paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Comments on mrtorque's Review / Comments on mrtorque's Review / Comments on mrtorque's Review / Comments on mrtorque's Review / Comments on mrtorque's Review

Comments on mrtorque's Review

Jump to the Comments  |  Post a Comment  |  Dispute this Review  |  Return to the Reviews

mrtorque Friday, July 7th, 2006
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion below.
Period of
Field Use:
3 months
Last There: June 27th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
bulldog
xtreme
mermac
gateway
bushwackers
Directions
to the Field:
don't know, but somewhere off of the 67 outer road
Review: Safety-They keep it in high priority. I give them a thumbs up here


Fields-Small but decent lay outs. The playing surface is mulch and gravel but they are working on improving it. The bunkers are the nps type for those that care.
I also hear they are now making a village. Should be a great update and I hear the gravel is gone!

Hours-Dont really know


Prices-Good for rec play, were a little high for tourneys last time I was out there but it was their first and is probably on track now.

Rules-All seemed according except the 1 clearing shot rule, just kind of wierd.


Services-Airfills, paintsales, concessions. They covered all the basics here.


Proshop-Seemed well stocked.


Staff-Friendly and always willing to help.


Refs-Seemed very poor until gottfried helped them but they did improve ten fold.


Players-There was alot of cheating until Gottfried showed up but after that people seemed to clean up their acts a bit. As far as rec play goes its all fun and games here. Fun and friendly.


Facilities-Nice facility, indoor staging area.


Food-Landshire sandwhiches, so it depends if you like them or not, I personally do.


Tournaments-need some work, may have improved by now.

All in all the field seems great for open play but they need to work on the tournaments a bit.

I gave them an 8 because rec play is what really counts for most fields and they have it here. (speedball players dont be discouraged, check it. I hear there is an x ball field on the way)
Last edited on Saturday, January 13th, 2007 at 10:54 am PST
 

Review Comments
bonneterrepb Sunday, July 9th, 2006 | 8:29 pm PST
Dispute:
First of all I would like to thank you for taking your time to review our field. I noticed you have been to many other fields however, have only reviewed ours. I am sure that you were told that this was a 6 week league. The definition of a league: an association of players agreeing to play against one another under agreed rules. I would like to thank you for giving us your opinion as a player so now we can give you our opinion as an owner. I am sure you were taking into consideration our expenses when you were saying that we had come out clear winners. We were paid $10.00 per person for entry and air per night for 6 weeks. We did not make anyone pay for the league up front they could pay per night or only for the night they played. We did not make anyone use just one type of paint we had a variety to chose from and the paint that was given away was from The Paintball Store their Pro Comp brand and was recommended by Bob we could and would have exchanged it if their was a problem. I would like to thank all of the people who gave us the support and confidence to see that you are a minority in the big picture of paintball. This sport will support the people who are here to make a difference even if the first time you do not succeed just try, try again. WE LOVE PAINTBALL and WE will do whatever it takes to continue bringing a class act., safe and well managed field and store to Missouri. WE ARE NOT THE ENEMY WE ARE A FAMILY TRYING TO HELP OUR SPORT GROW and INCREASE AWARENESS TO THE GENERAL PUBLIC ABOUT WHAT A FUN AND EXCITING SPORT PAINTBALL CAN BE. We have only been in business for a short time and regret that we are catering to a tough crowd that if you are not strong and tenacious you can become discouraged. I now know why most owners said to focus on the recreational player and with this league that is what we did and so many people became hooked on our sport because of it. I am sorry that you felt like this was a tournament series like the SLA I am flattered on the other hand that Sal thought we had a great idea and sees our compassion for people and the sport.. It was a very expensive beta test for us and we learned alot. But as I end this note of dispute to you have you learned anything about the people that you are so quick to condemn.? If you want to talk face to face and help us during the next league I would really appreciate someone with such experience as yourself to run the league for us from start to finish and we will pay you out of the net proceeds what do you say? What better way to please someone as yourself than to have you help us. Give us a call ( 573-358-2872) we are open to all the help we can get!! PAINTBALL ROCKS IN MISSOURI WE LOVE PAINTBALL!!!!
Last edited on Sunday, July 9th, 2006 at 8:33 pm PST
   

