paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Comments on d4chess' Review / Comments on d4chess' Review / Comments on d4chess' Review / Comments on d4chess' Review / Comments on d4chess' Review

Comments on d4chess' Review

Jump to the Comments  |  Post a Comment  |  Dispute this Review  |  Return to the Reviews

d4chess Saturday, May 13th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Just once
Date There: May 13th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
Rocky Creek
Directions
to the Field:
Gilcrest county on rd 337
Review: I've been paint-balling about a year now, mostly at Rocky Creek Paintball in Gainesville. My friend and I decided to mix it up one Saturday and check out First Strike. We heard that they had incredible woods-ball fields and that there were no paint brand restrictions like at Rocky Creek.

Indeed, the woods-ball fields were incredible, but in 4 hours of being there, the refs only called ONE woods-ball game. There's great potential in this 27 acre field if they would just utilize the whole facility.

Secondly, the refs were complete morons. They ran things at best at a leisurely pace. There were sometimes over 20 minutes between games, which were all Ref's choice. I guess you'd have to experience it to get the full effect, but WOW were they ineffective and unintelligent.

Don't bring your kids here. It's a bad environment for anyone under 15. Players smoke UNDER the no smoking sign, refs cuss like sailors, there's unashamed talk about drug use between players and refs, and nobody cronos the guns. I have several welts that could not have been made by guns shooting under 280.

The field is great and the owners are nice people. There's free water coolers, which Rocky Creek doesn't have. Again, the facility is magnificent. The refs, smoking, and general malaise of the place is what completely turned me off. Don't think I'll be returning.
Last edited on Saturday, May 13th, 2006 at 7:44 pm PST
 

Review Comments
Berzerker_brian Saturday, May 27th, 2006 | 2:26 pm PST
Im sorry you feel the way you do, but i was reffing that day with one of my other friends and sometimes yes we do tend to say some vulgar comments, but we say them behind the counter. Not around children. As for you saying we dont check chrono speed, you're false. we check all our rental markers before the day begins which usually shoot around 260. we also do a field briefing before any of the games start. mabey your just not a great player and got shot a lot. it happens to all paintball players. you cant win em all buddy. oh and by the way neither i or the other refs there smoke, so speak up and tell someone if the smoke is bothering you that much. it could be worse. i do believe we ran a bunny game and a game in the trenches that day and yes the rest was hyperball, but only because thats what the rec ballers other than you wanted to play. we try to generally run a couple of woods ball games everyday, and then stick with what the majority of rec ballers want to play. once again im sorry you feel that way about our facility and staff, but you need to grow up and realize you're not the only one playing at the field. so go play at rockey creek where people walk outside the nets with there masks up and barrel covers off in the leisure area" ive been there and yes i have seen this". safety is our number one priority.
Last edited on Friday, June 2nd, 2006 at 4:42 pm PST
   

Bruce Ryba Thursday, July 13th, 2006 | 8:51 am PST
Ok Bersek, your reply has driven me crazy and just cost your field a future customer.
As a former head Ref, I would have just fired you.
1. Foul language should not be tolerated by players or refs. period. No defense. And you made no defense about drugs. Paintball fields are family orientated or they go out of business.
2. You insist you chrono the rentals...... but you forgot to mention checking private markers. (Im sure you do, but leaving that out makes you appear unprofessional)
Furthermore all fields have a gun go hot now and then.
3. Smoking, if the rules are not smoking in a certain area, the referees (thats you) enforce the rules, not the customer. (custormer ordering customer= argument)
4. Turn around time. You made no defense about this complaint. And this is the single largest complaint at most couses. Customers pay money to play not sit. The refs make or break a day.
5. YOU ATTACKED THE VIEWER ABOUT HIS SKILL LEVEL AND ACT AS IF THIS JUSTIFYS YOUR ATTITUDE. Dude that is mesed up and just wrong. It also demonstrates a Huge level of immaturity.
6. You demonstrate zero care for the reviewer to return. Am I to assume that this field does not care about return custumers??? Or customers who go away and bad mouth your course? Does the feild owner know about your attitude and that you represent his business? If so I will definitly never show up.
7. Finally, I here over and over that this feild has the BEST woods course in Florida. If so, why in the heck are you not using it. It very well could be that only one player wanted to play the woods the day you are speaking about. However, your overall attitude leads me to belive that the refs are just to lazy to run a woods game. After all, Hyperball/speedball the refs only have to walk up and down a postage stamp size course and not tromp through the woods. Regardless I would be pissed if I drove 3 hours to play hyperball. But inretrospect I think you just lost customer #2, that is if you even care.
   

