paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Comments on lastvideogamer's Review / Comments on lastvideogamer's Review / Comments on lastvideogamer's Review / Comments on lastvideogamer's Review / Comments on lastvideogamer's Review

Comments on lastvideogamer's Review

Jump to the Comments  |  Post a Comment  |  Dispute this Review  |  Return to the Reviews

lastvideogamer Saturday, May 27th, 2006
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion below.
Period of
Field Use:
Just once
Date There: May 27th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
Paintball Country: Diehard is better but only because of the pro shop
Houston Woods: People are better, only one field
Cabin Creek: Much better
Vineyard: better, but not public
Review: Alright, I just got back from diehard today and let me tell you that I was a little disappointed. They did have many good things, yet I think the bad outweighed the good. I would also like to state that unlike many of the reviews of this field I am not just some guy saying "this field is awesome" struggling to make the 50 words. If you're really looking for an honest opinion on diehard here you go.

First of all I emailed the field a week in advance and I still have never gotten a response. I asked about the rules via email trying to figure things out. I also asked if they did HPA fills. Basically their website is in dire need of updating and information in general. BTW fix your pictures so we can see the field in advance!!!

Safety: While I was there we had a few issues with safety which in my opinion is inexcusable. First of all we went there and signed the wavier yet there were no rules posted anywhere or online, and also we were never given the safety talk that most fields require. Keeping that in mind kids were shooting paintballs all the time in and out of game which ended up getting splatter all over my gear before the game started and the refs could care less. On top of that there is no "bunkering" rule (no firing at less than 10 feet) there or excessive fire. My little cousin was with me and got shot 3 times point blank in the back and that's ok there. The refs said that the kid was within the rules, yet the other players said it was overkill. The kid was then chronoed in at 350 with nitrogen.... and we all know hpa doesn't increase 70 fps over the field limit by some magical force. So they sat him out a few games. Also their webbing of the field is falling apart, basically this is not a safe place. He did get free hotdogs though, so I guess all is not lost.

Fields: They had five fields, yet they only used three. There was airball, spools, hyperball, plastic x, and woodsfield. I don't like speedball so I didn't touch airball but there were people playing there constantly. We mainly played on the plastic X which is a bunch of like plastic somethings on an area which seriously need to be cleaned. The woodsfield was nice, but it was pretty small. The other two fields nobody used at all. The biggest problem with the fields is we only played elimination. I suggested to the ref we play capture the flag, city assault or some scenario and he replied "we don't do that here"

Hours of Operation: Pretty standard 11-5 but you can only play til 4 after that they kick you out, but whatever.

Prices: Pretty fair, everything in their pro shop is fairly prices and they are willing to cut some slack and deal with you if you're willing to talk to them. Paint is normal price, but mainly draxxus.

Rules: Lack of rules, explained in safety above. The rules are not posted ANYWHERE and there is no rules briefing, or at least we were not offered one. At the beginning we played a game with No ramping and people were def ramping. Also I don't know how big the paint has to be but I shot people and it was pretty obvious but they were told to play on. If you're a regular here, you are immune to most lucky shots. One of the guys I was playing with was clearly shot in the neck he asked for a paint check and the ref told him to play on.

Services: This is one of the best fields for services around not only did they have more than one filling station but they also offered air fill deals and season passes. More fields should do stuff like this. They also have FOUR chrono stations.

Proshop: Their pro shop is better than half the pro shops I've been to. They have tons of stuff on site ready to buy. They also have pretty sweet deals on some of the stuff. Too.

Staff: Refs suck, they pretend to paintcheck but I didn't see them call a single person out a single game. The guy in the proshop however was extremely nice, someone give him a raise! He was very helpful and all that jazz. There was a guy there that seemed to be a manager or owner or something along those lines but all in all they were very unorganized. There were countless times where we were sitting around waiting to play and no refs were in sight.

Players: There were a few jerks, cheater, and nice guys but basically your standard paintball crew. There are a lot of Pro wannabe's here too so watch out for that if you're not into the whole 2000 paintballs in ten minutes thing.

Facilities: Pretty nice indoor bathroom, stocked snack area as I mentioned before their pro shop is pretty sweet.

Food: they have it, its pretty fair priced. No ice for injured players... ha ha

So all in all I think I would have to give diehard paintball a 6/10 it would be much lower but they did provide outstanding service and their proshop is out of this world. So if your into speedball and you think your a pro check this place out. If you like an occasional scenario game STAY AWAY!

Edit: Two weeks later and still have heard nothing back from the email I sent, they probably ignored it.

Edit: I was back a second time, still disapointed in the players.