mrtorque Monday, July 10th, 2006 | 8:43 am PST
quote:
Originally posted by bonneterrepb
First of all I would like to thank you for taking your time to review our field. I noticed you have been to many other fields however, have only reviewed ours. I am sure that you were told that this was a 6 week league. The definition of a league: an association of players agreeing to play against one another under agreed rules. I would like to thank you for giving us your opinion as a player so now we can give you our opinion as an owner. I am sure you were taking into consideration our expenses when you were saying that we had come out clear winners. We were paid $10.00 per person for entry and air per night for 6 weeks. We did not make anyone pay for the league up front they could pay per night or only for the night they played. We did not make anyone use just one type of paint we had a variety to chose from and the paint that was given away was from The Paintball Store their Pro Comp brand and was recommended by Bob we could and would have exchanged it if their was a problem. I would like to thank all of the people who gave us the support and confidence to see that you are a minority in the big picture of paintball. This sport will support the people who are here to make a difference even if the first time you do not succeed just try, try again. WE LOVE PAINTBALL and WE will do whatever it takes to continue bringing a class act., safe and well managed field and store to Missouri. WE ARE NOT THE ENEMY WE ARE A FAMILY TRYING TO HELP OUR SPORT GROW and INCREASE AWARENESS TO THE GENERAL PUBLIC ABOUT WHAT A FUN AND EXCITING SPORT PAINTBALL CAN BE. We have only been in business for a short time and regret that we are catering to a tough crowd that if you are not strong and tenacious you can become discouraged. I now know why most owners said to focus on the recreational player and with this league that is what we did and so many people became hooked on our sport because of it. I am sorry that you felt like this was a tournament series like the SLA I am flattered on the other hand that Sal thought we had a great idea and sees our compassion for people and the sport.. It was a very expensive beta test for us and we learned alot. But as I end this note of dispute to you have you learned anything about the people that you are so quick to condemn.? If you want to talk face to face and help us during the next league I would really appreciate someone with such experience as yourself to run the league for us from start to finish and we will pay you out of the net proceeds what do you say? What better way to please someone as yourself than to have you help us. Give us a call ( 573-358-2872) we are open to all the help we can get!! PAINTBALL ROCKS IN MISSOURI WE LOVE PAINTBALL!!!!

Ok, I will go through this point by point. But before I start I would like to make this very clear, I am in no way saying you have a bad field or anything of the sort. You guys are trying hard and it shows but so does your lack of experience. That comes with time so I'm sure before long this will be one of the best ran fun fields in the area. I think you thought I was attacking you which by no means was I. I was a little shocked about that way somethings were handled there but all in all your field will probably one of the best before long.

As far as being to many other fields, it says other fields in the area, not fields in the area you have played at. I have by no means been to all these fields.

Ok, your expenses. That would be advertising, reffing, lighting, and medals and trophies if I'm not mistaken. By all means correct me if I'm wrong. And yes you got payed by the player, why not give out prizes by the player as well then? Dont charge a team for 5 players if you're only going to give them 3 prizes.

I see what you're saying when you say that I'm a minority in the big picture which is fine.

By all means try and try again, I myself have confidence that you will turn this league into something in the future. I agree with focusing on the rec player. That is how fields and stores alike make money.

I can see that you and your family have compassion for the sport and I was by no means questioning that.

As far as condeming you, where on earth did you get that from? I wrote a very fair 2 sided review from a recreational and tournament players view. I also notice you didnt even respond to the comment about one of the owners saying there was going to be a cash prize and not handing out a cash prize. If I was going to condemn you it would be now. You didnt even touch base on my main complaint which was the fact that I was lied to.

I really dont feel that your offer is legitimate and have no desire to come out there to run the league start to finish. I am well aware of how much time and work goes into planning and running one and really don't have that much free time.

I would also like to point out that you disputed the accuracy of my review yet you did not question one thing that I said. So for that I reported an inappropriate dispute. I am a little shocked by your dispute and almost feel attacked by it. But my review may have rubbed you in the wrong way and for that I apologize. The only part I read (to me) that came off wrong was about the tournaments and I will fix that.