Berzerker_brian Saturday, August 26th, 2006 | 4:09 pm PST
ok bruce. you got me. congrats pal. if you're gonna pick at everything i do wrong and never show up at the field i work at, thats fine. that just tells me you support what other people say. YOU NEED TO GROW UP AND STOP LISTENING TO HEAR/SAY. yeah my boss knows what exactly went on that day. some of your comments to me seem intrusive and just straight up rude. in fact throughout the day my boss constantly asked how everyone was doing. the people seemed to be enjoying themselves. personally i only think this guy posted a bad review is because he goes to the rival field in the area. as for waiting inbetween games. did you bother to look at the time of year he posted his review bruce? living in florida you must know how hot it gets. we cant run a 10-15 min game have evryone load up in 5mins and get back out on the field. you'll either get dehydrated or get heat exhaustion. field breifings are given to all new players. most are rentals, but those who play at the filed know the speed is 280. i cant contest the usage of foul language, we try to keep it to a minimum among us refs, but as for talk of drug use thats just a fallacy, a false statement. look bruce, i dont want to make anyone have a bad time at our field. im just trying to say you cant go by what one person says about a paintball field unless they play there frequently. this case we have a guy that shows up one time and you believe everything he says. listen to true veterans from the field like wizardry. hes been going to firststrike for years. dont get on my case either, you dont know me , you have never even talked to me, and chances are you've never even been to FSP. if you dont wanna drive 3 hours to play thats fine, dont then, but dont come online attacking me and other firststrike staff members. honestly you should come out and play just at least one time. i guarantee you will have a different oppinion of the field after you play.
Last edited on Tuesday, August 29th, 2006 at 3:32 pm PST
   

Bruce Ryba Friday, September 22nd, 2006 | 9:27 am PST
Bezerk, yes I was a little rude and I do apologize for that. And perhaps got a little nit picky. I am also very aware that you cant keep everyone happy on any given day no matter how hard you try.
I also re read the first posters comments on turn around time, his complaint about a 20 minute wait between games was not a valid complaint, especially if the summer heat had kicked in. That is actually a complement.
I am also aware that you can chrono all day, but one Co2 powered marker held upside down will start shooting hot, and there is not much you can do, but try to educate players on that subject.
Also I thought your reply to me was a lot more mature to me than to the paying customer. T
Yes, I have never been to your course and that is why I was reading customer reviews.
The customer review we are commenting on was not that bad, with a general complaint about attitudes more than anything. So I really don't think the reviewer was a competitor out to bash your course.
Having said that, I have a few comments on your comments.
To the first reviewer and me, you said "grow up". Not a brilliant way to get your point across, just another way to attack the commenter.
Cussing
Get some balls and become a Ref Nazi. I did. Cussing is simply not acceptable. I had your attitude for a while, until I witnessed a Pro Player and a Parent almost get in a fight because the parent asked the pro to stop cussing around his kid. To my surprise, the Pro wanted to fight over his "right" to cuss anywhere. After that incident, I started pulling players for cussing. The Pro circuit has finally got on that band wagon. But its the refs job to start the process and control the situation.
I hear your course has the best woodsball course in Florida. That is an incredible compliment, because of our state's numerous paintball Fields.
I wish you the best of luck, with the advise of not to attack someone becasue they disagree with your veiwpoint. Instead, take some of the complaints and strive to make your chosen course better.
   

pbsniper07 Tuesday, December 19th, 2006 | 4:15 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by Berzerker_brian
Im sorry you feel the way you do, but i was reffing that day with one of my other friends and sometimes yes we do tend to say some vulgar comments, but we say them behind the counter. Not around children. As for you saying we dont check chrono speed, you're false. we check all our rental markers before the day begins which usually shoot around 260. we also do a field briefing before any of the games start. mabey your just not a great player and got shot a lot. it happens to all paintball players. you cant win em all buddy. oh and by the way neither i or the other refs there smoke, so speak up and tell someone if the smoke is bothering you that much. it could be worse. i do believe we ran a bunny game and a game in the trenches that day and yes the rest was hyperball, but only because thats what the rec ballers other than you wanted to play. we try to generally run a couple of woods ball games everyday, and then stick with what the majority of rec ballers want to play. once again im sorry you feel that way about our facility and staff, but you need to grow up and realize you're not the only one playing at the field. so go play at rockey creek where people walk outside the nets with there masks up and barrel covers off in the leisure area" ive been there and yes i have seen this". safety is our number one priority.


ok,,,,,buddy.....i have played at ur field many times and let me be the 100th person to say that rocky creek is better than first strike.. o yah..by the way, yes i have seen people take their mask's off but as soon as they get far on the field the ref will tell them immedialty put it back on or be banished from the field...... also at rocky creek safety is first priority!so before u start talking about some other place, how bout u just worry about ur cheesy establishment of paintball!
   

andrew carmone Sunday, May 27th, 2007 | 8:49 pm PST
You guys need to settle this face to face. Really the way you guys attack eachother about the field would make any newcommer to the field, (like myself ) not want to come. If I had to hear this crap on the field I would have wanted to bang your heads togather to shut you guys up. Acting like a bunch of children, especailly you berzerker!!!!!!!!!
   

Post a Comment
Please log in to your account to post a comment.

Not a member yet? Sign up now for free!

Return to the Reviews

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media