paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Comments on phate2469's Review / Comments on phate2469's Review / Comments on phate2469's Review / Comments on phate2469's Review / Comments on phate2469's Review

Comments on phate2469's Review

Jump to the Comments  |  Post a Comment  |  Dispute this Review  |  Return to the Reviews

phate2469 Sunday, May 21st, 2006
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion below.
Period of
Field Use:
Just once
Date There: May 20th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Review: I attended the Splaturday tournament on the 20th of May, making it my first tournament, first time on an airball field, and hopefully last time to see a ref wipe paint for a local player. I captained 2 3-man teams, and we placed 2nd and 4th... our B team got 2nd by 30 points, and there is some controversy over some of the calls made. When one of our players captured the flag, it didn't count as a pull or a hang, because some paint was still on him from the last match. The ref didn't catch it, and he didn't listen when we told him. The other team wasn't even shooting the same color fill that was on his pod pack! Team B would have had first place if that call would have been overturned... and besides that, a referee played a match so that they could get all 3 guys out(the ref plays on PSP people said) and have a capture to raise their points.
Besides the refs and the mismanagement(the tournament was due to start at 10, we didn't even have a captains meeting, and when we had our first match, it was hours late, maybe about 12:30 or so, entirely too hot to just start up a game).
The field was set up good, though not exactly fair(it had a slope that was maybe 15 degrees uphill angle for one team.
For the team that didn't have the refs going for them, it was still an enjoyable experience, though they didn't have to Chrono(though one guy did, before his team told him to get back from the chrono.) Their guns left welts, 4-5 shots at close range drew blood through a jersey and undershirt.
After the tourny was over though, the refs turned cool, and even let my brother use his PM5 and taught him how to play some of the airball bunkers better(Doritoes and Upright cans are different than the pallets that we usually play on).
I think the field was great, but when the Renegade Knights play, or a ref plays for them, watch out, they can make your experience suck.
 

Review Comments
Grimlin Monday, May 29th, 2006 | 8:20 pm PST
Are you seriouse?
   

diablos Tuesday, May 30th, 2006 | 9:50 am PST
The renagade knights won the open class and novice. the novice team was named the knock out kids, is that who u are thinking of? and you cant say they ruined it just cuz they r better than u, they could have beat u at any moment, they prolly were just toying with you because their team finished 13th in the nation last year.
Last edited on Tuesday, May 30th, 2006 at 9:52 am PST
   

Troutdaddy420 Thursday, June 1st, 2006 | 9:58 pm PST
Dispute:
As manager of Paintball Arkansas and owner of Electric Mayhem Productions (producers of all events at PBA) I welcome and appreciate your comments on the May Tournament. It is at this time I would like to dispute them categorically.

You mentioned that you had a dispute about how a pull was not scored due to paint on the player from a previous game. It is not the reff's responsibility to clean the hits off you. That is up to you the player and to your teammates to check each other. All reff's decisions are final as noted in the NPPL rules that we use.

You also mention that another color paint was being used. The players are encouraged to use the special tournament paint that we order fresh for the games or any other paint that they have purchased at Paintball Arkansas.

Yes, the tournament did start late. We were waiting to see if more teams would show up. It is my fault for that because I took too long to get advertising out.

Yes, we did have a reff who was also playing. If you looked out on the other side of the range you would have noticed the over 100 people there playing regular paintball. I needed reffs over there more that at the tournament. I am sorry if you feel this is mismanagement. And I just simply can't control the weather... imagine how it felt in the woods with the bugs.

I thank you for the complement of the field set up, that was ALL from the efforts of the reffs and other PBA employees. However I can't really do anything about the small 15 degree uphill slope that you pointed out. Once again imagine how hard it is playing on the side of a hill in the woods... with the bugs.

If at any time you felt that ANY player was shooting hot YOU have the ability to ask that they be chronoed. The reffs and rules are there to make sure that everyone has a good time and that the game if as fair as possible. And as to drawing blood... once again you could have had them chronoed. Other than that it's part of the sport; you are shooting 300fps.

I am happy that you and your brother got to enjoy the field after the games. WE take great strides to make sure that all our customers are happy and looking forward to returning. I spend my weekends there just walking around (when I can) asking how the players are doing and what I can do to help.

Please do not bad mouth the Renegade Knights or the Knock Out Kids. Both are very good at the sport and have spent many hours drilling and training so that they can win tournaments so easily. Every Sunday the Knights are out practicing, I am sure that if you ask then they will let you join them in the drill so that you can reach a higher level of play. Any team knows that you must practice together to win together.

But I still thank you for you comments and invite you out to June Tournament on the 24th. I can't say the weather will be nice, but I will plan in more reffs and make sure that every one understands the rules and that they can ask me or any other reff at any time.

   

mlw Sunday, June 4th, 2006 | 12:47 pm PST
Sweet, my little weekend warrior team smoked the renegade knights in the first PBA 3-man tourney. It was one of their 2 loses. Now I can saw we beat the 13th ranked team in the nation!!!!
   

freak .689 Friday, July 21st, 2006 | 10:28 am PST
I think the field was great, but when the Renegade Knights play, or a ref plays for them, watch out, they can make your experience suck.