Last edited on Wednesday, July 12th, 2006 at 11:06 am PST
   

bonneterrepb Tuesday, July 11th, 2006 | 9:01 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by mrtorque


Ok, I will go through this point by point. But before I start I would like to make this very clear, I am in no way saying you have a bad field or anything of the sort. You guys are trying hard and it shows but so does your lack of experience. That comes with time so I'm sure before long this will be one of the best ran fun fields in the area. I think you thought I was attacking you which by no means was I. I was a little shocked about that way somethings were handled there but all in all your field will probably one of the best before long.

As far as being to many other fields, it says other fields in the area, not fields in the area you have played at. I have by no means been to all these fields.

Ok, your expenses. That would be advertising, reffing, lighting, and medals and trophies if I'm not mistaken. By all means correct me if I'm wrong. And yes you got payed by the player, why not give out prizes by the player as well then? Dont charge a team for 5 players if you're only going to give them 3 prizes.

I see what you're saying when you say that I'm a minority in the big picture which is fine.

By all means try and try again, I myself have confidence that you will turn this league into something in the future. I agree with focusing on the rec player. That is how fields and stores alike make money.

I can see that you and your family have compassion for the sport and I was by no means questioning that.

As far as condeming you, where on earth did you get that from? I wrote a vary fair 2 sided review from a recreational and tournament players view. I also notice you didnt even respond to the comment about one of the owners saying there was going to be a cash prize and not handing out a cash prize. If I was going to condemn you it would be now. You didnt even touch base on my main complaint which was the fact that I was lied to.

I really dont feel that your offer is legitimate and have no desire to come out there to run the league start to finish. I am well aware of how much time and work goes into planning and running one and really don't have that much free time.

I would also like to point out that you disputed the accuracy of my review yet you did not question one thing that I said. So for that I reported an inappropriate dispute. I am a little shocked by your dispute and almost feel attacked by it. But my review may have rubbed you in the wrong way and for that I apologize. The only part I read (to me) that came off wrong was about the tournaments and I will fix that.


   

mrtorque Wednesday, July 12th, 2006 | 8:29 am PST
I don't think that you're comment posted
   

qwarnon Sunday, July 16th, 2006 | 10:03 am PST
nope it didnt post

but i did notice that mrtorque gave a few good comments about the field as well as a few negative ones.. hope you'll play again at bonne terre paintball as we are growing every day!
Last edited on Monday, July 17th, 2006 at 12:42 pm PST
   

mrtorque Sunday, July 16th, 2006 | 12:47 pm PST
I intend to, the field is on its way to greatness. They just have some bumps to smooth out.

-I would still like the "cash prizes" issue addressed. That really is the main thing that bothered me. Had they not said they were going to do cash prizes that night I wouldnt have cared at all.
Last edited on Tuesday, July 18th, 2006 at 2:56 pm PST
   

mantis ego Friday, July 21st, 2006 | 8:01 pm PST
well the truth is everything in this thread is the truth i dont know why there complaining thought he gave a fair review the tourney thing wasnt that great and notice that they complain of almost every thread i agree on the cash thats what he told me also.....but yea the whole goody bag thing was some bs payed to play spent lots of money to get baisicly 5 bucks worth of stuff so i agree that they defiantly made some cash off this
   

talmont Friday, May 18th, 2007 | 12:46 pm PST
This was 1 year ago, very nearly. What has transpired since then? Right after this post I was involved in aiding in the building of a massive wood park just above the proshop. I haven't been able to return since, and I see no further comments from you on this point.
I remember the set up of this tourny, and the promotions, while I wouldn't dispute your hearing of a cash prize, I know that wasn't in the initial planning.
The reffing, did it improve? Will this year's tourny be better? Is there a follow up?
   

mrtorque Sunday, May 20th, 2007 | 10:15 am PST
Dont know if the reffing improved but I would say there was some follow up on my part as I edited my review. The money may not have been in the original plans and I never heard anything about it until that night when I asked what the prizes were going to be and they said that there would be paint and some cash prizes. That is really the only thing that upset me. Lieing to customers is a big no no and the cash prizes thing came straight from the horses mouth. Its not like i heard it from someone else or a ref or anything. It was from one of the owners.
   

Post a Comment
Please log in to your account to post a comment.

Not a member yet? Sign up now for free!

Return to the Reviews

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media