Edit: I came back and read some of the new reviews for die hard and it looks like they have upgraded their safety and fixed some of the problems I have brought up which is good. Yet there is still one problem with die hard that cannot be fixed. At most other fields the "few bad apples" are forced away by people not playing with them, or simply being asked to leave. Yet at die hard the negative behavior is ok. So until this is fixed I will still recomend people away from this field.
Last edited on Sunday, March 18th, 2007 at 4:12 pm PST
 

Review Comments
Previous Page
Pages (2):  1  |  2
                            
bunkrtpmn Sunday, September 3rd, 2006 | 7:59 am PST
Ok, for one thing, i am with rfay00 on this and i personally have been to die hard with my friends numerous times and im a total chiken and have never gotten any disrespect. I have trained at Unlmtd. and tried out for team renagade. I on the team now and i tottaly support diehard. the only problem i have evr had was the time when i bonus balled this guy that i had gotten into a fight with b4 and i had to sit out a little. But the first time i went to unlmtd. i thot it sucked ass. I think it was mainly because i didnt use my money wisley and my friend was very lazy. There ARE BAD DAYS!!! I went there ystrdy and we went for 7 hours and we still didnt want to leave. I love that place now but i still say diehard is my homefield!!

--thelastgamer-- you should try diehard again sometime. u just got unluck and had a bad day. i do think its funny that you got bunkerd by a n00bish girl tho. send me an email if u got any questions!!
Last edited on Sunday, September 3rd, 2006 at 8:01 am PST
   

lastvideogamer Monday, September 4th, 2006 | 8:05 am PST
quote:
Originally posted by bunkrtpmn
Ok, for one thing, i am with rfay00 on this and i personally have been to die hard with my friends numerous times and im a total chiken and have never gotten any disrespect. I have trained at Unlmtd. and tried out for team renagade. I on the team now and i tottaly support diehard. the only problem i have evr had was the time when i bonus balled this guy that i had gotten into a fight with b4 and i had to sit out a little. But the first time i went to unlmtd. i thot it sucked ass. I think it was mainly because i didnt use my money wisley and my friend was very lazy. There ARE BAD DAYS!!! I went there ystrdy and we went for 7 hours and we still didnt want to leave. I love that place now but i still say diehard is my homefield!!

--thelastgamer-- you should try diehard again sometime. u just got unluck and had a bad day. i do think its funny that you got bunkerd by a n00bish girl tho. send me an email if u got any questions!!


Just an FYI I never got bunkered... but nice try
   

rfay00 Saturday, September 9th, 2006 | 10:57 pm PST
"Just an FYI I never got bunkered... but nice try"

i WILL change that you name the time and place in fact just email me overdosefay00@aim.com
   

nickbyers Friday, September 15th, 2006 | 6:01 pm PST
Lastvideogamer I do agree with you about the lazy refs, but I strongly disagree with almost everything else you've said. You say that speedball is only about bps and not about movement. Bullcrap! Have you ever done a run through on an x-ball field? Have you ever done a superman into the snake? Have you ever ran to the 50 off brake? Moves like that have a huge impact on a speedball game.

Also, try playing front before you bash speedball for being all about bps. When you play front you have to concentrate more on making the big move or getting the great angle and less gunfighting.

Since when does the fact that I like to shoot fast make me a pro wanna-be? You are just totally ignorant of the game of speedball. You are probably just intimidated by the large quantity of balls coming at you and don't feel like shelling out the cash for your own fast gun (I truely mean no offense by that).

You didn't complain about the lack of rules for your review of paintball junkeez, yet they don't display their rules at all (they don't even have an orientation at the beginning of every day like diehard does). Don't take that as bashing Junkies because I love that place (I've been going there longer than you have).

Finally, I hate when fields make you play with the bunker rule because it adds too much gray area and stupid calls. Here is an example: most fields with the bunker rule say that if you bunker someone and they are facing you or have their gun pointed at you, you are out. If I have a guy thoroughly pinned, I run up on him, and he has no idea that I'm coming but is facing my direction, it is ridiculous that I should have to go out. If there weren't any bunker rules and I run up on him and he doesn't know that I am coming, I am definitely going to be able to shoot him before he gets a shot off.
Last edited on Friday, September 15th, 2006 at 6:19 pm PST
   

diehardisgay Sunday, September 24th, 2006 | 4:02 pm PST
i am all so freakutly disspointed by diehard to and the refs disputted this as much as you want but its true they would be a lot better then they are and there offly cocky for not being very good
   

mdulaney24 Thursday, September 28th, 2006 | 5:08 am PST
^^^^^

I think I finally recognize this bad grammar...I think you used to play for one of Diehard's teams...am I close? It's convenient that you join PBReview shortly after this person quits, make a negative post about a call at a tournament that I don't think happened (or that you were even at.)and have the exact same poor spelling skills as the person I am thinking of. I know, it's all speculation...but I bet I'm close. I guess there could be two people who spell as bad as the person I am thinking of.

