paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Comments on MrGerbik's Review / Comments on MrGerbik's Review / Comments on MrGerbik's Review / Comments on MrGerbik's Review / Comments on MrGerbik's Review

Comments on MrGerbik's Review

Jump to the Comments  |  Post a Comment  |  Dispute this Review  |  Return to the Reviews

MrGerbik Saturday, August 5th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
More than 5 years
Last There: August 5th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Skirmish, E-jam (Never played there) Paintball Depot (never Played there)
Review: First i must say the last time i played at this field was 8 years ago so i had an idea set in my mind of what the field should have been. I just played today (august 5th) and wanted to review as quick as possible while it was still fresh in my mind. I decided to play the field last night becasue it is my fathers birthday on the 6th and it is half price paint day at skirmish so that means i will only be playing at skirmish for maybe an hour to get the half price deal. I just got a new gun and mask and really wnated to play more then an hour to test it out.

Enough Back story, now for the review. First impression as i walked up to the field from the parking lot "Damn this place has gone to hell" (more then it used to be at least). I walk into the "pro shop" and the place is really dusty and old looking. It looks like none of the stuff had been touched for years. I didnt even bother looking at the guns on the wall, but i am sure that they were all older models. Cathy (thats her name right?) was very nice. I signed myself up while my brother used the bathroom. I did not go into the bathroom so this is second hand but he said that it was almost vomit enducing. We bought a case and split it between us since we knew we where gonna be there only for a short while.The case cost 60 dollars. We had nitro tanks so air cost us 10 dollars for all day. I am not condoning stealing but nobody checked my hand stamp so i am pretty sure you can just walk up and get air fills without paying. The nitro air fill station was around the side of the building. We handed the guy 2 nitro tanks (my brother's and a back up, mine was already filled) and he only filled 2000 worth on a 3000 tanks. Later on in the day he did the same to all three tanks so this was not a fluke.

After we filled up we went to the chrono area. There was a bunch of kids sitting around in a circle smoking ciggarettes without their shirts on. i assumed these were the refs. The chrono is capped at 280, but the chrono machine stops beeping at 290 so you could get away with a higher speed though i dont recommend that. There was noone checking who had high speeds or waht so i could have had my gun over 300 and played fine. The refs(all 16 years old) just sat there and made sure everyone had their masks on while in the chrono area.

Now to the refs. The refs are nice enough i guess, but they dont do anything. They make sure your mask is on and count for the beggining of the game. They also drag there feet big time. More then once players had to remind the refs that we should be playing and not just talking. Twice the refs said we were waiting for somone to get back from the pro shop. One person was holding up the games. I dont really know how that worked out. We also had to wait while 2 refs walked to a nearby dairyqueen and got icecream (i kid you not). They also seem to talk alot about how great they are. How they play with no shirts on and how they got their ions to shoot over 20bps ( im pretty sure that isnt happening). One even wanted to show me on my ion in the middle of a game but i just ignored him becasue i aint giving no 16 year old stranger a gun i just bought

Safety wise the field was pretty good. Masks was strictly enforced but what they call the 10-foot rule (no shooting 10 feet or closer, ask for surrender) went out the window. More then once i saw a few younger or dimwitted players got ran up on and lit up. Also as i said before the chrono regulation was non existant so somone could be shooting hot. The field paint thing kinda bugs me as well. People bring up some pretty low quality/old paint. Im talking stuff i wouldnt shoot through my gun for free let alone buy a case of it. I dont know what kind of balls thye were using but it was thick and ran down my arm staining my skin the whole way down. It also seeped through my clothes and left a powdery/gummy residue on my shirt. Im pretty sure people are bringing up stuff that has been sitting around for a long time. Now it is all over my equipment as well and it needs a heavey cleaning to get rid of the crap.

The fields: The "speedball" field has gotten ten times worse then i remebered 8 years ago. The bunkers are all falling apart and slimey from the lack of cleaning. The bunkers are also all built for twelve year olds or midgets Anyone approaching 6 feet tall are going to have to get really low to hide behind somthing. They also never mow the grass on the field so it is getting pretty damn overgrown. The woodsball field was cut down from waht i rmemeber. I was told the owner of the neighboring land told them they cant play there anymore, so the field is really tiny. Again most bunkers are really small so it is tough to get behind them. The bunkers are either pilled up pieces of wood or big piles pf mud with various rocks sticks and trash inside them to make some sort of fort type thing. A fallen tree acts like a snake type bunker but it realyl dosnt work. All in all the woodsball field is pretty beat.

This review got longer then i wanted it to be so i am cutting it off. But i must say somthing about their store in paramus. First off the staff are pretty much Jerks. Leo (the owner) is the biggest a--hole i ever met in my life. he regularly yells at customers and on more then one occasion he has done one of my friends/family dirty. Once i asked on the phone how much they were selling v-force profilers and another older guy (dont know his name) was all rude and then told me he dosnt quote prices over the phone. Thats fine they lost my buisness and a 90 dollar sale (plus the extra 30 i spent on tinted lenses). Most of the employees seem pretty unhappy there. They pretty much pushed me and all paintball players i play with to go to E-jam's store that is less then a mile away from theres. They got a really crappy attitude and even the refs at the field admit that E-jam is killing them. Maybe if the people at the store got the stick out of their butts it wouldnt be so bad. I never played at E-jam but i am sure that anything they have is better than what ABC paintball is offering. i give this place a 3/10 becasue the fields are bad and so are some of the people, but if you really force it you can have somewhat of a good time becasue in the end it is paintball. Pretty much i wont be go back. I guess if you bought me a case of good paintballs, and paid for my day of play, and bought me lunch, and payed for my nitro refills, and payed to fill my gas tank
Last edited on Saturday, August 5th, 2006 at 6:09 pm PST
 

Review Comments
andres9888 Thursday, August 10th, 2006 | 4:30 pm PST
Your so right about the owner i stopped going to the store cause of him.
   

dm4syzygy Wednesday, August 16th, 2006 | 2:34 pm PST
Gerbik, you gotta try E-Jam. It's only like 15 minutes south of the ABC field. 4 fields, friendly people who want your business, reasonable prices, self-serve air fills ...
   

sickshot173 Tuesday, August 22nd, 2006 | 9:10 pm PST
actually ejam indoor is 15 south of abc store. abc's field is up in hewitt. ejam has a store in parumas just like abc but ejams field are in west milford and hankensack.
   

Post a Comment
Please log in to your account to post a comment.

Not a member yet? Sign up now for free!

Return to the Reviews

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media