paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Comments on Phelsuma's Review / Comments on Phelsuma's Review / Comments on Phelsuma's Review / Comments on Phelsuma's Review / Comments on Phelsuma's Review

Comments on Phelsuma's Review

Jump to the Comments  |  Post a Comment  |  Dispute this Review  |  Return to the Reviews

Phelsuma Sunday, April 30th, 2006
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion below.
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month
Last There: July 30th, 2005
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Hell Survivors, Excalibur, Lone Wolf, Atomix, Chaos, etc. All better, more professional.
Review: This is one of the most poorly run fields that I have ever played. The field itself isn't bad, just the attitude of the owners and their "sponsored" kids. Keep in mind that I have not played rec-ball at this field; everything I am posting refers to their league only (though I wouldn't be surprised if it were the same for rec).

I played in their 3-man league (summer '05--I'm not sure of the exact date). I quickly discovered that the owner's son will try to get in your face if you legally eliminate him from a game. He'll threaten you and try to intimidate you, and his parents (i.e. the owners) won't do a thing, until you tell him to shut up...then they're all over you. He especially likes to try and confront kids smaller than him; I played on a pick-up team w/2 13-yr. old kids, and he was always trying to push them around...and mommy was looking the other way. Keep in mind also that he would get in my face every time that I shot him during leagues...which was quite frequently.

As for the reffing, it was biased. No, the 'home team' didn't take first place, but there was a definite bias. This isn't some 'sour grapes' statement here, so please don't think that--my team didn't get screwed as badly as some others. There was definite conflict between the home team and a team from Chaos. They (Chaos) were easily the best team on the field (and no, I wasn't on that team), and the first league date went well. After some conflict between them and the home team, the refs (who were the parents, an aunt, and a family friend of the home team) started making blatantly bad calls, like reinserting their team members, allowing playing on, and wiping off obvious hits (like direct goggle shots) as 'splatter.' Not to mention that in the middle of the 3rd league date, a rule suddenly was created so that if you pulled the flag but weren't shooting immediately, you were 'neutral,' and being shot didn't count. I'll let you guess which team benefitted from this ruling EVERY time.... Somehow, Chaos took last place overall....seems kinda funny to me.

So, in conclusion, if you enjoy having some spoiled kid (who was never told 'no' by mommy and daddy) try to start a fight with you or your kid, and if you like playing with biased refs, then by all means, go play here. For my money, I'll go somewhere that runs their field with some professionalism and courtesy. Not to sound arrogant at all, but I've been playing for 11 years, and have played at tourneys around the country w/Atomix Factory, so I've got some experience playing and reffing...I've seen a lot of bad calls and such, but this just takes the cake.

Last edited on Sunday, April 30th, 2006 at 3:11 pm PST
 

Review Comments
Paintball GIrls Thursday, June 1st, 2006 | 7:44 am PST
Dispute:
That was the first league/Tournament that RIP Ever did. It is true that they didn't know the Official rules.

You can bet they do now!

RIP was opened for the kids in the area to have a place to play paintball. They did have leagues for the kids that have never played leagues and the owner agreed to allow a few players in that had tournament experience. Explaining that the leagues were for fun and that the other player and owner had never played tournament or league play before.

Chaos Team had 3 young men that played an awesome game and showed great sportsmanship. They did not come in last, they took 3rd place.

The man<?B> that wrote this review was the only adult that actually played in the game and was put on a team with 2 young boys that had never played and was going to help them learn the game. That was not the case.

In Conclusion

They will not tolerate. cheating, name calling, taunting the players or refs. Throwing your teams game to help other teams advance. They are there to have fun and if you want to have fun. Check them out

Last edited on Thursday, June 1st, 2006 at 7:50 am PST
   

cmcjunk Thursday, August 3rd, 2006 | 5:31 am PST
Ok sir! The only reason why the owners kid was getting in ONE persons face ( the person from chaos) was because they were trying to get with his girlfriend. What the hell does it matter if you lost, i thoght you were there for fun! This tourny was suppost to be for beginers and just to have fun and chaos ends up playing in the thing! a D2 xball team. WTF is up with that. having fun! NO i dont think so. Yea you would think they would do good but one of the teams that had all beginers that have never played before beat the D2 xball team (chaos) you would think that it was beginers luck but nope they did it a second time again. it wasnt bad calling it was just chaos wasnt doing so good! so you suposed that chaos would just let it fly and think they were just gettin lucky but no they had to cry like unprofecinal babys untill they got there way. That is how chaos always is. go to one of there tournys and see how it is. They put one of there D2 xball team in and try to win the tourny so there is no chance for the other teams to get prizes. even if they beat the team they dont even get back there entree back. how sad is that? IMO chaos is a rip off and only wants to take your money and RIP just wants kids to have fun and have somthing to do and stay out of trouble. o yea, you say you play with atomix and you have been playing for 11 years, what were you thinking of bringing your D2 xball team there or even playing there if you knew it was for the kids? yea sure you were playing with 2 beginers but im sure you should have owned everysingle team. Why would you even complain if it was a BEGINER tourny and you have been playing for 11years. wtf! hmm!
   

Paintball GIrls Wednesday, August 23rd, 2006 | 7:27 am PST
I do not believe that the guy that wrote this crap was on the Chaos team. He may have wanted to be on the Chaos team and was trying to get in some points with them but he wasn't on the team at that time.
   

Loose Cannons Friday, January 5th, 2007 | 10:27 am PST
Dispute:
I've been playing this field from the beginning and personally know the owners. I'm going to assume that this guy was one of the "players" that was asked not to come back to their field. Correct? Do you always claim the refs are bad when you get taken out? I've been called out when I though I was clean but I don't throw a fit or start bashing people that are trying to do the best they can. Grow up and start telling the truth or just go away. Oh yea, that's my brothers field and he is one of the most honest people I know. Wish I could say the same for you.
   

Post a Comment
Please log in to your account to post a comment.

Not a member yet? Sign up now for free!

Return to the Reviews

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media