Sorry for the Hijack!
   

jeffreyjames Thursday, October 19th, 2006 | 10:58 pm PST
bit of a necro here, but.... lastvideogamer has a point with his review. he was trying to be objective about what he saw the day he was there. because thats all he can comment on. you others that play there regularly are getting after him because you know what its like on other days. he cant comment on other days because he hasnt been there. im only going to comment on things in his original review because going back thru all the dispute pages would take forever and most of you are making very juvenile and poor arguments. only one person gave a good counterpoint and articulate discussion.
ive known tim since he had his store in a little hut off the AA. i know how far hes brought his business and that hes always trying to make it better. him and howard are some of the nicest guys i know in paintball around the area.
however some points videogamer brought up ARE valid.....
i dont know why you never got a response to your email. maybe they figured long enough time had passed that it would be pointless. however, you could have called up the field to find things out.
the point about lazy refs i can agree with to an extent. ive been there on days when they were great and got right up in there crawling around to find a hit on you and jump when you call for a check. ive been there and seen days where they dont want to get off the tape line. you happened to be there on a relatively lazy day for them.
the lack of a safety orientation is false. there is one at the start of every day. the rules are posted around the store, garage and available on sheets i believe. unfortunately you happened to get thru without anyone noticing that you were new and not there for the original briefing. an oversight by the refs, but they have so many other folks to look after already. but an oversight on your part not to notice or ask for a rules briefing.
as for "no bunkering" rules, they tend to create different reffing problems and i can see why they dont have one. it might be nice to have it for newer players, but it also creates alot of confusion for them. not having it however relies on the "nicety" of the player doing the bunkering. theres arguments to go either way. taking 3 in the back when you get bunkered isnt really that bad. however a gun shooting that hot sucks and that person should have been sat.
the webbing is usually well taken care of. sometimes its a little rough from previous weather, but they do try to take care of it.

as for the fields...they do have the several fields and no they dont always use them all. they try to rotate the fields so you dont always play the same one, but they also try to give some fields a break to recover from play(airball field for instance). you clearly state that you dont like speedball which is fine, everyone has a preferance, and that the woodsball field was small. it is small. however, thats an issue of the property and needing to market to the larger paintball audience. simple fact is that most people want to play speedball type games "because its what the pros do". so as a business it makes more sense to offer more of that type of play while still having woods for players that are looking for that style. personally, i like the old school woodsball play, but i also like speedball. different games for different moods(and skill sets. i like playing pump sometimes too). however that is also the same reason you dont get CTF(except tournies) or attack and defend too much. if you had gotten several people to say to the ref they wanted to try something like it, maybe you could have gotten it to happen.

as for the hours, they are listed quite clearly on the site and the door that the store is 10-5 and the field is 11-4.

the pro shop, facilities, and service are as you say all very good. the shop has fair prices, theres concessions at good prices and usually no wait for air or chrono. just a clean REAL INDOOR bathroom is a godsend!! the staff really are pretty good, but unfortunately you caught them on an off day.
your perfectly right about the players.... theyre the usual crew youll find anywhere, punks, jerks, newbies, nice folks, helpful folks and the "tourney guys", just like everywhere.

i believe your conclusion at the end of your review is fairly correct too, if not worded as nicely as some would like. if your into speedball and occasional woodsball, its a very nice place. if your really into scenario and woods play like you are, folks wont really like it. however, telling them to stay away isnt really fair or nice. just inform them that its not really available.

sad fact is that there really arent that many "legal"fields around cincinnasti. if you want to have a broader experience of game types available and a truly great proshop ON PREMISES, diehard really is hard to beat.
im really sorry you had a bad experience the time you were there. it could never outdo one of my experiences, but it really is a good field and you should give it another chance sometime if your ever so inclined. and before you ask.... no im not afilliated with the store in any way. i dont work for them, not sponsored by them, get no perks or anything like that. i know the guys that own it, and ive seen it thru all sorts of days. its not always spectacular and its not always as bad as you had. i dont blame you for your review, i just felt a need to let you know a little more about how the field normally is compared to your experience, in a way that might make sense and isnt just flaming you for saying something bad about a place.
   

rfay00 Friday, November 3rd, 2006 | 7:57 pm PST
once again another essay by jeffery james
   
Previous Page
Pages (2):  1  |  2
                            

Post a Comment
Please log in to your account to post a comment.

Not a member yet? Sign up now for free!

Return to the Reviews

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media