paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Comments on IonShockaa's Review / Comments on IonShockaa's Review / Comments on IonShockaa's Review / Comments on IonShockaa's Review / Comments on IonShockaa's Review

Comments on IonShockaa's Review

Jump to the Comments  |  Post a Comment  |  Dispute this Review  |  Return to the Reviews

IonShockaa Sunday, April 9th, 2006
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion below.
Period of
Field Use:
Just once
Date There: April 9th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
WILDBILLS PAINTBALL BABY!!! WOOT! outdoor speed ball( sup air barriers) awesome
Directions
to the Field:
From Atlanta:

* Take I-85 north to Pleasant Hill Road, Exit 104 (Gwinnett Place Mall)
* Turn right
* Follow Pleasant Hill Road for 3.5 miles to Lawrenceville Hwy (US 29)
* Turn left
* Follow Lawrenceville Hwy (US 29) for 4 miles to Arnold Road (Just past St. Marlowe Apartments & True-Value Hardware)
* Turn right - Wild Bill's Paintball is 1 mile on the left

From SR 316 - Athens or I-85 - Gainesville:

* Travel east on SR 316 to the Sugarloaf Pkwy exit (from Athens) or south on I-85 to Exit 109 (Old Peachtree Rd/Sugarloaf Pkwy) and follow the exit ramp signs to actual Sugarloaf Pkwy exit (from Gainesville)
* Turn left
* Follow Sugarloaf Pkwy for 2.4 miles (from Athens) / 4.75 miles (from Gainesville) to Lawrenceville Hwy (US 29)
* Turn right
* Follow Lawrenceville Hwy (US 29) for 1.4 miles to Arnold Road
* Turn left - Wild Bill's Paintball is 1 mile on the left
Review: Alright, well i don't even know where to begin. we get there and are greated to sucky prices. 80 $ FOR 2000 MARBALIZER! and they're not even tournametn regulated.(i have an ion w/freak and the paint was shooting crapy on right insert!!!!) the reff's are jerks and the fields are horrible! i could set up most of their fields in one day by myself.
<the refs are friends with some players THAT RAMP AND BONUS THE CRAP OUT OF YOU!> so the reffs don't do anything about it. they also let players walk early before saying go so they had the advantage on my team. i am a ref at wild bills paintball and i was giving them grief for their horrible reffing. one ref was standiing right by the guy with ramping (but it was his buddy) and he defended him. my friend had left his barrel condom and squeege on table and both were stolen. one ref had no clue how to even chrono a guy in. the sport- man ship is horrible there. when i asked a simple question of what field was i going to, he said a field. i replied in yeah, but what field? and he just asnwered jerkyl "A FIELD!" the people need new refs and better fields for better play. and for godsake not some stuck up people. OTHERS THAT GO THERE WANT TO HAVE FUN ALSO!
 

Review Comments
apunkjunkie Sunday, April 9th, 2006 | 9:41 pm PST
What did the refs look like or did you get a name? What was the guy shooting that was ramping? As I have said in numerous reviews...tell me who they are and I can let the people who run the field know.

Oh list price on marbs is $80, so there's not much of a mark up from what the field can get it for each week (keep in mind they aren't internet sites ordering multiple pallets)
Last edited on Sunday, April 9th, 2006 at 9:46 pm PST
   

Duckdude Monday, April 10th, 2006 | 9:39 am PST
Dispute:
No ramping was/is permitted at Arkenstone. Many just have fast fingers, and as everyone knows, 15+ bps is easily achieved. I was the guy that shot you..since 3 of you guys all ran into the same little stick bunker at the same time upon breakout. After marking 2 of you instantly, you then both dove back down(hence encouraging even more paint coming your way) causing a reff to then have to come over and call you both out. I've been playing since 83(4yrs of that NPPL pro div), and know what overshooting is. Go to Ultimate of Classic(2 well run paintball fields in the area) and play a few games...

Also note the lame attempt to post an "add" for Wild Bills, complete with copy/pasted directions.
   

apunkjunkie Monday, April 10th, 2006 | 10:24 pm PST
Hell if Duck was the one who got you out....he wasn't ramping....he really does shoot over 15+bps legitimately. I've been on the receiving end of his trigger finger several times. He's easily the best player who plays there, and I'd say he's probably one of the best in Georgia even though he doesn't play competitevly.
   

IonShockaa Tuesday, April 11th, 2006 | 7:21 am PST
dude
you guys don't get it, i'm a reff i'm not stupid. i've been playing for about 4 years. you can tell a hug difference in RAMPING and in SEMI AUTO. i'm not new to this sport.
   

apunkjunkie Tuesday, April 11th, 2006 | 11:33 am PST
Well according to your review being a ref doesn't necessarily mean you know what you're talking about.

Anyways, yes people have ramped in the past and yes refs do miss it (you should know that too). I ref as well, but at scenario games, so I've seen all forms of ramping and semi. I also know for a fact that if it was a dude shooting a red nerve with an purple trigger, he doesn't ramp. Getting shot an extra time or two once happens, like Duckdude said go to Ultimate or Classic....then you'll get bonus balled (more at Ultimate than Classic) because that's what people do up there.
   

evan0590 Sunday, September 3rd, 2006 | 6:34 pm PST
Arkenstone is a great field. try setting your dwell right and the paint won't break noobie.
the refs are not jerks u cant just be a jerk first. safety is the biggest thing there so if they have to get across to a noobie to keep there mask on like u it needs to be done and if they have to be a little rude so everyone else is safe thats ok to me
   

evan0590 Sunday, September 3rd, 2006 | 6:38 pm PST
ya if it was duck he can shoot really fast and he doesn't ramp he is an ex perfesional and i do play with him a lot and we are all friends with the refs and i can garantee u no one ramps if u do u will be caught and kicked cause if seen it happen cause one of my best friends got kicked out for thst
   

Post a Comment
Please log in to your account to post a comment.

Not a member yet? Sign up now for free!

Return to the Reviews

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media