other field i have went to the latest we played was at 9:30am and thats because some people showed up late. i asked around and found out it was standard operating proceedure at skirmish to bus people out at 11am.

2) they have no safe areas along the fields to go and clear off your clothing or masks. if you get shot in the goggles, you are stuck with smeared paint unless you have something to clean them off with. if not, you are stuck until the group goes back for lunch or the day is over and you go home. when i go to Top Gun, they have saftey tents where there is water and paper towels and you can take your masks off and relax alittle bit.

3) price-wise, skirmish caters to large groups. if you go as a walk on you are paying through the nose for paint. $100 a case plus tax? come on, thats ridiculous. you only get a discount if you buy in bulk. i understand that paintballs are a huge source of income for paintball fields but that amount of volume that skirmish does is enough to justify having a box cost of $80 and still having them make a ton of profit. no one can tell me that with the amount of paint them must buy case-wise, that they dont get a great price from their supplier. at $100 a case they are AT LEAST making a $50 profit but i bet its ALOT more.

do i discourage people from going to skirmish? no. i tell everyone what i like and dislike about it and then tell them to formulate their own opinion about the place. would i go back? not unless they fixed the first two CONS i have listed. personally i dont like the prices but they are something i have lived with at other fields. out of all the places i have gone to, i like top gun paintball in NJ the best.
Last edited on Sunday, April 2nd, 2006 at 10:41 am PST
 

Review Comments
pez9512 Thursday, April 6th, 2006 | 10:36 am PST
Let's look at your two cons. First: waiting ALOT of time from the time that you arrive until you actually start playing. You said that you arrived before 8AM. Why? Check-in never begins at Skirmish until about 8:45 to 9AM or so. So you waited for the first hour because YOU decided to get there too early. Waiting until 11AM isn't standard procedure for Skirmish, it's what happens when you play as a walk-on (group of less than 20 people.) You probably waited around because other people who were scheduled to play as a walk-on hadn't arrived yet. So it wasn't Skirmish's fault, its the fault of the late comers. The only other alternative is to have you play on a field by yourself - no one else - you versus the trees! But I'm sure you'd like to have someone to shoot at - right? If so, then you need to wait for them to arrive. Anyway, this point is moot, because Skirmish is doing away with the whole bus ride thing. They recently got the permits to build at the fields. So no more parking one place and playing another. Soon, it'll be park there, play there, go home from there!

Second Con: no safe area along the fields to clear your goggles, and no paper towels or water provided to clear you goggles and/or clothing. Well, Skirmish does have safe areas - they're called Dead Zones. Each field has its own Dead Zone. If you get gogg'ed, report to the dead zone, clear your goggles before the start of the next game. No paper towels provided, huh? Here's a thought - bring your own! Bring a rag, an old shirt, paper towels, some goggle spray, etc. Dude, its a paintball facility, not a four-star hotel! What? You forgot to bring a rag or towel?! No worries, Skirmish sells all the stuff I just mentioned. How can you go plan to play paintball, and not bring the essentials of paintball? That's like forgetting to wear your boots! But even that's OK, Skirmish sells boots too!
Last edited on Thursday, April 6th, 2006 at 10:36 am PST
   

mrubino723 Thursday, April 6th, 2006 | 9:08 pm PST
i have never played as a walk-on at skirmish, the times i went we had private groups and no one was there later than 8:30am.

anyway, like i said, if they fix the first 2 cons i would go back. building at the fields sounds like a start. and yeah i have my own rag to whip paint off my goggles but when you go with a group of new people they dont have that stuff and what are you suppose to do when they all ask to have a paper towel? tell them no? i personally feel that places that go out of their way to provide things like that deserve my money over others that dont. there were no dead zones for my group. the ref said to wait on the side until the game was over. then we went right to the next field.

   

pez9512 Wednesday, April 12th, 2006 | 10:45 am PST
Your point is well taken. You're right, places that go that extra mile with little "extras" do deserve your money. But I respectfully disagree about the dead zone thing. Perhaps, you had a noobie ref who didn't know any better. But I can promise you that EVERY field at Skirmish has its own dead zone. You should send an e-mail to Skirmish and tell them that you had a sucky ref. Maybe they'll train their refs better. And let's face it, the secret to a great day of paintball is getting a ref that knows what they're doing!
   

mrubino723 Tuesday, April 18th, 2006 | 5:47 pm PST
yeah, the standing on the side thing wasnt fun at all. if they had dead zones then i wish we would have used them :D
   

Lopez17 Tuesday, July 18th, 2006 | 9:27 am PST
I'd be surprised if they're not getting their paint for aroudn $20ish. That means they're taking you for $80 profit per case.
   

runningw235 Friday, August 4th, 2006 | 6:16 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by Lopez17
I'd be surprised if they're not getting their paint for aroudn $20ish. That means they're taking you for $80 profit per case.

I agree, because they order their paint in such massive quantities, they probly get monster discounts
   

Post a Comment
Please log in to your account to post a comment.

Not a member yet? Sign up now for free!

Return to the Reviews

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media