Well Iplay for the knights and we dont cheat one bitt. Phate your a f%cking noob who just got your a$$ handed to you that's all,phate2469 you suck and your team sucks and if you have a problem with it, I'am the black dude on the knights, so if you can't say it to my face that we supposibly "cheated" Then shut the f$ck up. I'll be looking forward to woopin yalls a$$ again. f$cking noob


Sweet, my little weekend warrior team smoked the renegade knights in the first PBA 3-man tourney. It was one of their 2 loses. Now I can saw we beat the 13th ranked team in the nation!!!!


And mlw good for you, that you beat us in one or two matches your team was the better team at that point in time, I give you your props. It's just too bad everyone except like 3 peopl were new to the team so you were actually playing against some noobs that just started to play tourny ball. If our REAL SQUAD had made it , you would not have won that game, but like i said yall wanted it more so yalll won and I being serious, congrats.
Looking foward to another good match with you guys, keep up the good work

   

Troutdaddy420 Saturday, July 22nd, 2006 | 8:52 pm PST
Well well well; we got us a little shouting match here. I was there when the knights played... I have the whole thing on tape and I even made a kicking DVD of the tournament. Does it really matter, though?

I can vouch for the Knights as people... they are very attentive and keep their friends in mind. They are well trained and take their drills and scrimmaging very seriously. The only way to be the best is to train like you are the best. And the Knights do that; learn from them.

freak.689, I was there and saw it all; the April Tournament and the recent scrimmage. I can say that I saw NO cheating on the part of the Knights. I did, however, see allot of animosity between the Knights and certain other players that shall remain nameless. The Knights, as a team, handled an offensive situation that was completely the other person's fault.

As the individual who started this little venture I would like to ask everyone to just chill out. Instead of whining about how you lost; learn from it and use it as motivation to do better next time. And I would also ask that "nubes" be treated nicer. We were all new to this sport at one time.

With that said I would like to unveil the next Tournament at PBA. The Arkansas State Championship on October 7th. If you have ever talked crap before now you have to back it up. We are going to determine who the BEST TEAM IN THE STATE is.

We will be using a modified NPPL format, Open classing, Ramping to 17bps, Trophies for 1st through 3rd and a CA$H PRIZE!!!! Entry is $200 per 5-man team. The good people at EMP will be filming the event for DVD and TV.

So there you go... put up or shut up. That simple. Any questions holla back here.

Trout has spoken...
   

freak .689 Monday, July 24th, 2006 | 6:21 pm PST
Thanks trout, hope to see ya at pba soon for the next scrimmage
   

phate2469 Saturday, September 2nd, 2006 | 10:27 am PST
There wasnt the Knockout Kids playing, it was FOAM... I think it was an acronym for something, but i cant be sure...

Of course I have a complaint for the ref playing... if the other refs know that person well enough to let him team jump and play instead of someone else... how can that affect his judgement on the calls on the field? It was a beginner/novice etc. tournament, you guys said they are 13th in the nation? BEGINNERS?

That makes no sense though... if you had to have a player go ref, and the ref go play, why not have the Ref go Ref, and the player still play? It wasnt hours later that you had "over 100 people" there... does anyone else side with me on this? The person playing should have stayed playing, and the ref should have reffed(at the tourny or elsewhere, it doesnt make a difference).

When we asked for him to go chrono, we got turned down... the other 2 people had already chronoed they said, so he had to be good... I let it go though, because that was the last time we had to play FOAM.

Try to dispute me on something other than opinions... that what reviews are, opinions. You arent gonna change my opinion of what I felt the experience was, but I guess you can dispute it all you want. I had nothing wrong with anyone there personally, just how they handled the tourny atmosphere.

Casey
   

Zenball Friday, November 24th, 2006 | 9:21 pm PST
" Phate your a f%cking noob who just got your a$$ handed to you that's all,phate2469 you suck and your team sucks and if you have a problem with it, I'am the black dude on the knights, so if you can't say it to my face that we supposibly "cheated" Then shut the f$ck up. I'll be looking forward to woopin yalls a$$ again. f$cking noob"

That's real nice. I wasn't picking any sides here, I'm a "noob" so I guess this worm would just spit on me too. I suppose his colorful language is supposed to make him sound real "tough" too. Pretty pathetic. No...wait...totally pathetic.... Me thinks he doth protest too much...


"If our REAL SQUAD had made it , you would not have won that game"

And such a good sport. Why do there have to be folks like this playing? Its just paintball, idiots like this ruin it for everyone. Irregardless of any alleged cheating.
Thank god I'm not you....
   

egghopperman Tuesday, February 20th, 2007 | 12:32 pm PST
Knights really aren't that good. They are talented, but beatable. And yes the refs have a huge boner for the knights and help them as often as possible.
   

Post a Comment
Please log in to your account to post a comment.

Not a member yet? Sign up now for free!

Return to the Reviews

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media